We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Traveller (84)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (11)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located right in the heart of the city, Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin is ideal for either the business or leisure traveller. Otago Museum is a 15 minute walk away, the beach 10 minutes drive, the Central Business District is right on your doorstep and you are within walking distance of stately homes and Gothic revival style buildings. This welcoming Dunedin Hotel has 55 sunny north facing guest rooms, each with a private balcony. We have limited hotel parking available and do not take reservations. If hotel carpark is full, metered street parking is available near the hotel; we do not guarantee a parking space with your reservation. Guest can enjoy unlimited Free WiFi during their stay
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
459Reviews
125Photos
0Q+A
71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 207
  • 144
  • 32
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Terrible hotel which I would not recommend to anyone. Maybe we were unfortunate with the room allocated but everything of the hotel is very poor quality. We had stayed at the Millennium in Queenstown the week before and there is no comparison between them. The other one was a
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Response from TracyK1808, Assistant Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am really sorry to hear that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. I am sorry that you felt we weren't up to the standard of the Millennium Queenstown - whilst we are a part of the same chain, the Millennium is at the top tier at 5 star, and Kingsgate is at the bottom tier at 3.5 star, so there will be some difference between the two Hotels. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in our beautiful city Kind regards, Tracy Keenan Assistant Manager
Read more
The staff were wonderful and responsive throughout our stay. The room was average and "tired;" a throwback to the 80s. The carpeting needs to be replaced- it was worn and dingy. The mattress was worn and too soft; you rolled into the middle no matter how hard you tried to
Read more
Response from TracyK1808, Assistant Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Responded 13 Jan 2019
Hi there, Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful and responsive service from our staff members, we really pride ourselves on our excellent service, so it is great to get feedback in this area. We are currently working on updating some of the items in the rooms, as you can imagine this is quite a large task which requires a lot of planning and preparation, so hopefully next time you come and stay these changes are underway. Thanks again for passing on your comments, we really appreciate it. Kind regards, Tracy Keenan Assistant Manager
Read more
A journey back in time. Room well cleaned and very good beds. The whole hotels brings you back to the 70-ties. Well located in central town, but quite. Some of the rooms have a wonderful balcony but without any furniture so you can not take benefit from this. The breakfast is
Read more
Response from TracyK1808, Assistant Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Responded 13 Jan 2019
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am so glad that you enjoyed our excellent central location and found it quiet. I apologise that you didn't enjoy the fact that we don't have balcony furniture. I will definitely pass this on to management. I apologise that you didn't enjoy the buffet breakfast, we do also have an al a carte menu available during service times if you prefer something made for you. I hope you enjoyed your time in our wonderful city. Thank you Tracy Keenan Assistant Manager
Read more
All went well from book in to leaving. Sometimes a little noisey with adjoining units & outdoor road noise but otherwise pretty good. Could walk to town & function venues easily without need for transport
Read more
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Response from TracyK1808, Assistant Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Responded 26 Dec 2018
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and appreciate you as regular guests at the Hotel. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas. Have a safe and happy New Year. Kind regards Tracy Keenan Assistant Manager
Read more
Great location, clean, comfortable accommodation in central Dunedin. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The duty manager had good local knowledge and assisted me to get my bearings in the city. Toiletries provided. Would recommend.
Read more
Response from TracyK1808, Assistant Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Responded 13 Dec 2018
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location and found our staff to be helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. We really appreciate that you would recommend us to your family and friends. We hope to see you again next time you are in Dunedin. Thank you Tracy Keenan Assistant Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Second room view.
Two full sized beds (not queen sized).
View overlooks a parking lot (not the hotel's) and power source. Nice hills in the distance.
Big TV Screen
Double - double bed
PreviousNext
12345615
"Ask for the most modern room they have."
"When you book, watch out for the breakfast included promotion."
"Higher floors offer best views!"
"I would say most of the rooms have great views, our room was quite a way off the street, so was very quiet."
"ask for room with balcony"
PreviousNext
12345615
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dunedin kingsgate hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing