We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (2)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Great value basic, clean, comfortable accommodation. Recently refurbished. New beds. Buffet restaurant on site, with buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Also, the public bar. Wireless internet. Self catering available in small kitchen. Self serve laundry available. Lots of car parking and parking for larger vehicles. Close to airport, beach, Burwood Hospital, golf courses, The Groynes. Bus at gate. Friendly staff with staff available 24/7. Conference/event/function facility available - we will take care of all your individual needs. Good AV equipment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
24Reviews
17Photos
0Q+A
4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 5
  • 8
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
1 double bed n 1 single bed in a big size room. Got heater also in a room n water heater in washroom. Quiet. Nice garden with beautiful flowers. Ample parking space. Special sink for coffee making facilities
Read more
Brilliant for the price, rooms are dated and basic but they are clean and all you need for a one or two night stay. Go to the pub next door and have a game of pool and a beverage, the English bartender (can’t remember his name) is brilliant and so friendly, made us feel like we
Read more
Response from SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood
Responded 18 Nov 2018
Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
On our last day in Christchurch we decided to try this restaurant (we didn’t stay in the attached accommodation) I am so glad we had lunch here Trish on the front counter was absolutely lovely the best service we have ever had in NZ (we are from Perth W.A) we chose this
Read more
Response from SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood
Responded 18 Nov 2018
Thank you for choosing us.
Read more
Comfortable bed nice gardens but no kitchen facilities heater didn't work limited WiFi available stayed two weeks more expensive than advertised for Groom.close to shopping and cafes.nice to be able to take a bath at the end of a day.
Read more
Response from SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at The Redwood
Responded 12 Jun 2018
Thank you for your feedback. I have a few comments. There are shared kitchen facilities available for all guests. I believe you stayed with us some weeks ago. The heaters have all been checked since then. We have not had complaints from others about wifi. Please please if you have issues with heaters/wifi or anything at all come straight away to reception and we will fix things up for you. I note you stayed for 2 weeks with us - and we don't think you told us about the issues you had. This is disappointing. We want you to be happy and almost always we can fix things for our customers. Our budget rooms are $99. There are different prices for superior rooms.
Read more
Super helpful and friendly staff. The room was your typical motel room with a double bed that was as I expected and basic amenities. The hot water in the shower was instant and the pressure great. The room is old and daggy, but what you see in the pics is what you get and for
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Redwood
Spacious inside room. Available from $115
Photo provided by managementThe Redwood
"try to get a room as far as possible from main rd. end"
"Quite a bit of traffic noise especially on the north side"
"Ask to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms"
"Pay an extra $10.00 and stay elsewhere"
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Redwood Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing