We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
85 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
US$282
View deal
Official Site
FindHotel
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crystalbrook Flynn
Updated 08/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 68 hotels in Cairns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Flynn, a Crystalbrook Collection Hotel, is the younger sibling to Riley and Bailey and like many younger siblings, Flynn likes being the social butterfly and doesn’t mind showing off from time to time. Exquisite glass swimming pools facing the Esplanade to splash in is just one example of how Flynn likes to engage. Staying with Flynn is a stimulating experience. Flynn likes to entertain our guests… not just accommodate them. Guests can be assured of truly dynamic food and drink experiences – there is always a DJ ready to play and a martini ready to be shaken (or stirred). Just steps from the Esplanade boardwalk, Flynn enjoys modern living through attitude, design, technology and a passion for a better world – or what we call #responsibleluxury. That means no plastic straws, water bottles or guest-room key cards, using technology to reduce paper, providing large-pump amenities bottles (saving more than 250,000 plastic bottles each year) and partnering with Citizens of the Great Barrier Reef, TerraCycle, OzHarvest and Containers for Change. Flynn likes to show off online too so, of course, fast and free Wi-Fi is available in all public spaces throughout the hotel. Each room and suite also has an Apple iPad control centre, Staycast by Google for video streaming, access to hundreds of complimentary movies and Nespresso machines (naturally with recyclable pods). A dining experience at Flynn is not simply a reflection of the local culture, but a representation of the ever-changing natural surrounds of Cairns. Featuring local flavours and a mouth-watering selection of cuisine, the culinary options are unsurpassed. Satisfy your carb-cravings with a hearty Italian spread at Flynn’s, treat yourself with a divine high tea tower at Whiskey and Wine, or feast on a smorgasbord of tasty treats at Boardwalk Social. There’s something for everyone. The impressive assortment of local and imported wines offered at our distinguished on-site bars will leave you spoiled for choice, but if wine isn’t your thing, the creative cocktail concoctions will not disappoint.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Diving
Kids stay free
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
74Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 14
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brendan D wrote a review Jul 2021
County Dublin, Ireland70 contributions93 helpful votes
We arrived at Crystalbrook Flynn in late evening and were warmly welcomed by the very helpful Evan who allocated us a harbour view room with a balcony. The rooms are of average size but well appointed and decorated in a contemporary fashion. The hotel is superbly located fronting the water and close to shops and restaurants. It has quite an array of amenities but regrettably some of the restaurants are only open on selective days. The pool area is pleasant for relaxing and was quiet during our stay. The hotel lacks atmosphere and this may have been due to low occupancy. Overall at a cost of $405 per night (room only) we didn’t feel we got value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Ward, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded today
Hi 949brendand, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review and some feedback from your stay! We are so delighted you enjoyed our modern rooms. It is great to hear that Evan was accommodating and that you made the most out of our convenient location. Regarding the bar and restaurant trading hours, we currently have a pool bar open 7 days a week and either Boardwalk Social, Flynn's Italian or both are open every night of the week for drinks and meals. 949brendand, thanks again for your review. We hope you can come back to visit again!
Read more
Loz946 wrote a review Jul 2021
Darwin, Australia17 contributions11 helpful votes
Room and hotel amenities the best I have seen in quite a while. Hotel Staff especially Sunny and Tao at breakfast make you feel like your part of the family - 5 star service. Thank you :) We enjoyed the hotel immensely, great facilities and location. Such a relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Great views, excellent location, beautiful hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Ward, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Loz946, Thank you for this beautiful review! We are delighted to hear of the excellent service you received. We agree, Tao and Sunny are both stars in guest service and we are glad that they looked after you. I have shared your positive comments with them. Thank you again, Loz946, and we can’t wait to welcome you again at Flynn!
Read more
ross wrote a review Jul 2021
Canberra, Australia2 contributions
We came here as an escape from the miserable Canberra winter but most importantly as a reward for my wife finishing her chemo. Her feet were freezing for the 6 months of chemo and Cairns is one of the few places she could feel normal. Due to covid shutdown flight cancellations we arrived at 10am and expected to need to keep ourselves busy for a few hours but no, room is ready please come in early. After that pleasant surprise we found that extraordinary dedication to customer service was the norm rather than an exception. The other pleasant surprise is the sustainability measures in place. For example, don’t want your room made up, here’s a $10 credit. We’re still here and this evening off to the Paper Crane in Crystalbrook Bailey, charged to the room. The only downside is that the pool doesn’t get sun and so isn’t warm enough to spend a lot of time in. Admittedly it is the middle of winter so I’m happy to forgive that. The gym is great with new machines and I had a great session while my wife enjoyed the pampering at the spa next door. Honestly, this place is wonderful and while a bit out of our normal budget, is totally worth it. The harbour view room with a balcony on which to have a morning espresso is marvellous. We were after something special and we got it. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get the harbour view room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Ward, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Road35717820664, Thank you so much taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! We really appreciate your kind words, and we are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at Flynn! We can’t wait to welcome you two back to Cairns. See you hopefully soon!
Read more
Wendy DW wrote a review Jul 2021
Adelaide Hills, Australia12 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived cold and tired (coming from a particularly miserable Adelaide Hills winter), looking forward to our first holiday since the 'before times' (pre-COVID). Being salty about the fact that we can't travel overseas (and who knows when we can again) there was a tiny part of me that was ready to pick holes in everything Cairns had to offer because in my mind it wouldn't be able to live up to overseas destinations (I know, I was being a brat - but it's been quite an 18 months and I was in desperate need of a holiday, hence the mood). I got over myself pretty quickly - from the moment we stepped into the hotel lobby (which smelled amazing BTW, what was that scent?) and the staff member present gave us our first impression of the staff here (Note to the managers; the staff here are your greatest asset) we had a ball. We felt welcome immediately and our room was fitted out with tasteful luxury, everything has been considered right down to little touches that you might miss (mood lighting options, beautiful soft sheets, superbly soundproofed doors to the balcony etc), everything is designed to make you feel as comfortable as possible. For this pale skinned southerner who burns in 5 minutes flat, the positioning of the pools so that you're generally protected from the sun (unless you choose to sunbake in one of the loungers further away from the pool, in which case - enjoy your skin cancer), meaning I could enjoy the enveloping far north QLD heat without having to slather on the SPF 50+ every two hours. My un-clogged skin thanks you. Some reviews have commented that the water in the pool was too cold; no offence to them but they're being picky. Are they 'heated pools'? No - but personally I found the temperature just fine, a bit of a chill at first when you're taking a dip after warming yourself through on a sun lounger (I mean, of course it'll feel cool at first if you've been cooking yourself in the heat first - that's just common sense/science) but certainly not 'too cold'. The staff throughout the hotel were outstanding - every single one. They were genuinely friendly (it's easy to detect 'fake friendliness' and there was none of that here) and couldn't do enough to be helpful. The food at Flynn's Italian was excellent, the cocktails at both Whiskey & Wine and at the poolside bar were great (I am fairly certain I drank them out of Aperol, sorry about that) and while we only had room service once - a Prosecco one evening, that too was super prompt and served with a smile. If I had to be negative about anything at all, I'd say the poolside nachos were a little disappointing (more cheese and maybe some refried beans as a suggestion), go with the B.L.A.T instead, that's a winner. The on site spa (Eleme) was another level in luxury and a great way to wind down at the start of a break or to comfort yourself with on your last day of holiday when you're not looking forward to returning to the aforementioned miserable SA winter and want to find a healthy way to 'drown your sorrows'. Once again, the attention to details that could be missed are what gave it that special touch. The location is ideal, it's a short walk to .. well.. everything. We had an ocean view room and I just about cried with joy when I awoke to the stunning view the morning after we arrived. You could just about enjoy a holiday reading a book and getting room service from that balcony and still go away happy (don't though, there's so much to see and do and you're a 5 minute walk away from most of it). Tip; sit on the balcony as the sun is going down and enjoy the fruit bats swooping past as they emerge for the night. When we return to Cairns we'll definitely be staying at Flynn or one of the other two in the Crystalbrook family (Riley & Bailey), please pass our compliments along to all of the staff there who made our holiday absolutely perfect. I can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms - worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Ward, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 6 days ago
Hi wendydixonwhiley, We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - it sounds like you enjoyed every minute of it. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Flynn soon! Take care!
Read more
Gino T wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We had the Urban room and it was terrible. no ambience and looking at a building. Was the least expensive room but expected more for what you pay. Couldn't afford to sell a kidney for a room with view! No value for money at this hotel, far to expensive for what you get. Customer service was good and they are very friendly but that's where it stops. The location is good but will never stay here again for what you get for your money. Very disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book an Urban room as very poor for what you pay but the rooms with a view are about $100...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Ward, Guest Services / Front Office at Crystalbrook Flynn
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Gino, We have reached out to you directly regarding your recent stay with us. We do thank you for providing feedback!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Flynn, a Crystalbrook Collection Resort
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandCairns RegionCairns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
311
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crystalbrook Flynn
Which popular attractions are close to Crystalbrook Flynn?
Nearby attractions include Cairns Esplanade Lagoon (0.1 km), Esplanade Boardwalk (0.06 km), and Cairns Aquarium (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, street parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crystalbrook Flynn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cruze Coffee, Snoogies, and Cairns Burger Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Crystalbrook Flynn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Cairns.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crystalbrook Flynn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crystalbrook Flynn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Crystalbrook Flynn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.