We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
120-124 Victoria St Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011 Australia
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 02/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 206 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the vibrant inner city village of Potts Point the newest Spicers Retreat places the best of Sydney at your doorstep. Just a short walk to trendy cafes, Sydney city and harbour and set amongst a mix of historic art deco and modern architecture, Spicers Potts Point exudes an effortless blend of classic Sydney heritage character with a fresh contemporary feel. Spicers Potts Point is comprised of 20 guest rooms housed within the 1880s Victorian Terrace House with a textured laneway outlook. These former Sydney townhouses are surrounded by fashionable shops, cafes and restaurants and offer convenient access to Sydney’s world class attractions. Although the retreat features muted and calming tones, splashes of rich green and ocean blue, inspired by Martine Emdur’s artworks depicting underwater swimmers exhibited throughout the retreat, act as a tribute to the colours of Australia. The hotel has a private club feel that peacefully envelopes you once inside, away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city. To ensure you feel at home we’ve included a generous breakfast to start your day and a complimentary cocktail and canapes each evening to guarantee the perfect end. Curate your own Sydney experience with our exclusive ‘Spicers Potts Point Passport’ featuring our favourite restaurants, bars, cafes and services and they’ve generously provided many extras just for you to enjoy. Design your own Sydney adventure and experience this charismatic part of one of Australia’s most iconic cities all from the comfort of Spicers Potts Point.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
289Reviews1Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 17
  • 8
  • 7
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sheofthebroom wrote a review May 2022
Melbourne, Australia191 contributions100 helpful votes
We like Potts Point very much - especially its central location close to the galleries, restaurants and eclectic neighborhood. The Spicers hotel is 3 Victorian terraces accommodating 16 rooms. We appreciated receiving a text before we arrived letting us know we could check in early to our room and two G&Ts were delivered shortly after we had settled in. A lovely touch. Plus there were cookies baked everyday you could have as a treat after a day out and about in Sydney. We had the King Suite Room 2 which was very spacious, accommodating a yoga mat and weights for a workout, that were provided in the closet. I didn’t establish until the last day that if you required a ghd straightener and curler (which trust me, you will need in Sydney) you could dial and ask reception. What I did find interesting was the bathroom where there is a gap between the closure of the steel glass doors. A curtain is available to pull across for privacy, but even after being married for 25 years, I prefer the door to a toilet closed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ms G’s restaurant located in Victoria Street is well worth a visit and a 3 minute walk.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sheofthebroom, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and providing such wonderful detail of your stay with us. You mention the gap in our bathroom door - this is a building safety requirement and we are not able to change this and it is all of our rooms with the glass sliding doors. We do have a a few rooms where the bathroom is located around a corner, which may suit better. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon. Warm regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
Erin Galvin wrote a review Mar 2022
New York City, New York40 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
I picked Spicers Potts Point at the recommendation of a travel company (Kensington Tours) and I was so thrilled they pointed me in that direction. Originally, I was going to stay in the Central Business District but since COVID and with many people working from home the "CBD" is almost a ghost town at night where Potts Point is an amazing neighborhood with tons of bars, cafes and restaurants all within walking distance. The main tourist sights are also walkable from the hotel. You can walk through the beautiful botanical gardens to reach the opera house or take a quick uber/taxi. The hotel has a boutique feel making it a relaxing choice after sightseeing and exploring the city. The staff was incredibly welcoming and so excited to welcome international travelers again. They offer breakfast daily but I really loved the cafe right next door (Tuyo) and "The Butler" for drinks & dinner right across the street. I would definitely stay there again or try one of their other properties in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Interior rooms without a balcony are quieter than ones facing the street
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Thank you Erin G for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and our team made you feel so welcome. We are so lucky to be situated in such an amazing area, as you mentioned, surround by fabulous hatted restaurants, small friendly and welcoming cafes, such as Tuyo. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in Potts Point or to one of our amazing sister properties. Warm regards The Spicers Potts Point Team
Read more
AussieKarenH wrote a review Jan 2022
Newcastle, Australia34 contributions10 helpful votes
This is a beautiful boutique hotel with really attentive service. In a great location with super comfy beds, spacious rooms, and comfortable sitting areas within the property to relax, read a book, have a drink - if you choose to stay in. Surrounded by a wide range of cafes, bars and restaurants and very close to Double Bay for shopping. We'll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Dear AussieKarenH, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your stay with us. We loving having you in our home and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards
Read more
Steve S wrote a review Jan 2022
38 contributions33 helpful votes
This is a very nice boutique hotel with great sized rooms and good service. It’s in a great location for Kings Cross and Darling Harbour. However, we were annoyed at being charged more than the clearly advertised price on the paper breakfast menu of $15. There was no other price on the menu and it gave you 3 or 4 options plus coffee or tea, for $15. Not so, when the itemised invoice came through it referenced $48 for X2 breakfast and the smallest coffee ever. When contacted the hotel said ‘you must have misread the menu’. Definitely NOT. I’m a very good reader and can assure you there was only one reference to price on that menu and it was $15, Nothing else on there, no small print, etc. I should have taken a photo, which I did think of doing. Disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time for to post a review of your stay. We are very sorry to note that there was to be a misunderstanding regarding our breakfast menu. We appreciate your feedback on how this was handle and will definitely address this with our team to improve in the future. Warm Regards
Read more
Palermo wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
It's below average overall. Area is a bit dodgy and the "hotel" has nothing hotels that charge those prices have. Unless you just want to read a book, there's nothing else to do there. No bar, no restaurant, no pool, no spa. It's just like someone's house. In COVID times when you don't really want to go to other places, this place forces you to as they have nothing on site. You could pretty much stay at any nice hotel for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Spicers Potts Point, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 2 Jan 2022
Dear Palerm019, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are sorry that we were not able to provide all that you were after for your getaway. We are a boutique retreat that provides a home away from home - "like someone's house" as you mentioned. We do offer breakfast on site as well as in room dining sourced from restaurants in the area. While we do not have a pool, there is the Andrew (Boy) Charlton pool a short walk away. We do have a honesty bar located alongside reception. While Potts Point/ Kings Cross may not be what you expect - we are surrounded by wonderful hatted restaurants and a wonderful community. Warm Regards
Read more
Marianneandtom wrote a review Apr 2021
Sydney6 contributions4 helpful votes
$349 for one night for the location and services provided was far too expensive. Our biggest issue was the lack of services. No room service, no restaurant, etc. With everything happening out there at the moment, we wanted to get out of our home and stay put in one place. Unfortunately, we couldn’t stay in the hotel and had to venture out for dinner which proved difficult on a Saturday night. The location didn’t feel very safe either. Given the price, we could have stayed at Intercontinental, four seasons or Shangri la for the same or less, with views, bigger rooms and all facilities you would expect when paying that sort of rate. I understand we also should have done our research before booking. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Giles, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 28 Apr 2021
Dear Marianneandtom, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are very sorry to note that we were not a good fit for what you wanted during your stay. Warm regards
Read more
Moo499 wrote a review Mar 2021
Sydney, Australia93 contributions89 helpful votes
Very welcoming, gorgeous historical building, renovated beautifully to accommodate today's guests. Loved the location and our room (no. 2... fabulous bath!). Toiletries - all Australian made, divine. So close to all the dining options that Potts Point has to offer
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Giles, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Thank-you Moo499 for taking the time to review our gorgeous boutique hotel. We are very blessed with the location and having so many great dining options so close to us. The baths are a real attraction to the rooms with windows for you to look out of while enjoying the bath yest still so private. We do hope we can welcome you back soon,
Read more
Kate A wrote a review Feb 2021
Sydney, Australia43 contributions8 helpful votes
Lovely little spot for a city escape with super comfy beds and friendly staff in a fabulous location with great restaurants, shops, bars and parks right outside the front door. Charm and comfort for the independent traveller!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Giles, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 16 Feb 2021
Thank-you katea916 for taking the time to review the hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your staycation in Potts Point.
Read more
Rhonwyn C wrote a review Feb 2021
Noosa Heads, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
Spicers Potts Point is a beautiful boutique hotel. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. It is in a great location and very convenient to restaurants in Potts Point. I plan to make this my regular Sydney hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Giles, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Dear Rhonwync, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are delighted that we made such a positive impression and that you have decided to make us your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards
Read more
Familygdl wrote a review Jan 2021
Wollongong, Australia158 contributions118 helpful votes
We stayed in the Victoria Suite with a little balcony and glimpses to the harbour/city. Very spacious room and very well styled and appointed. Played the record player and enjoyed relaxing in room before heading out. Loved the honour bar in the lobby - a small bunch of guests were hanging out there and were having so much fun. It's a great idea. The location is fantastic - so central to so much. We walked to Wooloomoloo Wharf for dinner and back, explored all the littles streets. There's so much happening. Need to pre-book onsite parking (there's only a couple of spots). We'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms facing Victoria Street
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sam Giles, General Manager at Spicers Potts Point
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoy the fabulous old fashioned vinyl player in the room and our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home soon
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$228 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spicers Potts Point
Which popular attractions are close to Spicers Potts Point?
Nearby attractions include Bamboozle Room (0.2 km), Woolloomooloo Wharf (0.4 km), and The Running Joke Comedy Club (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Spicers Potts Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Spicers Potts Point?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Spicers Potts Point?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Spicers Potts Point?
Conveniently located restaurants include Farmhouse Kings Cross, Friggitoria, and Pizza Boccone.
Are any cleaning services offered at Spicers Potts Point?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Spicers Potts Point?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chinese Garden of Friendship (2.0 km), State Theatre (1.5 km), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.9 km).
Is Spicers Potts Point accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.