We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Save
Share
Stratford Road, Shirley, Solihull B90 4EB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (178)
360
Panoramas (31)
Room & Suite (188)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Shirley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This impressive hotel is built around an elaborate, large Victorian home which was later converted into the Regency Club. The hotel is surrounded by lovely grounds and yet is just a short drive from the motorway network and Birmingham. It is minutes away from the NEC and Birmingham International Airport.Meeting rooms are modern, well-equipped and versatile, suitable for conferences, seminars, training courses and all benefit from natural daylight and air conditioning. The hotel also has excellent health and leisure facilities and a great restaurant, bar and pub, perfect for unwinding at the end of a long day.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1,080Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 276
  • 280
  • 210
  • 164
  • 150
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Katie wrote a review Feb 2021
Redditch, United Kingdom1 contribution
I am absolutely appalled at the lack of communication. I am a bride that has booked my wedding through this hotel and had to rebook last year to this year because of the pandemic. I have had no correspondence or reassurance regarding the latest announcement from the government thus leaving me and my groom to be feeling let down and distressed as we have tried to contact the venue multiple times, we even went to the hotel to find that they are closed although their answer machine states that they are open. We are in our right mind to take our custom elsewhere and would not be recommending this hotel/company to anyone else!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
karenhorses wrote a review Oct 2020
Lancaster, United Kingdom3 contributions
Gone down hill since our last stay. Swimming pool was fully booked by people not staying at hotel and wasn't advised to book a slot at time of booking. Breakfast was fabulous, but that's about it. Our hairdryer in room didn't work and was replaced with another broken one which nearly set on fire! Will now look for a different hotel in area. Shame as could be a fab hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Dear Guest Im sorry that overall you did not enjoy your stay, thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and I have passed these comments on to our kitchen team. I am sorry the leisure club was fully booked at the time you originally wanted to use the pool, due to covid-19 we need to implement a booking system which is designed to keep everyone safe and I understand that you were able to use the pool at a different time. I do hope you decide to stay with us again, we have made a note on your booking and we will do all we can to ensure your next booking is as enjoyable as your previous stays. Regards
Read more
GBo028 wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Great staff who answered every question and satisfied every request quickly and efficiently. Polite, respectful and helpful at all times. Pre-ordered breakfast for 7am arrived on time to the second, pipping hot, good quality and very enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Call and ask using Best Western direct to book for best value.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am extremely happy to hear that the team have been on hand to help when required, I have also passed your comments over to our restaurant team. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Regency Hotel in the future. Regards
Read more
mdj104 wrote a review Sep 2020
West Midlands, United Kingdom4 contributions
We had a wonderful wedding at the Regency last year and booked a meal to celebrate our 1st year anniversary. We were delighted to find that the manager, who was our Master of Ceremonies was working that evening. We had a wonderful evening, the food as always was delicious thanks to Chris the chef who also catered our wedding, our lovely waitress, Kas, was professional and friendly. This restaurant should be advertised separately to the hotel because it is a hidden gem. Thanks for a great evening.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Responded 27 Sep 2020
Dear Guest Happy Anniversary and thank you for your wonderful review! The Regency Restaurant has been awarded 1 rosette by the AA for culinary excellence and prides itself on providing fresh homemade seasonal dishes at competitive prices in a Covid secure environment. I have passed your comments on to all members of the team concerned and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Regency Hotel in the future. Regards
Read more
CH1982 wrote a review Sep 2020
Herefordshire, United Kingdom104 contributions50 helpful votes
We stayed for 1 night. Our room was big and recently repainted. The furniture was old but the room was spotless. We used the pool after booking a slot with the pool front desk when we arrived. The pool itself is clean and a nice swim. The changing rooms and surroundings of the pool are in desperate need of a deep clean and general maintenance. Fire escape doors don’t fit and it needs repainting. It feels very 90’s with the fake rocks by the jacuzzi and would be better without. Sadly other users hogged the jacuzzi so we weren’t able to try it out. Steam room and Sauna not in use due to Covid. Overall good value and nice people. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradley Shough, General Manager at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Responded 11 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is currently undergoing a phased refurbishment which includes the leisure center and we hope to begin this project next year. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Regency Hotel in the future. Regards
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
corus hotel birmingham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsSolihullShirley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
What are some of the property amenities at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Finest Catch, Hillfield Farm, Dining & Carvery, and Laura Ashley The Tea Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Packwood House (6.3 km), Sarehole Mill (5.8 km), and Magpie Mines (7.2 km).
Is The Regency Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.