We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
286 Bridge Road, Lower Swanwick, Southampton SO31 7EB England
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)


The Navigator Inn sits in a prime position opposite Swanwick Marina on the scenic River Hamble just outside Southampton.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Thai
406Reviews2Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 109
  • 65
  • 49
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paula H wrote a review 20 May
Brixworth, United Kingdom18 contributions27 helpful votes
I have just recently returned from a few days stay at the above hotel, and I just wanted to say that the service and care I received from Simon, Deputy Manager was exemplary. I took my partner & daughter for a short break to visit family and Simon and the staff did not disappoint me. Every staff member with whom we came in contact was attentive and kind. There were a few problems when we arrived and were checked in by the Manager, but by the next morning Simon rectified all this and restored my faith in the hotel. We have stayed here many times and will definitely be returning. We had a wonderful time and I have already recommended this hotel to all of my colleagues, friends and family. Thank you again for such outstanding service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The road outside this hotel can be busy in peak hours but the marina opposite is a lovely place...
See more room tips
Response from Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 3 days ago
Paulah574, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!
Read more
Bryan G wrote a review 14 May
1 contribution
Hadn’t eaten at Harpers before and decided to try it for our anniversary. Entering the car reg on their machine for parking wasn’t the easiest but could just be my sausage fingers!! Excellent service throughout by Beth, nice atmosphere but best of all was the delicious food. Fillet steak cooked to perfection and an amazing whole rack of ribs (which was too much for my wife). Thanks to Harpers for an anniversary meal to remember. Bryan & Denise
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for score 5/5. We hope to seeing you again. Kind regards Harper's Team
Read more
Erniee1996 wrote a review 10 May
Portsmouth, United Kingdom66 contributions32 helpful votes
The lady that served us couldn't be more helpful. A family of 6 with a toddler whom had egg and milk allergies. This restaurant couldn't have been more helpful with trying to accommodate these and keep him safe. It's hard to get this kind of service! We will be returning. The food was amazing and the care was exceptional. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Response from Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Erniee1996, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Gary M wrote a review 6 May
Southampton, United Kingdom3 contributions
Visited Harper's to night 6/4/2022 had a lovely meal excellent service , food was great , no complaints we were all very happy. Our waitress Abbie was very efficient and very welcoming nothing was too much trouble . Lovely environment well positioned table for our party . Can highly recommend . Thank you Gary Mayley
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 2 weeks ago
Gary M, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!
Read more
Dom Jones wrote a review Apr 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom60 contributions16 helpful votes
Booked online and put in comments that we wanted to sit on the terrace as we had a dog. Arrived and headed in to let them know we were here and were told they didn’t serve food outside and didn’t allow dogs inside…no one had told us this despite writing it on the booking form and reviews on here say dogs are allowed outside. When questioned we were told it gets too busy to serve outside and too cold! We booked for 1730 as had a young child and the restaurant was empty at the time. We came with blankets ready to sit outside and they have terrace heaters but the person checking us in really didn’t seem to care and wasn’t willing to find a compromise. So this left 6 people, 1 toddler and a dog to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening with no booking. Not an easy task. So disappointed as wanted to try here since it opened as a steak house.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your meal at Harper's. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have good experience. Our terrace is open for our guests to dine outside if they wish. If you would like to contact on us directly 01489 532 546 we could discuss the issue further. Kindest Regards Harper's Team
Read more
US$56 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the spinnaker hotel swanwick
The Spinnaker
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthamptonLower Swanwick
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harper's Steakhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Harper's Steakhouse?
Nearby attractions include The Brickworks Museum (0.7 km), Swanwick Lakes (1.1 km), and The Navigator (0.00 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Harper's Steakhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Harper's Steakhouse?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Harper's Steakhouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Harper's Steakhouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harper's Steakhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alexanda's Restaurant & Bespoke Deli, Bistro 8, and Harper's Steakhouse (The Navigator).
Is Harper's Steakhouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lower Swanwick.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Harper's Steakhouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Thai, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Harper's Steakhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (7.6 km), Bargate (7.6 km), and Holy Rood Church (7.5 km).
Does Harper's Steakhouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.