We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
286 Bridge Road, Lower Swanwick, Southampton SO31 7EB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 inn in Lower Swanwick
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A small family of laid-back steak houses, fired up by the big, juicy stateside flavours from the best of east to west coast dining; from comforting to mindful, indulgent to low cal and everything beefy or loaded in between. Sitting in a prime position opposite Swanwick Marina on the scenic River Hamble just outside Southampton.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Thai
467Reviews2Q+A90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 182
  • 116
  • 71
  • 52
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Gillian S wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Have just arrived for one night and I have to say how lovely this room is . And a very good price . The room is large cheerful.exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bed is the best one I have ever slept in . The restaurant looks really homely we haven't tried it yet but will do this evening . The welcome was warm and friendly. A lovely find will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Defo give this place a go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Dear Gillian, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful first impression of our hotel. It's fantastic to know that you found your room to be spacious, cheerful, exceptionally clean, and comfortable. We take great pride in providing our guests with a cozy and inviting atmosphere to ensure a relaxing stay. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed! Ensuring a good night's sleep is essential, and we're pleased that our accommodations met your expectations in this regard. We hope you have a fantastic dining experience at our restaurant this evening. Our team works hard to create a warm and welcoming ambiance, and we're sure you'll love the homely atmosphere and delicious offerings. Your kind words about our warm and friendly welcome are greatly appreciated. Providing exceptional service and hospitality is our top priority, and we're thrilled that our efforts made a positive impact on your stay. We're honored to be described as a "lovely find," and we can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the future. If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Warm regards, Steve Rose General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff L wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the service was excellent the rooms were very clean plus at a very good price. Sophie our waitress was excellent .plenty of car parking spaces in car park. Close to marina for walk round . All members of staff very happy to help
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Providing excellent service and maintaining cleanliness are top priorities for us, so we're delighted to learn that we met your expectations in these aspects. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Sophie and the rest of our team. They work hard to ensure that every guest feels welcomed and well taken care of during their stay. It's wonderful to hear that their efforts made a positive impact on your experience. We're glad you found our pricing competitive and our location convenient for exploring the marina area. We strive to offer a comfortable and affordable stay for all our guests. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future! Best regards, Steve Rose General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellen V wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
We had great service and food at Harpers this evening. Amazing cocktails and fantastic wings Wednesday. Our server, Holly, did an absolutely fabulous job on what was only her 3rd shift! Thank youuuu so much! We'll be back!!..............
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic evening at Harpers enjoying our cocktails and wings. Holly is indeed a gem, and we're delighted to hear she made your visit memorable, especially considering it was only her third shift. We'll make sure to pass along your kind words to her. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful dining experience soon! Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katie S wrote a review Jan 2024
Swindon, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
Took advantage of the 2 nights for £99 in January what a steal! The rooms are great bed so comfy I don't want to get out of it in the morning. Only downside is how thin the walls are and you can hear noise from downstairs too. Not the end of the world but a bit annoying. Arrived first night and was met by the manager not sure of his name but he was very efficient and polite in getting us all checked in and directed us to our room. Claudia served us for dinner and she was good though you could tell she was nervous on her first full night none the less. Still she did good and was polite and sweet. Tell her to keep going it will get easier :). 2nd night didn't feel like heading down for dinner so was gonna order on the upham inns and have food and drink brought to our room as it said in the arrivals book in our room. However when logging in we found no option to give room number only table number. Slightly confused we rang downstairs and the same gentleman as before answered. I got confused as to which part needed updating the app or book. Neither mattered though as he offered to take the order over the phone and have it all brought up and could pay once it was brought up. Amazing when you've had a busy day out and didn't fancy going downstairs again. Looking forward to breakfast again in the morning before heading off. The lady that served us before was very sweet also. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking can get busy at weekends and evenings
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
clivecornwall wrote a review Jan 2024
Looe, United Kingdom34 contributions36 helpful votes
The room was lovely, clean and with comfortable bedding. Downside, one smallish towel rail to dry bath sheets for two which is not a lot for a stay of a few nights. Food. Continental breakfast OK but very limited choice, nothing savoury apart from Marmite, no fruit salad, compote. cold ham, eggs etc Restaurant meals, hmm, not so good, chunky chips oozed oil to the extent that on pressing one with the back of a fork a small lake appeared, unappetising, unhealthy, unattractive and not really edible. There's lots about this establishment to like, most of the staff are great (most) and the rooms, though not large, are entitely adequate. Just could be so much better with a bit of flair and more care /interest in the kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good to sleep but perhaps eat somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Clive, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding the lovely and clean room, as well as the comfortable bedding. It's delightful to hear that most of our staff contributed positively to your experience. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience you encountered with the amenities provided. Your observations about the limited choice in our continental breakfast and the lack of savory options, fruit salad, compote, and cold ham have been duly noted. We understand the importance of a well-rounded dining experience, and we will certainly review our offerings to provide a more diverse and satisfying selection for our guests. Moreover, we regret that the quality of our restaurant meals did not meet your expectations. Your detailed feedback about the chunky chips is concerning, and we assure you that we take these matters seriously. Our kitchen team will be addressing the issues you highlighted to ensure a significant improvement in the quality and presentation of our meals. We truly value your insights, as they help us identify areas for improvement. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our team to foster a more attentive and creative approach in the kitchen. We are committed to enhancing the overall experience for our guests, and your feedback plays a crucial role in achieving that goal. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience. Warm regards, Steve Rose General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mail D wrote a review Dec 2023
Sandy, United Kingdom31 contributions17 helpful votes
The check in was swift welcoming and well delivered. The room I have is superb, clean, well presented, with tasteful funishings. There is a hospitality tray with has and good choice of beverages, and biscuits which were replenished daily. The enormous bed was very comfortable and I could really spread out. For the money I paid it was excellent value. There was however a downside - the walls between the rooms are paper thin and it is possible to hear almost every sound from the adjacent occupants who have now. Dince 05.30am, been engaged in a very earnest conversation about their daughters choice of partner, thier mothers chilblains and the price of fish.... the list goes on... its such a shame. I wont say I wouldn't book again because of the noise transmission, but it would make me think twice. Its why I've not gone for the full 5
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear out of the main bar/restairant area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear mail D, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We're thrilled to hear that your check-in experience was swift and welcoming, and that you found your room to be superb, clean, and well-presented with tasteful furnishings. It's always great to know that our guests appreciate the effort we put into providing a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We're also glad to hear that you found the hospitality tray well-stocked with a good choice of beverages, along with the daily replenishment of biscuits. Creating a welcoming and well-equipped environment for our guests is a priority for us, and we're delighted that we met your expectations in this regard. However, we genuinely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise transmission from adjacent rooms. We understand how important a peaceful and quiet stay is for our guests, and we are sorry that this aspect fell short of your expectations. Your feedback regarding the thin walls is valuable to us, and we will certainly look into ways to address and improve this issue to enhance the overall guest experience. We appreciate your understanding and patience in this matter, and we want to assure you that your comments have been shared with our management team for further review. We take all guest feedback seriously, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and refine our services. We hope that, despite the noise issue, you'll consider staying with us again. Your satisfaction is our priority, and we would love the opportunity to provide you with an even better experience on your next visit. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Steve Rose General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mary J wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Following an initial stay at Harpers Steakhouse in Southampton, my partner and me were offered a discount. Encouraged by this, we chose to book the same location again. However, the website posed limitations, allowing only the booking of a room with one breakfast and the applied discount. Upon arrival, I informed the reception that there would be two of us and that we were indifferent to the discount. This led to a prolonged discussion with the receptionist. Eventually, the manager, Steve, agreed to refund the breakfast cost, expressing that I was already receiving a favorable deal and implying that I might be attempting to take advantage of the situation. The next morning, we discovered that the hot water in our room was not functioning. I promptly reported the issue to the reception, the receptionist herself came into our room, checked and acknowledged the absence of hot water. This led to us being relocated to a different room in another building. This transition was highly inconvenient, necessitating us to pack and unpack our belongings. I requested the receptionist to convey this inconvenience to the manager. When I attempted to return the keys during check-out, I encountered the manager at the reception, which also served as the breakfast area for all guests. He angrily stood up, accusing me of dishonesty regarding the hot water in the room and threatening to impose an additional cleaning fee due to alleged bloodstains on the sheets. It's important to note that he raised his voice, making these accusations publicly through the restaurant during Saturday morning breakfast at 11 am. In response, I expressed the need to fetch my partner, who was in the process of loading our luggage into the car. Once my partner joined me in the restaurant, the manager, Steve, continued to shout about bloodstains on the sheets and insisted that we had lied about the water issue. Which I found very intimidating due to his aggressive manner, feeling very threatened by this experience. My partner pointed out that the receptionist wouldn't have moved us to another room if the water had been warm. I was astonished that the manager went so far as to inspect our sheets. When I disclosed that I had just started my period and apologised for any accidental bloodstains, Steve dismissively and loudly declared, "This is your problem," called us blaggers and abruptly announced that we were banned from the premises. Experiencing such hostile behavior, including him shouting about my menstruation in front of other guests and blaming me, was profoundly humiliating. It has taken me until now to articulate this experience, as it is difficult to comprehend how someone could assign blame to a woman for natural cycles in such a hostile manner. I must emphasize that such antagonistic behaviour, particularly the public discussion of my menstrual cycle, is both unacceptable, deeply shameful and embarrassing. I never expected to be treated in such a manner and find it necessary to bring this matter to your immediate attention. I believe writing this review is crucial to prevent any other woman or customer from enduring a similarly hostile experience. After reaching out to Upham Inns management regarding this issue, I didn't perceive any resolution. Several of my emails have been ignored, and they claimed the case was closed. Unfortunately, I have yet to receive an apology for the humiliating behavior exhibited by Harper's Steak House. These are indeed disheartening times.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Food and staff all brilliant ..... a special mention to Mel as looked after everything so well. we were made very welcome . Only a slight downside on room maintanance - curtain partly off rail, only four coathangers (more supplied promptly after asking) and unable to get aircon to work. Just a bit of TLC needed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Dear Linda, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an excellent review! We are so glad to hear that you had a good time with us, and thank you for bringing these to our attention. We take every feedback and act accordingly. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Harper`s team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lionel P wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions
I have to say we were very impressed with the whole package. All the staff – without exception, were helpful, polite and attentive. The Manager is very well versed with placing the customer 1st - very impressive. Both the rooms and bar/restaurant area were spotlessly clean; décor & furnishings are of a high quality and there's a great ambiance throughout. The rooms are extremely comfortable, very well appointed and homely. We spent a lovely late afternoon & evening in the bar & restaurant with some lovely food, drinks (probably over indulged) and super atmosphere. We would definitely visit again and would certainly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 10 Nov 2023
Dear Lionel, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your delightful experience with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a superb one-night break and that the entire package left a positive impression on you. It warms my heart to know that our team, across the board, made your stay enjoyable with their helpfulness, politeness, and attentiveness. We take pride in placing our customers first. Maintaining a high standard of cleanliness and providing a welcoming environment is a top priority for us, so we're pleased to hear that you found both the rooms and the bar/restaurant area to be spotlessly clean. Your compliments about the high-quality décor, furnishings, and the overall ambiance reinforce our commitment to creating a comfortable and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests. We're delighted that you found the rooms extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and homely. Creating a home-away-from-home experience is important to us, and it's fantastic to hear that we achieved this during your stay. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our bar and restaurant, and we're glad you enjoyed the food, drinks, and the super atmosphere. Overindulgence is perfectly acceptable when creating special memories! Your intention to visit again and recommend us means the world to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience. If there's anything specific you'd like to experience or any preferences you have for your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you once again for choosing us and for sharing your positive feedback. Warm regards, Steve Rose General Manager 01489572123
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tina M wrote a review Nov 2023
Dibden Purlieu, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Last minute booking for accommodation and not disappointed. Great service from the booking in and bar staff. Nice room, comfy bed, the shower a bit small though. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very welcoming. Would definitely recommend. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Dear Tina, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We're delighted that your last-minute stay with us exceeded your expectations. It's wonderful to hear that our team provided excellent service from the booking process to your time at the bar. We're thrilled you found the room comfortable, though we regret any inconvenience caused by the shower size. Moreover, it's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and felt welcomed by our staff. Your recommendation means a lot to us. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you. Should your travels bring you back this way, we'd be honored to welcome you again for another great experience. Warm regards, Steve Rose General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lower Swanwick area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$587 - HK$1,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the spinnaker hotel swanwick
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Spinnaker
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthamptonLower Swanwick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARMING BEDROOMS AT HARPER'S STEAKHOUSE SOUTHAMPTON - Updated 2024 Prices & Inn Reviews (Lower Swanwick, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Which popular attractions are close to Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Nearby attractions include The Brickworks Museum (0.7 km), Swanwick Lakes (1.1 km), and The Navigator (0.00 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harper's Steakhouse & Bar Swanwick Marina, The Jolly Sailor, and Banana Wharf.
Is Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lower Swanwick.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Thai, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (7.6 km), Holy Rood Church (7.5 km), and Bargate (7.6 km).
Does Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.