We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auberge du Roua

Save
Share
46 Chemin du Roua, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (260)
360
Panoramas (43)
Room & Suite (240)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Auberge du Roua
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 21 hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Auberge du Roua - an authentic catalane mansion from the 17th century entirely refurbished into a four stars hotel with 17 rooms and suites - welcomes you to the sunny climate of the Mediterranean.Situated outside the town of Argeles sur Mer, towards the vineyards and beautiful mountains of Les Alberes, l'Auberge du Roua provides a unique setting of contemporary design and comfort, including modern amenities of free wifi and high speed internet, coupled with a truly Mediterranean-flavoured cuisine and exceptional local wines.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Norwegian and 1 more
431Reviews6Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 139
  • 30
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Enjoylife wrote a review Jul 2020
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed for several nights and enjoyed dinner and breakfast. Excelent room, quiet, tasteful. Lovely garden with small but comfortable pool. Kind and helpfull staff. Very good breakfast and dinner Improvements: fresh orange juice instead of boxed/bottled.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Meca007, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua
Responded 5 Jul 2020
Thank you so much for your visit and for sharing your experience here. It is a great pleasure to read from you and we are very pleased that you enjoy your stay, for both the hotel and the restaurant. Well noted for the orange juice. Best regards, Magalie
Read more
arfawkes wrote a review Mar 2020
Andover, United Kingdom6 contributions
I have lived in France for more than 30 years but this hotel is the best I have stayed at in this region of France. OK the decor and facilities of the rooms are not the most fantastic, but they are very value for money with everything one needs for a comfortable stay. I have stayed in this hotel 3 times but hope to return many more times.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The restaurant food is excellent and the wines perfect. Not in the centre of Argeles sur Mer,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Meca007, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you so much Captain ! Thank you for your fidelity and your posting. We will be happy to see you again and again, Kindest regards, Magalie Tonjum
Read more
Maehb wrote a review Oct 2019
N. Ireland103 contributions106 helpful votes
I thought this hotel would be quirky and full of character and it was but......the reception staff were underwhelming and the pool was ice cold. I loved the buildings and the restaurant has Michelin stars but the service for dinner was abysmal. It was over an hour before our starters came, and getting the waitress's attention was almost impossible. We felt the local people whom she obviously knew were the priority. The food was nothing special and the menu was limited. The restaurant setting is lovely and such a pity that other aspects don't meet up. Breakfast was continental as I found the whole package to be over priced for what we had. We had a lovely view over the hills from our room although the down side was we were right above a walkway to the restaurant and reception. It was a challenge to find as well and could never have done it without the Sat. Nav. As mentioned in other reviews, there is no option for food throughout the day and no bar, and being so far from the town this can be a real downside.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Meca007, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Dear Sir, I was in the restaurant the very night of your “abysmal service”. From sitting down, ordering, having an appetizer and then a starter it takes a good 45-60 minutes in my restaurant. This is mostly governed by the kitchen and not the waitresses, as good food need proper preparation. The kitchen sets the rhythm and the waiters follow the flow so to speak. Contrary to your erroneous perception, your table was not “overlooked” in any way. We have repeatedly indicated in our review replies that we do not serve food during the day, and the full bar service on the pool terrace of the hotel starts at 17.30. During the day, all guest are welcomed to come to the reception to order drinks. The breakfast is indeed continental, but we try to put quality products into this service – at 14 euros I don’t feel our breakfast is overpriced in any way. The underwhelming reception staff were actually my wife and myself. Petter Tonjum, owner
Read more
Pat A wrote a review Sep 2019
Oxford, United Kingdom42 contributions23 helpful votes
The Auberge is a beautifully restored Catalan house set in pine woods. We stayed in a standard room which was large and had a huge bathroom. It was nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. There is a road not far away but we were not disturbed by any traffic noise and the air conditioning was effective. There is a pretty garden with a small pool and plenty of sun loungers. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and everything was replenished by pleasant efficient staff. It’s fair to say that the crowning glory of this hotel is the food which is exceptional. It is delicious,imaginative,and beautifully presented. The deserts are a work of art. It’s not cheap but you get what you pay for and the ingredients are of the highest quality and dining on the terrace in the evening is a charming experience. For us there were a few downsides. The hotel is a bit hard to find and the road is quite tricky ( glad of the sat nav) it’s also a bit far from town. You do need a car. There is no food to be had midday ( except Sunday) and that can be inconvenient as you have to drive into town to get something to eat. There is no bar as such but if you ask at reception they will get you a cold drink. Also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. As this is a four star hotel I think that should be available. However overall we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Meca007, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua
Responded 27 Sep 2019
Thank you very much for your very detailed posting. All noted and thank you again for your visit. Best regards, Magalie Tonjum
Read more
SirEdReig wrote a review Sep 2019
Amstelveen, The Netherlands17 contributions11 helpful votes
This small hotel looked promising on the internet but our stay there (3 nights) was nothing more than disappointing. The reception by the female-owner was reserved and cool. The room was tasteless and outdated, € 153 for B&B is far overrated (my wife called it ‘a cave room’). Facilities like deck-chair and swimming pool are mediocre. No service, no lunch nor snack at the pool. Moreover, there is constant traffic noise from the nearby four-way D914. This is not the place to be when visiting Argelès. We walked the promenade at seafront and regretted not to have booked the Grand Hotel Lido (“vue mer”!).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Meca007, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua
Responded 16 Sep 2019
Dear Sir, yes, we do not serve lunch as we focus our efforts into providing a quality, full bar and dinner service in the evenings, for which I gather you never attended. Your views on the property’s interiors and exteriors are nonetheless abundantly subjective and in my perspective remarkably unreliable . Sincerely, Petter Tonjum
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge du roua hotel
LOCATION
FranceOccitaniePyrenees-OrientalesArgeles-sur-Mer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge du Roua
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge du Roua?
Nearby attractions include L'intrigue (1.1 km), La Savonnetterie- Savon Catalan (1.2 km), and Ermitage Notre-Dame de Vie (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge du Roua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Auberge du Roua?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge du Roua?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge du Roua?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge du Roua?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Trencadis, Bartavelle, and Restaurant Auberge du Roua.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auberge du Roua?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Auberge du Roua?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge du Roua?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Swedish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Auberge du Roua?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Saint-Elme (7.4 km), Tour Madeloc (7.9 km), and Chateau Royale de Collioure (6.3 km).