We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (190)
Panoramas (9)
Pool & Beach (73)
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Overlooking the magnificent Biodola bay, the hotel has a large private sand beach, 8 clay tennis courts, 9-hole golf course.The hotel's restaurant is famous for its exquisite cuisine and service. Maitu' beach restaurant offers a range of Tuscan specialties. Rooms and suites all with terrace, have all the comforts one would expect of a top-class hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Airport Transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Reviews & more
10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 283
  • 91
  • 23
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This stay was ruined the minute we walked through the door! The man on reception was arrogant and unhelpful. We’d been travelling all day and arrived about 7pm looking forward to dinner only to be told we couldn’t eat in their restaurant because my partner didn’t have long
Read more
AC unit worked for first 15 min, then it just blew warm, smelly air. When I complained they said "Usually we do not turn on air conditioning in May". For a 4-star hotel to tell this to the guest is unacceptable, on their website they claim each unit is equipped with the AC and I
Read more
We stayed for 3 nights. Check in was perfunctory, no wecoming smiles. No hotel tour or explanation of facilities. The room was clean but dated, firmly in the late 70s. No modern touches, at all. A room safe that did not work. Air con that had been tampered with so that it had
Read more
Response from DeFerrari, Owner at Hotel Biodola
Responded 30 May 2018
Dear Mr. Martymusmaximus Wirral, Thank you for appreciated the location and our private sand beach. While I wish you had a better experience at the check-in and Check-out, we strongly apologize for any mistake we might have done, however we can't agree with your feedback about our staff. In fact our staff welcome guests with a noble-minded competence which transmits into a truly unique way of expressing warmth for each and every visitor. Roughly 20% Biodola Rooms are renovated every year, and they all have furnishings in pristine wood inspired by Tuscan artisans. Regarding the iron board, we apologize that you might not have received the correct information, in Italy we do have a law that in hotel room is forbidden to have an iron. Anyway we will take your feedback and use to try to improve. If you will give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests having every day. Sincerely, Raffaella De Ferrari Hotel Manager
Read more
The hotel is located close to Portoferraio where you can find many cute shops and restaurants. The hotel has private beach, salted water swimming pool, tennis court, bar, each room has balcony or access to the garden, and food at restaurant was delicious. They offered buffet
Read more
Response from DeFerrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola
Responded 15 May 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for dedicating to Hotel Biodola your nice words and sharing your experience with the broad audience of Tripadvisor. It is difficult sometimes to find the right words to express our happiness and gratitude for such a sincere message of appreciation. We may only assure our guests that our commitment in providing our guest an unforgettable stay will always stay unchanged and we look forward to welcome you back soon in this Paradise. Best regards. General Manager Raffaella De Ferrari
Read more
We spent two weeks in August at the Hotel Biodola and could not rate the hotel or staff more highly. Everyone was incredibly welcoming, friendly and could not have been more helpful. The staff at the front desk were always prepared to help, whether it was advising on good
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Biodola
The Double Room Sea View at the Hotel Biodola
My view from the jacuzzi.
Good evening, I think in that period there wont be a direct ferry, so you have to go from Bastia to Livorno first (there is a Corsica Ferries leaving about 2 pm and arriving about 6 pm) and then you have to get a ferry from Piombino to Elba (last ferry is about 20 pm, so you have all the time to get it. The price for the ticket from Bastia to Livorno for 1 car and two passengers is about 100 euro, but if you ask at our concierge during the reservation, you can get the ticket with a big reduction (20-30%). Best regards.
0 votes
There are 3 restaurants that are about 10/15 minutes walking from us. The nearest is in Scaglieri: Ristorante da Luciano that is an excellent choice.
0 votes
Il ristorante è a buffet?
No. A la carte. E ottimamente servito
0 votes
Show all answers
Sorry, i don ‘t now!!!! Call the structure.
0 votes
"Check that the AC unit works"
"Some rooms are significantly bigger than others - it's worth asking on booking."
"Must have a sea view room!"
"Choose a sea view room"
"Ask for one with a view of the sea - you need to see the sun set!"
US$184 - US$427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
biodola hotel portoferraio
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LivornoElba IslandPortoferraio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing