We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domus Socolatae Residenza d"Epoca Charming B&B

Save
Share
Piazza Vittorio Veneto 21, 58022 Follonica Italy
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (84)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Follonica
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Domus Socolatae property gets a boutique bed and breakfast in Residenza d'Epoca and apartments located in the nearby annex. The facilities are devoted to a sustainable tourism and inspired by the world of cocoa and chocolate. Intimate and welcoming, the Domus Socolatae is a stone's throw from the sea, the shopping area and the pedestrian promenade, in an ideal position to reach all the main attractions of the city on foot. In our Residenza d'Epoca elegant setting, thre elegant suites and one stylish double bedroom are equipped with all the confort. In-room massage service for a fee and cocoa-based treatments. We will be happy to inform you about initiatives and activities in the area. This dwelling is meant for adults only. In our apartments with private garden, located about 200 meters from the Residenza d'Epoca, children are welcome and pets on request. Domus Socolatae provides a DIY CHECK IN and CHECK IN ON LINE system. You can arrive any time according to your needs
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Free airport transportation
Full body massage
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Head massage
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Portuguese
132Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 19
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Coastal444658 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
+1
We spend a week in one of the studios apartments (which are not located in the same buildings as the B&B but in a newly built condominium further away from the beach). We choose this property because it had Wi-Fi as my husband had to work remotely. When we arrived the Wi-Fi was not working. The property did not have a rooter but a booster which was linked to a nearby house, which we suspect would not be strong enough for video conferencing. The owner took 5 days to install an aerial which was delivering a signal inside the apartment, but again not strong enough. Although the owners acknowledged the inconvenience that this caused and they promised (in writing) a gesture of good will, we did not receive any discount or any other compensation. Since we booked directly, we have no way of affirming our rights. In addition when we arrived the kitchen had minimal crockery and cutlery (3 glasses, no bowls, 5 forks and knifes, no bottle opener), when we asked for more the owner gave us additional plates and cups (which we had to wash) but this was used against us when we asked for a compensation for the lack of Wi-Fi connection. Apparently we had made an unreasonable request which they had accommodated. There is no microwave and no toaster. The "so-called' garden is a terrace which is partly shared with the other apartment owned by the same owners. The shower hose is not long enough for anybody taller than 1.40 cm to wash their hair. The bathtub enamel was damaged and the bathroom sink was cracked. The clothes horse was rusty. We found no welcome pack when we arrive, if you exclude a bottle of still water in the fridge, which was quite disappointing given how much we pay to stay here. On the plus side, the property had toiletry (but only 2 toilet rolls), nice towels and bed linen. Overall we were left with a bitter taste in our mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimiliano Cavazzoni, Proprietario at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Dear Ms. Paola, we were waiting for your review, so we thank you for allowing us to explain what we offer and to better clarify our services in Domus Socolatae apartments. 1) You arrived on Saturday and since the check-in time you have complained about the equipment of the apartment. The same day an electrical short circuit happened that caused the wifi system to go haywire. Although the technician could not come because of the COVID, we fixed the wifi line and your complaints about it are disproved by the facts. As well as your "suspicions" about the power of the wifi line, considering that your husband was connected to the network every day, as we saw him working quietly in the garden under the gazebo several times. Besides, in the same apartment other guests in the recent past have used the same wifi service for work and no one has ever complained: in addition to the aerial positioned in the garden, we have also several signal repeaters in our apartments and you sow it when I ask you. However, since Thursday the w-ifi has been fully working even in the house, (we immediately looked for another technician who, unfortunately, since we are in high season, was able to come only on Thursday) as yourself told us, as well as the guests of the neighboring apartment who are ready to testify. We ensured the service also on Sunday at the Residenza d'Epoca, too and, subsequently, in the garden of the apartment. So we didn’t seem admissible the € 100,00 off because we ensured the service for the entire duration of your stay. Besides, more than once, you invited other undeclared people to the apartment also for dinner in the garden. You know we are in a pandemic and at check in time you signed the self-certification of health - we use to send data to the local authorities - for yourself and the group of your family (3 people), no one more. Both on our web site and on the OTA’s portals it is clearly stated it is absolutely forbidden to have parties in our apartments. 2) Our apartments, as clearly stated on our website and in our welcome email we always send, are located in a separate building and are approximately 200 meters from the Residenza d’Epoca. Everyone can verify the distance as we also indicate the exact address on the website and in the aforementioned welcome email, about 400/500 meters from the equipped and free beach. 3) Regarding the microwave and toaster, nowhere is it stated this accommodation is equipped with, the apartment is equipped with an electric oven in the kitchenette. Anyway all you had to do was ask us and we would give them, as we did for the plates and glasses (they were “dusty” because new), new bottle opener and the cutting board even if they were in the apartment and you hadn't seen them .... 4) As for the garden, it is not a terrace, it is a land partly covered by Tuscan terracotta, each guest has its own private space which is separated by a fence of plants and flowers, gazebos and tents from the other neighboring guests. The external spaces are widely described and represented with pictures on our website, too. 5) With regard to the courtesy set, we equip the apartments with shampoo-shower cream and other amenities. Every guest need to supply for personal staffs because we can't calculate the amount of toilet paper each guest needs for personal consumption during the period of his stay. We always leave two packs of toilet paper. It happens in any apartment rented for tourism purposes. You are right, we had not noticed that the clothesline was rusty and we have already changed it. 6) We would also like to understand why we should have let you find a welcome package upon arrival, after all, the price is absolutely in line with other apartments rented in Follonica with the same characteristics, otherwise we are sure you wouldn’t certainly chosed it. 7) Finally, we cannot understand what you meant by not being able to assert your rights because you booked directly with the structure. It almost seems that we, the property, have taken advantage of you and this is really not very credible for those who will read these lines, given that we have been on the tourist market for years and, although we do not claim to be perfect, we have certainly always shown we are committed to carrying out our work with fairness, honesty and a lot of passion! So, if you left with a bitter taste in your mouth, you can’t imagine how we feel to read you, as we strive and spend every daily our energy to make our guests' holiday as relaxing and enjoyable as possible! We wish you a peaceful summer, kind regards. Rita & Max
Read more
Christian A wrote a review Sep 2019
Cascina, Italy6 contributions1 helpful vote
Good choice to visit Follonica and near beatiful seasides. Excellent staff with passion and no common artistic sense. The apartment was clean and nice and well equipped for our purpose. Nice garden. Fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimiliano C, Direttore at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Thanks for being our guests and we appreciate your kind words. A warm regard Max & Rita
Read more
Jan S wrote a review Apr 2019
Aalborg, Denmark6 contributions1 helpful vote
Book this place.. .great central location and great service / rooms !! Breakfast was really incredible.. Huge selection and homemade. The staff is really serviceminded and take pride in to make your stay comfortable... !! Book this place !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Massimiliano C, Direttore at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Responded 15 Apr 2019
Thanks for beeing our guest, we appreciated your stay at Domus Socolatae and we hope to see you again! Max & Rita
Read more
DavidKJosephK wrote a review Oct 2018
Birmingham, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
The proprietress was warm helpful and charming.Proud of this region of Tuscany and full of helpful advice for individuals, couples and families.The staff were friendly, conscientious with a cheerful greeting whenever you passed.The room I stayed in was spotless with a sitting room, separate bedroom and bathroom all with period furniture combined with modern necessities. The air conditioning was particularly efficient and simple to use. It is set in a pleasant square just a short stroll from a variety of good restaurants, and an even shorter stroll to some nice bars and cafes .In the mornings you can saunter down to the beach for a swim, followed by an ice cream from an historic ice cream parlour overlooking the beach, I did.If you prefer a more solitary beach experience it stretches for a few miles in either direction and there is no problem finding a peaceful spot.The train station is also a short walk away from the accommodation if you want to go further afield without using a car. A Unique and very pleasant experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RitaL3364, Proprietario at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Responded 19 Oct 2018
Thank you for being our very welcome guest and we hope to meet you again. Warm regards Max & Rita
Read more
thechicki wrote a review Apr 2018
2 contributions
I’ve been to countless hotels in different countries, but this one I will definitely come back to and always remember as a unique place of joy. From first impression to service and comfort everything exceeded my expectations though these are already quite high. The gorgeous style made me feel like I was stepping into another world when entering the hotel. I was allowed playing the beautiful piano, slept more than well in the bed and woke up to a lovely breakfast smell. Even breakfast was a unique experience, sharing it with other guests, having peaceful and charming morning chats to the wonderful tastes of homemade jams, cakes and other tasty treats. Altogether a perfect stay! I will definitely come back! Thank you for everything
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rita L, Proprietario at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Responded 1 May 2018
Thank you for being our guests. We apreciate só much your kind review and we are looking forward to welcome you to play piano again! Kind regards Max & Rita
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of GrossetoFollonica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Nearby attractions include Magma - Museo delle Arti in Ghisa della Maremma (0.3 km), Chiesa di San Leopoldo (0.1 km), and Cast Iron Gate, Ex-Ilva, Follonica (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante il Sottomarino, Marrini Osteria EnoGastronomica, and Osteria Il Trabaccolo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Follonica.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Domus Socolatae Residenza d´Epoca Charming B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Area ex-Ilva Di Follonica (0.10 km), Villa Benedetti (0.08 km), and Ex Terminal Teleferiche di Terra Rossa (4.8 km).