We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel

Save
Share
Walworth, Darlington DL2 2LY England
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (719)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (85)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Darlington's only castle hotel, nestled in 18 acres of lawns and woodland yet only 5 minutes drive from J58 the A1(M). It is the ideal location for your overnight stay and is perfect for both business accommodation, meetings and conferences, as well as wedding receptions and romantic getaways. We have 32 individually designed bedrooms and complimentary Wifi access throughout.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1435Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 757
  • 343
  • 188
  • 93
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ian2022714 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Staff were extremely friendly and careing, breakfast was excellent, very quiet and peaceful location. Room was a little small, but very comfortable. I would definitely stay again. Hotel is in a great location.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dave c wrote a review 20 Sep
Diss, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked two rooms to meet up with family visiting from overseas and the location was perfect. The rooms in the West wing were "cosy" but fine for us and at a competitive rate. Breakfast was good and cooked to order and enjoyed in a relaxed setting. We will be returning as it is such a nice rural location, handy to get out and explore Teesdale and North Yorkshire, though we will look at a larger room next time. Must also say how friendly and helpful the staff were throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helen B wrote a review 19 Sep
Whitby, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
Terrible experience. I booked afternoon tea there with a few friends for my hen party. Despite knowing in advance we were a hen party, when we arrived there we were told there was a wedding on and I couldn't openly celebrate it as my hen do due to their one bride policy . we weren't even allowed to sit in the gardens despite ringing them the day before and them telling us we could. They even rang me on way home to mistakingly allege that we had not paid for some drinks. They had two clear opportunities to tell me before the day they had a wedding on! One member of their staff was rude. I complained to manager who wasn't interested. Ruined my day with their terrible communication skills
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Unless you are having a wedding there I wouldn't bother going. I was made to feel very unwelcome
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
willyb1967 wrote a review 19 Sep
1 contribution
Four poster room was nice but basic. No bottled water, coffee machine, limited toiletries. A wedding was taking place which didn’t help our experience as lots of banging at night. Food was nice, staff attentive, definitely a three star venue
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dave C wrote a review 16 Sep
St Helens, United Kingdom117 contributions37 helpful votes
Our second visit to this beautiful castle. We were given a warm welcome by the receptionist who could not do enough for us and was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for her. We stayed in room 3, the last one in the annexe, very quite and out of the way, this did not matter as you can access the restaurant through the corridor into the hotel and do not need to go outside. The room was large and had a large Plasma T.V with lots of channels to choose from, T.V and WIFI had perfect reception. The room and bedding was spotlessly clean. The room had a brand new bathroom, which I have to say was very small as there was not much room between the sink and the shower unit, it had a power shower and lots of hot water with lots of fluffy towels. The only point I would make is that this bathroom would not be suitable if you have a disability, which unfortunately I had but I managed to over come the issue. I did not mention that I had a disability so the problem was mine and not the hotel as I feel sure that if I had mentioned it to reception they would have moved us to another room if at all possible, but we were happy where we were. Breakfast and evening meals were cooked to perfection good quality food piping hot, plentiful and the staff were very freindly, sevice was excellent at all times morning and night. Just like to thank all the staff for making our stay a happy one and appreciate everything they did to make our stay a happy one. See you all again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sheila I wrote a review 7 Sep
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We are staying nearby and decided to treat ourselves to Afternoon Tea in the Castle. The reviews were good so we were looking forward to ending our holiday on a high. Sadly it was a bit of a letdown. We were put in a room with no real features and no other guests, not even a view from our table,, not the surroundings we expected from the photos. The only time we saw a member of staff was when the tea was served, with no follow up to ask if more tea was required. The saving grace was the bite sized cakes which were good. All in all not really worth the £40 Maybe we would have had a better experience if the hotel had other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mrs Swain, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Sheila, Whilst I am sorry that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea experience, it isn't really any fault of the hotel that there were no other customers taking afternoon tea at the same time at yourselves. Our staff would have been more than happy to move your table to one more preferential if you would have requested it at the time. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future, but if something isn't to your satisfaction, our staff would be more than happy to correct it at the time. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coralmiller1 wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our daughter and son in law chose the castle two years ago and not one family member or friends were disappointed at all. From start to finish our stay and the beautiful wedding ceremony and wonderful meal was superb. Big thanks to all the staff who made their unforgettable special day
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mrs Swain, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass your comments onto everyone involved in making your daughter and son in laws wedding so memorable. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Escape738900 wrote a review Aug 2022
Usk, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at Walworth castle for my brothers wedding, we stayed one night the price was quite expensive. The room was really small. The only toilet roll was nearly empty on our arrival. Bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows were extremely thin and uncomfortable one of the worst nights sleep we have had in a hotel. The lounge bar ran out of glasses early in the day, staff seemed a little bit disinterested.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mrs Swain, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. We do have a green tourism policy in place to prevent wastage which was why our housekeeping team ensure all the toilet roll is used before replacing it. Although there should have been 2 additional toilet rolls for you to use. I am sorry that you found the bed and pillows to be uncomfortable. We do offer a pillow menu and this information would have been available in the guest information pack in your room. Here you would have found a wide choice of pillows which may have been better suited to you. I really wish you would have brought these matters to our attention during your stay as they would have easily been rectified and would have positively contributed to your experience. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UKNorseman wrote a review Aug 2022
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom315 contributions145 helpful votes
Perfect place to relax and unwind. Set in a large garden. This hotel has history, rooms are large and airy. You need a car to get here; plenty of free parking and friendly staff. The restaurant serves excellent food and the portions are very generous, this goes for dinner and the English breakfast. Reasonable prices considering the decent size meals. Well worth a visit if you are transiting or touring the area
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mrs Swain, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments onto the whole team. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
t24phb wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in a suite for our years anniversary, complimentary stay. Staff are unbelievably friendly. Restaurant is very nice and food is perfect including the breakfast. My only concern and it's being picky, the jacuzzi in our room seemed to leave a yellow stain around the waterline in the bath which was easily cleaned. Not sure what it was but could have maybe been ladies makeup. First world problems I know and like I said it's being picky as it's literally the only thing to be negative
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mrs Swain, Owner at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to welcome you back for your first years anniversary stay. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Rachel Swain Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western darlington, darlington best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDarlingtonWalworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Valhalla North Axe Throwing (5.8 km), Walworth Birds of Prey (0.8 km), and Cluedini Live Escape Rooms (Darlington) (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bombay Gate, Viraj Restaurant, and The Black Horse.
Is Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Walworth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Piercebridge Roman Fort & Bridge (3.7 km), Durham Town Hall (7.4 km), and Tees Cottage Pumping Station (5.6 km).
Does Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.