We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
US$290
View deal
Hotels.com
Official Site
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1299)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (304)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish, Slovak
3879Reviews56Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,559
  • 1,086
  • 624
  • 338
  • 272
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sper531695 wrote a review 26 Jun
Redhill, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a great short stay a couple of weeks ago. We stayed in suite 122 which has a lovely view over the lake. The bathroom is beautiful and the sitting room much appreciated. We also loved the fact that a large fan was provided in the room. Breakfasts were great and we had dinner one night in the hotel which was lovely. Staff were friendly and professional. The situation of the hotel, right in the centre of Bowness and close to the cruises on the lakes (and the buses) is brilliant. A great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear sper531695 Many thanks for your lovely review and recommendation!! It was a real pleasure to welcome you both and yes one of our main suites room 122 does have an awesome view over Lake Windermere! The location of the hotel really does make it easier to explore the local region. Thank you also for mentioning about the friendly and professional team. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Miss C wrote a review 25 Jun
Cumbria, United Kingdom30 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Booked an overnight spa break for 2 for £350 through spa breaks.com for a Christmas present pre covid. Fast forward two years and I get my Christmas present. Hotel is a historical building in beautiful surroundings situated next to the lake. Hotel room was decorated tastefully and cleanliness was to a high standard. Beds were very comfortable and I had a deep sleep. Spa massage was excellent, the girls in the swimming pool/ therapy rooms are fantastic welcoming and very attentive. One issue we had was in the bar!!!!! We had afternoon tea which was booked for 4:30 we had booked a massage for 5:15 we decided to go down to the bar and ask for our afternoon tea early we were told this was fine and to take a seat. We were left for over a hour and didn’t get our afternoon tea until the original time. Good job we were not thirsty!! Lol The afternoon tea sandwiches had been stood for ages and were very very soggy. Not acceptable really for the stars on the hotel. We had an evening meal that was lovely, very fancy al la carte menu everything was done to a high standard, the silver service everything. Good selection of set 3 course meal and wines. Breakfast was also very good, lots of choice and decent cooked English breakfast. All in all nice and relaxing break but afternoon tea let it down, me being a foodie was disappointed in this as afternoon tea is one of my favourite things to have if I can get it. Attached pictures for references.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Gemma C Many thanks for your lovely review and great to read you finally got to enjoy your Christmas present! Lovely to read overall you had a wonderful time, from the spa to the dining while highlighting about the cleanliness of the hotel and I was pleased you enjoyed the local and historical beauty of the building. The spa is a wonderful location to relax and unwind. Sounds like the spa team really looked after you both. Appreciate the detail on the afternoon tea and we will continue to strive to offer the best of service in all areas of the hotel. Your review is greatly valued and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Daniel T wrote a review 23 Jun
Elderslie, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
If you’re looking for some old school glamour. Look no further than the Old England Hotel in Windermere. The hotel is right on the banks of the lake with glorious views. The hotel is Victorian elegance with excellent service from the staff on the desk, in the bars and restaurant. The food in the restaurant is excellent from the freshly cooked breakfast to the stunning evening meal with local produce. I can’t wait to book my next trip to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Twisty7 Hello and I remember you all well - thank you for your wonderful 5 out of 5 review and recommendation! Your review says it all in a lovely way and you 'hit the nail on the head'! Completely! Team are over the moon with your great comments and we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Jac wrote a review 22 Jun
Selby District, United Kingdom8 contributions
Had lunch on the terrace here, noticed the table was dirty, tables were not cleaned between customers, just cleared and relaid. The bill folder was dirty, when I asked staff about their cleaning policy they had no idea what I was talking about! Lunch was not good, egg mayo and cress sandwich was missing the cress, mayo was vinegary, as was the commercially made coleslaw. Had been thinking of staying here, but changed my mind, if what you can see is filthy, what's the rest like?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Curiosity54316718520 Many thanks for your personal review. Our terrace overlooking Lake Windermere is the perfect location to watch the lake life and with the weather which it has been of late, I am sure you enjoyed many other elements of your short visit to the hotel. Such a great sun spot!! I was sorry to learn you did not enjoy your egg sandwich and I hope you asked for assistance so we then had the opportunity to resolve the concern straight away, which would be the best approach for a sandwich. We have a great array of options of the lounge menu and with hundreds of other guests each week enjoying the terrace and food, along with a number of sandwiches, we are always keen to assist where possible so you can relax and enjoy the experience. Certainly in my 4 years at the hotel this is a first a concern relating to coleslaw and mayo. But we will never the less, we will review the products which we use on many other dishes to make sure we continue to offer the best of service to all our guests. Regarding a cleaning policy - YES is the answer, we do have a cleaning policy throughout the hotel, and as you will note in many reviews the cleanliness of the hotel is mentioned many times but also more importantly verbally. This includes the lounge and terrace where the lounge team do clean tables and menus so please be rest-assured we will explain that cleaning is a cleaning policy. For those reading my response, 99% of feedback is verbally based and we always welcome constructive feedback both positive and ones of opportunity and most tend to be positive as we have a genuine interest in our guests. Thank you once again for your valued feedback which is greatly appreciated. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Rachel B wrote a review 19 Jun
2 contributions
Whilst staying in the property my 2 year old niece burnt her foot on an exposed heating pipe in the bedroom of our hotel room. This should not be exposed in a family room and after giving feedback to the property there was no acknowledgment or apology. No phone in the room, so when I need help with my niece I couldn't call down to reception to ask. I went downstairs earlier that day to ask to sort this matter and no help was given. Lastly, during breakfast there was extremely rude waiter who was quite clearly untrained and not fit to serve guests. When spending your spare time in expensive properties you do not expect to be leaving frustrated and extremely unhappy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rachelbathurst123 Many thanks for your personal review. I was very concerned to learn of the comments relating to your niece and I am keen to understand this further. I am also aware you have sent an email to me as well, which I will respond to over the next 48 hrs while I investigate all your comments. As you will note in general we have a high level of service so this is a some what rare review to receive but it is always important to review all both positive and constructive as we continue to strive to offer the best of service to all our guests. I would like to reassure that the hotel is very much a child friendly environment and we do have many families who come and stay throughout the year. Many thanks for your personal comments which are of great value. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Jenny F wrote a review 19 Jun
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom16 contributions20 helpful votes
We have recently returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel, and while we did have a good time, there were a few issues for us that were disappointing. Our main problem was the charge of £20 per night for parking, however, as we were staying for 4 nights, we only had to pay £10! Considering the amount of money we paid for our room, this was pretty annoying, especially as there is no mention of it on the hotel website. We did ask about it at reception, but we were assured that it definitely was on the website, but we are still having difficulty finding it! We have stayed at many Macdonald hotels and have never had to pay to park! The area where we parked was obviously owned by the hotel, and it seems a bit like a moneymaking venture when it should be treated as part of the hotel. Our room was lovely with a great view of the lake, but there were ares which needed attention. Nothing major, but as previously mentioned, we were paying a lot of money, and perhaps unfairly, expect perfection. We only had breakfast, which was ok but not spectacular. The first morning, we had the full English and as mentioned in a previous review, felt that perhaps it had been sitting under a hot lamp for a little while. Perhaps there is a staffing problem but that shouldn’t impact on the guest experience. The staff who we did meet were really helpful and nothing was too much bother for them. The whole hotel is clean but a bit tired and in need of some love and attention. Sadly we won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jenny F Many thanks for your personal review. It was great to read you enjoyed the hotel overall and the room overlooking Lake Windermere. I was also pleased to read you considered the team members to be really helpful and nothing was too much bother which is how we like to offer our service as we are very genuine in caring for all our guests. Regarding the car parking, the hotel has been charging for the car park for many years and I can confirm the detail is on our hotel website under Guest Info and then the FAQ's section confirming the fee. As a gesture we have recently reduced for long stay guests to support the charge. We can also offer alternative parking should a guest wish to know of other options so you are not required to stay in our car park and we are more than willing to assist. Breakfast is always lovely while overlooking the lake and we would have served nearly 5000 guests for June. We do have a process to make sure we offer the best of a hot breakfast as does all hotel kitchens and most of what is available is freshly cooked. I can confirm there is no staffing concerns at all and we will continue to offer this service to a high standard. Finally it was great you noticed the cleanliness of the hotel and the housekeeping team led by Fay our Housekeeping Manager work hard to offer the best presented facility we can. I can confirm we are in the process of replacing 40 carpets at the moment and we have just completed the lounge with a full decoration, carpets and furniture. We will continue to put back into the business but the grand lakeside hotel traditional character makes the hotel and its charm overall works well. I do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Trevor B wrote a review 18 Jun
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed 2 nights at the Old England to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary, having previously stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon, Silver & Ruby Wedding anniversaries. We booked the "Ultimate Spa Break" for this occasion and was not disappointed. Every member of staff we came into contact with were all very good and a credit to the hotel, the room was excellent (including good views of the Lake) and all the food (including the afternoon tea) was delicious. It was a special occasion for us and the hotel + staff ensured that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From first contacting the hotel to book our break and all the way through to our final departure from the hotel the entire experience was a pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trevor B Many thanks for your wonderful 5 out of 5 review and congratulations again on your Golden Wedding Anniversary. It was a real pleasure to have you both here and i think your review says it all!! The team are all over the moon with your kind words and it just shows the hard work we put into making sure our guests have a great time is throughout the hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
_cjbridgeman wrote a review 17 Jun
Birmingham, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel is in a lovely location providing beautiful views of the lake. It is close to the amenities of the town, great service and food. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would like to give a special mention to Kelly for excellent treatment in the spa.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear _cjbridgeman Many thanks for your lovely review and it was great to read you had a wonderful time. Thank you for the special mention about Kelly and I think you also spoke to me about how excellent your spa treatment was with her and I know she will be really pleased about this. Great to note you enjoyed the other team members service and the local amenities and as you saw we are very centrally located for all the area has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Passenger557437 wrote a review 7 Jun
Carnforth, United Kingdom44 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Ideally located close to the Lake, the hotel is a little bit dated and tired, which was surprising when one considers the cost. It was clean enough, apart from crumbs on the dining room chairs and around the foot of one of the tables that we sat at. On our last evening, we spoke to one of the assistant managers, Agata, and complimented her on the staff. At breakfast the morning of our departure we were served by the most miserable, abrupt, aggressive and hurried waiter - the exception rather than the rule, perhaps. Murphy's Law at play, it would seem. Special mention must go to two staff members. Kye the waiter was polite, courteous and so helpful and Danny the barman oozed enthusiasm and knowledge about his work and was ultra-efficient and courteous in the extreme - a credit to the team. Would we go back? I doubt it, given the price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Passenger557437 Many thanks for your personal review. It was great to read you enjoyed the location and your experience overall. We have a great team here at the hotel who work tirelessly to offer the best possible service and it was lovely of you to mention Danny, Kye along with Agata and we will continue to train our team in service and care. I can confirm we have recently redecorated the hotel lounge and are in the process of replacing nearly half of bedroom carpets along with further decoration works. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Wa wrote a review 6 Jun
Co Mayo7 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked a reservation in the restaurant as walked past and did see a nice varied menu. Its a bit tricky to find as no signs when in hotel directing you to The Hotel Restaurant. But when eventually we got down there the Service and Food were Top Notch. The cheese soufflé which I had was so nice and my wife had the Onion Soup which may be an old dish from years gone by but she said was made very fresh and tasty. The main course I had the lamb cooked pink which was so tender and the other half had the exciting Chicken but again was Devine from herself. Dessert was lovely too STP or sticky tofee pud and a nice selection of cheese which we shared the service was very attentive and proffeesional by Alan the Restaurant Manager and Hazel who after Alan's initial contact took over but with a couple of reviews I have seen I find it hard to see certain people's problem with certain issues. Since Covid things on business have changed give everyone a chance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Bb0465 Many thanks for your wonderful 5 bubble review for the restaurant. It was a pleasure to see you enjoyed the food and service overall while enjoying the view of Lake Windermere. We have changed the menu recently so it was great to read you enjoyed the dishes. The hotel continues to work to offer the best of service throughout and I know Alan and Hazel will be pleased you enjoyed the service and the experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Peter Llewellyn General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$243 - US$338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel macdonald old england
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Lake Windermere (0.3 km), The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction (0.2 km), and Royalty Cinema (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dr Brews Coffee, Graze, and Boardwalk Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Polish, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (5.4 km), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (2.3 km), and Bridge House (7.8 km).