We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside

Save
Share
Sterling House South Shore Road, Gateshead NE8 3AE England
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (462)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (235)

About

#12 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Leonardo Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Leonardo Hotels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
VIP room facilities
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3487Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,513
  • 1,041
  • 509
  • 270
  • 154
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
hpooljo wrote a review Yesterday
Hartlepool, England401 contributions85 helpful votes
Good basic hotel. Great for a one night stay. Rooms are a little bit dated but it's not a major concern. Great onsite parking. Easy to walk into the city centre for both Gateshead and Newcastle. Friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: You are able to park in the car park prior to check-in.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marco_Ferraro wrote a review 19 Jan
Cumbria68 contributions17 helpful votes
I've stayed in other hotels in the Newcastle area but this is the best value I've come across. £43 for a night, with a large room (single and double beds) and a bath/shower. All spotlessly clean too. The location may not be ideal for some, but for me being on the other bank of the Tyne meant a quiet nights sleep. Most of those staying seem to be for work rather than the nightlife... I've used the Easyhotel in Newcastle at a similar price but had to go down and complain in the middle of the night about the cold, a chair collapsed, and the noise was unbelievable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for having stayed with us and for having taken the time to review Leonardo Hotels Newcastle Quayside It is most pleasing to read your account of your recent experience at the hotel and I will ensure your feedback is communicated to the team I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian and Carole M wrote a review 5 Jan
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom37 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed over Christmas and New Year 2022-23 and had a wonderful time. The hotel was immaculate and the staff were fantastic - every single person we spoke to was courteous, friendly, welcoming, yet professional. (Our only minor problem is that staff names on their badges are quite small so difficult to read!) We stayed in an executive room which was very clean, in good order, serviced and replenished daily by very competent staff and had excellent facilities (such as a safe, mini fridge, tea and coffee etc). The views over the river, quayside and Millennium Bridge are exceptional from rooms on the west and north sides of the hotel. All in all a superb stay in a lovely hotel. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ian and Carole Thank you for having stayed with us and for having taken the time to review Leonardo Hotels Newcastle Quayside It is most pleasing to read your account of your recent experience at the hotel and I will ensure your feedback is communicated to the team I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark r wrote a review 3 Jan
Stranraer, United Kingdom18 contributions3 helpful votes
Had a short break between Xmas and New year on my own at the Leonardo hotel which initially was a 2 night break but ended up staying 3 nights as I was happy staying there, the room had great views over the Tyne and was comfortable and warm, it was a 20 min. walk from central station which meant it was in a quiet location which suited me, I would return to this hotel in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us by way of a review. The team and I are delighted that you had a positive experience with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Leonardo Hotels Newcastle Gateshead Quayside in the near future! Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Plamen G wrote a review Dec 2022
Sofia, Bulgaria8 contributions4 helpful votes
Good location. Rooms are ok but maintenance was not good. The room I was given was not serviced after the previous guests and had to ask reception to give me a new room. The new room was in better shape though some light bulbs were not functioning. The bathroom was in a bad shape - feels very old and had broken accessories.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback with us via a review. I was disappointed to learn of the poor experience you had in our hotel and must offer my sincere apologies. Our team are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and I am very sorry that we failed to deliver that service. Your feedback has been shared with the management team at the hotel regarding your experience and they have asked that their apologies be linked with mine Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hippy91 wrote a review Dec 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom36 contributions20 helpful votes
I came last week and stayed for two nights, I had a great night sleep, breakfast was lovely! Made up with my room, I had a view of the Tyne. Also had tea and coffee, clean towels and a bath in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and it was easy to check in and out. I do recommend in the bar area you sort out the TVs because they were out of sync, there is a 2 second delay between them and it was giving me a headache.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If coming from the central train station, go across the millennium bridge it’s easier then what...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Shelley, Other at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 19 Dec 2022
Good afternoon Hippy91, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's so amazing that your time with us scored so highly., however regarding the issue, I do hope you had a chance to raise it with our lovely team as I know they would have been pleased to support. It's so amazing that your time with us scored so highly. If there was any issues at all, I do hope you had a chance to raise it with our lovely team as I know they would have been pleased to support.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martyd1490 wrote a review Dec 2022
South Shields, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night on the 1st December. Once we were checked in we went to our room and outside the room was dirty glasses. In the room there was no fridge and only whole milk available so I had to go back down to reception to get some semi skimmed milk. We were given 2 complimentary coffees as part of our booking. When we went to claim them the lad behind the bar rolled is eyes and said hmm ok then. Whilst sitting having our coffee a couple of ladies at the table next to ours had ordered food. They had ordered 2 courses and both courses were served the same time. When the guest said she wanted the salad as the main course the waiter replied well I’ve brought them both now. Once we returned to the hotel late the dirty glasses were still there so rang reception again to ask if they could be taken away. When the night porter came up to our room he told us it doesn’t affect our stay so what’s our problem. When on a hotel trip you expect a certain standard of cleanliness and some hospitality from the staff. Would not recommend this hotel until they do some deep cleaning and train their staff in hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Shelley, Other at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Good afternoon Martyd1490, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry however to read about the inconveniences. Please can you email our customer care team with the full details of where and when you stayed and your booking details so that we can investigate, you can contact us by going to our hotel’s website, if you scroll to the bottom of the page, you will see a button to "Contact Us" there you will then see a section where you can click to “email us”. Please can we ask you to consider a return so you can see what we're capable of at our best? Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah E wrote a review Nov 2022
Chester, United Kingdom19 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Where to start? Corridors and landings are filthy - don’t think they’ve been vacuumed for weeks. The first room I had was dirty, grotty and dimly lit. The curtain was unhooked from the rail at one end so didn’t close properly, the bed sloped downwards so felt like I was going to roll out of bed, there was something disgusting on the wall next to the toilet and the shower stopped working half way through my shower (so had to rinse off using the bath taps). I requested a room change which was only allowed when I showed the receptionist the photo of the bathroom. I was given a “superior” room. The only thing superior was that it had a view of the river and a table lamp (with a wonky shade). The room itself was still grotty and tired looking with filthy carpet and a “comfy” chair from a conference room. Breakfast lived up to the same grotty standard - both bread baskets were empty and just 3 pain au chocolat were on a tray. Tables weren’t cleared and there was no one to welcome you or seat you. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel unless you want somewhere close to the city centre to stumble back to, drunk out of your mind, so you won’t notice how dismal and neglected the hotel is. It’s akin to a Travelodge but the colour scheme is beige and brown rather than red and blue … and far dirtier than a Travelodge.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the whole hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. May I first of all say how very sorry I am about the service you have experienced whilst staying with us. We all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion Please be assured that the matter has been addressed internally and I understand that the management team are currently looking at ways to improve on the issues mentioned in order to provide a greater level of service going forward Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GJC50 wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom212 contributions193 helpful votes
Hotel is in a great location close to the Baltic and the Millennium Bridge over to Newcastle . We travelled by train due to being aware of the very small number of hotel car parking places, but noted a larger car park right next to the hotel car park, so parking was less of an issue than we had anticipated. The room was spacious, but very basic with signs of wear and tear in various places. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night.. The first night was very noisy in the corridors in the early hours - the hotel seems to attract quite a young crowd. Service was average, as was breakfast. Overall the price paid was not good value for money - we paid £345 for two nights. A friend staying the same weekend who booked at the same time as us for a similar rate, had noticed a significant reduction in price so cancelled and rebooked saving £200. We tried to do the same, but our booking didn't have the same flexibility (the friend suspected rates were higher earlier this year should Newcastle FC be playing at home,, and the rates reduced when their fixture list was confirmed. If he is correct it is worth being aware of this when booking...)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent stay at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Gateshead Quayside I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I can assure you that our guest feedback is very important to the operation of our hotel and affords us the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service, I will ensure all of your comments are communicated to the team and constructive actions will be taken, as this is a city centre hotel a lot of guests are here to celebrate and unfortunately do get very raucous Room rates at the hotel are generated depending on availabilty and occupancy levels and therefore can vary closer to the time Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vee F wrote a review Oct 2022
48 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is very clean. The rooms are large and the en-suite is swell supplied with toiletries. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room. This was an impromptu change of hotel due to the other hotel we stayed in not having an en-suite. My friend became unwell and the hotel did everything they could to ensure that her needs were met, in terms of breakfast before we left. Our stay was for one night. The breakfast was very nice, with lots of options. Hot and cold. No limits on the amount. Fresh fruit in abundance. The view from our room overlooked the river, which was very pleasant. The hotel is happy to hold on to luggage prior check-in, which can also be done online. A pleasant and safe walk along the riverbank to reach the famed Tyne bridges and across the Millennium Bridge to the restaurants in Newcastle Quay. Great for photographs, especially at night. Hotel owned parking is limited and external parking could prove to be expensive (about £8 per day). Easy enough hotel to find. It is right on the riverside and visible from the access road. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and extremely helpful. I know I will be happy to stay there again when visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side as that faces the Tyne Bridges. The north side overlooks the river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for having stayed with us and for having taken the time to review Leonardo Hotels Newcastle Quayside It is most pleasing to read your account of your recent experience at the hotel and I will ensure your feedback is communicated to the team I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Jurys Inn Newcastle Quayside
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearGateshead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
203
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEONARDO HOTEL NEWCASTLE QUAYSIDE - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews (Gateshead, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside
Which popular attractions are close to Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Nearby attractions include Gateshead Millenium Bridge (0.4 km), Sage Gateshead (0.5 km), and The Quayside Sunday Market (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Quayside, Chez Mal Brasserie & Bar at Malmaison Newcastle, and Six.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (0.6 km), Quayside (0.5 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (1.0 km).
Does Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Leonardo Hotel Newcastle Quayside accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.