We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays

Save
Share
Sterling House South Shore Road Gateshead Quays, Gateshead NE8 3AE England
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (440)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (232)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offers an excellent city centre location just south of the River Tyne, featuring beautiful views overlooking the waterside. The hotel is within a walking distance via the beautiful Millennium Bridge from the plethora of restaurants and bars that form Newcastle's vibrant nightlife. Newcastle Central Station is under a mile away and the popular Sage Gateshead venue is only a pleasant 10 minute walk away, making the hotel the ideal base to explore all that the city has to offer. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our riverside restaurant with terrace. Laundry and dry cleaning service is available. If you are arriving by car limited car parking is available at the hotel on a first come first served basis with an overnight rate of £6.50. Alternatively you can avail of the Baltic car park adjacent to the hotel. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Newcastle Gateshead with Jurys Inn.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
VIP room facilities
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3477Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,509
  • 1,041
  • 506
  • 269
  • 152
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lesley A wrote a review 2 Oct
14 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Where do I start? Car park has very limited spaces, all of which were taken by 4pm check in time. Check in was quick and friendly. Room was on level 2 and there had obviously been a leak as the corridor stunk of damp and part of the ceiling was caved in. Onto room 250 which was the worst room I have ever stayed in, the floor didn't look as if it had been vacummed, bits of tissue all over it, desk chipped, window can open fully which is a serious hazard. We had a king size bed mattress but it was on a double base, I woke up several times just before I fell off the mattress, not a good night's sleep at all. The bathroom is disgusting, looks like plain plaster behind the toilet with streaks of water all over it, possible leak from above and what looks like mould spores., shower grout and mastic is filthy, shower door at the bottom filthy. Dubious looking stain on the wall by the toilet. One of the towels looked as if it had ear wax on it. The whole room for and bathroom stunk of damp. Only positive is that it's close to the Sage concert hall.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim M wrote a review Sep 2022
Dundee, United Kingdom200 contributions99 helpful votes
Stayed once more at the Jury’s Inn Quayside, very disappointing accommodation, room was not up to standard, front desk did offer another room however as we had emptied our luggage we decided to stay put. Made our disappointment known to staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Don’t accept room 450.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback with us via a review. I was disappointed to learn of the poor experience you had in our hotel and must offer my sincere apologies. Our team are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and I am very sorry that we failed to deliver that service. Your feedback has been shared with the management team at the hotel regarding your experience and they have asked that their apologies be linked with mine Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick H wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Have been coming here for several years and it has gradually gone downhill. Final straw this morning was no hot water, no apology whatsoever from the duty manager, just an explanation of the boiler problem. Extremely small car park so only option is to park in the £25 / night larger adjacent car park (not connected to the hotel). Defective TV (replaced the same evening),dripping noises from the toilet, dirty shower curtain, 1980s dust filled bedside phone and foul coffee only add to the retro motel feel ambience. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback - I do truly appreciate feedback from our guests. May I first of all say how very sorry I am about the service you have experienced whilst staying with us. We all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion Please be assured that the matter has been addressed internally, and I understand that the management team are currently looking at ways to improve on the issues mentioned in order to provide a greater level of service going forward Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin P wrote a review Sep 2022
Dunfermline, United Kingdom20 contributions37 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel several times in the past as was always good but seems to have gone downhill. The rooms are desperately needing updated. Poor fitting windows which allowed a lot of noise in. The bathroom door didn’t close. Toilet was filthy which we ended up cleaning ourselves as best we could with no toilet brush. Stayed 4 nights and coffee cups not even cleaned. The lack of housekeeping badged as eco friendly looks like an excuse for money saving. Towel stained and ragged at edges. Every time we passed reception there was a queue so couldn’t get time to report concerns. Parking is an eternal issue and way too expensive. On a positive note most staff were friendly and helpful especially in the bar. The location is great for walking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking has always been an issue here with limited spaces yet an empty car park next door with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback - I do truly appreciate feedback from our guests. May I first of all say how very sorry I am about the service you have experienced whilst staying with us. We all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion Please be assured that the matter has been addressed internally, and I understand that the management team are currently looking at ways to improve on the issues mentioned in order to provide a greater level of service going forward Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
exI-nterrailer wrote a review Sep 2022
Colchester, United Kingdom44 contributions14 helpful votes
Good view and location however room and facilities not any more special than Premier Inn. Our stay was tarnished by astronomical car park charges at adjacent Baltic car park. We weren’t advised about parking at check in and by the time we found that we would be charged for overnight parking we’d had some wine and couldn’t move the car until morning. Didn’t try breakfast as overpriced so sought brunch on our long drive home. Having just dropped son at Uni we were potentially frequent returning guests but are not attracted to return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel has info re parking which we discovered by chance too late.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback with us via a review. I was disappointed to learn of the poor experience you had in our hotel and must offer my sincere apologies. Our team are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and I am very sorry that we failed to deliver that service. Your feedback has been shared with the management team at the hotel regarding your experience and they have asked that their apologies be linked with mine Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip R wrote a review Sep 2022
29 contributions7 helpful votes
The beds are really comfortable but duvets are about twenty tog a little warm for me and my wife. The shower gets very warm quickly but is very ferocious. Breakfasts ware exerlent can't fault them. Evening meal service was disorganised (not staffs fault) the staff was rushing around saying who ordered ? Or food item ? Suggest numbers on tables so everyone knows where to go. Staff was exerlent and polite at all times.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to record your comments regarding your recent stay at the Jurys Inn Gateshead Quayside. I do apologise that on this occasion there were certain aspects of your stay that you were not satisfied with. Our guest feedback is very important to the operation of our hotel and affords us the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities Sorry once again for the problems experienced Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anthony k wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Our food was very undercooked, there was an obscamount of tinned tomato, in which where hard chunks. Other pizza very undercooked and we could taste the raw dough.we will not be back due though this experience and most certainly will not be recommended by us. For the price we paid for our food (£52) for 3 people and what we got,we are tremendously disappointed., the staff were courteous
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Eat out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the hotel. I can assure you that we take our guest’s comments very seriously as we strive to continuously improve the service of the hotel. I apologise that your meal experience was not to the standard we aim to deliver I will address your comments with the Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager and I can assure you that constructive action will be taken Once again, I want to apologise for not getting it right on this occasion. I do hope you will grant us the opportunity to do a better job next time Sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
muzzy1969 wrote a review Sep 2022
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom75 contributions4 helpful votes
I recently stayed at this hotel and I would never stay here again. The most unprofessional staff I have ever encountered. A lack of staff didn't help, with the front desk receptionist saying " I'm here all day, but don't ask me for anything as I'm the only one on shift"
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback with us via a review. I was disappointed to learn of the poor experience you had in our hotel and must offer my sincere apologies. Our team are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and I am very sorry that we failed to deliver that service. Your feedback has been shared with the management team at the hotel regarding your experience and they have asked that their apologies be linked with mine Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve w wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I requested my and my fiancés anniversary and Amy n reception set my room up as I planed something romantic and she done amazing highly recommend especially amy went out of her way just before her shift ended aswell so props to her and the room is great and bed is great and has a fantastic view of the river and the bridge
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest Thank you for having stayed with us and for having taken the time to review Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quayside It is most pleasing to read your account of your recent experience at the hotel and I will ensure your feedback is communicated to the team, especially Amy I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fiona M wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
Never stayed in a Jury’s Inn before but had only heard good reviews so booked this one for a friends birthday weekend in Newcastle. Had a complete nightmare from when we arrived to the hotel. Given 2 key cards for the door, one didn’t work; no bin or chair in the room; sheets stained with dots of blood; my friend plugged in the lamp on the table and the bulb blew within a minute; and the bathroom door handle was a complete joke, hanging almost out the door and kept getting jammed. Every time we passed reception to speak to someone there was no one on the desk and on the morning of check out all the girl behind the desk could say was that she would make a note of the problems. Highly disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janis Kyle, Guest Services / Front Office at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your invaluable feedback with us via a review. I was disappointed to learn of the poor experience you had in our hotel and must offer my sincere apologies. Our team are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests feel cared for, valued and respected and I am very sorry that we failed to deliver that service. Your feedback has been shared with the management team at the hotel regarding your experience and they have asked that their apologies be linked with mine A 50% goodwill refund has been processed and I do hope this goes in some way of restoring your faith in Jurys Inn Yours sincerely Janis Kyle Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jurys inn newcastlegateshead quays hotel gateshead
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearGateshead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
203
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Which popular attractions are close to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Nearby attractions include Gateshead Millenium Bridge (0.4 km), Sage Gateshead (0.5 km), and The Quayside Sunday Market (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Quayside, Chez Mal Brasserie & Bar at Malmaison Newcastle, and Six.
Are any cleaning services offered at Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (0.6 km), Quayside (0.5 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (1.0 km).
Does Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.