We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Share
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (12)
Overview
Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
236
199
43
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
236
199
43
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one way system hotel garage reception staff street parking an italian restaurant secure parking large bedroom central location cooked breakfast town centre superior room breakfast was excellent full english trouser press night porter car park comfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the umpteenth time myself and my daughter have stayed at the hotel, and as always we had such a lovely stay. The staff are the best! Friendly, nothing's too much trouble. I really can't imagine staying anywhere else. The rooms are comfy. The...More

Review collected in partnership with compasshospitality.com
Thank Jet461127
Response from WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass HospitalityResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed another visit with us here at The White Swan Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted somewhere convenient for a two day trip to see a Brighouse and Rastrick Brass Band rehearsal and to go on the Settle to Carlisle railway and Halifax was a convenient base. We also wanted to see the historical Piece Hall and the Market...More

Thank Michael B
Response from WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass HospitalityResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us finding the rooms to be clean and comfortable. It's always a pleasure to hear our staff are providing excellent customer service as this is something...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could not commend the receptionist more highly. She had taken my booking over the telephone and was extremely helpful. She was super efficient, friendly and helpful on check in. The hotel is probably a 20 minute, up hill walk from the station. I took...More

Thank Roland D
Response from WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass HospitalityResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your in-depth review. As we pride ourselves on our customer service I am delighted to hear that we did not disappoint. With regards to your thoughts regarding the room I will certainly pass all feedback...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from having a 2 night stay here. We needed somewhere last minute and local to family and this fitted the bill. We chose a superior room (goodness knows what a basic room would be like!) We stayed in room 219 and...More

Thank Karen J
Response from WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass HospitalityResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.I have raised all issues with maintenance and I will pass on your concerns regarding the room to the owners. If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited for a weekend getaway we arrived there was no parking available the staff were friendly but the decor was dated smelled old and dusty. dirty carpets / sink blocked up in the bathroom the bathroom was full of mould not a great experience...More

Thank Richard D
Response from WhiteSwan1858, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass HospitalityResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, I am extremely sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us.If you wish to discuss the issues you had on 01422 355541.

View more reviews
About
Description
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute More walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Business
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Business
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
40
Price range
US$48 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
White Swan Hotel
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Business
,
Romantic
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
40
Price range
US$48 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
White Swan Hotel
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Photos
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (12)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
799 reviews
.19 km away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
540 reviews
.44 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
704 reviews
.45 km away
Travelodge Halifax
284 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 340 nearby restaurants
Julio's Italian Restaurant
656 reviews
.02 km away
Pajaree's
147 reviews
.14 km away
Ricci's Place
752 reviews
.09 km away
Olivetta
212 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 87 nearby attractions
Calderdale Industrial Museum
61 reviews
.35 km away
Halifax Minster
168 reviews
.36 km away
The Piece Hall
531 reviews
.32 km away
The Victoria Theatre
94 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LicketySplitz
15 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WhiteSwan1858 | Property representative |
Hello, The Hotel has a garage which holds nine spaces, therefore, we can only offer this on a first come first serve basis. At Aug 17 the charge is £7 per night. After 6pm each evening there is free on street parking outside... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Discounts available on superior rooms."
generalaviationpilot
5 weeks ago
Read review
"Room 219 where I stayed, is quiet, but with no view and with frosted glass in immovable windows."
gloryhornetboy
16 Jul 2018
Read review
"The noise from the recycling trucks early at the front in the morning is a nuisance."
timbo50
26 Jun 2018
Read review
"Book the Premier Inn"
AndyD305
29 May 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing