We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woodlands Hotel

Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (103)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 18/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 18/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 13 hotels in Sidmouth
Travellers' Choice
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
726Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 545
  • 160
  • 13
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ronnie L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We would like to thank Dan and Megan for helping to make our Wedding the special day it was. The staff at the Woodlands could not do enough to help us. The Wedding was postponed a year and they held the room prices to the original quoted prices. Our guest had all, but a couple of the rooms and we had no complaints at all from those who stayed there. We held the reception and the evening party there. It was a great success. The food was excellent and the breakfast too. Everyone had a great night and we would not hesitate to recommend the Woodlands Hotel for any social function. The outside area just adds to the party space.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
IanJoan44 wrote a review Oct 2021
Crawley68 contributions78 helpful votes
This hotel is well placed for visiting Sidmouth and is fortunate to have a car park which many establishments in this town don't have. Within easy walking distance of the sea front and coast path. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom although small was adequate with an excellent shower. We failed to notice the master switch for the heated towel rail but on mentioning to Dan, the owner, that it wasn't working this was immediately remedied by him (just look for a power switch in the bedroom outside the bathroom!!). Breakfast was fine with a good selection of cereals and fresh fruit and a very hot individually cooked full breakfast. Likewise dinner was good, always presented on piping hot plates by lovely staff. In spite of their head chef being off sick, Dan turned his hand to cooking and produced excellent dinners. We are not fans of dogs but the resident pair were absolutely no trouble and we hardly ever saw them apart from them lying in the hall, completely unfazed by passing visitors. Nothing was too much trouble for Dan - our TV was causing problems but he quickly sorted this out and we even saw him parking an enormous 4x4 in the car park for a guest who was unable to reverse into a space.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Ant T wrote a review Oct 2021
Lydbrook, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
From the tiny car park to the terrible breakfast this ‘hotel’ should be avoided. We were not given the room we booked and were not told before our arrival that we would have to eat outdoors with our dog even though it was the end of September, very wet and windy. The reason was because dogs were not allowed in the dining room. Ironically the owners’ dogs had free reign of the hotel and garden, and were at our door every time we tried to leave our room. We were not aware of there being chickens either, clearly not suitable with a dog. Breakfast was diabolical. Vegetarian sausage or meat sausage and bacon cooked with egg, beans and mushrooms. No decent bread, croissants or pastries, just the same small packets of special k, corn flakes etc.. a bowl of Granny Smiths, and the same small pots of orange segments and yoghurt each day. The bathroom was tiny with a shelf just about big enough for toothpaste etc. But no shaving socket. On the plus side the water pressure and temperature were good. The heated towel rail though was not working and the bed had seen better days, certainly not new. All for the extortionate price of £545 for 3 days and an extra £30 for our dog. We have never stayed anywhere so expensive where the standards in particular the room and breakfast were so poor. We would not recommend it to anyone at these prices.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Dan Cozens, Owner at Woodlands Hotel
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Its a shame you didn't enjoy your stay and we appear not to be the hotel for you. When you booked with us you were clearly told by myself exactly which room you were getting and I even described your room to you and that is exactly the room you got. We also discussed over numerous telephone calls just where your dog was and was not permitted. You accepted this before booking. Your dog - A very large and friendly German shepherd was very exuberant and despite the harness he was wearing appeared to be pulling whoever was holding him. I hate to think what would have happened to our restaurant had dogs been permitted in there. You also arrived in a very large new 4x4 vehicle which you were not able to park on any of the 4 parking bays that were available. I had to park it for you in our "Tiny Car Park" that no one else seemed to be finding difficulty in parking in with their 4x4's and VW Transporter Vans. I even reserved a parking bay for you to assist for the remainder of your stay but i see no mention of this in your review ? There are always two sides to a story and it is obvious from our other reviews that our other guests clearly have an alternate opinion of our hotel, their stays, our breakfasts, the comfort in the hotel and how welcome they felt with their pets. With over 25 years experience in hospitality we have learned that no matter how hard you try you cannot please everyone 100% of the time. Dan
Read more
Karen B wrote a review Oct 2021
8 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here for a weekend with our dog and loved every moment. The owners are a lovely family who are so welcoming and just made us feel at home. The room was nice with a great shower. Our ground floor room opened on to the lovely big garden which was a real bonus with the dog, who enjoyed running about with their dog. Located just a 5 minute walk to the town just made this the perfect place to stay. We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Ham123 wrote a review Oct 2021
Epsom, United Kingdom2 contributions
My friends and I stayed for a night at the Woodlands Hotel at the end of our coastal path walk, from Lyme Regis to Seaton to Sidmouth. Dan was absolutely brilliant from the beginning, accommodating the 10 of us across the hotel in different room types. He answered all of our questions via email and phone promptly. We arrived in the pouring rain, having walked 13 miles across the cliffs, and he didn’t mind the state of us at all, despite the mud! The rooms were really warm and cosy, with great decor. We really enjoyed the honesty bar before and after dinner, which was a great space to meet altogether. Breakfast was fantastic, with a wide selection and everything cooked to order. We were able to have our bags dropped off at the hotel so we didn’t have to carry them from Seaton, which was an added bonus. Thank you to Megan and Dan for your warm welcome, we really felt at home. We’ll be back next year, hopefully in better weather!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
US$112 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
woodlands hotel sidmouth
United KingdomEnglandDevonSidmouth
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Woodlands Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Woodlands Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sidmouth Museum (0.4 km), Sidmouth - Valley, Ridge and Jurassic Coast walk (0.5 km), and Scott Cinemas (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Woodlands Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Woodlands Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Woodlands Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Courtyard, Someday Something, and Neil's Restaurant.
Is Woodlands Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Sidmouth.
Are pets allowed at Woodlands Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Woodlands Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bicton Park Botanical Gardens (5.1 km), Blackbury Camp (8.0 km), and Margells (6.7 km).