We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
ExpediaUS$81
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (457)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (67)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 21 hotels in Darlington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Experience a unique blend of attractive accommodation, friendly service and honest cooking with Bannatyne Hotel, Darlington. Perfect for business and leisure. Each of our well appointed rooms have FREE wireless internet access and Maxine's Bar & Restaurant makes the perfect venue for meeting friends for coffee, drinks and good food. Also whether hosting a business meeting or an exhibition, or even getting married, Bannatyne Hotel ,Darlington is the ideal venue to make your event a success.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1552Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 764
  • 450
  • 197
  • 94
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kas O wrote a review Today
2 contributions
Booked here to visit friends. While the hotel is nice clean and tidy. Bannatyne could invest a little as it’s looking a bit tired… We stayed for 3 days, 2 nights. The staff were great, always polite and friendly. Breakfast was nice with a good fresh selection, the evening meal we had was excellent with efficient service. Massive thanks to Alice, Ashleigh, Brodie, Sam, Leoney & Bailey for the service on what looked a busy evening due to the wedding arrival…!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jen wrote a review Today
Basildon, United Kingdom1 contribution
Stayed for two nights whilst visiting friends. Lovely hotel and as with all hotels it is the staff that make it good! Breakfasts were good and we had one evening meal which we all enjoyed. Thank you to Alice, Karl, Jess and Victoria x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ibrahim Ali wrote a review Sep 2022
Kidderminster, United Kingdom63 contributions35 helpful votes
The biggest issue for us was the staff's lack of politeness. I've stayed at a worse place and tbh if service is great, nobody cares that much about the lack of fancy stuff. But the staff here need to work on their manners - they seem like they are forced to come to work and are unable to smile at you or be polite! initially we thought perhaps the first staff we had met was just having a bad day but it seemed the entire staff was having a bad day... not even a single smile from anyone, let alone a "thank you" or "please", or "I'm sorry we don't have any mini fridges". Very disappointed - does Duncan even run these hotels anymore? We will never be returning nor recommending. Aside from that, the hotel desperately needs refurbishment - no mixer taps but kettle-hot boiling water with a warning sign - expect to burn your face when washing up - the mattress' old springs hurt my shoulders - lamps were ultra bright - but like I said, all of this and much more seems pale next to the service which is what requires the most renovation here at this hotel. This fact was apparent the moment I had messaged the hotel asking if they had AC and the reply came back awkward, short, and without any common courtesy. Hours later I would be greeted in person with this same attitude.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angel2001 wrote a review Sep 2022
Darlington, United Kingdom59 contributions93 helpful votes
In February we booked an evening meal for ourselves and our 6 wedding guests for after our wedding on 24th September. We also booked a room for the night. We told the Hotel when we booked it was going to be our wedding meal. (They didn't tell us they had another wedding that day, if they had of done we would of been able to look elsewhere easily as wedding was at that point 7 months away!) Anyway the during the week before our wedding we went to the hotel to ask if we could check into our room a bit early as we were getting married at 3pm. Initially we were told yes of course. Then a while later that day we had our first phone call to say the bar would be shut that day and we had been "upgraded" to the Library room. This all sounded a bit wierd to us, so we decided to start ringing around for another hotel. We couldn't find a room for the night initially as it was by now only a few days until the wedding, so our only option was to have a meal at another venue and drive home afterwards. Not an ideal wedding day memory to not be able to toast the day! Then we had another phone call from someone basicly telling us we couldn't wear wedding clothing, and we had to wait outside the building for someone to smuggle us into our room, which we were told we couldn't leave once there. Leaving by fire escapes was mentioned at one point! Thanks for asking me not to wear my wedding dress on my wedding day! I'm sure that any bride would feel the same as I did, shocked, disgusted, angry, to name a few feelings we all went through. I just wanted to cancel the whole wedding by now to be honest 😢 We were basily not wanted and it was Banatynes fault for taking the booking in the first place! You should be excited and look forward to your wedding day but instead we were dreading it! On the day before the wedding we managed to at last find a room for the night and book a meal at another hotel. Massive relief for all concerned! Friday night I finally didn't have to dread the next day. The whole thing has been an awful experience for us and I would like the manager John Price to contact me and explain to us why the booking was even taken by banatynes in the first place
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna T wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently had my wedding reception here, and myself, my husband and all of our friends and family had literally the best day ever. I miss it so much! We planned the whole thing in less than 6 months, Alex and Andrea are both just amazing. I sent a million emails with a million questions and nothing was too much trouble. Everything on the day went incredibly smoothly, the service staff we had were fab and lots of fun and Andrea even decorated our wedding cake for us - something I would’ve needed to have done otherwise, on my wedding day, so that was a massive weight lifted! All of the rooms were perfect, breakfast the next day was gorgeous, I just can’t recommend the place enough, for a wedding reception or whatever else you may need x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Anna T, This is amazing feedback and thank you so much for sharing your expereince. We love doing weddings at the hotel and its great you have recognised Andrea and Alex for all their hard work. Hopefully we get to look after you again for future family occasions. Best Wishes, John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul C wrote a review Sep 2022
Darlington, United Kingdom175 contributions114 helpful votes
So I booked this hotel in February 2022 for our wedding reception in September 2022. Physical went in and booked it and told them what is was for. Then literally a few days before the big day they ring and say “ What’s the bride wearing? “ I replied with“ She’s wearing a cream bridesmaids type dress” They replied with “ Can she change into a more normal/ casual dress? If not you can still turn up but can one of your party just come to reception and then we will usher you down to the Library room “ So basically they had another wedding going on - a Bannantynes wedding and that was more important than ours in a nutshell. They did upgrade us to this Library room down a corridor out of the way and we’d have been stuck in there all night. And the bar was closed off too. It would have been an awful wedding reception and not the type of stress we needed literally one day after our pet dog tragically died. We were in a state now but thankfully after some frantic driving around the corner to a very well known hotel nearby we managed to get booked in there and had a fantastic day!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear E4559XWpaulc, Sorry to read this negative review regarding the hotel, which we feel is extremely unfair on the hotel and the team that work here. You are correct we had a large wedding booked in at the the hotel who had booked the year before. We sell the hotel as an exclusive wedding venue, doing only one wedding a day. You had booked a table of 6-8 people in the restaurant for lunch. We could not have 2 brides in the building at the same time which would be unfair for both of you on your special day. I am glad to hear that another venue was able to look after you. I can see from your reviews which venue it was and I know they would also of applied the same principal if this had happened to them. Glad it all worked for you in the end but do feel the review is very unfiar reflection on the hotel and the team. Best Wishes, John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan H wrote a review Sep 2022
11 contributions9 helpful votes
I was invited to a family wedding with the reception and evening event held here. Everything went smoothly and I enjoyed my day. The food and drink were very good and my room was clean and comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Susan H, Lovely review - thank you so much for sharing on this website. Hopefully we will see you again for another family occasion. Best Wishes, John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marianne_Simpson wrote a review Sep 2022
Morecambe, United Kingdom18 contributions38 helpful votes
We had a lovely three day stay with dinner, breakfast and an afternoon tea. The four-poster bed in our suite was really comfortable and everywhere was clean and well-equipped. The afternoon tea came as two normal ones, when we had asked for a gluten free choice, but the waiter and kitchen sorted this out really quickly and it was some of the best gluten free bread and cakes I've tasted. The only down side was that the 'Spa break' that was booked as a present, didn't say the spa wasn't in the hotel, it was a 20-25 minute walk away. With limited parking at the hotel and a husband that has just had an operation, we chose not to attend the hour long treatments included and lose our parking space.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Marianne_Simpson, Thank you for the lovley review. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that the team looked afer you so well. Sorry to see you missed your treatment at the Spa due to parking concerns. The hotel has been extremely busy over the last few months and the car park can get busy from time to time, particulary on a weekend. Best Wishes, John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam L wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
I recently spent two nights here as I was attending a wedding in their event space. The hot breakfast was atrocious, somehow the second morning was worst than the first. It is hands down the worst breakfast I've ever had and I can't believe we had to pay extra for it. The wedding was also catered and there were a selection of pizzas labelled 'vegetarian' ... as I bit into it I realised there was chicken on it. I've been a vegetarian for 13 years so this was an incredibly upsetting experience. The staff were generally very nice but during the wedding they kept clearing our drinks away even though they weren't finished. The room itself was basic but fine, my only complaint there was that it was absolutely boiling and there was no way of controlling the temperature. The only thing in the room to help was a small desk fan which of course did nothing. The only saving grace in all this was that the bed was comfy. This has been my first experience with a Bannatyne Hotel and it'll also be my last.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SamLOx, Sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your time with us on this occasion. I will review your comments with the team. Breakfast is usually very posiitve feedback as a rule, sorry this wasn't the case with yours. Unclear when the function was on at the hotel so I will review this again with the team, but we do deal with several vegetarians and different allergens on almost every function and event we cater for these days. Having said that I will ensure the team are fully aware of your comments. We have experienced some extremely warm weather in recent months and some rooms do get more affected than others. Best Wishes, John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dani B wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed here this weekend as part of a spa break for our 1st Wedding Anniversary, we also got married here. We absolutely love this place, the staff are all outstanding! Attention to detail is on point. Alex in particular works so hard, nothing is ever too much trouble. The food is gorgeous, rooms are lovely too! The spa is also lovely, cannot fault a single thing. Thankyou all so much!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Price, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 993danib, Wonderful review thank you and great to see you have visited for your wedding anniversary. Alex is a super star at the hotel and a mention is well deserved. Hopefully get the opportunity to look after you again in the near future. Best Wishes, John
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
darlington bannatyne hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDarlington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bannatyne Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bannatyne Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crooners Champagne Bar (0.4 km), The Cheese and Wine Shop (0.4 km), and ORB Micropub (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bannatyne Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bannatyne Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bannatyne Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bannatyne Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bombay Gate, SALT - Street Food Kitchen & Bar, and Sol Tapas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bannatyne Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Bannatyne Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Darlington.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bannatyne Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bannatyne Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Bannatyne Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Piercebridge Roman Fort & Bridge (7.6 km), David Mach's Train Sculpture, Darlington (3.9 km), and Durham Town Hall (0.6 km).
Is Bannatyne Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.