We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Helgolandsgade 15, Copenhagen 1653 Denmark
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!20% off room rate
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
US$106
View deal
eDreams
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1513)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 14/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Absalon Hotel
Updated 14/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 135 hotels in Copenhagen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Reopened May 2016 after a total refurbishment. Central location in Vesterbro Neighborhood near Central Station, Meatpacking Area and Restaurants. Absalon Hotel is all about a cozy ambiance in Designers Guild bold and cheerful design. Family owned hotel - 3rd generation Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Bike rental DKK 150.- Per day. Popular Hotel Bar and Lobby Lounge.. Air Conditioning ONLY in Superior Rooms: contact the staff if you wish to upgrade and have extra comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycle tours
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Danish and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
249Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
52Attractionswithin 0.5 km
4320Reviews143Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,406
  • 1,462
  • 339
  • 73
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nadialamprecht wrote a review Yesterday
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
Brilliant service, excellent location. Surrounded by great restaurants. The staff members are super helpful and friendly. Pristine facilities. The breakfast is plenty and offers a good selection. A must!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
clh221 wrote a review Oct 2020
North West England, United Kingdom37 contributions46 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The title of this review is ‘the most beautiful hotel I’ve even stayed in’ and it’s probably not to everyone’s taste, but I personally love how the interior of this hotel looks. Those vibrant colours are one of the main reasons why we chose to stay in it. The outside looks grand too. Since the appearance is 5* I’m pleased to say the experience of staying there was 5* as well. The staff were welcoming and professional upon our arrival. Check-in was extremely fast because we’d completed our form electronically beforehand. When we entered our room we found it to be in good condition and again, very beautifully decorated. The 5* touch though was to leave a card welcoming us by name to the hotel, as well as a small gift. The visit happened to be for our 10th anniversary so we found this to be really lovely. The breakfast was nice. I’ve become a drinker of fruit tea as a result of the delicious teas they serve. Next to the buffet area is the bar, which often had a happy hour during which the drinks prices were very reasonable for a hotel bar, or a bar in Copenhagen (or both). It’s also a wonderful place to sit and have a drink if you like the interior design like I say. In terms of other facilities we used, we were able to change some money at the reception without a charge, and similarly the luggage room was free. The location is excellent. The central train station is a five-minute walk away and there are numerous bars and restaurants within a five to ten-minute walk. The overall price was good value in this regard, when compared to the increase to stay for example in the centre of Amsterdam rather than the outskirts. Overall then I struggle to find a negative point to make. This hotel was amazing and I’d recommend it to anyone wanting a fantastic place to stay in Copenhagen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joyce Ausan-Louv, Guest Services / Front Office at Absalon Hotel
Responded 9 Nov 2020
Thank you for this detailed feedback about your recent 5- star experience here in Absalon Hotel! It is an honor to be the most beautiful hotel you’ve ever stayed in. The hotel’s modern, vibrant décor by Designers Guild with details highlighting Danish “hygge” is certainly something unique and charming that we are proud to offer to our valued guests. Lovely to note that we were able to meet, if not exceed, your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay from the room décor, the breakfast and delicious organic teas, the hotel’s accessible location, and most of all, the service of our wonderful staff, our best asset. They are dedicated individuals who are always inclined to creating memorable experiences for our guests. They would be delighted that their hard work paid off and we are all looking forward for your next stay. Kindest regards, Joyce Ausan-Louv Guest Relations Officer Absalon Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lhoward4288 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Nice stay at Absalon Hotel Very friendly staff in all areas of hotel Good breakfast Area fine plenty restaurants within 10minutes walk away most things to see and do 20-30 minutes walk but lovely city to walk in
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Annecam wrote a review Sep 2022
Seville, Spain19 contributions25 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at The Absalon. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location is excellent for using public transport around the city and is also in good walking distance to Tivoli Gardens and other city attractions. The room in the hotel was in the smaller side with not a lot of storage for clothes etc. Could see this being a problem if you were staying more than a few days. The room however had a fridge, large screen tv and the en-suite was very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
giddyx wrote a review Sep 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom1 contribution
Top location very central very very nice helpful friendly staff great breakfast …nice warm room and top shower facility 👍👍👍 room always cleaned well !!!! Good facilities table fussball as well near all the museums and Tivoli ….so go and enjoy!!!😁
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike Strobel wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
Four-star hotel? This is the furthest thing from it. The whole place, including elevators, needs paint, rewiring and a good scrubbing. Frankly, much of the time it seemed more like a crowded student hostel. (Which is fine — but not at these prices. Apparently, the Absalon does indeed share facilities, such as breakfast, with an attached hostel.) And room 530 is no four-star room. Not even close. The carpet is heavily stained, dirty and worn. The air conditioner appeared to be leaking blue fluid. The walls are marked and in need of paint. The bathroom drains were mostly blocked. I had to dig hair and lint out of the sink drain to clear it. (Not my hair. I'm bald.) The plugs and wiring are mind-boggling — took forever to figure out which switch worked for which light. An awful room. Yet, it turns out, ridiculously expensive. There was confusion over the type of room we booked. (The website's fault, not the hotel's, plus my own inattention.) So, we now realize, we paid $542 CAD a night for one of my least favourite hotel accommodations — and as a journalist I've stayed in huts in the Amazon jungle and in tents on the plains of Africa and in the Sahara. We had only one full day in Copenhagen, or we would have switched hotels. Lesson learned. Too bad. The staff is terrific, the location is fine, the neighbourhood is colourful, and this could be a great hotel. It just needs a whole lot of TLC. Starting with room 530.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ignacio P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The best location for getting from the airport and for getting around Copenhagen. Everything is very close and you can walk everywhere. The room was spectacular: large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good. In other hotels I looked at in Copenhagen it was not included and we like to be able to have breakfast without leaving the hotel. Highly recommended, practical and very nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andersen Hotel Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Absalon Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Ignacio Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Absalon Hotel. We are so grateful to hear you had such a wonderful time here with us while celebrating your anniversary. Absalon Hotel is located right behind the central station, so it's very easy to get around Copenhagen. Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we cannot thank you enough for that. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back with us again in the future. Kind regards, Maiken Jensen Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review Sep 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Efficient and welcoming staff at Reception. Hotel is conveniently located close to the Central Railway Station. We were also able to use the green deal to reduce bike hire cost and also get bar credit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andersen Hotel Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Absalon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Paul, thank you so much for the time that you have spent sharing with us our experience at Absalon Hotel. We are so happy to read, that you have had such a great stay and that you have enjoyed our services. The key to a welcoming hotel is always the staff and we are proud that our front desk team was efficient and welcoming to you! So nice that you have liked our location, very close to the central station, the main tourist attractions and restaurants. We can not wait for welcoming you in the future again and we wish you all the best! Kind Regards, AlicePasetto Guest Relations Yeam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cecilia B wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Couldn't be more satisfied! Such a nice place! Rooms were really neat and the breakfast was delicu. Excellent service as well, Jack working in the reception was especially nice. He gave us such a nice welcome. We are definitely coming back soon! Ps! The drinks in the bar were delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andersen Hotel Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Absalon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Cecilia, what an amazing review! Thank you so much for writing us your excellent experience with us. We are so happy to read, that you have really appreciated our service, and our delicious organic breakfast, which we prepare every morning with fresh products. We will definitely share with our Jack your super nice cheers, we are so proud of our highly experienced staff. So nice to hear, that you have liked the drinks in our bar, made with passion by our bartenders. We can not wait for welcoming you in the future again and we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Alice Pasetto Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caellefs wrote a review Sep 2022
Vermillion, South Dakota7 contributions2 helpful votes
Wonderful location, staff, and breakfast! We were able to check in early which was amazing after our 14 hour travel day. A cozy boutique hotel…we loved our stay! Highly recommend…you won’t be disappointed!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andersen Hotel Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Absalon Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so happy to read, that you have had a great experience at Absalon Hotel and that you have enjoyed all our services, especially our wonderful staff and the convenient location. We can not wait for welcoming you in the future again and we wish you all the best! Kind Regards, Alice Pasetto Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$123 - US$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
absalon hotel copenhagen
LOCATION
DenmarkZealandCopenhagenInner Vesterbro / Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
NUMBER OF ROOMS
161
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Absalon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Absalon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tivoli Gardens (0.5 km), Mikkeller Bar (0.2 km), and Curfew (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Absalon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Absalon Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Absalon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Absalon Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Absalon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maple Casual Dining, Smagsloeget (Vesterbro), and Bowl Market Copenhagen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Absalon Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Absalon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Polish, and Swedish.
Are there any historical sites close to Absalon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Our Saviour's Church (2.0 km), Rosenborg Castle (1.8 km), and Christiansborg Slot (1.1 km).
Does Absalon Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.