We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
The Square, Sandford, Crediton EX17 4LW England
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (64)
Dining (34)
Room & Suite (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Award winning pub with stunning, contemporary rooms in a picturesque Devon village. Only 20 minutes from Exeter and 2 minutes from Crediton. The pub serves good food, including several vegan dishes, seven days a week, but please book just in case. A charming place with open fires, lovely walled gardens and friendly staff. Breakfast and VAT is included in the price of the room and prices are per room.
Read more
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Aerobics
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
344Reviews1Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 64
  • 30
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Drumme wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
We recently came here for a celebration dinner we had to order in advance but on day we’re advised no tomatoes really! Food was overcooked and tasteless and very unprofessional staff were not very tidy
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Silk, Owner at The Lamb Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2021
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. It is a shame you did not mention, when asked, at the table and when you paid your bill about your dissatisfaction; in fact you actually said everything was good. Just for balance here are some of the last four week of reviews on Google: Andrew Kent - 5 Stars - Lovely Country Pub Excellent Food Dennis Cavanagh- 4 stars -Great venue, decent food not a great deal of choice for draught beers. Laura Good- 5 stars - We came for some dinner with our children whilst on holiday nearby, and were not disappointed. The food is the best pub food we have ever had. Such cosy, chilled vibes in here. We were made to feel so comfortable and relaxed. The staff were excellent and so friendly. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a cosy village pub with amazing food and fantastic, friendly customer service! Adam Wolfe- 5 stars - Wedding reception, excellent friendly service. Thanks. Sandra “Pebbles” Beaches - 5 starts - Excellent roast. very friendly pub. Good selection of drinks. Dog friendly also. Caroline Fewkes – 5 stars - Lovely place, with delightful staff Rachel Neal - 5 stars -Lovely food and atmosphere.
Read more
Voyage570428 wrote a review Oct 2021
Barham, United Kingdom63 contributions
My entire dining experience from the point of booking the table till I left the place was very positive. All reasonable safety measures for Covid were in place. It made me feeling safe to dine in there for the evening. The starter was really good. The pickled sliced cucumbers and carrots were so refreshing. The sourdough and flat bread went well with humous and tapenade. The main course was impressive. The lamb, venison sausage and chicken were so tasty. I would highly recommend that. We finished with nice flavoured sorbets. The local lager that was recommended did not disappoint me. Would love to come back here and try other dishes on the menu. I bet they are all equally nice. The dining experience was enhanced by good polite service that I received throughout the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Silk, Owner at The Lamb Inn
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind review.
Read more
CycleMark wrote a review Oct 2021
Devon, United Kingdom3 contributions
Good service, friendly and helpful staff. We made a last minute booking for Sunday lunch. The woman who answered the phone was really friendly and helpful and moved things to get us in. The pub is lovely and set in a nice Devon village. We ordered grilled sea bream, roast beef and a child’s size of the roast pork loin. The bream was uncooked in the centre and had to go back, it took about 20 minutes to get a replacement which when it came was better cooked, but still marginal at the bone on one side. For the roasts, the roast potatoes were poor. I would say they were. Precooked and reheated for the day, the result was they were soft, yellow/grey inside and waxy in texture. The pork was undercooked and quite chewy, with some gristle and the fat soft and not at all rendered. The beef was very good as were the total shire puddings. The dwarf (?) beans were very undercooked and so a bit stringy and the carrots were soft and slushy and so sweet it tasted as if they had sugar in them. The brownie dessert, chocolate ice cream and cheese bore were really good. The owners adjusted our bill without being asked, because of the bream. That was a nice touch. In summary, I felt like the nice owners, staff, pub all really deserve a better chef.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I was lucky to park outside but there is additional parking by the village hall.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Silk, Owner at The Lamb Inn
Responded 5 Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. We didn't get your fish right for you the first time, so we removed this from your bill due to the extra time it took to cook another fish for you. The only item on our Sunday Lunch menu we precook, the day before, are the Yorkshire puddings. I was not there on Sunday, but I will pass on your kind comments to the team who were.
Read more
Lorna Lambert wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
We cannot recommend this place, very disappointed particularly as it is seriously overpriced. We stayed for for 2 nights in July and requested a room with a king size bed. It may be that the other rooms are more modern and better equipped but ours, although large was characterless and the bathroom tiny. The mixer tap did not work properly. For this we were charged £104 per night. Breakfast was extra and is described as "Continental" meaning cereal, a couple of croissants and toast (sourdough, of which more later). £7..95 per person making it £120 per night. No apologies for the lack of a cooked breakfast. We have just come back from a country inn in Norfolk and bed and cooked breakfast for 2 per night was £70. No comparison.. Devon seems to have a special cachet so it can charge silly prices. On one night six of us had a meal in the restaurant. where prices were reasonable but guess what? No starters, unless you consider a plate of olives or sourdough bread a starter. Is it not possible to avoid sourdough bread anywhere these days? A very strange mains menu was generally well received without being particularly outstanding except for the beef and brisket hamburger. Not necessarily a crime against humanity but a serious catering misjudgement. Drinks are reasonably priced but the best we can say is that it was an ok meal, nothing more, nothing less. Up until two years ago The Lamb was a genuine gastropub. Not any more.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Silk, Owner at The Lamb Inn
Responded 10 Sep 2021
You are correct The Lamb Inn only offers and excellent value continental breakfast. In your case you booked “Room Only”, you were told in our confirmation email that we only offer continental breakfast, you chose to order our excellent value for money continental breakfasts. Just for a bit of balance here is what other reviews on other sites say: We had a one night stay with dinner and continental breakfast. Our dinner was outstanding - really memorable. We had the steak and the half chicken. The chicken was beautifully flavoured and moist. Both came with a delicious green salad … 5 stars Breakfast was very good, didn't miss the full English continental was fine 5 stars "Top quality food, price average for area, friendly staff and atmosphere." 5 stars A really quirky village pub. Staff very friendly and attentive. The food was awesome, I really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it to others to try it. Prices were reasonable for what you got. Highly recommended 👌 5 stars Wonderful stay here for 1 night with my family. The pub is fantastic with a good vibe inside and a nice outdoor area at the front and back. Staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly throughout. To top it off the food was fantastic. 5 stars
Read more
deborah j wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Stayed for one night and both myself and husband were extremely happy with all that was offered. Staff were friendly and welcoming, room was lovely and bed was very comfortable. Best part of the stay was the fantastic food, we had the meat feast sharing platter and it was one of the best meals out we have ever had. Would love to eat here more often but we live 300 miles away. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Silk, Owner at The Lamb Inn
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lamb hotel sandford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonCreditonSandford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lamb Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Lamb Inn?
Nearby attractions include Crediton Parish Church (2.2 km), Planet Play (2.6 km), and Quicke's (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lamb Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Lamb Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Lamb Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lamb Inn?
Yes, free private parking nearby, free public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lamb Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ring of Bells, Black Dog Inn, and The Beer Engine.
Is The Lamb Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 km away from the centre of Sandford.
Are pets allowed at The Lamb Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lamb Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Libbet's Well (7.5 km).