Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel

Lobby del hotel
Traveller (587)
Room & Suite (47)
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#10 of 62 hotels in Rotterdam
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German and 1 more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
46.8 km
See all flights
Rotterdam Airport
Stadhuis
3 minRotterdam Metro
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,491 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station is celebrated for its prime location near key attractions and transport links, making it a favorite for exploring the city. Cleanliness and a welcoming atmosphere with modern touches typify the guest experience, although there are occasional mentions of minor upkeep needed. While the amenities are satisfactory, including a decent breakfast, suggestions for improvement like additional USB plugs have been noted. Guests consistently commend the friendly and efficient staff, and the rooms meet expectations in comfort and cleanliness, contributing to the hotel's reputation for providing good value.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,491Review30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 532
  • 683
  • 197
  • 37
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Trey R wrote a review Jun 2023
Peachtree City, Georgia
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here pre-cruise. Our flight arrived well before check in and the staff was great in taking our bags and checking them while we walked Rotterdam as this hotel is in a great area to walk, shop and eat. The breakfast buffet the next morning was very good. As we departed the staff explained the best way to get to the port was to walk across the street and catch the tram that goes directly to the port. I downloaded the “RET” app go the tickets and off we went, very easy. I was very appreciative of the staff here as they really did a great job of ensuring everything about our stay was great.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronnie90 wrote a review Feb 2020
Witham, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Being very new helps but this seems to be one of the better Holiday Inn Express establishments. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good wifi and friendly helpful staff. To one of the recent reviwers who commented that it didn't match up to other Holiday Inns, bear in mind that this is the budget version, it sn't and doesn't pretend to be a full service hotel.

Breakfast was adequate with a good choice of cold meats, cheese etc. A great location close to Rotterdam's main station but actually much closer to Staadhuis Metro. Trams to all of Rotterdam right outside (and they can make a noise when they make the sharp right turn to access the station).

Very handy and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Ronnie90, Thank you so much for your review! I'm happy to hear that your stay met your expectations and I hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Rotterdam. With kind regards, Stephanie Godschalk Front Office & Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Inge A wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean. The staff were friendly (especially Judith in the morning)
The breakfast was really extended
Undergroud parking was very expensive. It cost 28,50 euros for 1 night. Why zo expensive?
The location was perfect. Next to all the shops. Very nice that the tram and metro were close by.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: don't use the under ground parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Hi, 238ingea, Thank you for your candid review and for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam Central Station. I am glad our staff made you felt the warmth of our hospitality, and you are pleased with our accessible location to where you need to be. We offer everything guests need and provide more where it matters most. I communicated your concern about the parking fee with the hotel management. I am positive they will respond accordingly. With every journey you take, we hope to elevate your experience as we keep it simple and smart. Sincerely, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Unhappymarathonrunner2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was due to stay at this hotel while running the Rotterdam marathon this year. I booked the hotel on recommendation from friends partially through the hotel itself and partially through booking.com. Subsequently the marathon was cancelled due to the Coronavirus & no new date has been set for the marathon. I contacted the hotel directly and after explaining my case fully (how I had booked and what happened) I was advised on the online live chat that they have waived all cancellation fees even for pre-paid non refundable bookings however to obtain my refund for the rooms booked via booking.com I would need to contact them directly. After having no success contacting booking.com I contacted the hotel again and was informed by the hotel receptionist (after speaking to her manager) that she would immediately process my refund. This did not happen, instead I received an email telling me to contact booking.com After cancelling my flights and not being refunded for these booking.com advised (Might I add 3 days later) that it was at the decision of the hotel that I was not entitled to a refund. When I talked to the hotel receptionist & manager again they were rude to say the least and unwilling to compromise in anyway despite misinforming negative to begin with. I am now out more than €2,000 for the price of flights and accommodation for an event I cannot attend. It is in my opinion disgraceful to take advantage of people in this way when we should be all sticking together. Horrible customer experience and service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear Marathonrunner2020, Thank you for your feedback. As already discussed via phone, you have booked a non-refundable booking through Booking.com. Therefore, it is unfortunately not possible to refund the amount, however what I have offered you is to change the date of your booking, which is already an exception. Unfortunately, you have declined this option. Please contact us again if you reconsider, so we can settle this for you. With kind regards, Stephanie Godchalk Front Office & Reservations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George H wrote a review Mar 2023
Switzerland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location within easy walking distance of the main station, very affordable and the rooms are actually quite large and quiet. If you want a simple and functional hotel for a few nights in Rotterdam, this is ideal. There is parking on site (call the front desk for directions, as Weena is very busy and you could go around and round). No gym of which I am aware but plenty of easy jogging on the streets outside.

There was a queue at check in when I arrived, and it seemed to take a while, which was a little irritating. There are also a couple of oddities about the place - the disco blue lighting option in the bathroom being the most memorable one, as well as needing to know when you are going to eat breakfast the next morning - I can see that this might be a problem when the hotel is full, but both mornings I can down breakfast was nowhere near busy, so it seemed a bit of an overkill. It is a pretty standard, no-frills budget hotel breakfast, but the coffee was good. The staff were friendly. For the money paid, fine.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josanne wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were all very friendly and all spoke good English. The room was quite spacious and clean. A good selection for breakfast. Being on a busy street the rooms all have double glazed windows so very quite even during the night. Bus station and tram across the road. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JoeyDonker, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Welovetotravel474, Thanks again for you stay in the Holiday Inn Express in Rotterdam. And thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm more then happy to share your kind words about our hotel and staff with the rest of the team! We hope to welcome you again soon in the Holiday Inn Express in Rotterdam. With kind regards, Joey Donker Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alessandra F wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had chance to stay in this hotel for 14 nights, very friendly atmosphere. Nice size room , clean, the only down side window can't be open it's sealed :-(
Nice breakfast supported by very nice staff, Judith made me laugh one morning while still a bit asleep I was looking for something, 'smell the coffee' she told me noticing I was still sleeping. Little things that make you feel at home.
I will definitely chose this hotel again next time I'll have to stay in Rotterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JoeyDonker, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear AlessandrafJ5758TS, Thanks again for you stay in the Holiday Inn Express in Rotterdam. And thank you for taking the time to write a review. What a kind words about Judith. This is what true hospitality means to me and the rest of the staff. I'm more then happy to share your kind words with her and the rest of my team. We hope to welcome you again soon in the Holiday Inn Express in Rotterdam. With kind regards, Joey Donker Duty Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lena Berstein wrote a review Aug 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam
We have chosen this hotel for our not so short stay in Rotterdam. So we’ve spent 9 nights there.
The location is just excellent, very close to the Central Station and to the city center, also there are tram and bus stops around, so you can go in any direction. The view was nice - to the square with the fountain. Also, I have noticed, that it wasn’t noisy, though there are trams and cars nearby.
We have chosen the room with kitchenette, which was a good choice. The room is a bit bigger than the standard one, and has a fridge and a microwave. The iron and ironing board can be provided by the request. Although the bed is quite narrow, its not a king size, it was some standard double bed.
The room is cleaned only in case you request it in the morning.
The breakfast was quite modest: boiled eggs, some sliced cheese, salami, ham, pastry, fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, milk, jam, honey, butter. Also selection of drinks - tea, coffee, apple and orange juice. Quite standard.
You can attend breakfast in the chosen time - with the breakfast card, or it can be packed for you to take away.
The personnel is very helpful. The stay was pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t forget to ask in the morning to clean your room. It’s not done by default, only upon request.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ErikNL2011 wrote a review Jan 2024
Holland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a pleasant surprise this hotel is. Check in was seamless. All reception staff appear to be quite young, but they know what they are doing and can answer most questions and work quick and efficient. The room was clean and looked new. Great shower, good mattress and working AC. Windows do not open, but I consider that a plus, as it really ensures a good sound-insulation, important with a busy street in front of the hotel
The location of this hotel is also very good, close to public transport, shops, etc. Parking is not included, but is very safe, entrance not suited for oversized cars.
Breakfast is done on a time-slot system and that also worked well and staff kept everything replenished and cleared tables quickly.
The only thing I can think of that could be improved is the TV in the room, it is small and slow.
If we do another Rotterdam City trip, we will probably stay here again. One the better Holiday Inn express hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zarya t wrote a review Jul 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As a wheelchair user I was pleasantly surprised with the accesibility of the room. I have to retract one star for the stairs to the parkinglot. There's no other way to get to and from the parkinglot, so assistance is required to get up (and down) the 5 step-staircase. Thankfully the personnel is very helpful and willing to assist at anything. Great shoutout to Judith in the breakfast area! She's amazing and a happy help for anything you might need.
The regular entrance to the hotel is at floor level, so no steps there. The revolving door is useable with a wheelchair, but there's also a side entrance which can be accessed with your door key at any time. The accessible rooms are on the first floor, just like the restaurant area. There are two elevators which are just big enough for my electric wheelchair to fit. The room is spaceous enough for my chair to move and turn around in. I could easily access the bathroom and make good use of all its amenities thanks to plenty of handlebars, a showerseat, and well-placed sinks. Overall I've had a wonderful experience and would reccomend anyone staying here! If there would be a solution installed for the steps to the garage, it would be 10/10!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The timetables next to the elevators detail which breakfasst times are busiest. If your schedule...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norman V asked a question Sept 2023
Roseville, California13 contributions
Do any of the rooms have walk-in (stand alone) showers? Thanks!
Answer from Dragon789wv
Thousand Oaks, California2,266 contributions93 helpful votes
Sorry - I don't really remember. I do know that neither my wife nor I had any problems taking showers... we never take baths in hotels. It may be best to ask the hotel itself
KopisiBrand asked a question Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore122 contributions15 helpful votes
Hi how much is cost of laundry service?
Answer from Pascal S
Herenthout, Belgium32 contributions43 helpful votes
Sorry, did not use this sevice
Julia S asked a question Nov 2019
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom53 contributions13 helpful votes
Any room recommendations please . Maybe a good view. Thank you 😊
Answer from lioness
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi 963jades, I would recomend a room in a different hotel! Indeed good location but staff unhelpfull and unfriendly, very poor choice at breakfast and very like a canteen, (get your own cutlery, cook your own toast etc). Car park on different street with hotel then accessable via dark corridors through two locked doors, very poor with luggage to carry. So many other hotels to pick from in Rotterdam, particulaly near the river and the Erasmusbrug Bridge with stunning views. Happy holidays.
Cleila M wrote a tip 17 Jul
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Clean and organized place attracts more people."
Read full review
Renee H wrote a tip 13 Jul
4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good hotel and very close proximity to the train station. "
Read full review
Vipul M wrote a tip 8 Jul
Mississauga, Canada12 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get your iron and adapters if you’re traveling from outside Europe. "
Read full review
Sudriveraine wrote a tip 6 Jul
Ottawa, Canada59 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free fast wifi Great complimentary continental breakfast Parking available "
Read full review
PPL225 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Baton Rouge, Louisiana31 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel is very close the Rotterdam Central train station. Food options nearby are ok."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$703 - HK$1,296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsSouth Holland ProvinceRotterdam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
214
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ROTTERDAM - CENTRAL STATION, AN IHG HOTEL HK$687 (H̶K̶$̶7̶3̶4̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rotterdam Centraal Station (0.4 km), City Hall Rotterdam (0.3 km), and Xventura Rotterdam Treasure Hunts (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include SUGO Pizza - Aert van Nesstraat, Restaurant Chung, and FG Food Labs.
Is Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Rotterdam.
Does Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Dutch, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Huis Sonneveld (1.0 km), Witte Huis (1.2 km), and Museummolen de Walvisch (5.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Rotterdam HotelsRotterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotterdamHotels near Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire