We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Toren

Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1768)
Room & Suite (565)
Dining (168)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more

Location

Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
The Toren
3,555Reviews107Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,026
  • 453
  • 55
  • 19
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Marc K wrote a review Today
New Rochelle, United States4 contributions
A wonderful boutique hotel that's well located to many of the top sites. The room we had was terrific, but the best thing about The Toren are the wonderful people. Our flight arrived very early in the morning, and the staff allowed us to spend time in the dining room and provided us with coffee gratis. The people were great about providing us with ideas of where to go while we waited for our rooms to be ready, and were so helpful and nice throughout. This place is a gem.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Small boutique hotel, so book early.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark H wrote a review 17 Apr
2 contributions
We just spent the most lovely long weekend at the Toren, and we can definitively say it was an absolutely charming place. The location is to die for, literally a few hundreds yards from dozens of restaurants and bars, and so many cool artsy shops in the many streets surrounding. The staff are super-friendly, they had good suggestions for our many activities (eg, rental car, restaurant suggestions, where to get a great cappuccino nearby), and our waitstaff (for the super breakfasts each morning) were wonderful. The bar/restaurant area is classy and traditional, lots of wood, chandeliers, tasteful lighting, both chair and couch seating, we very much enjoyed our morning ritual of grabbing the corner couch and having breakfast while looking out the window onto the canal. We enjoyed coming back from dinner a couple night and popping into the bar area to have a nightcap (or two). (As an aside, their wine selection is good, we had an Amarone from northern Italy, it was fantastic). The place is perfect for couples who want to explore Amsterdam. It is definitely in the nicest area of the city, away from the very busy and commercial city center, but yet near enough to all the sites in the city that one could walk pretty much anywhere in less than 20 or 30 minutes. We walked to the Rijks Museum (wow, a must-see), and the Zoo (Amsterdam's zoo is awesome.... big enough but not crazy huge, you can do it in 2 or 3 hours). But our favorite thing to do was to walk from the hotel to a cute bar, sit outside with a glass of wine or Heineken and 'people watch' for hours. We HIGHLY recommend The Toren. HIGHLY.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try Cafe 't Smalle, it's a short walk, such an eclectic and cool clientele, a truly Amsterdam...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're happy you enjoyed the beautiful room, friendly staff, and delicious a la carte breakfast. Your friendly words are truly appreciated, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us. With warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LVBaustin wrote a review 17 Apr
34 contributions30 helpful votes
The Toren was an excellent, authentic Amsterdam experience. The hotel is in an older canal home so you get a real feel of what it was like to live in Amsterdam. The rooms are well appointed. There was a nice bar/restaurant with great food and convenient. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Easy walk to the Amsterdam Centraal station and most sites. I would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for staying at the Toren Hotel and your review! We appreciate it very much that you took some time to tell us about your experience. We are very happy to read that our team was able to make your stay such a delightment. We look forward to the pleasure of ever welcoming you back! Warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sheehans0fwayland wrote a review 15 Apr
San Jose, Costa Rica6 contributions
Mario, the bartender, was amazing. Best drinks in a beautiful ambiance. He shares highlights of Amsterdam and Greece at the same time. If you’re looking for a great experience, come see Mario! I look forward to coming back! Thank you for a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 4 days ago
Greetings from Amsterdam! Thank you for your great review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments about Mario’s drinks are the highlight of our day :-) We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future! With warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vioarr wrote a review 15 Apr
Hounslow, United Kingdom132 contributions64 helpful votes
Mario served the best drinks we had in Amsterdam. Worth booking rooms just to have end of day drinks at the bar with Mario! Definitely a place to stay in great neighborhood.. quiet at night and central location in centrum/Jordaan neighborhoods
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 4 days ago
Warm Greetings from The Toren Hotel! Thank you for your kind review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay in the heart of Amsterdam. Furthermore, we are pleased that our beautiful hotel, friendly staff, and Marios’ delicious cocktails contributed to a fantastic experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay! With kind regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John K wrote a review 15 Apr
Washington DC, District of Columbia46 contributions33 helpful votes
Hotel is excellent. Great location. Overlooks Keizersgracht canal. We had a room with a view of the canal, well worth it. Bar serves breakfast, coffees/teas all day, drinks/snacks in the evening (well, drinks anytime it strikes your fancy). Thanks, Marios and team for looking after us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Canal view comes with traffic and passersby noise. Not a problem for us, but know ahead of time.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 4 days ago
Greetings from The Toren Hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our accommodation. It's wonderful to know that you found the breakfast, drinks and snack’s delicious and Marios was a great host during your stay with us. We can't wait to be welcoming you again when you are visiting Amsterdam! With warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ben S wrote a review 13 Apr
1 contribution
Mario’s was an awesome bartender; when we arrived after our canal cruise he made the best Espresso Martinis. He was a great conversationalist and also guide to many impressive details of the hotel lobby including the Rembrandt in the ceilings
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experiences here on tripadvisor! We are extremely honored and couldn't be happier with your kind words and comments, it means the world to us to see that you've had a great stay. We are very happy to read that Marios was able to make your stay such a delightment. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable stay at The Toren Hotel. With warm regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Connector53409 wrote a review 10 Apr
1 contribution
What an amazing incredible stay that me and my wife recently had at the 5 star luxury hotel! The entire staff went above and beyond to meet each and every request that was ask from the time we arrived until the time we departed. It was truly more than we expected. We will forever be grateful for, as we say from the south of USA , the first class “warm hospitality.” Our stay was so welcoming that we have booked our return stay with them before departing back home. A must stay if you ever visiting Amsterdam!! The BEST! Tip: We love luxury and always looking for excellent service with warm hospitality and this was over the top!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor! We're delighted to hear that our staff, accommodations, and service contributed to a perfect stay in Amsterdam. Your friendly words are truly appreciated, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us. With warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kris J wrote a review 10 Apr
1 contribution
I visited Amsterdam with my daughter and stayed at The Toren Hotel for 4 nights. Amsterdam is our favourite city and we have visited it many times and stayed in a number of different hotels. I would rate The Toren very highly for a number of reasons, to include polite and friendly staff, cleanliness, comfort and location. The double glazing is very effective and although there is a popular pub nearby, we could not hear any noise. The heavy curtains are also very effective in keeping out the early morning light. A bottle of water is supplied daily and a personalised note to greet guests is placed in the room. We will undoubtedly return to the Toren.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The Toren is in a good location close to Dam Square, many restaurants, boat trips and Ann Frank...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 1 week ago
Warm greetings from Amsterdam, Your review is the highlight of our day! Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ronald c wrote a review 5 Apr
Fareham, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
We spent 3 nights in a canal view room and everything exceeded our expectations. The room was very large with amazing design. The large jacuzzi bath was impressive. All the staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. So nice not to have the usual buffet. The location is good, close to Anne Frank's house with plenty of cafes and shops nearby. One word of caution. Be careful with the taxis from the station. We were way overcharged. Stuck with Uber after that.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen, General Manager at The Toren
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings from Amsterdam, Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you loved your stay at The Toren Hotel. We can't wait to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay! With warmest regards, Annemieke Dassen - Klaasen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$2,412 - HK$4,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the toren - hampshire classic hotel amsterdam, toren hotel amsterdam, toren amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-West / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TOREN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Toren
Which popular attractions are close to The Toren?
Nearby attractions include Anne Frank House (0.2 km), The Jordaan (0.4 km), and The Milkmaid Project (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Toren?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Toren?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Toren?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Toren?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Toren?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Yeti - Nepali & Indian Restaurant, Cafe Sonneveld, and The Good Companion.
Does The Toren have airport transportation?
Yes, The Toren offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Toren located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Toren?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Toren?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to The Toren?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (2.2 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.6 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (1.3 km).