5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms

5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms

Traveller (40)
5th Floor
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#10 of 21 small hotels in Interlaken
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
All our rooms at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken are newly renovated Basic Rooms, situated on the 5th floor (lift till 4th floor) of the Hotel Interlaken. They are all non smoking and have either an en-suite bathroom or shared shower and WC in the hallway (2 showers and 2 WCs shared by 8 rooms). The rooms are equipped with water boiler with free coffee and tea, flat screen TV and hair dryer. A breakfast buffet in the Restaurant Taverne is included in the price. Directly behind the hotel you will find a large number of public parking lots (subject to charges).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Höheweg 74, Interlaken 3800 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Belp Airport
37.5 km
See all flights
Sion Airport
63.5 km
See all flights
39Reviews3Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 19
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shimnik wrote a review Sept 2020
Delft, The Netherlands7,070 contributions1,100 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
5th floor at Interlaken hotel is considered a separate entity, because the lift goes only till 4th floor and then you have to take stairs. All guests should know about it, therefore the rooms on the 5th floor are cheaper. Moreover, the rooms on the 5th floor have shared showers and toilets. Besides those features, the rooms are absolutely perfect! I would highlight comfy soft beds and electric kettle in the room. The best thing in the hotel is breakfast! It is simply amazing :) Fresh buns, omelette, bacon, sausages, pancakes, ham and cheese separately packed, birchermüsli, smoothie, different crunchy müsli, very good coffee machine, fruit salad, fresh fruits, etc. The hotel has nice restaurant on the ground floor. At the check in a receptionist explained everything we wanted to know. Unfortunately, there are only 8 parking spots behind the hotel (first come - first served). The hotel is centrally located. The only disadvantage I noticed is the church that makes noise every 15-30 min, even at night. Our room 512 did not have AC and had only a fan. If you open the windows, you hear the church; if you close the windows, it is a bit hot even mid of September.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mags D wrote a review Jun 2022
Fribourg, Switzerland69 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 502 exceeded our expectations. It was cool, quiet and comfortable. Yes, it is true that you have to walk up one flight from the 4th floor and that there is no A/C but it is not often hot enough in Interlaken to need it and there is a good fan. Also, even though I was expecting to share a bathroom, our room did have a small bathroom with a very good hot shower with strong pressure, beds were comfy, breakfast plentiful (and included in price which is often not the case when booking through Booking.com.). For the price, it was good. I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking out back of hotel is free and there are more spaces offered in the lot of the hotel next...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Interlaken, Other at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and for your very kind review. Wonderful to see that we could even exceed your expectations ツ Only 2 rooms at 5th Floor have a private bathroom so you must have been lucky and booked one of those. The other 8 rooms have to share showers and WCs. It sounds like you had a good time in Interlaken and we hope to see you back soon again for more adventures in the region. Best regards Karin Snitgaard 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pookie wrote a review Oct 2015
Melbourne, Australia103 contributions105 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights in an effort to keep the costs down, and was really impressed that we weren't treated any differently than the full paying hotel guests.
Room was modern and clean with a sink, and the shared toilets and shower rooms were also clean. View from our room was stunning-of the Harder Kulm.
The bar downstairs obliged in letting us watch the rugby, and the staff were always friendly. Special mention to Arwyn who was great (and great service in the restaurant-separate review).
Breakfast was impressive-hot and cold options to suit all tastes, and constant re stocking right up until the end of service.
Location was great, only 5 minutes walk from the train station.
Only had slight issues with the wifi when we were downstairs, but always worked perfectly in the room.
Perfect option for travelers on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
david_foodie wrote a review Oct 2018
Hong Kong, China104 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The 5th floor are for budget minded travellers who want a place that is relatively clean. It can be reached by taking the elevator to the 4th floor and then up a set of spiral stairs.

The room has no air conditioning but since the nights were cool in September, it wasn’t a problem.

The ceiling in the shower was a bit mouldy and not designed for 6 footers.

There’s a decent selection of food for breakfast.

The hotel is relatively assessable to Interlaken Ost.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chanchana B wrote a review Apr 2015
Singapore, Singapore103 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite the decoration that look like apartment or a dorm, it equipped with everything hair dryer, heather, fan, tv, water boiler, big room with window that you can see street, quite comfortable. Just need to climb up stairs. With luggage suggest to take a bus - 1bus stop from train station.
Breakfast is great and front staff very friendly and helpful - told us the weather at jungfrau on next day. A two nights nice stay for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chocoanut wrote a review Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a great value getting a 4 star service and breakfast with a b&b price. Rooms and shared toilet is clean. WiFi can be unstable sometimes but it works 90% of the time. Location is great as well.it is nearer to interlaken ost but we could walk to interlaken west as well. Their breakfast is the best I ever had in Switzerland.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kafdmd wrote a review Mar 2015
Tampa, Florida19 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the top on the 5th floor and loved it. The view was amazing from our room and the food was wonderful. We ate in their restaurant both breakfast and dinner. Service was wonderful, I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Even though there is no elevator to the 5th floor, it was worth the climb.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beckym87 wrote a review Mar 2015
Edinburgh32 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights at 5th floor @ Hotel Interlaken the last weekend in February. It has a great location, a short walk from the train station and close to lots of bars and restaurants in town. Staff were friendly, although tried to add drinks to our bill at checkout which we hadn't had. When we challenged they were removed, but this was a bit odd. Breakfast was adequate - mixed hot and cold buffet. 5th floor is good value and we traveled with only hand luggage so stairs were not an issue. Free wifi was patchy but there was a computer with wifi access on the landing for general use.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon H wrote a review Sept 2018
3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We made use of this part of the hotel (you have the main Hotel Interlaken, and then 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken) for our long weekend stay in Interlaken. The rooms were clean and spacious with a sink and tv in the room. Because it’s a cheaper room they are a little sparse. We found the bed comfortable, and you also got tea and cofee with a kettle and mugs. There are toilets and showers on the floor which we never really had to wait to use even though they were shared. The actual hotel from 4th floor downwards is really nice with very helpful, friendly and chatty staff. The breakfast buffet has a good selection. The bar and restaurant in the evenings is great and reasonably priced all things considered. The hotel is in a good location, only a short walk to the town centre and 5 minutes from the transport station up to Harder Klum which overlooks Interlaken. There is also plenty of parking around the hotel too if you have a hire car. As part of your stay you also get discount tickets on the public transport too. If you don’t mind having to share the toilets and shower then it’s a god cheaper alternative to some of the more expensive hotels. The only downside is that you can’t take the lift all the way to the 5th floor, you can only go to the 4th and then have to take stairs, so bear that in mind if you’re taking heavy suitcases or have mobility issues. My one real criticism is that the walls are evidently quite thin so you can hear your neighbours banging around. As a room for the night to stay, when you’re spending all your time out and about it’s really quite a good option. I would stay there again if I wanted to visit the area when on something of a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanna J wrote a review May 2017
61 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a double room with shared bath.. we aren't fancy and don't mind dorm living. In the photographs posted, you will see my original booking for a double room with shared bath .. and you will also see the room key with the room that we were designated to. As you see, our designated room is two bunk beds, not a double. Move past the next paragraph for the rest of the review if you do not wish to read the complaint. My biggest issue with making a reservation at this hotel is (1) double with shared bath is portrayed on their website and on TripAdvisor as a DOUBLE BED, not two bunk beds & (2) I was not willing to pay more for this room if it was more expensive (this hotel completes transactions at check out).

COMPLAINT: When confronting the staff about the reservation, they stated the room that I booked is the correct room assigned. Ok, no problem. Maybe an error on the customer??? HOWEVER, I called booking.com who confirmed my Double Bed with shared bath booking. Booking.com notified the hotel about the confirmed reservation. The manager (Ron, I believe his name is) told booking.com that I had exactly the room that was booked.. the manager told booking.com that they cannot accommodate us tonight, but will be able to accommodate the next day.. the next day came, and low and behold, they confirm that the room was given away (note this was before check in time)... So.... here I am.. posting on TripAdvisor, booking.com, and yelp about this ordeal.

The hotel itself.. it is beautiful. It is situated in between Interlaken WEST and Interlaken OST train stations. It is easier to walk to this hotel from Interlaken OST. Everything in this town is walkable. The views are breathtaking and the air is crisp!

The 5th floor isn't for those who carry a lot of luggage or for those who may have a physical disability. The elevator only goes to the 4th floor then you must walk up to the 5th floor. I would not recommend this to someone who may have difficulty with stairs or packs too heavy.

The shared toilet and shared shower are very clean. I actually witnessed it being cleaned daily (mostly in the afternoon/evening). It ain't the ritz or the hilton, but it's definitely everything you need.

The beds were ok. Since we had the 2 bunk beds room, I slept on three on the beds and my partner slept on her own. Honestly it depends on what you prefer as a customer as far as firmness. 3 beds were firm and 1 was softer.

The breakfast was included and thank god it was because Interlaken restaurants are quite expensive. The breakfast was actually quite good. Mixed dry cereals, yogurt, toast, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, and chicken satay/chicken sausage.. PLEASE NOTE: if you're breakfast is included it is from 7-10am. A family came down at 1010 bc they were told until 1030 and there was a big mix up w that ordeal.

A final point I will make, having the hotel key and coupons/bus pass is helpful to the activities surrounding this area. The hotel reservation includes discounts if you show a ticketing office where you are staying. For example, harder klum was 21 franks versus the 26-28 with a Eurail pass. Also the pass includes free public transportation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelInterlaken, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms
Responded 7 May 2017
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken. We are glad to see that you liked our establishment even though not everything was to your full satisfaction. Concerning your complaint please take note of our following statement: The double rooms at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken all have a different layout. Some have double beds, some twin beds and one has a bunk bed. We never specify nor do we guarantee what kind of bed you will have in your room unless the reservation is made directly with the hotel and a specific bed type is requested and corfirmed. Booking.com cannot give any confirmation as to what kind of bed you will have. Double rooms are not equal to double beds. There are many misconceptions as to what a double room is but the definition definately is that it is a room accomodating 2 guests. Bed types are not specified. As to your conversation with our receptionist Ronny, some misunderstandings must have occured. We are sorry if you feel that you were not seen but I can assure you that Ronny did what he could to meet your needs. It was never a question of us not being able to accomadate you. Unfortunately you did not see him the day after check in so the room change didn’t happen. We apologize for this inconvenience. Breakfast is served 06:30 until 10.00, Sundays until 11:00. Dear guest, once again thank you for your kind review and please do accept our apologies for the ordeal,- it all really should not have happened. Best regards Karin Snitgaard 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tin asked a question Jul 2019
Singapore, Singapore49 contributions3 helpful votes
Is possible to leave our luggage at the reception/concierge a hours before check-in time?
Answer from HotelInterlaken
Interlaken2 contributions
Hi TiniT8 Yes, you can leave your luggage at the reception both on day of arrival and day of departure. Best regards Karin
Answer from HotelInterlaken
Interlaken2 contributions
Hi there Thank you for reaching out! Breakfast is served on the groundfloor from 07.00h until 10.00h. On the second floor you will find a microwave and yes, luggage can be stored at the reception. Please do get back to us if you need any further information. Best regards Karin
서이 박 asked a question Jan 2015
Is it possible for staying in twin room three person?
Answer from HotelInterlaken
Interlaken2 contributions
Hello Thank you for your question. Unfortunately it is not possible to stay 3 people in a twin room - the rooms are too small. However, you have the opportunity of booking a 4-bed room which contains two bunk beds at the rate of CHF 199 during low season and CHF 240 during high season. Should you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards Karin Snitgaard k.snitgaard@hotelinterlaken.ch
Mags D wrote a tip Jun 2022
Fribourg, Switzerland69 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking out back of hotel is free and there are more spaces offered in the lot of the hotel next door in case its full."
Read full review
zepfur wrote a tip Jun 2018
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 402 have a great view."
Read full review
TMJ wrote a tip Feb 2017
Chicago, Illinois64 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Air con not in 5th floor rooms which might be an issue during the summer."
Read full review
kafdmd wrote a tip Mar 2015
Tampa, Florida19 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even though there is no elevator to the 5th floor, it was worth the climb."
Read full review
SkiSandLLL wrote a tip Aug 2013
San Diego, CA147 contributions114 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you stay on the 5th floor (top) do NOT get the room directly behind the sign. We had the room facing the church. Also-we had a screaming baby and toddler our second night here. Ask that your room is away from screaming kids if possible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Interlaken area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,531 - HK$1,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandInterlaken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

5TH FLOOR @ HOTEL INTERLAKEN - BASIC ROOMS

Frequently Asked Questions about 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms
Which popular attractions are close to 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Nearby attractions include Hohematte Park (0.4 km), Heidi's Photo Chalet (0.1 km), and Interlaken Activities (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taverne, Ristorante e Pizzeria Sapori, and Aarmuhle Restaurant & Bar.
Is 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Interlaken.
Are any cleaning services offered at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Unspunnen ruins (2.2 km) and Rothenfluh Ruins (3.9 km).
All Interlaken HotelsInterlaken Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in InterlakenHotels near 5th Floor @ Hotel Interlaken - Basic Rooms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire