We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia

Save
Share
Cannaregio 379 Calle della Misericordia, 30121 Venice Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
US$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/22
eDreams
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (189)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (11)

About

#227 of 415 hotels in Venice
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
he Merchant of Venice is a splendid and completely refurbished hotel, graceful and warm with Venetian furniture of the 700. Our hotel is situated in the heart of the city, just 200 metres from the railway station and 5 minutes from the airport. All rooms are clean and cosy with bath or shower in each room. Amenities include: air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and internet access. We offer a rich buffet breakfast and excursions to the island of Murano From the railway station S.Lucia walk down Lista di Spagna for about 100mt. Turn left at Calle della Misericordia (the 2nd one). From the autopark Tronchetto and Piazzale Roma :busboat and get off at Ferrovia (rail station) or 5 minutes walking crossing the brandnew Costituzione's bridge and then passing by the railway station. Walk down Lista di Spagna and oyu'll find us in Calle della Misericordia.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
424Reviews17Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 100
  • 153
  • 105
  • 37
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
MaggyBMG wrote a review Feb 2020
Wigton, United Kingdom39 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed for five nights, which is probably unusual in Venice, as most only stay for one or two but we love it. The hotel is handy for the train/bus station and in a lively part of the city, but within easy reach of the usual sights. Room was spotless and the breakfast was fne for a continental type one. You get given a croissant each but can then help yourself to whatver else you want.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Marco Facchin, Proprietario at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Responded 15 Apr 2020
Dear Maggy, Thank you for writing a review about our Hotel. We were delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay. Thanks for letting us know how much you loved our style.This is so much appreciated! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Marco & staff Fabiola, Jacqueline, Nicola, Guendalina
Read more
EduardoHernando wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions10 helpful votes
We arranged a very good price in this hotel (breakfast included) for 3 nights this January . The room was smaller than expected but good, comfortable bed but old and itchy blankets. The biggest problem was the bathroom, we had to get out of the room and walk 3-4 steps, never seen before!!! This wouldn’t be a problem if we were told but we didn’t see it anywhere! We booked a room with private toilet, yes, it was private but outside the room ! The breakfast could be better, 2 small tables where the bakery and breads dry out that together with the cereals and the cookies, didn’t make a big menu....but for the price we paid was okay but could be better with some attention. A great surprise was the morning alarm clock. It was totally free!! The houses keepers/breakfast ladies woke us up every day! The first night even around 8 o’clock!! I understand that in a small hotel is difficult to work and keep the noice down but I think is not necesario to scream to your colleagues from the bottom floor to the 1st floor, waking up the lovely couple that was sleeping after exhausting days of travelling around! For the rest, the people from the front desk were nice and polite, only thing we didn’t like was that they request us to leave the key in the hotel when we where gone so we wouldn’t loose it in Venice or they would know when we are away from the hotel (that were the reasons given) The location of the hotel is very good, very easy to find and was even cozy (well... we particularly find the decoration and furniture old fashioned, just not our taste) was a nice stay and on one hand we would come back but on the other, for a few more euros per day you can find something with better breakfast and more modern, just your own taste!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ilmercante, reception at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Eduardo, First of all we would like to thank you for your honest feedback. You mentioned the pros and cons of your stay and we took note of your suggestions (for breakfast, for example). What we would like just to clarify is that we gave you that room bcause we received the reservation for an "Economy room with External Private Bathroom". This room belongs to the cheapest category called ""Economy" and it's very simple and small. When we sell it we show pictures of the room on our webiste. You probably made the reservation through a thrird part that was not clear enough about the room features. We are sorry about this misunderstanding. For us it was pretty clear and if you need a proof we can send you the copy of the booking order. Due to the historical age of the buildings in Venice there is a variety of rooms in different shapes and sizes and it's actually common to find rooms with external bathroom, in some hotels it is even shared with other guests (but this is not our case). As for the decoration we are sorry that it was not to your liking. On a more positive note, we were delighted to read that you were impressed with reception staff and found them to be nice and polite, (on the other hand, we reported your complaints to the housekeepers ladies that made too much noise in the morning and we would like to apologize for disturbing you). We hope to have another chance to welcome you in the future, feel free to conatct us directly, We have other rooms of upper categorIes with private bathroom inside. Again, our apologies for letting you down in some ways, but thank you for sharing your experience with us. Best regards, Fabiola & staff Marco, Jacqueline, Nicola, Guendalina
Read more
Jcu1210 wrote a review Nov 2019
Orlando, Florida33 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed at this establishment for a few days during the high tide flooding of Venice, which was surely unique. This hotel while it did flood a bit was in a good location to escape the worst of it. The staff were friendly & very helpful. We dealt mainly with Nicola as we arrived late, and he was very helpful with any request we had. We had a room with a balcony, which was great. The breakfast was a standard continental type breakfast. We really enjoyed the location, as we had multiple bags. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the station, and is close to the grand canal. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ilmercante, Proprietario at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Responded 3 Dec 2019
Dear Josh, Thank you for writing a review about our Hotel. We were delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay. Thanks for letting us know how much you loved our style.This is so much appreciated! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Marco & staff Fabiola, Jacqueline, Nicola, Guendalina
Read more
Jackfern wrote a review Oct 2019
Hamilton33 contributions73 helpful votes
Lovely room, well appointed, interesting and very good shower. The location is fantastic. They provide a lovely breakfast. This is a great European style hotel with history and character. It is not a drab Americana style. Most folks will love this. One note, it is not really appropriate for "physically challenged" folks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ilmercante, reception at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Responded 18 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review about our Hotel. We were delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay. Thanks for letting us know how much you loved our style.This is so much appreciated! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Fabiola & staff Marco, Jacqueline, Nicola, Guendalina
Read more
Simon S wrote a review Sep 2019
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom8 contributions10 helpful votes
The first thing to say is that this is a typical old Venitian building. The walls are beautifully covered in patterned fabric, the furniture is in keeping with the style of the building giving an authentic feel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and we were given excellent advice on travel passes for the water buses etc by the female brown haired receptionist who was always bright and cheerful. On arrival in room 5 which overlooks the front of the building we were greeted with a filthy, black, slimy mess of a shower head which hadn't been cleaned months. I removed it and took to reception. Full of apologies, the shower head was replaced with a new one fitted within 10 minutes. Half the shower door was missing and the frame was chipped which I mentioned at reception to be told "yes I know " by the male I reported it to. Towels were clean as was the room, and bedding refreshed frequently. The front of the property is situated on a narrow walkway which is a shortcut to the buildings further on. There is also a suitcase storage business situated on the walkway so there is a constant buzz people and wheelie cases going up and down. That is venice......people pushing cases !!! We weren't bothered by it. The hotel is 10.mins walk from the bus station which makes access fast and straight forward. Breakfast is 1 cold croissant each plus sliced cheese and ham to go on it. There is jam tart, bread rolls, a toaster, tinned fruit salad and yoghurt plus coffee available. Breakfast is served under a gazebo in the rear yard. The picture of the rear garden is somewhat different to the reality now that it is used as a breakfast room. A mini fridge is provided in the room. There are plenty of places within a short stroll for an evening drink and meal. Knowing all this, we would use this Hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ilmercante, reception at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Responded 18 Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about our Hotel. Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found my advice on how to move in Venice so helpful. It was my pleasure to help you. Thank you for your kind words. Anywy, I still apologize for the unpleasant inconvenence of the first day with the shower head but thank you for reporting that this has been fixed and sorted out immeditaely. I really appreciate your honesty. As for the other issue with one missing shower door, this was unfortunatly out of my control. On a more positive note, all the staff and I are very pleased to know you liked the style of our hotel and would like to come back one day. So, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Again, Thank you for your time and your feedback. See you on your next trip hopefully. All the best from Venice, Fabiola (reception) & staff Marco-manager, Jacqueline, Nicola, Guendalina
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
il mercante di venezia hotel venice, il mercante di venezia venice
LOCATION
ItalyVenetoProvince of VeniceCity of VeniceVeniceCannaregio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
Nearby attractions include Al Parlamento (0.3 km), Campo del Ghetto (0.5 km), and Natural History Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crepes House By Pepe, Bacaro Quebrado, and Trattoria Il Vagone.
Is Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Venice.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Doge's Palace (1.7 km), Ca' Zenobio degli Armeni (1.1 km), and Scuola Grande di San Rocco (0.7 km).
Is Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.