We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (384)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (53)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#115 of 421 hotels in Munich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
At Courtyard Munich City Center you will experience a symbiosis of creatively designed premises, comfortable rooms and outstanding cuisine in a prime location - a place for decelerating moments from the city hustle and at the same time an ideal starting point to explore the Bavarian capital. Located directly in the heart of Munich, various famous attractions such as Marienplatz, Karsplatz, Olympic Parc and Viktualienmarkt are in close proximity. After a long day of sightseeing, you can unwind in the hotel's fitcess center and enjoy excellent, modernly interpreted culinary delights at its mediterranean restaurant Oléo Pazzo: From homemade pasta to fresh fish, high-quality meat and creative vegetarian dishes - here you will find everything your heart desires.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 10 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Schwanthalerstr. 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Name/address in local language
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
1665Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 453
  • 783
  • 299
  • 86
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
brian s wrote a review 8 Feb
Dublin, Ireland193 contributions123 helpful votes
Well located for visiting the city centre sights and very close to Hauptbahnhof and metro to airport. Our room was large with good furnishings including a large tv. Comfortable and clean and reception staff both friendly and helpful. We got a very good rate of just over €100 per night not including breakfast which would be an extra €25 each and there are loads of places you can get breakfast at a fraction of that price very nearby, Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Street facing rooms could be quite noisy as it's in an area that is lively at night. We asked for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeanette T wrote a review Jan 2024
16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Currently still a resident for a few more days but thought I’d jump on to review. Really pleased with the hotel, looks exactly like its website. Rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable with lovely pillows. Staff are friendly and the receptionist on arrival was very helpful and knowledgeable. Had a few drinks in the bar which was good with a nice atmosphere. Breakfast is amazing with a large choice from fruit, yoghurts, bacon, sausages eggs etc. bread for toast , cold meats etc and pancakes. You can order freshly made omelettes too. Juice, coffee and tea and a choice of cereal. I particularly am enjoying the smoked salmon! The whole place is kept exceptionally clean. House keeping does a great job One word of warning though, the water pressure is powerful so turn the shower on slowly!! It is very quiet in the location it is in so a good nights sleep is very easy. There is a Netto about 5 minutes walk away for snacks etc and the train station is just a little further if you wanted to explore. . My only gripe would be the TV didn’t work, we reported this and immediately the maintenance came but he couldn’t sort it, no problem though as we had our laptop in case we fancied a film to watch. I can definitely recommend this place and I’d stay again for sure. 👍🏻
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the breakfast, you will not be disappointed, watch out for the water pressure in the shower...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marla S wrote a review Jan 2024
Birmingham, Alabama54 contributions63 helpful votes
During our trek across Germany we spent one day in the lovely Munich City. Our room was nice, I didn't like that we had double twins...and this was an upgrade. The beds were comfortable as were the pillows. In most of our rooms during our stay the lighting was not great, but this room had great lighting, which was a plus for my 55 year old eyes while getting ready. There was a underground parking for this hotel which was a plus due to a winter storm. Location was an easy 20 min walk to the areas we wanted to visit. If ever in Munich again would stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
elawson wrote a review Jan 2024
philadelphia area628 contributions377 helpful votes
The parking lot is SMALL so warning if you are driving yourself around. Especially if you're in a bigger vehicle. This is a city hotel so it goes up. No problem...unless the elevator is out. The waits for the only working elevator got pretty long -- especially when some visitors don't know what a queue is. Tempers were flaring. When checking out, we waited for 15 minutes but then just hauled all our luggage down 9 flights of stairs (7th floor to parking garage) to leave. The restaurant here for dinner is good. Food is great, service is pleasant. My husband and I ditched our (teenage!!) kids and grabbed a drink at the bar and that was a good experience too. Breakfast has plenty of good choices but this is a popular hotel. It was chaos trying to find a seat. And then it took us another 10 minutes to find silverware. Not the poor waitress's fault...she was frazzled and working as fast as she could. Probably could use another staff member or two to keep things running more smoothly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina S, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Dear elawson, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant and bar. We apologize for the inconvenience with the elevator. We were actively working with the elevator company on repairing the elevator, however it was out of our hands and especially with the holidays it was difficult to get the company to resolve the issues in a timely manner. We have also forwarded your feedback about the breakfast and we will definitively work out a plan in reviewing staffing during the busy breakfast times. We appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back soon for a smoother experience. Kind Regards, Nina S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Johan E wrote a review Dec 2023
Stockholm, Sweden12 contributions11 helpful votes
Went to Munich to celebrate a birthday and we decided to use this hotel as a base. The hotel is conveniently located close to the main train station and were able to provide parking for our car in their basement. The room was large and there no problem for us to store our luggage (3 large pieces). Service was as it is to be expected of a Courtyard. Would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Claudia S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
This location is an embarrassment to the Marriott name. Good things: -convenient to the train station -not far from the Marienplatz The rest- - One functioning elevator - Front desk is, at best, incompetent -they don’t answer the house phone -they give out faulty or flat out bad information - DO NOT USE THE LAUNDRY SERVICE. They will lose your laundry, tell you it’s your fault and that you never gave it to any employee of the hotel despite literally handing it to someone in uniform. -they do not know their own procedures- including the head of housekeeping. -there is no general manager. There is “no corporate”. -they do not care when they mess up and they will offer absolutely no remedy. - if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs. You can literally hear your neighbor sneeze. Just skip this one, the incompetence is staggering.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina S, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear claudiasW9157WE, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced, and we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments are invaluable as they provide us with an opportunity to address and improve our services. We are pleased to hear that you found our location convenient to the train station and not far from Marienplatz. However, we are deeply disappointed to learn about the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured, we take your concerns seriously, and we are actively working to address the issues you raised. Regarding the elevator, we understand the inconvenience it caused, and we are already working closely with the company to resolve the situation, but unfortunately it is out of our hands. We apologize for any miscommunication and misinformation provided, as this is not reflective of our usual standards. Our laundry service should have been a hassle-free experience, and we sincerely apologize for the difficulties you faced. Please rest assured that we are still investigating the matter to identify areas for improvement and will take immediate action to prevent such incidents from happening in the future. We genuinely value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust during a future stay. Kind Regards, Nina S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kristine G wrote a review Dec 2023
Queensland, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms were amazing! We had two rooms for the family and they were perfect. Beds were SO comfortable. Great central location, breakfasts were delicious and good value. Loved the "market" they offered for snacks - very convenient. Would happily stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adamski1957 wrote a review Dec 2023
Melksham, United Kingdom166 contributions115 helpful votes
Stayed there for 4 nights in April and was pleasantly surprised. 5 or so minutes away from the Central Station and 10 minutes from Karlsplatz where there is always a lot going on. I like the location as you can easily get trains around the region. I went to Dachau Concentration Camp which was only a few stops on the U Bahn. Such a nice convenient hotel that I am actually at the time of writing on my way back there from Innsbruck.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fi_1986 wrote a review Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland56 contributions102 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting the Christmas markets. Hotel is very close to the train station - about a 5 minute walk. The room was a good size and we had asked some a cot to be in our room and even with that and our buggy there was still plenty of space. We had a room facing away from the street and found it nice and quiet. We didn’t try the breakfast but had dinner in the restaurant one night and we were both happy with our meals. Would stay here again when visiting Munich.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RajiveKhanna wrote a review Dec 2023
Noida, India225 contributions44 helpful votes
Room Size is good thats a plus. House keeping one day just covered the sheets and changed the towels did not bother making the bed guess lazy horrible complained Buffet breakfast was very good One night spagethi was good Reception barring two young members were hostile rude disinterested cannot put a finger on why or what outside area is ok and very close to the train station also walking distance (if you like walking )to the central station overall i think will try someplace else
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be vary of asking to many questions of the Reception staff youll not be happy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina S, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Responded 10 Dec 2023
Dear RajiveKhanna, Thank you very much for providing a detailed review of your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced throughout your stay. Our reception staff is always willing to help and we strive to provide everyone with a satisfactory service experience and I would like to present my apologies if you did not feel to have received that service. Please rest assured, that we have taken your feedback seriously and will use it to reinforce our service. Thank you once again and wishing you a nice evening. Kind Regards, Nina S.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Munich area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$962 - HK$1,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott munchen city hotel munich, courtyard munich, munich courtyard
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
248
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT MUNICH CITY CENTER - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Germany)

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Nearby attractions include BlackBook Tours (0.2 km), Boilerman Bar Munich (0.3 km), and Deutsches Theater München (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Irmi, Vinothek by Geisel, and Schiller Bräu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.