We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lancaster House

Traveller (300)
360
Panoramas (6)
Dining (33)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
From the balconied Reception Lounge, to the open fire you instinctively know that Lancaster House is a place to savour the good things in life, such as excellent cuisine from The Foodworks Restaurant, or a drink in the courtyard of The Sandeman's Bar. This relaxed elegance is also reflected in each of the 99 rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
427Restaurantswithin 10 km
109Attractionswithin 10 km
Reviews & more
1,564Reviews
499Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 941
  • 430
  • 137
  • 33
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lancaster House Hotel is ideally situated for visiting the Lake District for places like Windermere, Ambleside, Coniston and Grasmere as well as the nearby seaside town of Morecambe with its beaches and Eric Morecambe statue. The Hotel is furnished to a high standard,
Read more
This hotel is ideally situated for short trips to Lancaster University. The cozy fireplace is a wonderful setting to relax with a drink and read a book ... or catch up on emails. The restaurant has a decent selection of food and wine. The bar is OK but not as cozy as the rest
Read more
Lancaster House. We spent four nights here with friends, for New Year Celebration. The buffet Breakfast had a very good selection with additional choices from a menu. The evening meals were excellent, again with plenty of choice. On arrival we had a cream tea. Evening meals
Read more
Response from AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Ann H, Thank you for reviewing your New Years break spent at the hotel. I am obviously pleased that you have enjoyed all aspects of the 3 night New Year celebrations and that you were also able to find the time to go and explore the City of Lancaster by taking part in the Lancaster Treasure Trail. I have of course shared your feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
This hotel is amazing.... from the room, the relaxing lobby with open fire and the food ! Staff very warm and friendly and extremely polite ..... the only disappointment was that the spa was fully booked
Read more
Response from AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 3 days ago
Dear glover342 Thank you for your review of recent stay with us here at Lancaster House. I am obviously pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us, I am sorry that you were unable to enjoy the spa due to it being fully booked. When planning your next stay if I can be of any assistance in booking a particular spa treatment for you please contact me directly and I will happily make all the arrangements for you. Kindest Regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
The Mrs and I stopped overnight for her birthday. The staff were great, the rooms clean and the facilities were good. Emma the manager was lovely too We ate in the restaurant, the food was delicious and service too. The waiter (Harry I believe) was a delight and even made us a
Read more
Response from AndyLemm, General Manager at Lancaster House
Responded 3 days ago
Dear CaptainBrexit , Thank you for such a great review following your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the team and specifically both Emma and Harry We all look forward to welcoming you back Kindest Regards Andy Lemm General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLancaster House
The Luxury Studio at the Lancaster House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLancaster House
The Family Room at the Lancaster House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLancaster House
The Classic Room at the Lancaster House
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLancaster House
The Arnside at the Lancaster House
Photo provided by managementLancaster House
Luxury Studio Suite
PreviousNext
12345650
Hi Matt C, The facilities in The Sandpiper Health Club are complimentary for residents to use. There is a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, indoor Jacuzzi, outdoor hot tub and a range of equipment in the gym area. Opening hours are from am till 10 pm with last admission being at 9.30 pm. If there is anything else we can help with please don't hesitate to get in touch.
0 votes
Show all answers
Good Afternoon Cat M, My Guest Services Manager has responded to your email, my sincere apologies for the delay in the response. I had been away on annual leave and obviously we wanted to conduct an investigation which had taken longer than anticipated. Best Regards Andy Lemm General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear travelbabe2012, I am delighted that you are planning to visit the hotel. Taxis are readily available outside the station and would cost you approximately £8 to the hotel. Alternatively you could walk into the city centre, which would be around a 5 minute walk and catch any of the buses that are heading to Lancaster University - all of these buses would then require a further 5 minute walk to the hotel. We are situated adjacent to the University Campus. If you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us again. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel. With Kind Regards Cherrie Hargreaves Guest Services Manager
0 votes
Hi, thanks for the enquiry. I'd always recommend booking treatments in advance to save disappointment, especially at the weekends. You'll find a list of all our treatments on the English Lakes Hotels main website on the "Leisure" page, and you can call the beauty salon direct on 01524 585185 to check availability. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you soon. Kind regards Tim Bell, General Manager
0 votes
PreviousNext
12
"The rooms at the back are quieter but the best views are at the front"
"Suite was good"
"The quiet corridor was a good choice for us."
"Luxury sweets are excellent"
"Ground floor rooms away from foyer are in a quiet area"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lancaster house hotel lancasterlancaster hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancaster DistrictLancaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing