We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garvock House Hotel

Save
Share
St. John's Drive, Dunfermline KY12 7TU Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 29/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Garvock House Hotel
Updated 29/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Dunfermline
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In a delightfully elevated position in the ancient capital of Dunfermline - Garvock House sits proudly in over 2 acres of gardens, a glorious testimony to its hey day as a stunning family house. Truly 'the country house hotel in town.' Family owned and run, Garvock House has been transformed into a delightful hotel retaining an authentic and rather special country house charm and informality: relaxing and elegant with classic interiors, very comfortable furnishings and spacious rooms. And a passion for fresh produce which remains undimmed. Dunfermline hotels just don't come better than this.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Portuguese
395Reviews4Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 315
  • 48
  • 12
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
UKTouristScotland wrote a review 16 Oct
Dundee, United Kingdom249 contributions69 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the area. The hotel is set in well kept grounds with outdoor seating if weather permits. We were warmly welcomed by Lorna and shown to our spacious room on the first floor overlooking the grounds. The room was furnished to a high standard and had everything we needed. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of towels and a decent shower. We had dinner on one night of our stay and breakfast on both mornings and the menu had something for everyone. Food was freshly prepared and very tasty. A special mention must go to the staff who were all friendly and efficient. A small issue with our bathroom was resolved quickly before we returned from our day out. We would absolutely recommend the Garvock for a Dunfermline stay. The town itself is full of history and Edinburgh is only a short train ride away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Soxriley wrote a review Sep 2021
Scotland36 contributions15 helpful votes
Just back from an overnight stay with my husband. Our room was stunning! Huge with dressing room, comfy bed and tea and coffee. Choice of food excellent and cooked to a high standard. Cocktails were amazing!The staff are a credit to the hotel. Will be back to visit soon xx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
JaxLondon wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
We were incredibly disappointed with this hotel. Such a beautiful hotel outside and location and staff very friendly and welcoming but what an absolute let down inside the hotel rooms. The rooms we had were very old and very worn and incredibly dirty carpet and curtains. Room smelt and windows didn’t open properly. The beds were old with very poor mattresses and shower water freezing cold. We were told this was because the hotel was old and if all guests shower at the same time you cannot get hot water! Not what you expect in a 4 star categorised hotel. Woken up through the night from noisy neighbours talking and slamming doors. Worst nights sleep we’ve ever had in the most uncomfortable rooms. The food however was lovely and the staff friendly. But we would not be back unless this hotel is refurbished. Not worth the money charged at all. Great disappointment from what used to be a lovely experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela Fernandes, Owner at Garvock House Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Good afternoon Jacqueline_198270 So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us on our staycation rate of £68.25 per person for dinner, bed and breakfast. Thank you for your comments, they have been noted. We do have a rolling refurbishment program for the hotel with several rooms being redecorated at the end of this season. Reception did let me know there had been an issue with hot water in the shower and our plumber was called the following morning: it was a faulty cartridge and this has now been replaced. Regards Pamela
Read more
Zizzie TV wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
This place was a godsend. After missing check in to another hotel and having to rebook a place last minute- this hotel exceeded our expectations.Despite our v.late booking, the staff were so welcoming. I wanted to highlight in particular the receptionist in a black and white spotty shirt and face mask, and also a gentleman with dark hair and glasses who made a huge fuss of our little pug. We honestly had the best time and we will be recommending it to everyone. Despite arriving late, they made us a sandwich and also a yummy breakfast in the morning. What a great location!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela Fernandes, Owner at Garvock House Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Good afternoon Yogitravellerzizzie Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay at Garvock House. Kind regards Pamela
Read more
catherineannb2016 wrote a review Aug 2021
Fife, United Kingdom2 contributions
Booked a night here as a Birthday treat after recovering from illness and it turned out to be the worst night ever…meals and drinks were good and surrounding were nice but we were woken at midnight by younger people banging on doors, running up and down corridors, shouting and swearing. My husband eventually went to complain at 1.30am and also had a word with the guests involved so it was quiet for 20mins until it all started again worse than ever, we eventually had to leave the premises at 3.30am in the morning, the night security then offered to move us rooms.., ‘no thank you our night has now been ruined’ It was a disgrace these guests were allowed to run around this hotel at all hours of the night ( not a mask was worn) and nothing was done about it. I would also add the bed and pillows were uncomfortable and there was a large raspberry coloured stain on carpet…definitely wouldn’t return here and it’s definitely not a luxury hotel. On top of that we lost a whole nights sleep, was a bloody disgrace!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pamela Fernandes, Owner at Garvock House Hotel
Responded 4 Sep 2021
Good afternoon Catherineann2016 The evening you stayed, we did have some guests who were celebrating a special occasion. And, unfortunately, they were rather 'joyous' into the wee hours. When your husband informed us you were being disturbed, the night porter did speak to the guests concerned and later offered you an alternative room. The following morning, I personally spoke to your husband and as a gesture of good will your dinner and drinks were given complimentary and obviously no charge for the accommodation. I was only sorry you didn't accept the voucher to stay another evening of your choice to let us have the opportunity to prove this was not common place. Kind regards Pamela
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeDunfermline
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Garvock House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Garvock House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum (1.2 km), Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries (1.2 km), and Go Escape (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Garvock House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Garvock House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Garvock House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Garvock House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dhoom, Everest Inn, and Apricot Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Garvock House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Garvock House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Garvock House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Garvock House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum (1.2 km), Dunfermline Abbey and Palace (1.3 km), and Abbot House Heritage Centre (1.2 km).
Is Garvock House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.