We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS Scotland
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
Vio.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (693)
Room & Suite (419)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#18 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Ten Hill Place is one of Edinburgh’s most desirable city-center hotels. Our stylish hotel boasts a number of awards including conference hotel of the year 2015 and hotel chef of the year. We have 129 bedrooms, and are consistently praised for our very friendly staff and going that extra mile to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. As a result, we have many customers that visit us repeatedly. We are a matter of minutes away from all Edinburgh city-center attractions by foot and are close to all local transport links if you want to venture that little bit further. Our wine-bar and restaurant provide the best quality Scottish produce with a vast plethora of Corney and Barrow wines. We are Edinburgh's charitable hotel and donate profits to The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. Money spent at the hotel improves patient outcomes and saves lives the world over by delivering much needed surgical skills to all corners of the globe. Why not consider us the next time you visit Edinburgh?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
2828Reviews72Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,682
  • 794
  • 244
  • 73
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christine C wrote a review 24 Jan
3 contributions
What can I say! Me and my husband try to visit Tenhill twice a year and we are never disappointed. Food is great, staff are friendly and welcoming. We initially booked for 3 nights but during our stay changed to 5 nights . Heading home to book time off so I can book our return thank you again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RivieraGlasgow wrote a review Aug 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom165 contributions119 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Arrived here 2nd August, 2 nights at hotel. Brilliant welcome at reception, had an Itison voucher which included dinner on 1st night £30pp allowance, £20 towards drinks anywhere in the hotel and 25% off drinks purchased. Staff didnt even need the voucher and nothing was a problem whatsoever. Got to the room which was superb very large bed, 2 gorgeous easy chairs with footstools, brilliant view of the main street leading up to royal mile and lovely park across the street. Room air con was absolutely superb and believe me we needed it as weather was around 25 that day! hand made chocs welcomed us and we asked for ice bucket with ice which arrived within about 30 seconds! Service fantastic. Food was superb we had a bottle of wine along with the food which was £23, used our drinks allowance for this and found at the end they actually still took the 25% off the wine! breakfast was really superb first morning had an order chap he was so funny and had best sense of humour service was superb and got everything right the 2nd morning again brilliant staff and superb breakfast... all freshly made and fruit freshly cut. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all so friendly. Maid also cleaned up our room which was lovely as been a while since hotels done this! All in all our stay was super. We got a 20% discount card for next time and the hotel held our cases for a good few hours as we done more exploring! fab stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: 334 fantastic room good size, good view even the hotel staff said was his fave room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lesley Christensen, Guest Services / Front Office at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 30 Dec 2021
Dear RivieraGlasgow, Thank you for a lovely review. It is fantastic to read that you found out team friendly and helpful and your room comfortable. I am delighted that you will stay with us again when you return to Edinburgh. Please contact the hotel direct for our best available rates and offers when planning your next stay. Kind regards Lesley & the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian M wrote a review 17 Jan
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just got home from a two night stay, a very nice hotel which was spotlessly clean, great decor throughout and the staff were welcoming and helpful however the food in the restaurant was a big let down. Firstly we were told half of the starters on the menu weren't available due to supply issues, we decided not to have a starter as we didn't fancy what was on offer, we both had fish and chips as our main, it's is £24 so I thought it would be nice, unfortunately I was wrong, the tartar sauce was lovely but the chips were frozen which you can buy from any supermarket and the fish was greasy. The breakfast wasn't much better, the bacon, beans and sausages had run out and took a while to be replenished, the black pudding was rock hard and the scrambled eggs looked sloppy. It's a real shame as the hotel is in a great location and I loved the room we had, if only the food was as good as the decor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
herbGlasgow wrote a review 15 Jan
Milan, Italy80 contributions59 helpful votes
Recently returned from a 2 night stay after enjoying our last trip. Reception excellent, décor and room super, clean and warm. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant. We were not advised on arrival that there was a function on that evening so we should book a table. We appeared and the dining room was practically empty but were advised we could get a table in approx. 20-30 minutes as they were busy preparing food for the function. We didn’t bother, plenty of local eateries. The best was yet to come. Breakfast, a good variety to chose from as long as you don’t expect it to be hot. On both mornings the eggs and mushrooms on offer from the serving area were empty/cold requiring you to hang around for 10/15 minutes while the dishes were refilled. There was a good selection of other items on offer but I wanted eggs. I felt they should have had one member of staff responsible for this area. A big disappointment. PS a gin & tonic £13. !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat out
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cairolass wrote a review 11 Jan
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Lovely room as usual,very spacious and nicely furnished. Large bathroom. Staff were very friendly and explained everything well at check in We ate in restaurant and found it very overpriced and breakfast was not great. Selection of baked goods was poor and continental plates not replenished . It was ok for what we paid but on asking the cost of room for end of June for friends was quoted early £400 ! No way would that be value for money so sadly will be looking elsewhere in June.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Mckenzie, General Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear lochy4, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. I would very much like to discuss this review further with you, please could you contact myself directly on the email or telephone number below. m.mckenzie@tenhillplace.com or 0131 662 2080 Regards Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerry T wrote a review 9 Jan
Brighton, United Kingdom11 contributions27 helpful votes
Four nights half-board were booked through EasyJet Holidays but we were only provided with an evening meal once. It was explained on arrival that no meal could be provided on the first night due to kitchen staff illness. Our evening meal allowance of £30 each would be refunded. Staff were confident the restaurant would be open for our evening meal the following day. During the afternoon of Day 2 we received a phone call from the hotel to say the restaurant was again closed. Again we would be refunded our evening meal allowance and were offered a free taxi to a restaurant of our choice. Rather than a taxi we asked for and were given a bottle of wine of our choice. We found a really good Italian restaurant (Ciao Roma) 4 minutes walk away. On Day 3 we actually had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and had no complaints. On Day 4 after we had returned to the hotel for the evening I received a call from hotel reception requesting that we pre-order our evening meal. I presumed the request was because the restaurant was going to be particularly busy that night. However, on enquiry it transpired that we were the only ones booked into the restaurant and the chef and staff were out providing catering at a private function. It was explained that they would return specifically to cook our meal and then return to the function. We didn't find this credible. Rather we imagined our meal would be prepared ahead of the outside catering function and then warmed up when needed. We opted for another refund of our evening meal allowance. By way of compensation the wine and beer we had with our meal on Day 3 was made complimentary. I should say that hotel staff were pleasant, polite and helpful throughout, and did everything they could in the situation but they were dropped in it as much as we were. As for breakfast this was provided every day. Whilst it may have been plentiful it was nothing better than an average hotel buffet breakfast often left under the warmers too long leaving a skin on the baked beans and a crust on the scrambled egg.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Mckenzie, General Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jeremyt110, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. I would very much like to discuss this review further with you, please could you contact myself directly on the email or telephone number below. m.mckenzie@tenhillplace.com or 0131 662 2080 Regards Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M M wrote a review 7 Jan
Belfast, United Kingdom45 contributions40 helpful votes
The hotel is situated not far from the Royal Mile, excellent location, near everything but in a quiet street. We booked room only but we took breakfast each morning, at £15 each it was good value. The hotel is very modern and although the room we had was small it was immaculate and had everything you needed and to be honest if you are in Edinburgh you spend little time in your room. The bed was really comfortable, one of the best we have experienced in any hotel. We didn't eat in the restaurant, the menu was not to our liking but there was plenty of guests who did. The hotel is only about 15mins walk to the tram which takes you to the airport so no need for taxis. The outstanding feature of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff, we arrived at 11am were just going to leave our bags but they said we could check in now our room was ready. The receptionists, the bar staff, the people in the restaurant, the cleaners all took time to ask how our day was going and have a conversation. To me it's the staff who make a hotel, well done to you all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book your breakfast at reception to get a discount
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Mckenzie, General Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear davidmm273 Many thanks for your lovely feedback, i am delighted you had a great stay with us, i will be sure to share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Regards Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jade O wrote a review 3 Jan
St Peter Port, United Kingdom187 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights for Christmas experience. Arrived early so left bags and returned at around 5pm. Checked into the room and noted the bed was not king size. Unfortunately the receptionist argued about this and was insistent this WAS indeed a UK king size bed. I have a UK double at home and it was exactly the same size. We were told that the hotel was full and we could not be moved but when we continued to push the point they were able to find a room with a king- but told us this was a “super king” Also had to argue about the complementary chocolates that should have been provided. We were told they were only for people booking directly through hotel- however this isn’t the case at all and when they were delivered to the room the receptionist just started telling us about perks of booking directly with them and not via easyJet. Good location. Didn’t try any food or drinks as only about 20 mins walk into the town area and there is a KFC at the end of the hotel road. If you are not booking directly then make sure you are given the room that you have paid for and any extras that should be included!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Mckenzie, General Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guernseygirl86, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, Booking directly with the hotel will always provide added benefits. Thank you for highlighting this. Regards Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ScubamommaDevon wrote a review 3 Jan
Barnstaple, United Kingdom722 contributions316 helpful votes
Just stayed for 3 nights. We booked a half board package with EasyJet. We arrived at 9am after an early flight so checked in and dropped our bags. The lovely receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map so we could start exploring. We arrived back at the hotel about 5pm and our room 201 was ready and our bags waiting for us. Room was large and nicely decorated. Bathroom was large too but showing signs of mildew around the bath, this needs addressing sooner rather than later. The air conditioning kept the room warm but was so noisy, it did however black out any other noise and we all slept really well for our 3 nights. Breakfast was a simple buffet, again all the staff were welcoming. I would have liked to have seen a better/fresher quality bread but it was fine. We were on a half board package so our evening meal should have been included. The hotel only offered a set 2 course menu which was quite limiting and not flexible enough if you only wanted one course (I ordered desserts just because I had too and never ate them, such a waste) the first night our meal was included and we paid for our drinks only, the second night we only had a £50 credit for the 3 of us so had to pay another £48 plus for our drinks (not sure why it was different?) The third night we never bothered as we were all tired and just had a sandwich locally. Would I stay again? Yes for sure. I would only stay room only next time as so many lovely places to eat close by.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Mckenzie, General Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ScubamommaDevon, Thank you for your detailed review, great to read the receptionist was very helpful. Please when planning your next trip contact the hotel directly for our best available rates and offers. Regards Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon G wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in room 532 for 2 nights. Paid £270. Unfortunately our train was cancelled on the day we checked out. So being stuck in Edinburgh we asked if we could stay another night (luggage still in their storage room). The girl on reception put us back in the same room we had left earlier in the day. I asked for an improved rate as she was asking for £209. I informed her of us staying the last 2 nights and the room rate we had paid for the previous 2 nights. The reply I got was I’m sorry I can’t do anything about that! I expressed my disappointment but the only interest was getting the best room rate! I feel like I have been ripped off with no loyalty or help to the situation shown what so ever. On any return trip to Edinburgh which was lovely I will never stay at that hotel again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Mckenzie, General Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear C1816PNsimong, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, the hotel operates as all other hotels do as a business, with rates changing daily depending on supply and demand. The rate you where offered for the extra day would have been as per our daily rates for that particular day. I note you do not feel you where "ripped off" for the previous days stays and the fact you wanted to stay another night with us is evident that you had a enjoyable stay with us. You also had the opportunity to check out and find other accommodation elsewhere at a different price if you so wished, so obviuosly we where competitively priced or am sure you would have. Thank you again for your review. Mark
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
10 hill place hotel, ten hill place edinburgh, hotel ten hill place
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghSouthside & Holyrood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TEN HILL PLACE HOTEL - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews (Edinburgh, Scotland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ten Hill Place Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ten Hill Place Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), Escape The Past (0.2 km), and Department Of Magic (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ten Hill Place Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ten Hill Place Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ten Hill Place Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doctors, Tapas3, and SEN Vietnamese Dining.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ten Hill Place Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ten Hill Place Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ten Hill Place Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Ten Hill Place Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.6 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.4 km).
Is Ten Hill Place Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.