We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5-9 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST Scotland
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
Vio.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (17)

About

#116 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
KM Hotel offers stylish accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh’s historic Old Town, a stone’s throw from Princes Street, Waverley Rail Station, Edinburgh Castle, and The Royal Mile. All rooms feature top-of-the-range mattresses to ensure the best possible night’s sleep, TVs with a whole host of free channels, free wifi and complimentary tea and coffee. Our compact double rooms are perfect for those wanting to explore the City and our studios and one-bed apartments all offer extra space and a real home from home experience. There’s no better way to kick-start your day than with our full Scottish breakfast. We focus on using the best quality locally sourced Scottish ingredients…the reviews speak for themselves! The local areas of Old Town and Newington combine charming Victorian architecture and leafy public squares with a bustling array of independent, vintage, and eco-friendly shops, cafes, and restaurants. We are perfectly located within minutes of some of the City’s best theatres and landmarks, and only a short walk away from Edinburgh’s wonderful green spaces, Holyrood Park, Arthur’s Seat, and The Meadows. This is the ideal place to experience this majestic City!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Laptop safe
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
445Reviews11Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 190
  • 97
  • 31
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dianabel00 wrote a review Dec 2022
Hamilton, United Kingdom43 contributions34 helpful votes
Pay a bit extra and stay somewhere decent. My husband and I stayed for 1 night, I can honestly say I wouldn’t return. We are lucky if we got a full hours sleep. This hotel (if you can call it that) needs to update their windows and doors. Our room was street facing and we literally heard every single conversation from passers by and every vehicle driving in the street. We booked through booking.com and after raising the issue with them, they offered us a 25% discount to stay at the same hotel I just complained about!!!!. Will definitely not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Dianabel00, Thank you for taking the time to review KM Hotel following your stay and please accept my sincerest apologises for your experience and the issues encountered. I have shared those with my team to ensure we are taking steps to rectify those. I am sorry to read that you are not returning however if you would contact me direct I would be delighted to assist. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank wrote a review Sep 2022
Dietlikon, Switzerland11 contributions
Clearly sub-standard. This is not a hotel. Reception is like a post office, Very small rooms in a normal multi-storey house, narrow halllways, tiny little room, no place to leave luggage, no bar no service, nothing. For sure never again!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear fhennecke, Thank you for taking the time to review KM Hotel & apartments following your stay. I am very disappointed to read your feedback and that we have not been able to delight you during your time with us. We have reviewed our sites to ensure the information is accurate as we do not offer a bar in the building and advertise our room seizes. We are already in the process of refurbishment of the downstairs area which will incorporate a reception for our guests with the option as currently available to leave luggage. I do hope you still managed to enjoy your time in Edinburgh and if you are considering returning I would be delighted if you contact me direct. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve B wrote a review Sep 2022
Ventnor, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights at KM central, very comfortable bed, shower was good, breakfast was tasty and set us up well for a days exploration of Edinburgh. Hotel is well situated near the old town but in a quieter area, staff were friendly and happy to help.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No parking attached to hotel, you need to use a NCP car park which is a short walk away, hotel...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Steve B, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and feedback. I am delighted to read of your enjoyment during your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam K wrote a review Aug 2022
Alexandria, United Kingdom96 contributions36 helpful votes
We stayed here for one night to see Tom Jones and do some of the fringe. Comfy bed, great shower, small but clean n tidy room. About 15 min walk from princess street area. Breakfast was fab the girl who served us was excellent and very friendly despite being rushed off her feet. Boy km reception was friendly too. Room is in another building about 30 second walk from reception. No lift or air con and another chair in the room would be helpful, other than that ideal place for an overnight stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Pam K, Thank you for taking the time to review KM Hotel & Apartments following your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast as well as our service. I appreciate your feedback suggestions which has been shared with team for review. I do hope you will join us again in the future and give us the opportunity to achieve 5 stars. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sallprice wrote a review Aug 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom1637 contributions323 helpful votes
If you want basic hotel on the outer edge of the old town this perfect very much in the student quarter so quite noisy outside at night despite being in a back road - the reception is located in another building away from the rooms and it’s not manned so be prepared to wait for them to come after you ring them - the block with rooms is a short walk there are 4 floors and no lifts !! If your on the top floor the rooms are small due to the shape of her roof so if your tall getting into bed under the roof is tricky and the room is very hot !!! But it’s clean bed was comfortable and room supplied with toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities - there was no maid service thou so disappointed to find no one had been in and given us clean towels during our stay - we had breakfast included but didn’t have it as there was so many lovely coffee shops to try around town
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Save
Helpful
Share
Stacy Hall wrote a review Jul 2022
38 contributions
KM hotel in Edinburgh is not the typical "hotel" design. The rooms were immaculately clean, the bed very comfortable, and a great shower. However, there are no lifts and no air conditioning; lack of AC is typical for the area as the temps are not _usually_ such that air is needed. The location is not great, but this is within walking distance to The Royal Mile. That all being said, I was in Edinburg in a heat wave and that necessitated the need to keep the windows open as floors 2-5 were stifling. These rooms have windows that face the loading dock, and the very nearby buildings. As a working student housing area, in a very busy part of the city, there are constant noise issues with delivery vehicles and street noise, so "rest" was difficult to come by in those circumstances. So, if you are looking for a clean room and shower near the Royal Mile, with a good breakfast, aren't concerned about lifts or noise...then you may consider spending the ~ £135/night (it is in the middle of a large city) for KM Hotel. If your idea of a hotel includes amenities not covered at KM...the Premiere Inn is a bit farther as a walk, but will have lifts, AC, and very few concerns for street noise...and costs a bit less.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lesa R wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
It was clean and In a good location. The staff was friendly. It didn’t have AC so we had to leave the window open. Unfortunately, the street it’s on happens to have lively foot traffic throughout the night so wasn’t able to get the best of sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with our excellent location, and high standards of cleanliness and service. I am sorry however there was some noise that disturbed your stay, unfortunately being right in the heart of the city can come with its challenges. I do hope it did not take away from your fantastic stay and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Hillis Rooms Division Manger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jim wrote a review Jun 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel was comfortable and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful. I took I’ll on the day of departure and as we we’re getting a late flight they allowed us to stay in the room until 6pm at no extra charge. I don’t imagine this happening in too many hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Jim, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I am delighted to read of your excellent experience in particular with the cleanliness; the service and that my team was able to assist with a late check-out on this occasion. We all look forward to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to Edinburgh. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marianot05 wrote a review Mar 2022
Rosario, Argentina17 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms are new, clean, and have all the amenities you would expect. The location is not superb, but it´s very good and in short distance to all the main attractions in Edinburgh. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is fantastic and service, too. The only thing worth mentioning is that the reception is open from 7Am to 11PM. I arrived a few minutes before closing time and had no issues, but I wrote to the hotel letting them know that I might be late and they didn´t reply with a solution to what would have happened should I not get to the hotel before 11PM
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The breakfast is amazing, the staff is friendly, choose an option with breakfast included
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Dear marianot05, Thank you very much for reviewing KM Central following your stay. I am delighted to read of your satisfaction and to receive a 5 star review in particular for our location, staff service and breakfast. I appreciate your comment regarding reception which is a temporary measure although our security team are available 24/7 who are delighted to check-in guests in outside the current hours. I do hope we are your hotel of choice on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alick s wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
The rear of the hotel overlooks the rear of a supermarket. Starting before 7 am and throughout the day lorries are coming and going, unloading and loading crates leading to continual banging and crashing. In addition, there are two very large fans presumably part of the supermarket cooling system. This runs 24 hours a day and is very noisy. Do not book this hotel if loud noises keep you awake.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t accept a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at KM Hotel And Apartments
Responded 25 Mar 2022
Dear aclicks2022, Thank you for your review and comments following your time with us. Please accept my sincerest apologises for the issues you encountered with the external delivery vans outside the hotel. I can understand how frustrating this must have been for you and have shared your feedback with the relevant teams for follow-up. If you do consider returning please kindly see my team who will be delighted to assist in every possible way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. I do hope you still managed to enjoy your time in Edinburgh . Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kenneth mackenzie hotel edinburgh, kenneth mackenzie suite edinburgh, kenneth mackenzie suite hotel edinburgh
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
KM Central
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghSouthside & Holyrood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KM HOTEL AND APARTMENTS - Prices & Reviews (Edinburgh, Scotland)

Frequently Asked Questions about KM Hotel And Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to KM Hotel And Apartments?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), Escape The Past (0.2 km), and Department Of Magic (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at KM Hotel And Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at KM Hotel And Apartments?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at KM Hotel And Apartments?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at KM Hotel And Apartments?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to KM Hotel And Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doctors, Tapas3, and SEN Vietnamese Dining.
Are any cleaning services offered at KM Hotel And Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to KM Hotel And Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.6 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.5 km).