Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Traveller (426)
Twin Rooms
Room & Suite (78)
buffet breakfast-excellent quality
Dining (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#90 of 162 hotels in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

36 Simpson Loan Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
10.5 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
57.8 km
See all flights
1,483Review61Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 737
  • 498
  • 157
  • 53
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CalanitGalleryTours wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Family of 5 ( 2 adults and 3 kids) . We arrived from london with our car - we parked in the hotel . The check in was quick and friendly . We booked two connected rooms with kitchen in each of the rooms - due to COVID restrictions the breakfast was packed in a take away bag. Both rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable for 3 kids to sleep in a double bed + single bed . The kitchen was well equipped with the essentials + dishwasher, coffee machine.
The location was great - 2 min from Sainsbury’s, Soderbergh coffee shop just around the corner.
Great location, only a couple mins walk from royal mile & Victoria street and it’s Resturant’s .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael McFraser, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Hi CalanitGalleryTours Great to read of your recent experience with us. Would love to host you again on your next family break. Hope to see you again in the future Many thanks Mcihael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pekao wrote a review May 2021
London, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there for 2 nights hoping to have suite experience but it was just larger bedroom and more of a studio flat stay with shower than premium experience. No bathrobes and slippers or fancy toileteries, just wall mounted pump containers.

Beds were very comfortable, towels soft but it was just generic and blunt. Sofa was stained and dirty. Bathroom was tiny and narrow. Kitchen was microscopic too but had everything you need. Window opened a crack, I was hoping for more fresh air in this type of apartament building where entire walls were glass.

Location was quiet and you could reach main attractions on foot. It is located in a modern office area with public underground parking next door. Cost for 2 days with hotel discount for £30.

Overall I would return if the price was lower. £200 per night was too much, we could have have proper suite in other 4* hotel if we booked early enough.

To finish on the positive we appreciated that the breakfast was delivered as per order to the door each day exactly for the time slot it was requested. In corona times it was optimum solution.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book early
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael McFraser, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 21 Jul 2021
Hi pekao, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. Following your comments, I can appreciate you may have been expecting a Full-service Marriott Hotel. Residence inn is a Select Long Stay brand, and unfortunately, we do not offer the same amenities and extras as a Marriott Full-service hotel does. However, we do benefit from our hotel city centre position as well as boasting spacious bedrooms with kitchenettes included to make a home from home. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. Hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janey K wrote a review Oct 2020
Saxilby, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was easy to find by car and parking virtually under the hotel, great location, near a park and very quiet area. Would have used park and ride if we weren’t in Covid-19 times, as bus links very good from south of Edinburgh. The room good for money, however 2 out of 3 nights sleep was disturbed by noisy neighbours as the wall are paper thin, could hear them talking/laughing/shouting, having a shower and using hair dryer at 2am.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael McFraser, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear JK04uk, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our city centre location and the convenience of local amenities and facilities. I do send my apologies on behalf of your neighbouring guests. I can appreciate the frustrations this would have caused during your weekend away. We do have a very proactive team on reception who, given a chance, would have been very keen to rectify the issue for you. Should this happen to you again on your return, or indeed any other guest who may have to deal with a similar incident in future, please speak with our receptionists, as we are always willing to arrange room moves to ensure a comfortable stay for all. Should you ever wish to return to Edinburgh, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Stay safe Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
globetrotter904 wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Marriott Residence Inn Edinburgh is the most disappointing hotel experience I’ve ever had. The rooms are basic (not pretty by any means) with absolutely no amenities (not even water).

The breakfast was served in paper bags with items that looked like they were stocked from the Sainsbury next door. The location is ok (some of the other hotels in the heart of Royal Mile might have be much better for a short trip).

I think the one thing that that really threw us off was that the room had not been cleaned at all. When I reported this to the reception, we were told that reception staff were supposed to be notify us at the point of check that rooms would only be cleaned once in 3 days (unless special requested in advance) which is a total rip-off and ideally should have been communicated in advance of the reservation.

All in all never staying in Marriott Residence again and certainly not in Marriott Residence, Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael McFraser, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear Globetrotter,904 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh. We have made some changes due to the Governments restrictions which may have hindered your stay. Please feel free to contact me to discuss your stay further, Kind regards, Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoveTravel139942 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sofia, Bulgaria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice accommodation for 3 persons - enough space with big double beds, we had all necessary to spend a week in Edinburgh even a dishwasher! The staff was really helpful to all requests. The quarter is really close to the Old town, the University and the Museum of Scotland. Rich long breakfast was served every morning in the lobby. 2 minutes away we found a supermarket which is open late in the evening. Residence Inn by Marriott is a an absolutely great choice for those staying in Edinburgh within a normal budget. I recommend it with two hands!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
V&M Williams wrote a review Oct 2022
Kent, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were surprised at the poor condition of this Residence Inn. As part of the Marriott group, customers have an expectation of certain standards of cleanliness, service, condition, food and comfort. Unfortunately, this particular hotel didn’t live up to any of those expectations.
There was only 1 lift for 7floors and 107 rooms which meant very long delays waiting to get up or down and this led to overcrowding in the lift.
The 1 bedroom apartment that we had (Room 312) was a good space but everything in it was tired, chipped and some key elements of the room were broken. Then there were the workmen who were installing fire safety equipment in every single room on our floor except ours so that meant drills, nail guns, shouting, loud radios each morning and all throughout the day until about 3pm. Not really conducive to being able to work from the apartment.
With no onsite parking and no driveway, it meant arriving and leaving was a laborious and difficult experience. The off site parking was £20/day but they did give us a 10% discount when we checked out.
In the laundry room, both washing machines were broken and several guests had to point this out to the front desk staff. One was fixed a day later but the other one was left as it was. Again, there are 107 units in this building and only 1 working washing machine.
This property needs new management - people who are on top of all areas of guest experience. If someone senior in housekeeping had checked our room before our arrival, they would have noticed that the bedroom door was broken, that 2 light bulbs were out in the living room lamps, that the bin in the kitchen was broken etc etc. Being a Bonvoy Platinum Elite member had no meaning to the current management and that is unacceptable for any Marriott property.
The best thing about this Residence Inn is the location. It is right near the University of Edinburgh so is very convenient for lots of different kinds of travellers but we recommend finding somewhere else to stay as this property is not up to standard.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Be prepared for the off site parking and there not being any driveway or proper entrance when you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LibbyE8 wrote a review Jan 2020
Queensland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family stayed in two connecting rooms. One was a suite and the other a standard room. Strangely, the suite had a double bed and no microwave and the standard room a queen and a microwave.

Residence Inns are one of Marriott's value brands. We are Marriott Gold members and didn't expect sumptuous luxury. The rooms are very small and basic. The bathrooms are tiny with the sink outside of the shower and toilet. However, everything is very functional. I do think the decor choices were a big mistake. No carpets on some of the floors ( does get a bit gritty) and lack of storage space does make a small room more cramped. The sofa could do with a steam clean.

Breakfast has a great range of fruits and fresh food, standard pastries and hot choices.

Staff were very nice and location is excellent for the sights. We took a taxi from the station for under 10 pounds.

Overall, we were happy with our stay. If like us you've been travelling in Europe and the UK and opted to stay in historic charming hotels and were getting a little bit sick of the stairs, poor wifi, creaky floors and no blackout curtains etc, it was an economical option for a modern apartment style hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sunshine26535294968, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Dear LibbyE8, Thank you very much for leaving a review and sharing your experiences at our hotel. I was delighted to read that overall you were happy with your stay, we do appreciate our members' loyalty to the brand. I would like to offer clarification on some of the points you've mentioned. We have Suites available with both Queen and Double beds, however with special requests such as connecting rooms it can often happen that you receive one of our double Suites due to limited availability of connecting rooms. We always try our best to prioritize your requests in a way that your stay is the most comfortable it can be given our resources. Our Suites are indeed unique in a way that they have a full separate kitchen as opposed to other rooms that only have a kitchenette with a microwave, toaster, fridge and a kettle. Our full kitchens are additionally equipped with a hob and a combi oven which can actually function either as a microwave or as an oven based on the settings. I understand that this is coming a little late, so I have revised ways of improving our communication at check-in about our facilities to avoid a misunderstanding like this in the future. I am very glad that you have enjoyed our complimentary buffet breakfast and that you have found the staff nice as well. I have shared all your comments with my team as these occasions give us the opportunity to reflect and improve so that we can provide the best service to our guests. Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and should you ever visit the Residence Inn Edinburgh again don't hesitate to contact us directly at ri.ediri.reception@marriott.com. We would be happy to take to opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards, Judy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz P wrote a review Oct 2020
Southport, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nothing has changed from our last visit,the experience was just great.The effort to make your stay special by the staff is amazing.

The reception guy (Michael) went out of his way every day for anything that you needed.
Take no notice of the reports concerning the work next door,just ask for a room on the other side of the building.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael McFraser, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Hi LIZ P, Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Email me if you ever wish to return to Edinburgh, we at Residence Inn would be happy to host you. Many thanks Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
theoriginalchrz wrote a review Aug 2021
Whiteley, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Residence Inn is located in the newly developed Quartermile area of Edinburgh, at the top of The Meadows and adjoining the University, so great location if you need to be in that part of the City. It’s only a 10 minute walk to Royal Mile, past Greyfriar’s Bobby and 20 to Princes Street.

The rooms are all large and have a small kitchen area which is really handy, although some parts and furniture are starting to look a bit tired now.

We had two big problems with this stay, heat and noise. The rooms are hot, ridiculously hot! The building is essentially a 7-story, cuboid, greenhouse and there is no air conditioning (“this is Scotland, we have radiators not air-con” say the front desk). Our room did have a couple of portable fans, which if left on all day could just about get the bedroom liveable, but they are noisy so not ideal for running at night. The other issue is that at 4.50AM some machinery starts up from the building next door (seems to be underground ventilation or something) which sounds like a 747 engine running. Upshot is that if you want a good night sleep in the summer then you will probably be out of luck.

Aa complementary cooked breakfast is provided - this is pretty basic in terms of choice and quality, but is a nice enough start to the day (there is a Starbucks a couple of doors down if you are a bit fussier).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A paid underground carpark is available in the area, hotel guests get a discount (blue badge...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerrie G wrote a review Sept 2021
St. Albans, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are spacious and it’s in a good location but other than that this really isn’t a great place to stay. We stayed for 3 nights and to our surprise had no house cleaning at all! Not even toilet rolls replaced or clean towels. We had to ask at the reception and it was only at the point of us checking out someone advised we were supposed to have requested the room be cleaned and that this should have been explained to us on check in!! Breakfast was pretty awful with barely any selection and really not much in the way of vegetarian options if you wanted a hot breakfast. We actually chose to eat elsewhere for breakfast after the first morning as it was so bad. It was weirdly set up in a lobby too which just felt awkward and not for the purpose of a breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Nancy V
Merchtem, Belgium44 contributions56 helpful votes
They were not standard in the bath room but could be requested at the reception. Hope this helps! Best regards
Jo Ann B asked a question Mar 2023
Parking availability
Answer from SurfingWild
Bandung, Indonesia8,545 contributions1,161 helpful vote
Hi there. Parking is available and the underground entrance is at the end of Simpson Loan on the left which is two blocks away from the Residence Inn. The car park is called Q Park Quartermile Car Park.
Answer from V&M Williams
Kent, United Kingdom40 contributions2 helpful votes
There is no parking at the hotel. You can park a few doors down in an underground parking garage and the hotel gives a discount on parking.
Jim B asked a question Jan 2023
Are there washers and dryers?
Answer from HappyTraveler1957
Wellesley, Massachusetts640 contributions245 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Ron S
New York City, New York5,711 contributions1,002 helpful vote
email is usually hard to find. Call them +44 131 229 7150
Jen wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book here! "
Read full review
83lovetotravel wrote a tip May 2024
Dallas, Texas561 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have laundry facility on site. Continental breakfast includes eggs, bacon, sausage. Yogurt, fresh cut fruits, oatmeal , fresh bread etc"
Read full review
VIx wrote a tip Dec 2023
Mynachlogddu, United Kingdom51 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid breakfast time and interconnecting rooms."
Read full review
pez-oz33 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Smithfield, Virginia270 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask if they have any rooms that they might consider quiet. "
Read full review
Stephanie C wrote a tip Jun 2023
Miami, Florida11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is NO AC"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$2,280 - HK$3,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn edinburgh hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghSouthside & Holyrood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RESIDENCE INN BY MARRIOTT EDINBURGH - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), Escape The Past (0.5 km), and Greyfriars (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doctors, Tupiniquim Brasil crepes, and SEN Vietnamese Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.6 km), and Gladstone's Land (0.6 km).
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire