We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
51-59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
HotelIndigo.com
US$94
View deal
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (767)
360
Panoramas (32)
Room & Suite (601)

About

#69 of 164 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish, Romanian
1846Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 980
  • 563
  • 182
  • 69
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AliLS wrote a review Jan 2023
Fort Worth, Texas61 contributions38 helpful votes
The hotel is right across from the train station, and Royal Mile is within walking distance. The reception is on the 1st floor (2nd floor for Americans) with no notice of such when you enter, but we wandered down to the lift (elevator) and saw a note in the lift that the reception was up a floor. To reach our room, we had to make a bit of a trek, including down a few stairs (and up on the way back), which was confusing but not impossible. The room itself was lovely. The shower is a bit odd; it has multiple levers and showerheads. Because we both wear glasses, we weren't sure what all the levers did, and it resulted in a shockingly cold spray of water after ending our shower. When turning off the water, you have to hit the exact middle spot on the lever to turn off the one shower head. If you go too far, you ended up turning on the other shower head which comes on with a spray of freezing cold water right on your back. This happened to both of us as we both discovered afterwards, so it's probably not a rare occurrence. Also, the shower pan was very shallow, and the water threatened to flow out of the shower because it wasn't going down the drain fast enough. My friend ended up having to unscrew the drain cap/stopper and take it off entirely to avoid flooding the bathroom. Maybe locals are used to this kind of complex, modern shower, but neither I nor my friend were. For mealtimes or for a pint of lager/ale, there are numerous restaurants within walking distance and several pubs on Rose Street nearby. There is also the Balmoral Hotel just across the street, where you might want to try their classic afternoon tea with sandwiches, pastries, and such, as well as champagne, if you wish. We did not try the Hotel Indigo's restaurant. A couple of notes for Americans: 1. Like the other hotels we stayed at in the United Kingdom, washcloths are not provided. I guess it's assumed that you'll bring disposable face cleansing wipes when travelling. This surprises me a bit given how environmentally conscious Europe is compared to the US overall, but it is by no means unique to this hotel. 2. In the winter, the hotel provides a thick comforter with a duvet cover, but no top sheet or thinner blanket. We found this was the case at all 4 hotels we stayed at in the United Kingdom, and it is common elsewhere in Europe, as well. Luckily, our room here was on the cool side, so the comforter kept us warm but not too warm. However, if you tend to get hot easily, you might ask the hotel to bring up an extra sheet or something. Otherwise, you'll end up spending the night throwing off the comforter, then pulling it back on, then throwing it off, then pulling it back on (as opposed to having a top sheet beneath so you can layer the various covers as you wish). Presumably they change duvet covers (as well as the fitted bed sheets) between guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
andhewittscores wrote a review Jan 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom600 contributions269 helpful votes
Good situation just along the road from lots of attractions and bars/restaurants. Room was a trek from reception but was nice and triple glazed as trams outside at front can make it noisy. They also give ear plugs! Breakfast was busy as dining room small.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ourunner wrote a review Jan 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom427 contributions131 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights prior to NYE. Cannot fault the hotel in ayway. IHG status recognised and given an upgrade and free breakfast without fuss. Room warm and cosy as were the staff! Breakfast superb, loads of choice and some free elements that are usually extra (Egss bendict, royale etc). Good location for a walk about. Car park in St James Quarter car park is discounted by 50% which brings it into a reasonable cost and is very close to the hotel. Minor issues with the TV and heating sorted very quickly. Would stay here again without doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jonny S wrote a review Jan 2023
Singapore, Singapore139 contributions77 helpful votes
Good location for this place - very handy to get about the place on foot with it being only a short walk to Old Town, while being in the New Town. We were staying over New Year, and it was really very handy. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, sorting out taxis and chasing them down (NYE is a bit manic!) and were very attentive over breakfast. Rooms were clean and comfy enough, the hotel isn't the biggest or packed with loads of facilities, but there is a bar on site and a small gym. Overall, a solid choice, in a good location. Parking is not on site, but there is a discount voucher supplied for the closest underground carpark.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear jonnys842 Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. With warm wished and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos T wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic stay with a great room. You really can't beat the location; it is located near public transportation and close to all the major tourist destinations (but a few blocks away from the crowd). Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful at all times (shout out to Miguel for going above and beyond!). I would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There isn't a great place for cabs/Ubers to pickup in front of the hotel, so you'll need to go...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Carlos T Thank you for your kind feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and Miguel was able to help with making your stay so memorable! I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. With warm wished and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMcLea wrote a review Dec 2022
21 contributions25 helpful votes
I booked this stay for my daughter & boyfriend who was in UK for first time from USA. The staff gave a very warm welcome to them both & kindly upgraded their room which was very much appreciated. Everything about the stay was excellent . On my next visit to Edinburgh I will definitely be staying there. Would recommend as a warm & welcoming hotel with great staff & immaculate rooms. Well Done & Thank You!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If coming out of Waverley train station head for Princess Street exit
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JMcLea Thank you for your amazing feedback on your daughter and boyfriends recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that they have enjoyed their stay with us so much and look forward to welcoming you o the hotel when you next visit the city With warm wished and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsty wrote a review Dec 2022
Paisley, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
Booked a king size room and for some reason we were allocated a very cramped double (room 108). Room smelled badly of damp and got worse as the night went on. There was a dried in leak mark on ceiling from the floor above, not the standard I would expect from a 4 star hotel. Toilet also appeared to have old urine on it, needed a thorough clean. We were only staying for one night for a birthday/Christmas break so could not be bothered to move, husband doesn't like the hassle of it so it's not worth the stress for me. Wouldn't return to this hotel and wouldn't recommend it unfortunately. Check in was quick and friendly but I just wanted to check out!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid room 108
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear travelairth, Thank you for your review of the recent stay you had with us. I am sorry to read that we did not manage to deliver the level of guest experience that we strive to provide. We have a wide array of bedrooms and do try where ever possible to offer a change of rooms should a guest not be happy with their allocated room. I have discussed in detail your feedback with our maintenance and housekeeping teams to ensure these issues do not repeat. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and should you consider this please do contact me directly on gn@hiedinburgh.co.uk With Kind regards, Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane-B1817 wrote a review Nov 2022
Arlington Heights, Illinois58 contributions37 helpful votes
Everything was excellent! Miguel checked us in and personally brought us to our room. He was very nice and professional. He was the perfect welcome to a great stay. Our room was large and comfortable and stocked with everything you'd need. Mini bar included which is a nice touch. I highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Dear Diane-B1817 Thank you for your amazing feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. With warm wished and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeedsXray wrote a review Nov 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom216 contributions77 helpful votes
We stayed at Hotel Indigo at York Place in Edinburgh on 22 November 2022. We booked a triple room. Room 112 was exceptionally good and very large. Lot of seating space, cupboards and mirrors. 2 double beds were nicely laid out. A large screen TV. The mini fridge was well stocked with various drinks-included in price. A large selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate with kettel. Bathroom was large with a separate shower and tub. All the amenities and toiletries were adequately stocked and were of exceptionally good quality. Iron, ironing board and safe!Excellent mattresses and duvets. Good air conditioning. Staff was extremely courteous and helpfull. Next day morning the breakfast was a big surprise. All the standard continental breakfast as well as a separately ordered hot breakfast. Wide selection of vegetarian food. Plenty of healthy choices. Freshly made tea and coffee. Very helpful checking and checkout procedure. As we arrived early, we had left our bags at the reception. The bags were moved to our room when we came back in the afternoon to occupy the room! Probably the best hotel we've stayed at anywhere. Would happily stay again. Thank you Indigo.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Nov 2022
Dear LeedsXray Thank you for your amazing feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. to think that we rank as the best hotel you have stayed in makes us all very proud! With warm wished and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nataliya G. wrote a review Nov 2022
Dublin, Ireland48 contributions26 helpful votes
The hotel is literally in the city centre, very close to everything. It’s clean and most of the interior seem to be renovated. It’s mostly quiet, except depending on the room, if you are facing the tram line - it gets loud and shaky when the tram is coming :) The room on the top floor looks like it’s on the attic, and the funny thing - the floor wasn’t very even :) There was a bit on an angle (the place is a bit on the hill), so it was a little awkward trying to walk around the room because if that angle that was very noticeable. I also felt like the room was cold. Well, I guess that’s because it’s November in Edinburgh… but because of it, I had to turn on the heating for the whole evening and night to make sure it’s warm when I was sleeping. It would be fine, however when I checked in - the room actual had air conditioning turned on, which was definitely not the right choice of temperature for the season… I enjoyed breakfast the most - always warm and fresh. Full Edinburgh breakfast was the best! And the staff was most helpful! Always kind, available and responsive.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you really like it quiet, and IF there are rooms that don’t face the tram line - ask if they...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Nov 2022
Dear Lyunata Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. I have fed back your comments regarding heating and the Housekeeping team are monitoring to ensure all rooms are at the correct temperature for arrival. With warm wished and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton / New Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL INDIGO EDINBURGH, AN IHG HOTEL HK$753 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶6̶4̶8̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Scotland

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Edinburgh (0.2 km), Scottish National Portrait Gallery (0.3 km), and The Black Bull Tavern (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Howies Waterloo Place, Pickles, and Mamma Roma.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.1 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.7 km).