We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beech Hill Country House

Save
Share
32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP Northern Ireland
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (59)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 14 hotels in Derry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Beech Hill Country House! A hidden gem, Beech Hill is a 17th century Manor House surrounding by 32 acres of beautiful woodlands and lakes, located just 3 miles outside Derry City Centre. Uniquely designed to give you a Country Escape and City Break all in one. Steeped in history, Beech Hill is a warm and welcoming Country House with beautifully decorated guest rooms, each with their own individual character and charm. If you love your food then we have it all, a newly opened Gastro Pub named Sixteen22 for a fun and comfortable bite or the award winning Ardmore Restaurant for the more refined experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
1022Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 680
  • 195
  • 70
  • 43
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leanne O wrote a review 2 Sep
Worldwide4 contributions
I really wanted to leave a review because the team at the Beech hill helped make our wedding such a special day. The wedding day was so special & even with the last minute change to where we were having our ceremony due to weather everything fell into place without any hiccups & Aimee was right on hand at all times. Our intimate ceremony was in the library which was beautiful & our meal was held in the conservatory & everybody loved it & this continued on to our evening reception which was held in the new Bar sixteen 22. The quality of food served throughout the day was a huge talking point among our guests and the grounds and gardens provided a beautiful backdrop for our wedding photos. A personal thank you to Aimée, james, jack, Gary & all the staff at the beech hill for everything.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Grace C wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
We had booked in overnight as part of a summer wedding party. Unfortunately the room, whilst large and spacious, was in an older part of the hotel and smelt badly of damp. The carpet was wet underfoot. Although anyone can have an issue with maintenance, the smell was noticeable going from the newer part to the older part of the hotel. There were also dead insects on the windowsills. Fortunately the wedding part was better with good food served in the marquee.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alina Fetcu, Guest Services / Front Office at Beech Hill Country House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Grace, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am happy to know you enjoyed the wedding party, but I am disappointed to hear that the accommodation wasn't at it's usual standards. I am definitely going to investigate the matter and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We wish you all the best! Kind regards, Alina
Read more
John C wrote a review Aug 2021
Derry, United Kingdom64 contributions79 helpful votes
Visited here for a wedding in the marquee. The setting is lovely, lots of attractive gardens and the house itself is very grand. The marquee is well set up, good decor and decent bathrooms. Food and drink, not so great. For dinner we had soup, which was fairly bland and a minuscule portion. It's cheap to make so it's a bad start to the meal when you see them scrimped on the soup. A sorbet was served as a palate cleanser but it was fairly sweet so was almost like a dessert. I had roast beef which was well cooked and flavoursome but let down by undercooked roast potatoes. Vegetarian main which my wife had was another bland affair, a risotto. It's possible it was a vegan risotto but the vegetarians weren't given an option. The dessert was a pretty decent sticky toffee pudding. Drinks selection in the marquee was very poor, I asked for a craft beer and the waitress didn't even know what that meant. The website talks about local suppliers and produce but apparently this doesn't translate into stocking local beer. Most top venues now stock at least 1 or 2 IPAs for those who want a decent beer. Wine and whiskey selection was equally uninspiring. Overall, a disappointing visit as I had heard great things about the food and drink served in the restaurant and gastropub. It feels like the food and drink setup in the marquee is almost an afterthought.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alina Fetcu, Guest Services / Front Office at Beech Hill Country House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am very disappointed to know that you didn't enjoy completely this celebration experience, but every feedback is very important to us and I am going to address your suggestions to the team. Best wishes, Alina
Read more
shauna wrote a review Aug 2021
Nuneaton, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had our wedding at Beech hill on the 7th August. We never normally write reviews however with how special the team at Beech hill made our day, we thought it was only fair to share our experience. As we’re living in England, organising a wedding remotely and during a pandemic was not the easiest of things to do. The new team at Beech Hill, from Amy to Gary and all the others I’ve missed (sorry!) made it a breeze and took away all of our worries and stresses. The day itself was perfect and we wouldn’t have done one thing differently. Whilst we were worried that restrictions would dampen the atmosphere we couldn’t have been more wrong, we had the absolute time of our lives!! This was in no small part down the staff who did their utmost to ensure that we felt so special all day long. The food was incredible and we’ve not stopped getting compliments from all of our guests on how good it was.. The duck and lamb were the particular highlights however we could have named our entire menu in all honesty, it was fantastic! If you’re thinking about having a wedding at Beech Hill I can’t speak highly enough of this place and the team they have working there now. Go, visit and have the best day like us!! Thanks again for making our day one will never forget!! Xx
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alina Fetcu, Guest Services / Front Office at Beech Hill Country House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Shauna and Liam, Thank you so much for these beautiful words, I passed them on to Aimee, Gary, the chefs and the entire team. We are delighted to know that we managed to make your wedding day so special and we wish you both a lifetime of happiness! Best regards, Alina
Read more
Lauren Q wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
We were lucky enough to hold our wedding in Beech Hill Country House, the beginning of August 2021. After the setbacks of 2020, and moving the date twice, Beech Hill Staff were very supportive and accommodating to our needs. The wedding day itself surpassed all expectations, from our intimate ceremony in the beautiful Skipton Hall, drinks reception in barSixteen/outdoor area and finally the dinner reception in the marquee. Amazing and surreal from start to finish. The quality of food served was a huge talking point among our guests and the grounds and gardens provided a beautiful backdrop to our photos. A personal thank you to James and Aimée and all the fantastic wedding team and staff in Beech Hill for a day we will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Garden View rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alina Fetcu, Guest Services / Front Office at Beech Hill Country House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lauren, Thank you very much for your beautiful words, I passed your compliments to James, Aimee and the entire team. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your special day here @ Beech Hill and we wish you both a life time of joy and happiness! Best wishes, Alina
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$114 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
beech hill country hotel, beech hill country derry
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandCounty LondonderryDerry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beech Hill Country House
Which popular attractions are close to Beech Hill Country House?
Nearby attractions include City Walls (4.2 km), Museum of Free Derry (4.7 km), and The Bogside Artists (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beech Hill Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Beech Hill Country House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Beech Hill Country House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Beech Hill Country House?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beech Hill Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pyke 'N' Pommes (POD), Mekong Street Food, and Cedar.
Does Beech Hill Country House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Beech Hill Country House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beech Hill Country House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Beech Hill Country House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Beech Hill Country House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Beech Hill Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shipquay Gate (4.4 km), The Apprentice Boys Memorial Hall (4.4 km), and Bishop Gate (4.4 km).