We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Swansea

Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure Swansea Hotel is located less than a mile from the M4, walking distance from the Liberty Stadium and only three miles from Swansea city centre, making it the perfect location for shopping trips. With lakes and extensive grounds surrounding the hotel, a short distance from the spectacular Gower Peninsula, Mercure Swansea Hotel is ideal for scenic walks and breathtaking views. Nestled in a quiet location between Cardiff and the stunning West Wales Coast, Swansea close to popular tourist destinations such as Tenby, Brecon Beacons National Park and Botanical Gardens. Mercure Swansea plays host to 119 bedrooms, a relaxing contemporary Bar & Brasserie, Health and Fitness Club and Swimming pool; complementary for all hotel guests, Meetings and Conference rooms, Weddings (Licensed) and fabulous live entertainment. Free on site secured parking and high speed WiFi is also available throughout.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
149Reviews
69Photos
23Q+A
16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 51
  • 32
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
In our opinion this is the most wecoming hotel in swansea, it's so clean,modern,homely and confortable, ample car parking free, set by a lovely lake behind the picturesque gardens at rear of hotel. The welcome you receive is so 1st class, big smiles and professionalism, all the
Read more
Response from Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Dear Woowoos, Thank you for your kind review, and great to know you recommend us as 'Swansea's best', I couldn't agree more, but I may be a little biased :-) Hope to see you all again in the new year,though as always do keep Chilli a safe distance from my ankles ! :-) Best regards, and we wish you a very Merry Christmas, and a Happy and prosperous New Year. Best Regards Ian
Read more
Stayed on the Saturday night, lovely clean room, meal in evening stunning, breakfast the following day excellent. Staff as usual, helpful, friendly, in fact couldn't do enough for us. Decor in lounge/bar recently updated, classy and comfortable. Well worth a visit.
Read more
Response from Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 19 Nov 2018
Dear Ian W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay with us, and delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Best regards Ian H Jones
Read more
We met family staying overnight at the hotel for a meal in the restaurant. Despite pre-booking we were shown to our table and told there would be a delay as chef was busy. The menu choice was very ordinary indeed, lots of burgers, not what you might expect in a hotel! 70 minutes
Read more
Response from Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Dear Escape700195, Please accept our most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had on Tuesday night. The delays were caused by a number of circumstances chef of which was that our main chef was not able to work that night at short notice, and this left an inexperienced team in the kitchen and to compound matter the team running out front did not manage bookings well resulting in us seating 56 of the 72 dinners we did that night down in a 30 period. The inexperienced kitchen team simply could not cope with the volume of orders that came through in a short period, and should have shouted for help rather than try and muddle through. The presence of a small piece of clear plastic in your food is equally totally unacceptable and most concerning to us and a full investigation has now taken place to ascertain how this could have occurred, and to put measures in place so as to ensure it will not re occur. Please be assured that incidents like this are extremely rare, and our restaurant is normally very well run, with food delivered on time to a high standard. I can only apologies again at this late stage, and if you could contact myself or Karen Evans (Hotel Operations Manager) we would like to be able to do something for you to help restore your faith in the hotel after this poor experience. Best Regards Ian
Read more
We had originally booked an Airbnb but the place was disgusting so we booked into the Mercury very last minute and it was excellent! The rooms were comfortable, clean and modern and breakfast was delicious. The staff were very helpful on check-in and found us adjoining rooms
Read more
Response from Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Dear 827sarahm, Thank you for your kind review, and great to know we were able to help you out in a sticky situation. All hotels are graded by the AA, tourist boards and when part of a brand we are also inspected by the brand owners too, so as to ensure that we are clean, safe and meet the basic standards required. No Airbnb has to undergo any such checks, so though there are I'm sure good ones out there, you never can be quite sure what you are going to get, and indeed how clean and safe it is. I shall pass on your comments with regard to bathrooms to our property department, we are constantly analysing what needs to be done next, and there are some bathrooms that though still functional could do with a refresh. Best regards, and many thanks once again for your feedback. Ian H Jones
Read more
We chose this hotel due to its location and proximity to Swansea and the National Showcaves Centre, and the fact that it has an indoor swimming pool. The staff made us feel very welcome upon our arrival and we're very happy to help upon request. The hotel has a pleasant
Read more
Response from Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 12 Nov 2018
Dear adam6210e, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us on your recent stay, and great to hear that overall you enjoyed. Also I think your Good, and Bad bullet point format is most useful to me and the team, and to other prospective guests. On the bad points we do have an evening lighting setting, and candles that should be lit in the evening, and i have noticed 2 or 3 times lately that they are not always setting the scene correctly, so will re visit that. We will also be refurbishing the gym shortly, which will involve replacing some machines and re carpeting the workout area. Thanks once again for your review, it is only with such honest feedback that we can endeavor to improve. Best Regards Ian H Jones
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementMercure Swansea
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMercure Swansea
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMercure Swansea
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMercure Swansea
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMercure Swansea
Guest room
PreviousNext
12345
Do the rooms have Irons
Yes they do
1 vote
Show all answers
I think the bar closes with the last resident. Although I can’t be sure. The drinks are all reasonable, but hotel prices.
0 votes
Show all answers
Not on tap, but possibly by the bottle
1 vote
Do you allow dogs
Hi Gwenda234, Yes we do, its £15 per night for a dog. regards
0 votes
PreviousNext
12345
"Try to avoid the corner rooms"
"state your preferences when booking and the hotel will do their best to oblige."
"Rooms 147 and 149 are quiet and look out onto a small courtyard - they have excellent showers!"
"Don't be afraid to asimon discount on multiple breakfasts. Childs bed was not great but we managed fine."
"Ask at reception staff are very helpful generally a quiet area"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure swansea hotel swansearamada swanseaswansea ramada
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesSwansea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing