We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellington Hotel

Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (16)
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (5)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We're situated in a prime position in Brecon Town Square, within easy reach of the beautiful surrounding Powys countryside and Brecon Beacons National Park. You'll find plenty to do and explore locally. Why not take a leisurely walk along the canal, or maybe a trip on the Dragonfly Barge taking in the stunning scenery. If you fancy an energetic day out, pursuits such as canoeing, mountain-climbing, biking or kayaking can be arranged with Black Mountains Activities, or alternatively you could give Cradoc Golf Club a visit - an excellent club for those golfers amongst you. And of course, in August during the Brecon Jazz festival, the Wellington provide a perfect base for you to enjoy all the musical revelry. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it here in Brecon!
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
55Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
11Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
112
108
87
47
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
112
108
87
47
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub food function room centre of town old building full english lovely food stayed here for one night an evening meal high standard pen y fan penny pint character venue ensuite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I have been staying at this hotel every other week for 18 months while working on a project, friendly staff, clean rooms, good value for money considering location and quality of hotel, would recommend to anyone thinking of visiting this beautiful part of the world...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Dylan_Lewis
Response from Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington HotelResponded 5 days ago

Hi Dylan, I just wanted to personally say thank you for leaving a great review, must of been the extra poached egg, you know that you are always welcome back in the future. Best wishes Shaun

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beef was overcooked and tough. Veg was soft and squidgy. Managers attitude very very poor. Very expensive and quite frankly just not worth it. Go to the Castle or the Bank for real food and hospitality.More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank John1234john1234
Response from Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review, and slightly confused by your feedback when the outlets mentioned are actually more expensive than us, and if you were not happy with your food and indeed had spoke with me personally then you would aware that I resolve any...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two couples stayed here for one night, a bit over priced for the standard type of rooms we had but saying that the rooms were clean and fresh, The Wellington is a lovely place very homely and staff were very good indeed, we had lunch...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank mortona
Response from Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely positive review which on behalf of all the team we really do appreciate taking the time to write a great review Best wishes Shaun

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were friendly.. food was horrific, overpriced rubbish. Perhaps the worst meal out I've ever had. It was all flavourless and rubbery. Reminded me of those terrible school dinners from when you were a child. Pastry on pie was rock solid. Mash was bland and...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Rowan B
Response from Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, based upon how bad your experience was I am concerned that nothing was mentioned to my team while you were here as it would of enabled us to look at your complaint and therefore take the appropriate action to fix...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only used the restaurant as we were camping elsewhere so cannot comment on the bedrooms. We popped in for lunch whilst shopping – varied menu and reasonably priced. Our orders were brought up quickly and were hot and generous in portions. Can highly recommend...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Jo-C-72
Response from Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a positive review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Wellington and we do look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Brecon Best wishes Shaun

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jan B
20 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WednesdayAJ-1980 | Reviewed this property |
There are several disabled parking spots close to the hotel with which you can use your blue badge. Four just outside in front of Barclays Bank, another one opposite the hotel just down from Coffee #1 and three more around... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms 1 & 2 at ground level are disabled suites with lots of space,"
Dylan_Lewis
6 days ago
Read review
"We had room 4."
mortona
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Back should be quieter some rooms have steep winding stairs so ask if mobility reduced"
paulineh398
23 Oct 2018
Read review
"rear or ground floor rear rooms for quieter, stay , front for town views ."
326ChrisW326
9 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesBrecon Beacons National ParkBrecon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing