We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
St James Boulevard Waterloo Square St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4DN England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
HIExpress.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia
eDreams
Vio.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (149)
Dining (17)
Room & Suite (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#19 of 92 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Newcastle hotel near the train station, with breakfast included and a licensed bar. Holiday Inn Express® Newcastle City Centre hotel is a 15-minute drive from Newcastle Airport (NCL) and 10-minutes from the A1 (M). Direct trains to London and Edinburgh depart from Newcastle station, a 5-minute stroll away. Park for free at the Grainger Town car park, next to the hotel, between 5pm-8am. Cheer on Newcastle United at St. James' Park, 10 minutes away, or catch a show at Theatre Royal, one mile away. Shop 'til you drop at Eldon Square or sample the nightlife of 'The Toon' at the Diamond Strip. Sing your heart out at gigs at the Utilita Arena, a stone's throw away, or take the metro to Haymarket if you're visiting Northumbria and Newcastle University. The infamous Angel of the North and Tyne Bridge are a short drive away. Catch up with friends over a coffee in our open-plan lounge or start your night out in our licensed bar with a refreshing gin & tonic.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1477Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 634
  • 549
  • 202
  • 57
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Johnny Mac wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions
Perfect hotel for city centre break Stayed here for a couple of nights with family. There was eleven of us in total and we were well looked after 👍🏻 Decent enough rooms but shower wasn’t always hot Breakfast was good with plenty of it and Micky who was working in the mornings was great as he never stopped 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Haleemah7x wrote a review Dec 2022
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom24 contributions11 helpful votes
Great room with access-ability (I booked a room for a wheelchair dependent person), I could leave my luggage But the only thing that in was disappointed with was the breakfast, no eggs (no fried, poached or scrambled) and breakfast could have more variety.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leanne A wrote a review Nov 2022
Sunderland, United Kingdom278 contributions161 helpful votes
We were attending a gig at the o2 city hall . Excellent location . Room was spotlessly clean . Lovely friendly staff . We have stayed in a few holiday inns and they never disappoint. Fresh breakfast with lots to choose from. The only niggle I have was at breakfast there was people walking around with pyjamas on . Come on make a effort your not at home !! Thank you holiday inn for a memorable stay .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mayur M, Marketing at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2022
Hi 305leannea, thanks for reviewing your recent stay. We're glad to see your trip was worthy of 5-stars. We're glad our location was perfect for your trip to Newcastle. We're glad you took advantage of the inclusive breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Mayur M.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abi S wrote a review Sep 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1306 contributions557 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in July during the heatwave and were extremely grateful for the air conditioning!! Location is fairly central. Room was a bit on the small side but okay. Housekeeping didn't visit on one of the 3 days for some reason. The breakfast was pretty decent and had something for us all - a great chance to fuel up for the day. Overall we would probably return here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Josh wrote a review Aug 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom56 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed as a couple as part of a business trip. Hotel is a fairly standard holiday inn express. We had no complaints, the reception staff were nice. I also appreciated the free “help yourself” coffee in the bar. A short walk from the station and the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ianTenerife wrote a review Aug 2022
Grantham, United Kingdom299 contributions165 helpful votes
We would not hesitate to recommend this City Centre hotel. The rooms are not the biggest but more than enough space. The staff here are amazing. They are a credit to the chain. They deal with any problems quickly and most professionally. Thanks to them we had the most enjoyable stay…..thank you
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hannah_swfes wrote a review Aug 2022
Exmouth, United Kingdom25 contributions5 helpful votes
Ok for a city centre stay. Room was very small. Booked for two adults and two teens. Once the sofa bed was out you couldn’t move in the room. Couldn’t walk around room or get to the desk. Very noisy from road so couldn’t open window but that is normal for city centre hotel. Breakfast was ok. No croissants or cake left by 8.30. Bacon over cooked but otherwise could find something to eat. The hotel is very central and you can walk to everywhere which is great. Parking is £9 per day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2022
hannah_swfes Thank you for the review, I do apologise for the breakfast as you can understand it can get very busy. I hope this does not deter from staying with us in the future Derek
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie F wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Outstanding staff Michael could not have done more for us despite a glitch with our booking we were treated like vips. Room spot on, breakfast superb even with a fully booked hotel and a weekend breakfast rush, The staff make an already superb hotel exceptional
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It’s city centre. It’s Newcastle It’s vibrant. If you’re a countryside lover simply ask for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Julie F, we can’t thank you enough for the kind review! We're happy you had a fantastic time with us! Our staff enjoys reading reviews such as the one you left us! It lets us know we are making customers happy! Thanks for choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon! Take care, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Myles H wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions4 helpful votes
Room clean, Bed comfortable, location idea. But The Michaels, guys behind the desk, they were both the nicest people , credit to the business. Both the guys were helpful, funny and just decent lads. Hotel normal, staff exceptional
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Izaskun Olarreaga, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Thank you for the great review, Miles H! We're pleased to hear our team made your stay pleasant. We'll let the Michaels know how much of an impact they had on your stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Take care, Izaskun
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin wrote a review Jul 2022
Bedlington, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
The room itself was clean and fresh, however the entire stay was let down by the staff and breakfast service. Me and my partner arrived for breakfast to find utter chaos. It was like an ant farm. No staff welcoming you in or out or even to a table. We asked a member of staff if it was just a case of finding a seat and help ourselves and the response was “yes” then they walked off (she later turned out to be the person on front of house). Once we found an empty seat there was spilt milk and cereal on the table. My partner asked the same front of house lady if the table could be cleared and her response was “well we are short staffed you know”. We went into the buffet area to find that there was literally nothing left: > no milk in the coffee machine > no pastries > no yoghurt > no bacon > no cups for coffee > no sausages Please see attached pictures. We waited about 20mins for the bacon and sausages to come out with no apology or anyone to say it wouldn’t be long and once they did both were gone within minutes. I must admit we did pick a very busy weekend to stay ‘magic weekend’ but this is also widely known to the hotels and therefore should be adequately staffed and catered. Because of the ‘magic weekend’ we paid a premium for one night but regardless we will not be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just don’t bother, there’s plenty compatibly priced hotels close by.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Hi Curiosity13876312634, I’m happy your room was suitable for you stay. However I am disappointed with your impression of our breakfast. As you can understand it was a very busy weekend for which you sometimes can get overwhelmed when everybody comes down at the same time and all the forward prep doesn’t count. I am sorry you had a negative response from a member of the team, rest assured I have addressed this with the team member involved as this is not the behaviours we promote here at the hotel. Thank you for the valuable feedback as this tells us how our team is doing and how the guests feel. Kind regards Derek F
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express newcastle city centre hotel newcastle upon tyne, holiday inn newcastle upon tyne, newcastle upon tyne holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NEWCASTLE CITY CENTRE, AN IHG HOTEL HK$517 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶1̶1̶2̶) - Prices & Reviews - Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EXIT Newcastle (0.3 km), Boulevard Show Bar (0.2 km), and The Discovery Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yathai, Rumba Casa Latina, and Moulin Rouge Cafe and Grill.
Is Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (2.0 km), Quayside (1.2 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (0.7 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.