We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western New Kent Hotel

Save
Share
Osborne Road-Jesmond Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2TB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
Trip.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Best Western New Kent Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Newcastle upon Tyne, offering many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Best Western New Kent Hotel features 24 hour front desk and room service. In addition, as a valued Best Western New Kent Hotel guest, you can enjoy an on-site restaurant that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

Close to some of Newcastle upon Tyne's most popular landmarks, such as Ouseburn Farm (1.4 mi) and Victoria Tunnel (1.4 mi), Best Western New Kent Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Chilli Padi, Mannaza Korean Restaurant, and Simla Restaurant, which are some Asian restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Jesmond Dene Park (0.4 mi) or Heaton Park (1.1 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Newcastle upon Tyne!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
341Reviews7Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 152
  • 62
  • 23
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Malcolm R wrote a review 18 Oct
Bristol, United Kingdom268 contributions86 helpful votes
Second or third stay whilst visiting brother who lives near by - it is a fairly typical local hotel on a busy road - it has noise issues from some of its customers - but overall it is good value, fairly friendly and it is coping well with CV19
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try to avoid front rooms on busy road
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Chloe12 wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
I went here with my friends to stay for the night to celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival, not only were we not greeted or even given a ‘hello’, we were judged the minute we walked through those doors. We waited for the receptionist to come off the phone which the first thing she said to us was don’t be loud as they have friends and children staying. Immediately we were judged as being the group of people who are noisy and cause problems, despite entering the building in a calm manner. She then asked us what our plans were, times etc. She wasn’t asking to be nice, she was asking to be nosey and see if we would be going out drinking. As this was the first weekend of restrictions being lifted and being a hotel, they should expect that they will have customers staying there going out drinking and having fun. Id have understood her attitude if we were the type of group to be disrespectful, but that is not us at all and when we arrived late at night we were very quiet going up into our rooms. All of us felt very unwelcomed here. I think the staff really need some training in customer service. However, I cannot fault the rooms as they were nice, clean and comfortable. The only downfall was the windows being so small you could barely open them and when it’s a hot day like the day we stayed, the room was extremely hot.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Vinod Venayak, Owner at Best Western New Kent Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your feedback, and we apologise for any misunderstanding that this may have caused , however the experienced member of staff was merely making conversation and not in any way being judgemental or unwelcoming as you stated. We strive to ensure that all guests have a comfortable stay as well as a comfortable nights sleep therefore we ensure that all guests including smaller groups are made aware of this. I’m pleased your overall stay was a good one and once again apologise for any misunderstanding.
Read more
John T wrote a review Jul 2021
9 contributions13 helpful votes
I could have given this two stars. We were given a room at the top of the building, during a heatwave. The room was very hot as a result. No air con, and a tiny window made cooling our shoebox of a double room a challenge. Getting to the room was tough - up two different staircases with our luggage, and no suggestion from the receptionist as to how we could make this easier. The corridors had the smell of an old house, like a National Trust house without the creepy dolls or family silver. The room had the usual amenities, unusually presented. A sandwich bag contained the tea and coffee. On the day Covid-19 restrictions ended this seemed odd. Light switches fir non-existent lights and an extractor fan in the bathroom with no means by which to shake it from its slumber. The shower was OK, except when it decided to have a break and stop emitting water, typically when shampoo had been applied to my hair. We were also told no maid service during our stay for Covid-19 reasons, although quite why we never quite understood. Basically, we won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is limited
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Vinod Venayak, Owner at Best Western New Kent Hotel
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Many thanks for your feedback , further to your comments regarding your stay , please note as with many other hotels we do not advertise that we have air con however can supply fans on request , unfortunately we have no control over the current hot weather and we understand can sometimes cause discomfort. Our corridor areas are fully refurbished and do not replicate your unwelcome comments. Please note as with all responsible hotels you will notice the COVID restrictions will be in place for sometime to come in order to protect the safety of our guests and we will endeavour to carry on practices until deemed safe for our guests. Many thanks
Read more
Lynn B wrote a review Jun 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is comfortable, immaculately clean and excellent value for money. The staff are so helpful and go the extra mile to make sure your stay is a pleasant one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Fearless16655333165 wrote a review Mar 2021
6 contributions
An oldish hotel with quite a bit of character. I had a room with a view of the church opposite through a large bay window. Very nice breakfast to go. Staff were very helpful. No problem bringing in takeaway food. Room was clean. Very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western newcastle upon tyne, newcastle upon tyne best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western New Kent Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jesmond Dene (1.0 km), The Pottery Experience (0.6 km), and Pets Corner (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse, Saray Jesmond Turkish Grill House, and Branches Jesmond.
Are pets allowed at Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western New Kent Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (2.3 km), The Quayside (2.7 km), and Newcastle Castle (2.8 km).