Royal Station Hotel

Royal Station Hotel

Traveller (928)
Freebies in the fridge
Room & Suite (475)
Bar at the Royal Station Hotel
Dining (52)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#52 of 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Newcastle Airport
Durham Tees Valley Airport
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles2,848 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Royal Station Hotel boasts an impressive entrance and convenient location right next to the train station, which reviewers find perfect for exploring the area despite some noise complaints. While the hotel's amenities and grand decor receive appreciation, guests have called out the need for updates, particularly in the rooms which are criticized for being outdated and occasionally noisy. While many staff members are commended for their helpfulness, there are instances of service falling short. Travelers are divided on the value, with some considering it overpriced.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,848Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 926
  • 926
  • 503
  • 255
  • 238
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
hendy55 wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed overnight for New years eve gala dinner checked in at 4pm very quick and efficient check in we had room number 108 one of the hotels superior rooms very clean and spacious on the front of the hotel the room is double glazed and we were not disturbed by the revellers and traffic noise from outside .Small fridge in room had complimentary water pure orange and kitkats which is a nice touch. Gala dinner was of good quality and plentiful. Breakfast the following day was buffet style lots of choice and red hot.Every member of staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly special thanks to Charlotte for carrying out our requests prior to our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments following your New Years Eve stay with us, We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely evening and enjoyed your stay, We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best Wishes Christine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim B wrote a review Sept 2020
Carlisle, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to take a trip to Newcastle for a night away for our anniversary. Hotel was very grand. Our room had everything we needed including ear plugs for the train noise! Very clean bathroom. Complimentary toiletries and iron/ironing board and hair dryer. Water and orange juice as well as tea making facilities. No complaints. Would have liked a bath sheet instead of towel and only muck was on bath mat. Didn’t impact stay as we just didn’t use it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
emmal0ui5e wrote a review Jul 2021
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly reception staff. There is a room to keep your suitcases in. Corridors are lovely with the staircase and chandeliers. Room was spacious. We had a twin room 334. Bed bases squeaked as did the mattress which was also rock solid. We had hardly any sleep due to this and also the fact floor boards were creaky and could hear next door chat. Bathroom has a bath and also a very small shower, for the shower you have to stand right up against the wall to get any water or alternatively there is a shower head over the bath. On the tues morning we had the do not disturb sign on the door only to be woken up by the cleaner tidying 333. When i went to see what the noise was she had the door wide open with the tv on listening to the music channel singing along.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MagBlossom wrote a review Mar 2020
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a small double. It was indeed small, icy, noisy and bleak. As we entered the hotel the first thing that hit us was the pong of drains in the reception area, that seemed to be coming from the restaurant. The hotel lacks any customer lounge area, or even a few chairs in the reception area, which is a shame. I remember this hotel when it was in it's prime with immaculate entrance and rotating station access doors. The only thing left of that era are the chandeliers. We were on the upper floor. Taking the lift we exited at Widow Twanky's laundry, nobody wants to see others dirty laundry! The upstairs looks like the film set of The Shining.
I question if management look at the hotel with the same eyes as guests.
On the plus side, there is water and juice and chocolate biscuits, and ear plugs free for guests. I expect you will need them at weekends.
Car parking is limited and if you do get a space it's £10 for 24 hours, just don't go out, otherwise you could lose your space, and no, you don't get a refund.
The leisure centre reminded me of our local council leisure facilities.
I left feeling very sad.
Would I recommend the hotel? Sadly no. It needs a good shake up.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan C wrote a review Jan 2020
Gateshead, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Royal Station Hotel for my sister's wedding, and first I have to say the team worked very well in delivering an amazing reception. Both the Balmoral and Victoria suites were beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the hotel. One highlight for me was the happy staff, all of whom could help direct me and the other wedding guests. I especially loved seeing the bar staff and DJ enjoying themselves (would definitely recommend them for any celebration). A slight area for improvement would be the quality of the buffet food, as it wasn't all to our taste, as opposed to the canapes, which all tasted amazing!

That night me and some friends stayed in a hotel room which had 2 double beds. Luckily we could push them together which gave us more space. I was impressed by the fridge that was fully stocked with orange juice and kitkats, and the clean bathroom along with complementary toiletries. A big thanks to the restaurant staff, who kindly gave me a jug of milk and a plate of coffee, which was before I found the fridge. 😂 During that night, we noticed the beds made a creaking noise when we moved, which was slightly improved by the free earplugs. One point for improvement would be the amount of space in the room, as it was quite cramped when we had laid out all our things. Also when the bathroom lights turned on, so did the extractor fan, which was quite loud, so it woke us all up when my friend tried to use the toilet at 3am! 😂

One of my highlights was the leisure club, which is free for all hotel residents. Since it was a saturday when I went, it opened at 9am, but on weekdays it is as early as 7.30am. The leisure club receptionist (shoutout to Chris) kindly let me in 10 minutes early, showed me where the changing rooms, gym and pool were. Although it was rather unusual having to go up and down stairs to the changing rooms, I have to say the facilities were beautiful. The gym had well kept cardio machines and an extensive weights area, all of which was simple to use and gave me a good workout. The 10m long pool was decent if a bit small (definitely come either early in the morning or late at night when it is empty). I didn't have time to use the sauna, steam room or plunge pool but maybe next time.

All in all it was an amazing stay and wedding reception at this beautiful hotel, and I'd definitely recommend it as one of my favourites in Newcastle.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess K wrote a review Feb 2020
Stanley, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice chandeliers, they looks amazing and flashy when you walk in. Staff are friendly. Although we had to change room at the beginning due to me not being able to manage the stairs which the lady at reception was nice enough to do, it feels like we've been banished into the unused corner.
Harry Potters room under the stairs probably is more lavish especially for the price tag. Room is small and not prepared for use. There was 2 of us in a double room but there was only 2 hand towels and 2 what I can assume as large flannels for drying with if you wanted a shower. The guest leaflet said in the top of wardrobe for extra towels, none there. It said to ring for more towels but I didn't see the point at 10pm. No mat for the floor in bathroom so after a shower you went flying unless you wanted to give up a precious flannel so you had somewhere dry for your feet to land on the floor.
No bag in bin, room freezing where we had to try and work out the old radiator heating system. And £18 to park overnight! Wouldn't say its worth it to be honest. My bedroom at home is bigger. Plus the club music didn't finish till 5am so if you value sleep I wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from royalstationhotel, Manager at Royal Station Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear Jess, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay, We do provide 2 hand towels/2 bath towels and 1 bath mat in each room, Had there been a housekeeping issue if you had of let us know we could of got you more towels sent up straight away. We are also sorry to hear that you had some outside noise issues. Once again thank you for your comments. Regards Christine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clare wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start with this review, it was a an unpleasant stay from start to finish. On arrival, the receptionist couldn’t find our booking. When she finally did, they had booked us a double room instead of twin. Once in the room, there was no space between beds so may as well have had a double. Our pillows were lumpy. Asked to change rooms but they let us look at one on the top floor where the lifts didn’t reach so had to climb another 2/3 flights of stairs. We had booked dinner through Wowcher so was given the set menu in the restaurant with a bottle of wine. We were looking forward to this. The starters were delicious, the mains were absolutely disgusting. It was supposed to be chilli with nachos. They were tortilla wraps deep fried and full of grease. The waitress asked if we enjoyed this but when we stated no, she just picked the plates up and walked off. Desert was supposed to be cookie crumble sundae. This came on a plate with 2 scoops of ice cream that were tasteless and crumbled stale cookies. A couple sat next to us who appeared to have the same deal as us. However were offered the a la carte menu and told that they could order off this if paid £4.95 each. We weren’t even offered this. We went for a walk in the evening, on return to the hotel we noticed a night club a joined to the hotel. We tried to go to sleep around midnight but due to the base coming through the room, we had no chance. I called reception at 1.30am and we were offered to move rooms but were advised that we would probably hear this where ever we were in the hotel. The nightclub wasn’t closing until 3am with it been a Friday night. In the morning after looking at my Fitbit, I’d managed a full 1 hour 35 mins sleep. At breakfast, we had to queue for the English breakfast which is not a problem, however when you then have to wait for the toaster and have to put the bread through it 3 times for it to resemble anything like toast, your breakfast is flat cold when you get to eat it. You also get coffee/tea served at the table which is nice, if they actually gave you a full cup and not under half a cup. We thought they had ran out and we’re going back to the kitchen to fill up but looked round to find the same waitress filling someone else’s cup. We did complain to reception on checkout to be told to send an email. Oh and that’s it’s a central location so we should have expected noise. This was done a week ago and we still have had no response to this. In all if you are wanting a luxury 4* hotel, this one is not for you. It’s in need of some tic. All we found good about it was some friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy S wrote a review Aug 2021
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for a weeks break, we booked on booking. Com, I thought the rate looked reasonable, that was until we saw the room, it was shocking to say the least. Dirty, old and tried, we tried to speak to staff but they were not at all bothered, I had to telephone from the room and on speaking to someone in hotel corporate she sent a Porter, he was really good, got us another room which was quite a bit better. The hotel reception looks quite grand and I’m sure they might have some good rooms but honestly, we paid higher than the advertising price so felt very uncomfortable at the first room. The breakfast was good and the staff very efficient on breakfast duty. They don’t have enough staff I was told, and as we requested a room service it took two days and several requests. The hotel needs a good clean, soft finishings we’re dirty, carpets dirty and the bathroom I cleaned before we used it. We ate out of an evening and didn’t use the pool. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel. The noise is ongoing from local pubs and clubs, and no air con so having your window open is very disturbing. Staff in the office and reception unhelpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check which room your allocated.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carole T wrote a review Apr 2022
Wombourne, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here to celebrate our friends 60th Birthday. We booked 3 standard double rooms for 3 couples as a group booking.
Our room can only be described as a budget room.
It was very small with the T.V. positioned on the wall next to a small window, which meant you had to lie on your side to watch it.
We received a note through our door to inform us that our room would not be serviced during our 3 night break. However we were told if we needed towels and beverage top ups we could ask or dial reception.
When we tried calling, no one answered the phone. We asked at reception to be told there was a shortage of towels in the hotel.
The sink in our room kept blocking and the bathroom light stopped working after the 1st night.
When this was reported we were told it would be replaced that same day, it was not.
We were offered an alternative room but we only had 1 more night to stay so we used our phone lights when using the bathroom in the night.
Despite the booking being made approximately 8 weeks before the occasion, the other 2 couples were allocated much nicer and more spacious rooms.
Overall very disappointed.
The breakfasts were very substantial and waiting staff really friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Familyfunteam wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel lobby gives you an amazing sight of the potential of the hotel with its huge spiral staircase and beautiful chandeliers, thats where the enjoyment for this hotel ends.
Unless you want a shower or bath at 1am to 6am then do not expect hot water, all rooms are like this, there system cannot cope at peak times.
Rooms all smelled like they had been vacuumed with full bags.
Lack of sufficient towels.
Slippery floors when wet and they do get wet as the shower doors do not close properly.
Rooms tidy but not clean.
Security where rude and managers even worse.
All rooms are very dated.
The pool facilities where not operational when we arrived bit thats ok apparently because the manager said “its something we give you for free so why are you moaning?” Not sure how they figure an advertised facility is free when really you pay for this in your booking price.
However when we did get in there on day 2 it was very small and very worn with a weird setup for the changing areas meaning you have to walk back past the open doors of the reception in your swimwear. Overall a very poor experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nitoda asked a question Sept 2023
Devon, United Kingdom31 contributions23 helpful votes
Are the nightclubs open late on Monday and Tuesday nights or just at the weekend?
Answer from MrsC
Washington, United Kingdom102 contributions23 helpful votes
Yeah every night
jue7983 asked a question Jul 2022
Carlisle, United Kingdom5 contributions
Do you offer room service for breakfast?
McKaysareout asked a question May 2022
Ayrshire, United Kingdom38 contributions8 helpful votes
What are the best rooms to view the station and particularly trains arriving/departing?
Answer from Benisla
7 contributions5 helpful votes
We had room 269 at the back of the hotel, we overlooked the car park and the station platforms which were covered. We could see some trains arriving and departing but probably not as good as you want if an avid train spotter.
Answer from don m
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom137 contributions130 helpful votes
I dont know
Pauline S wrote a tip 3 Jul
east kilbride scotland237 contributions163 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid 119 as it is an extremely noisy room facing the busy street. "
Read full review
susan b wrote a tip Jun 2024
Morpeth, United Kingdom84 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check access for pool - involves wet stair and corridor. Nice pool."
Read full review
1972jph wrote a tip May 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom68 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try every other hotel first."
Read full review
Antoni C wrote a tip May 2024
Southport, England, United Kingdom125 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like trains get room 327 - it overlooks the station !"
Read full review
ali k wrote a tip May 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"On train station side, literally hardly heard a thing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastle upon Tyne area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$508 - HK$921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel royal station, royal station newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL STATION HOTEL HK$492 (H̶K̶$̶6̶4̶0̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Station Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Station Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EXIT Newcastle (0.2 km), The Glamorous Owl (0.3 km), and Crown Posada (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Station Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Station Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Station Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Station Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, Little Nino's, and The Old George.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Royal Station Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Station Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Station Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (1.6 km), Newcastle Cathedral (0.3 km), and NewcastleGateshead Quayside (0.9 km).
All Newcastle upon Tyne HotelsNewcastle upon Tyne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Newcastle upon TyneHotels near Royal Station Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire