We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Garth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1RQ England
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (979)
Room & Suite (391)
Dining (171)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#44 of 91 in Newcastle upon Tyne
Few hotels can boast a more enviable city centre postcode than the Vermont Hotel, for this imposing structure is located in the heart of the City of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, not only next to the Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall, but also just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station. Combining old character in the form of 1930s grandeur with contemporary elegance and four-star luxury, the landmark building is your base from which to discover the many bars, shops and attractions of the town centre and wider area. Look outside your window and you might see such sights as the River Tyne, Millennium Bridge or stunning cathedral, and it's not the only mark of the sheer inspiration of the Vermont Hotel experience. That's because the reasons for the hotel's reputation become clear with a stay in any one of its sophisticated bedrooms, which are finished in soft relaxing colours while also coming with a wealth of facilities for your pleasure and comfort, including - among others - private en-suite bathrooms, a mini bar and free Internet access.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Lithuanian
3194Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,447
  • 828
  • 420
  • 249
  • 250
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brian M wrote a review 18 May
Kissimmee, Florida4 contributions
friendly and helpful staff spoilt by a very obvious lack of training in the hospitality industry.. the manager on duty the late evening of Tuesday the 10th of may was border line rude and plainly found us as guests an interruption of his duties and not the reason for him being there. one stand out member of staff was Gentleman on concierge by the name of Paul Fitzpatrick, a true asset for your company and a standout in a sea of average
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Brian Thank you for your review and our sincere apologies that you have encountered issues during you stay. The hotel manager will look into this immediately and speak with the team that were on Tuesday evening as this is not the standard of service we offer. Please feel free to drop the manager an email with more information on he would be more than happy to discuss this with you on a one to one. Once again our apologies and we do hope that we can welcome you back.
Read more
paul w wrote a review 18 May
1 contribution
Had another fantastic stay Staff were so helpful Lovely clean room as alwsys Thank you for helping me out as I'm on crutches Breakfast was fantastic and ghe staff very helpful and friendly Can't wait to book my next stay 👍
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Paul Lovely to see you again and you are very welcome. Pleasure looking after you and we cant wait to see you again soon. Best wishes
Read more
gary s wrote a review 16 May
Swindon, United Kingdom11 contributions12 helpful votes
I could not fault the hotel it was great and all the staff very good indeed I will definatEly stay again. Nothing was too much trouble and rooms very clean and well equipped. BreakfaSt was first class and lovely the hotel was not full of chavs on stag or hen parties
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Great hotel
See more room tips
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes
Read more
hagedd wrote a review 16 May
Cavendish, United Kingdom43 contributions25 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at The Vermont. Friendly, helpful staff, reasonable room, decent breakfast, great location. There could be improvements however, the mattress springs were pinging every time my husband moved, the pillows are lumpy and the duvet very thin. The bathroom a little tired. Breakfast was ok but had better eating elsewhere. Also noisy in the morning, do not disturb on the door, why are people/ staff noisy! What I really don’t get is the lower terrace and Above bar attached but not attached to the hotel! We were hoping for good weather to try the rooftop bar as advertised on website and an option in the lift. Like others we went wrong trying to find it! It was early afternoon and my husband had to show his footwear! There is a ‘dress code’ ! We didn’t know what we were getting ourselves into. The views are great obviously, but not the vibe we were looking for, if you want to sit outside you need to book. Many others in jeans/trainers so I don’t know what the issue is in making people feel uncomfortable. Certainly a complete contrast to the hotel. I see many previous comments on this and apparently nothing to do with the hotel? That aside the hotel is in an excellent location to explore the city and I would return. Also glad of the NHS discount which was appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Many comments on rooms situated under the Above bar, very noisy.
See more room tips
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your review and comments which we have noted and taken on board with regards to the hotel and will action these accordingly. With regards to the other venues whilst they are part of the group, they are operated as separate venues and separate from the hotel and do come with their own terms and conditions. I am sorry if this was not clear on the website and I will speak with the venue managers to ensure that this is made clear going forward. We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you again and best wishes
Read more
Alex wrote a review 15 May
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I’d booked a room at the Vermont hotel as a birthday gift for my partner (both of us present alternative and are both female). Upon arrival, we were walked past at reception by the man on the door to help another couple who were checking in, both at least 20 years older than us (we’re both 20). We brushed this off at first however once we were seen to at reception the quality of service was poor, whilst the guests next to us who were helped at the door seemed to be getting a higher standard of service. We were dismissed at reception after the woman at the check in desk made eye contact with both of us and looked us up and down as if we were lost, so I approached reception and asked to check in. The questions that were asked about our stay seemed condescending and rushed, whereas the guests next to us were treated with compassion, were asked if they’d stayed at the hotel before, if they needed guidance to their room and were welcomed back, whilst we were given our room and left to our own devices. We feel as though we were discriminated against for either our age, appearance or sexual orientation in both of these interactions, as though the staff at the Vermont have assumed we are too young, not able to afford a room at this hotel or because we’re homosexuals. The room itself at the Vermont hotel was poorly kept, lots of dust on the surfaces and some unusual packaging found on the floor…for a high-rated hotel i’m disappointed to say the least. I don’t recommend staying at the Vermont hotel if you’re anything but a straight middle class couple, we won’t be booking again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Vermont Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your review which we obviously find distressing as we do not under any circumstances discriminate against anyone that stays with us in the hotel, or in fact who is employed by us. Our sincere apologies if anyone has made you feel uncomfortable. We will, of course, pass your comments onto the team who will be most upset by them and the Hotel Manager will speak with all staff who were on duty at the time one to one. With regards to any comments regarding the room had they been brought to our attention during your stay, they most certainly would have been dealt with for you. Our sincere apologies once again
Read more
US$91 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
vermont hotel newcastle upon tyne, vermont newcastle upon tyne
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vermont Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Vermont Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Glamorous Owl (0.3 km), Crown Posada (0.07 km), and Escape Newcastle (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Vermont Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Vermont Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Vermont Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Vermont Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, Revolution Bar & Kitchen, and Twenty Twenty.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Vermont Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Vermont Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Vermont Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Vermont Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Lithuanian.