Novotel Newcastle Airport

Novotel Newcastle Airport

Ponteland Road Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ England
Traveller (185)
Dining (49)
couch for two kids
Room & Suite (40)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#43 of 82 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 4 star, newly refurbished (March 2020 completion) Novotel Newcastle Airport in Newcastle, is Located just off A1, 2 miles from NCL international airport and within a 10-minute drive of Tyne Bridge and Newcastle Racecourse. This hotel is ideally located to visit attractions such as St. James' Park (3.8 miles) and Castle Keep (4.6 miles). The Metro stop Kingston Park is a 5 min walk from the hotel entrance Your bedroom will be one of our 126 newly refurbished, fully air-conditioned bedrooms. Features include LCD televisions with Freeview. complimentary wifi access for multiple devices, keeping you connected for the duration of your stay, ensuite bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, voip telephones, mini fridge, safe and ergonomic desk, including built in usb charging points and media hub which connects devices with the TV screen All hotel guests can make use of the onsite pool, sauna and fitness room or take time to relax in the lounge or bar. In the summer take in the view from the terrace and a garden. Food is served throughout the day for all to enjoy in the lounge and our restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, in the summer you can dine al fresco on the terrace and you can take advantage of room service at any point of the day as we offer 24hr room service We offer meals, snacks, coffee and bar services to the general public. Additionally the hotel has multiple meeting and event facilities and large lounge areas, open for coffee, for more informal meetings Car parking is available on site with add on facility to park and fly
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Bulgarian, Polish

Location

Ponteland Road Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ England
1,605Review26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 450
  • 654
  • 291
  • 130
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Karim wrote a review Jun 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Novotel during a period of lockdown here in the United Kingdom as a key worker.

The room was spacious, a cupboard with hangers is available, a mini fridge, as well as a kettle. The bed was comfortable and, most importantly, it was clean and quiet; a must for a light sleeper like me.

The toilet is separate from the bathroom which would be useful when staying with at least one other guest although there isn't a sink by the toilet. The bathroom itself is quite big with a large sink, and all the toiletries you would expect to find.

I can't comment on food service as it was understandably suspended during my stay with Covid-19 restrictions in place, but the hotel supplied gloves and face masks at reception and had reminders in place regarding social distancing.

The hotel is close to the A1 but there was no road noise that I could hear from my room.

Ordinarily, amenities nearby include a 24 hour supermarket, a carvery right next door, a couple of retail parks and transport links in bus services and the Tyne and Wear Metro. All are walking distance from the hotel. Under the current circumstances, shop trading hours are limited but you can still likely find what you need if you have to stay during the current restrictions.

What impressed me at this hotel was the friendliness of every staff member who were always looking to ensure I had a comfortable stay. Nobody looked bored or disinterested when I came to talk to them and they were all upbeat despite the situation at the time.

Whether a short stay awaiting a flight or a long weekend in Newcastle I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Sutherland, Other at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 20 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent stays with us. We're all delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and we loved having you with us. Your kind words will serve as great encouragement to our whole team during these difficult times. We hope to be welcoming you back again and again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rover54 wrote a review Feb 2020
Woodbridge, United Kingdom114 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Smart good sized room with really comfy bed. Good breakfast too. The hotel is just off the A1 so easy to reach by car (but no traffic noise in our room). There is a station on the metro about ten minutes walk away with trains about every twelve minutes to the city centre and, in the other direction, to the airport. The city centre is about 25 minutes away on the metro. The road into the city centre is also good. It also has lots of parking. I would definitely use it again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sheena Hodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank you for your kind review. I am very glad to hear that you recent stay with us was very suitable for the requirements of your trip. We do hope to see you again on your next Newcastle bound visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrEScotland wrote a review Jan 2020
Scotland2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although there are some rooms still to be upgraded there has been a vast improvement on this hotel since the upgrades so far have been carried out. It is regretful however that the restaurant during my 4 night stay was only open on one occasion and strangely enough it was on the evening on which the Operations Manager was on duty. On the other evenings I reluctantly ate in the bar area. Guests don't appear to eat in the hotel but this could be due to the fact that the opening of the restaurant is so unreliable. This is a pity because the food was excellent. Breakfast was very good and the staff in the hotel are helpful and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FairviewHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review, Novotel Newcastle Airport is in its final phase of its £3 Million refurbishment which has seen air conditioning put in all guest rooms and public areas. The restaurant is normally open for all meals, but due to the festive season there was a reduced service We will relaunch as a 4 star hotel in the coming weeks I do hope you chose to stay with us at the Novotel Newcastle Airport in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie W wrote a review Jan 2020
Gourock, United Kingdom596 contributions201 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a spacious room at this hotel for two nights. A couple of things impressed me - there were real coathangers in the wardrobe, not the ones that you have to wrestle with to fit back on! The toilet was separate from the bathroom, which I really liked, and the sink in the bathroom was massive. There was a mini fridge and iron with ironing board in the room which I hadn’t expected so they were welcome. Tea and coffee making facilities were also provided. We didn’t eat at the hotel so I can’t comment on that. There is a Toby carvery very close at hand which we went to for an evening meal. If I have occasion to visit this area again I would use this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FairviewHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear Valerie Thank you for your review, Novotel Newcastle Airport is in its final phase of its £3 Million refurbishment which has seen air conditioning put in all guest rooms and public areas. We will relaunch as a 4 star hotel in the coming weeks I do hope you chose to stay with us at the Novotel Newcastle Airport in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew H wrote a review Feb 2020
Rochdale, United Kingdom2,772 contributions543 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is currently under refurb and the 1st floor was out of bounds. There was drilling during the day etc. but as I was out most times, it was quiet from 4.30pm onwards. The gym wasn't finished but the pool on the ground floor was being used. Rooms spacious and clean. Iron, fridge, safe, tea and coffee and great shower. Breakfast was good, cereals, yoghurts, breads and array of hot items on buffet, bacon, sausage, eggs et al. Large car park and don't forget to register your car with reception for parking eye. Good price
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FairviewHotels, Customer services at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear Andrew Thank you for your review, Novotel Newcastle Airport is in its final phase of its £3 Million refurbishment which has seen air conditioning put in all guest rooms and public areas. We will relaunch as a 4 star hotel in the coming weeks I do hope you chose to stay with us at the Novotel Newcastle Airport in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret T wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom60 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We transferred here (long story) as unable to fly to Gran Canaria. Jet2 can only be described as magnificent in their handling of the situation.
This hotel was everything you’d expect it to be. Friendly staff; decent meals; comfy beds. Absolutely nothing to complain about.
Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sheena Hodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're sorry at the circumstances in which you had to stay but delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again in the future before your next holiday!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don S wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel compelled to write this review because I recently had a Covid related issue involving the Novotel Newcastle and I was astounded by the professionalism, efficiency and friendliness with which Paul Holmes and Michael Sutherland helped me to achieve an outcome with which I am delighted.

From day one they were always prepared to take my calls or call me back quickly. My emails were always promptly answered and throughout the process these two gentleman made me feel like a valued Novotel client.

I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending any hotel that was managed by either Paul or Michael. They display customer service at its very best.

Kindest regards,

Don Sweeney.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moeen wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom20 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night as flew in to the airport too late on a Saturday to catch a train back south. Cost £10 to get a cab from the airport taxi service to the hotel. Check in was easy and the staff member was easy going and friendly. I was given a family room on the top floor so was nice and spacious with good facilities and decorated to a tasteful, neutral style. Bed was very comfortable. The TV didn't work but I was ready to head to bed so didn't bother with contacting reception regarding this. The downside was that a lot of plumbing noises were audible from the room vent - I could hear the numerous showers the family next door were taking, boiler noises, every time their toilet flushed and even hearing someone doing a stand up wee. The price was so low so it didn't bother me hugely and I pretty much dropped off to sleep after an hour or so the stay did it's job really.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sheena Hodgson, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank your for your detailed feedback. We're very glad to see that overall your stay was a very good one, and good value for money at that. We hope to be welcoming you back again very soon, please feel free to request a quiet room and we do our utmost to ensure you have a room as quiet as possible.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
brian a wrote a review Jan 2020
Bridgend, Ireland26 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
just returned from Newcastle and the Novotel hotel we really enjoyed our satay there the hotel was superb and staff great especially Michael at reception and the woman who served the breakfast every morning, didn't get her name but she was always I n black. the rest of the staff were tremendous, had a meal in the restaurant on one evening and it was excellent. this was our 4th time staying at this venue and as always excellent the whole hote is undergoing a refurbishment at present and the place looks really smart, hopefully well be back next year at the sametime well done novotellseeyuou next year!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NAVGM, Night Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Many thanks for this lovely review. I am thrilled that you had as great time with us (once again) and I will certainly pass on your comments regarding Michael and our restaurant server (whoever that transpires to be). Reviews like this are what drive us and we really appreciate the positive feedback. On behalf of myself and the Novotel team, a big thank you, and we hope to welcome you back again next year for your 5th visit! Warm regards, Steve R - Night Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
martin r wrote a review Jan 2020
Arbroath, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent welcome from Steve as i arrived through the main front door. A very welcoming smile putting me at ease. Hotel has had a re- fit since my last visit. Very tastefully decorated throughout and warm. Bedroom was of a very good standard and very comfortable. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NAVGM, Night Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you so much for this wonderful review and an extra personal thank you from myself for your lovely comment about the welcome you received from me. Reviews like this are what motivate us and both myself and the rest of the team greatly appreciate them. I'm so glad you had an excellent, comfortable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again, whenever that may be. Warm regards, Steve R - Night Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blythmags asked a question Aug 2020
Northumberland, United Kingdom140 contributions67 helpful votes
Are you currently housing immigrants ?
siva73 asked a question Jan 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, is pool open for public or just for the guests? Regards, Siva
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
The leisure facilities are reserved for guests of the hotel only. Bar and restaurant are open to the public.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Hi we offer 24hour room service of & beverage Please feel free to contact us direct and we can add your estimated arrival time to your booking
Marc M wrote a tip Feb 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All appear to be of a good standard"
Read full review
William S wrote a tip Nov 2019
Leeds, United Kingdom40 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"3rd.Floor, easy access by lift."
Read full review
Dusty290 wrote a tip Sept 2019
Halifax, United Kingdom90 contributions108 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chose another hotel"
Read full review
Amol G wrote a tip May 2019
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India4 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pretty old building, not sure it makes any difference!"
Read full review
john brown wrote a tip Feb 2019
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"second floor was quiet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastle upon Tyne area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel newcastle airport hotel newcastle upon tyne, novotel hotel newcastle airport, novotel newcastle upon tyne, newcastle upon tyne novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
126
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL NEWCASTLE AIRPORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Newcastle Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Nearby attractions include Kingston Park Stadium (1.0 km), Vinyl Guru (0.6 km), and Nessabar bulgaria (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toby Carvery, Twin Farms, and Olive Coffee Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Novotel Newcastle Airport have airport transportation?
Yes, Novotel Newcastle Airport offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Newcastle Airport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Newcastle Airport offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Newcastle upon Tyne HotelsNewcastle upon Tyne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Newcastle upon TyneHotels near Novotel Newcastle Airport
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire