We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 London Road Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE England
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Expedia
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sandfield Guest House
Updated 21/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Smart Accommodation to Stay Connected.

Just two miles from historic Oxford City Centre, Sandfield Guest House welcomes guests travelling for both work and pleasure.

Paul has hosted over 3,300 guests since converting his charming childhood home into a guest house in 2009. He delivers a warm, personalised service, modern business amenities & the highest housekeeping standards – all in a Carbon-Positive environment where comfort is key.

Why not take a look around? The 3D VIRTUAL TOUR is on my website,

You can find it via my IG, FB & Twitter Profiles. I have a new website and it will, of course be waiting for you there in due course!

Of course, all work and no play in a city as dynamic as Oxford would be a shame – Paul is particularly known for his exceptional local insight (and in non-Covid times, a head-turning poached egg).

A few short steps from direct connections to London and a five-minute walk from Headington’s vibrant independent restaurants, cafés and shops, this home-from-home is a haven nestled near Oxford University Trust Hospitals and Oxford Brookes University.

Guests can rest assured that they’ll sleep easy in what has been the Anderson family home for 35 years

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary tea
Adults only
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
401Reviews3Q+A53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 365
  • 35
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Angela T wrote a review Jul 2022
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom257 contributions65 helpful votes
Unfortunately we were unable to stay and had to inform Paul on the day we were due to arrive. However, I would like to say that Paul's communications were second to none and he was extremely helpful with us wanting to arrive earlier than the normal check in time. Its a shame our trip had to be cancelled and we will definitely book with Paul again when we come to Oxford.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear angelaat816, I was so sorry you had to cancel your visit to Oxford at the last minute. Communication is key to managing, meeting & exceeding guest expectations and so I look forward to doing so when you next visit Oxford. Many thanks, I hope to welcome you soon, Paul
Read more
Roger Q wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions5 helpful votes
A lovely house and very comfortable room, we had everything we needed and Paul was an attentive and helpful host. Buses to Oxford city centre are frequent and there excellent places to eat and drink nearby (Paul’s guide will give details, but the Beirut and White Hart were great on our 2 day stay).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Roger Q, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience of Sandfield Guest House. We're blessed with many local independent restaurants & I was so pleased when. you told me you managed to book tables at 2 of my favourites... and enjoyed yourselves when you got there! Looking forward to welcoming you both back when you're next in Oxford, many thanks, Paul
Read more
Martin C wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
I can highly recommend Sandfield Guest House. Paul was there to welcome us on arrival and was a charming and helpful host. The room was clean and well presented as was the rest of the house that we saw. We were there only for one night, but didn’t hear any of the other guests or street noises and had an undisturbed sleep. Checking out was quick and easy. As I said at the start I would highly recommend Sandfield and would definitely use them again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear Martin C, Thank you for taking the trouble to review Sandfield Guest House... it's the greatest of compliments when guests say they would definitely like to return, thank you ever so much! Hoping to see you again soon, Paul
Read more
CatherineH442015 wrote a review Jun 2022
Hexham, United Kingdom3 contributions
This is a lovely, clean, well run guest house in a very convenient location. Food and drink is easily purchased just 5 minutes walk away in Headington and buses go regularly from just across the road to get into the centre of Oxford. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything I could need. I was excited to see a tea pot on the drinks tray - hardly any guest houses think to provide one and I appreciated it! I can thoroughly recommend Sandfield Guest House.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Dear CatherineH442015, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience of Sandfield Guest House. I'm so glad to hear that you had everything you needed and also appreciated the little extra details that made your stay that much more comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back soon, many thanks, Paul
Read more
SiskiyouSusan wrote a review May 2022
Weed, California6 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent two very comfortable nights at Sandfield Guest House and enjoyed our visit. Host Paul was friendly and very consistent with COVID protocols. He gave us wonderful suggestions for dinners and breakfasts and the best ways to get around by bus. We felt very secure and safe on our first stop in the UK. It was easy to book the room and Paul is very responsive to emails. A great place to stay near Blenheim Palace. Lovely home!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 27 May 2022
Dear SiskiyouSusan, Thank you ever so much for reviewing Sandfield Guest House. I'm so glad that you enjoyed so much of what Oxford and the local neighbourhood (Headington) had to offer! Great also to hear that you appreciate our robust Covid protocols, personal service and local expertise! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, many thanks, Paul
Read more
Barbara H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Paul was at the door when I arrived. He was welcoming and friendly. The pre-arrival questionnaire is a lovely, personal touch and every request was seen to. It felt like home-from-home. Thank you for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 9 May 2022
Dear Barbara H, Thank you ever so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad to hear that you appreciated the personal service & enjoyed our home-from-home feel. I hope to welcome you back soon, much obliged, Paul
Read more
Gavin W wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom167 contributions72 helpful votes
The main issue when staying in Headington is the road noise, for me at least. Over the last three years I have stayed at every pub and b&b between The Plain roundabout and the Headington Co-op....less for Sandfield House - for it has always been booked. This time - having walked past their front door on more than ten occasions - I planned ahead and got a room. Imagine staying with a relative who you don't know especially well, but who prepares for you and treats you with unconditionally positive regard. That's like staying with Paul. It feels like a home, yet you are treated like a guest. Right from the questionnaire you complete and in which you indicate which amenities you would or would not like in your room, through to the personal greeting and various methods offered to contact Paul throughout your stay. My room was spotless, warm, comfortable - and the double glazing meant that I slept peacefully as though out of town, while being only minutes from town. I highly commend Paul and Sandfield guest house to you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: From all I saw the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 16 Apr 2022
Dear Gavin W, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience. I'm over the moon to read that you had such a pleasant, comfortable and positive stay here at Sandfield Guest House! Sandfield Guest House is lucky to find itself in the company of so many guest houses in Headington and Oxford... to be singled out for such high praise truly makes all the effort worthwhile. I very much look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Oxford... do drop me a line if you struggle to find vacancies in the future. More than obliged, Paul
Read more
leannwillis wrote a review Apr 2022
Poole, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
I travelled to Oxford with my daughter to attend the university. We arrived late evening and were greeted with a warm friendly welcome, shown to our beautiful rooms and had the best nights sleep, the mattress was so comfy!! Bathrooms modern and everything so clean. On a bus route to the city centre, Sandfield was a real find. It was only one night but already planning a return trip with the whole family to spend more time looking round this beautiful city
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Dear Mrs Willis, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience of Sandfield Guest House. I'm so glad to read that everything exceeded your expectations and very much look forward to welcoming you both back & meeting the rest of your family! Oxford is an amazing place to study so please do be sure to reach out if you have any questions or would appreciate some suggestions & tips for when you return to scout out the City... having lived here for over 35 years, if I haven't an answer to a question I can get one swiftly 🛎 Many, many thanks, Paul
Read more
Moira M wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
An excellent guesthouse with immaculate rooms and unobtrusive service. Very easy to stay there. Becoming my “go to” guesthouse in Oxford. Friendly and welcoming. Thoughtful owner with a “can do”attitude. Good connections for using public transport to the centre of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Dear MAMandSAM, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Sandfield Guest House. It's the best of compliments when guests return safe in the knowledge that service & comfort always come first. I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon, much obliged, Paul
Read more
Marianna S wrote a review Jan 2022
Peterborough, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I really enjoyed my stay at Sand field guesthouse. Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, sparking clean room, super comfortable bed, beautiful building and decoration with character, and many thoughtful touches. Paul is a very polite, responsive and reliable host who knows all about Oxford. Parking in front of the building. Great location with shops and restaurants near by. Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Anderson, Owner at Sandfield Guest House
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Dear Marianna S, Thank you ever so much for your kind words! It was great to read that you appreciated the vibe of the house, it's appearance, off-street parking, cleanliness, service..... well, everything really! I look forward to welcoming you back soon, Paul
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandfield guest house hotel oxford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandOxfordshireOxford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandfield Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Sandfield Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Exciting Game (0.5 km), Headington Shark (0.3 km), and Coco Noir (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandfield Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Sandfield Guest House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sandfield Guest House?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandfield Guest House?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandfield Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include C.R.A.F.T Burger, Acropolis Greek Taverna, and Beirut.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandfield Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandfield Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bodleian Library (2.6 km), Oxford Castle & Prison (3.3 km), and Christ Church (2.9 km).