Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (263)
Partial View of pitch, full view not guaranteed, max 2 ad & 2 kids
Room & Suite (416)
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Save more with IHG One Rewards
HK$695
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 43 hotels in Norwich
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience Norwich at our family-friendly hotel, which overlooks the Norwich City Football Club. We are located just a 15-minute walk from the city centre, a 10-minute walk from Railway Station and an approximate 20 minute drive from Norwich International Airport. You can visit the towering, 900-year-old Norwich Cathedral, with its famed medieval roof boss sculptures. Overlooking the city, Norwich Castle, hosts art exhibitions, and you can take a tour down to its dungeon. The nearby Norwich Theatre Royal has a lively programme of musicals and drama. For a family day out, take a leisurely drive to the unique waterways and picturesque countryside of the Norfolk Broads or the north Norfolk coast. The hotel's fully-equipped meeting room seats up to 14 attendees. At this hotel you can enjoy: -Free Wi-Fi -Small Mini-Gym -24h rooms service -Kids Stay and Eat Free (Terms and Conditions Apply) Start the day with a full English breakfast or just continental in the light
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Hindi, Hungarian and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Carrow Road, Norwich NR1 1HU England
1,310Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 584
  • 495
  • 165
  • 46
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Juliet Alicia wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had to make an unexpected trip to Norwich and stayed one night at the Holiday Inn.
I was not expecting such a comfortable and pleasant stay due to the rush of my visit.
I want to thank a receptionist (I think her name was Kat) who welcomed me, answered a lot of questions and went out of her way to ensure that I got in the correct cab for my evening out! I will definitely stay here again when I return to Norwich.
Juliet
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan L wrote a review Jan 2020
Halesowen, United Kingdom40 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What hotel can offer you a “box” view from your room...this one can! Rooms are clean and spacious rear rooms offer pitch view (some obstructed though) and can be pricy on game days (expect a lot of noise and rammed bar area). Food is good but limited and pricey. Car parking is outside of the football ground and can be packed. Overall good experience and close to lots of bars, restaurants and supermarket
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rear rooms for football pitch don’t open curtains when undressed on game nights 😉
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Thanks for the review and good to hear you enjoyed the stay. Yes match days are very busy but it's a great atmosphere and we hope you enjoyed the experience of it all and that we'll be able to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard M wrote a review Sept 2020
Broxbourne, United Kingdom469 contributions154 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked and spent a night at the Holiday Inn Norwich City, which is on the same site as the Norwich Football club. Easy to find and get around the city from. The hotel as all the Covid restrictions in place, but they did not impact on our stay. We booked using the IHG site which was slightly cheaper than booking .com. The only room available was a executive room on the 6th floor, nice views of the retail parks & train station. All the usual facilities in the room one would expect. Breakfast was buffet style, which you could actually go up and see, and ask to be served to you. Front deck and waiting staff all extremely friendly. Car parking costs an extra £6.95 per 24 hours, so if you arrive late, at least you can leave the car in the car park, for a bit of shopping. Check out is 12.00. The only gripe I could find is the internet does not have a connection, I was told it was hit & miss, something they need to get sorted as a priority. Well worth the money, 10 minutes or so walk into the main shopping area, plenty of bars & restaurants all open eager for business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: £10 or so gets you an executive room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
9801HeikeS wrote a review Feb 2020
Starnberg, Germany101 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked a room for three adults with two queen size beds and it was confirmed that way by the booking website. Upon arrival we were notified that we shall pay 150 pds extra because our son was already 18 (that's why we booked for three adults!). The receptionist then waived it for us as it was not a game day he said. Very strange policy in my eyes. Either I can book for three adults or not.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Hi, 9801HeikeS, We appreciate you looping us to your reservation concern for the Holiday Inn Norwich City. I am glad you are pleased with our hotels' cleanliness and rooms. We are thankful for the high ratings under these buckets. I understand you booked a room online for three adults and wondering why you're notified to pay 150 GBP extra because our son is already 18 upon arrival. I am sorry for the confusion. The 150 GBP is for the extra adult charge starting with the 3Rd adult on the reservation, which is not included in the price shown online. IHG sincerely cares about your experience, and I am happy to learn our staff was able to address your concern. I communicated your comment with the hotel management, who responded with genuine concern about the impact this had on your stay. I know they will make the necessary adjustments to improve the quality of our guest experience from the time of booking until check-out. We look forward to sharing your joy of travels. We promise to keep you inspired and make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorwichCarrow wrote a review Mar 2024
Sandgate, United Kingdom390 contributions172 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed at the hotel whenever we return to Norwich to visit friends, and have always been very pleased with our stays. This time I used a Reward Night to upgrade to a Premium Room. The hotel warned us in advance that there was renovation work going on in public areas, but this didn't impact on our stay at all as breakfast was still being served in the lounge area. The buffet was satisfactory with a reasonable range of items for a continental breakfast and staff were friendly helpful and welcoming. Our room is only slightly larger than a standard room and doesn't appear to have any extra facilities to justify the additional cost. The room only has three power sockets, two of which are already in use for the TV and expresso machine, nor are there any USB ports or sockets by the bedside to charge our phones. The hotel has ceased to provide bottles of toiletries and had pump action bottles by the wash handbasin and in the bath/shower. However those in the bath/shower are placed at a height such that only someone showering can easily access them. If you are bathing you must stand up to use them and then sit down as they are in a locked case so can't be moved. This surely represents a serious risk for a fall. Finally we could not find in the room any details of what facilities are offered by the hotel such as room service. All the staff we met were very pleasant and professional but we remain very unhappy about the value provided by our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian L wrote a review Jan 2020
Hothfield, United Kingdom221 contributions123 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Attended the Norwich v Spurs game. Parking a little tricky as so busy match day but still found a space in the hotel car park. Reception friendly & efficient. Superior room was good, comfortable bed & decent shower. We agreed the extra £15 each for the breakfast. Bar was very busy as expected but great atmosphere. After the game returned for another drink then went into town. On return the bar closed & asked for a large deposit for any drinks, didn't bother. Breakfast next morning was the usual buffet, however this one didn't have any eggs, bacon, sausage or beans left! Had to wait a while for anything. Clearly they were very busy but surely they knew had many people had booked breakfast? Had food but really poor quality & the wait was ridiculous. On checking out explained the problem with breakfast & they refunded its cost. I would certainly stay here again, just not bother with breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thanks for the review. On this particular day everybody came down for breakfast together so whilst we do know how many people we have for breakfast we cannot control when people come for breakfast and if everybody comes down together then we only have so much food prepared to serve to the guests. If we cooked huge amounts and left it just sat there we'd get complaints that the food was cold. On this occasion people did have to wait but if you read previous feedback breakfast is usually great so don't let one experience put you off and you said yourself it was very busy. Thanks for the rest of the review and I hope we'll see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AdventuresofGemma wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom303 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the first trip we took post lockdown. We found that rooms were clean and comfortable, extras were removed from the room (for example, hairdryer). However, windows could have done with a clean. Within easy reach to the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark bee wrote a review Jul 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 102, nice bathroom and big room, although wouldn’t say it’s worth the price we paid. Very dark and dingy, though the bed sheets were very clean and fresh, the room and bathroom could have been cleaner. The remote was dirty, toilet stained brown at the bottom I imagine from hard water. Spider webs in the corner of the room and just looked like it needed a general deep clean everywhere. We got back around midnight and wanted crisps at the bar but could not pay cash and had to go to the other desk (which the nice gentleman stated if we just wanting crisps he would charge the card £5 and not £50). Found it weird that we could not just pay cash. Had a fantastic night sleep, mattress and pillow really comfortable. Having air con in the room was great. It got to 10am and someone knocked on the door and it was house keeping, she claimed that she ‘accidentally’ knocked on the wrong door but her reaction said different. An hour later, we had house keeping knock again and we said we was leaving in a few minutes, she asked if she could put her door stop in the door so she could clean the room next which I did say that was fine. However, we felt rushed to get out of our room. I’ve worked in management in hotels, and I know house keeping just went to get the rooms done, but making it very obvious, rushing people to leave and ideally should just check with reception to see who has/hasn’t checked out without just trying their luck at the door. On checkout we was charged for parking but we thought we did on check in. The lady on reception was adamant we did not pay. After walking out of the hotel, my boyfriend checked his statement and said we had been charged for parking. I went back in and said we have been charged, until she checked and agreed we had been charged twice, her colleague came over and apologised on her behalf, really the receptionist should have just apologised but she didn’t seem to bothered. Easily done I guess but I feel customer service could be a lot better, considering this hotel is a bit more upmarket compared to other hotels, I think the overall experience could have been better. When I saw the prices of rooms on the wall (£200/£300) I definitely would not say this hotel is worth that sort of money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrsP wrote a review Aug 2020
Belper, United Kingdom143 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We found plenty of parking in the car park to the rear of the hotel next to the stadium no issues at all. Check in was steady as they double check your room is fully clean with the extra covid cleaning so no issues safety is high priority :) room was clean cool and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is ordered the night before and is served to you due to the regulations in your room or at the restaurant ... the cooked breakfast was nothing to complain about but the toast was burnt cardboard but staff quickly replaced and happy to help. The staff where all polite and helpful. Would stay again! Perfect little break and only a short walk into the city :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bill St Albans wrote a review Jan 2023
St. Albans, United Kingdom62 contributions61 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I phoned the hotel to pre-book a double room for an overnight stay following a Championship fixture between Norwich City and Watford which was being played next door at their Carrow Road ground. When being put through to reception, i found I was talking to a very pleasant young lady 4,753 miles away (as the crow flies) based in Kingston, Jamaica, who of course, was expected to be well trained and knowledgeable about what the hotel had to offer. We opted for a Premium Room with a view over the football stadium which was tastefully furnished and had all the facilities one would expect of a hotel of this standard. The bed was most comfortable too with room temperature control easy to understand.

During what turned out to be a trans-Atlantic call to the Caribbean, the customer services lady suggested we might like to go for the Special Deal which included a 3-course dinner. When we arrived in the dining room, we were told that several of the dishes on the menu were not available due to distribution problems but the Hunter Chicken that we eventually opted for turned out to be quite tasty and well cooked.
My partner asked whether there were any restrictions imposed by the deal and we were told the maximum cost per person was £18. Any figure beyond that would be added to our bill. Of the few main course choices available, almost all were around the £18 mark without a starter or sweet. We did order a sweet and to be fair, no excess had been added to the bill.

Car Parking, though limited on match days, was first class and at a reasonable cost.

Overall then, a good night's sleep in a well appointed room but the dinner issue and the inability to talk to the hotel reception for an advanced booking meant that in this case, I can only award 3 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very good for bed and breakfast but not up to standard with dinner.Many other choices in Norwich...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2023
Hi BillStAlbans, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Norwich City and for taking the time in sharing your feedback. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG® Hotels and Resorts. We aim to give our guests an efficient stay in a place that feels fresh and focused only on the features and services you need; I am sorry we did not deliver this time. I shared your sentiments with our hotel management and trust that proper actions will be taken to avoid this from happening again. Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence. Sincerely, Grace L. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JENNIE B asked a question Jun 2021
South East England, United Kingdom722 contributions106 helpful votes
Can I please check if the executive rooms only have a shower or do they have a bathtub as well ? Thank you Jennie
caz45Essex asked a question Sept 2020
essex29 contributions12 helpful votes
Do you have to pay for parking? Is the breakfast hot or cold? Thanks
Answer from Richard M
Broxbourne, United Kingdom469 contributions154 helpful votes
Hi.Caz45 Essex Yes parking is paid for only £6.95 for 24 hours, so if you arrive late afternoon you can leave the cars until the time you check in, and go off into town. breakfast is both hot & cold depending ho hungry you are or both, good cooked English breakfast. Enjoy your stay Dubai Dick
PollyD wrote a tip Feb 2024
Devon, United Kingdom371 contributions266 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask the price of a pitch view room "
Read full review
PrizeGuy wrote a tip Jan 2024
UK391 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early! Go for a room overlooking the pitch/inside stadium."
Read full review
Kimmykoo wrote a tip Oct 2023
Downham Market, United Kingdom143 contributions136 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If needed park outside the hotel."
Read full review
456alanf wrote a tip Aug 2023
Potters Bar, United Kingdom145 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel is perfectly situated for the football ground, but if you want to be in the city centre choose a different hotel."
Read full review
Stuart M wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the bar it is horrible"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Norwich area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$811 - HK$1,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn norwich city hotel norwich, norwich holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN NORWICH CITY, AN IHG HOTEL HK$876 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶0̶0̶1̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Carrow Road Stadium (0.2 km), The Red Card Comedy Club (0.1 km), and Riverside Entertainment Leisure Park (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste India Norwich, Estábulo Rodizio Bar & Grill - Norwich, and Delia's Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Hindi, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Ukrainian.
All Norwich HotelsNorwich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorwichHotels near Holiday Inn Norwich City, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire