Norwich Hotel

Traveller (215)
Comfy beds but very dirty headboards
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.0
#39 of 43 hotels in Norwich
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Finding an ideal budget friendly hotel in Norwich does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Norwich Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you. Free internet access is offered to guests, and rooms at Norwich Hotel offer a flat screen TV. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk and baggage storage. Guests of Norwich Hotel are also welcome to enjoy an on-site restaurant. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Norwich, Norwich Hotel is located a short distance from Tombland (0.7 mi) and Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell (0.8 mi). If you’re looking for a pub, consider a visit to Coach and Horses, The Belgian Monk, The Old Feathers, or The Black Horse, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Norwich Hotel. If you’re looking for something to do, Norwich Castle (0.7 mi), Cryptic Escape (0.7 mi), and Norwich Cathedral (0.6 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Norwich Hotel. Norwich Hotel puts the best of Norwich at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Public wifi
Restaurant
Laundry service
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
346Reviews2Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 42
  • 70
  • 93
  • 133
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Martin T wrote a review Oct 2021
Spalding, United Kingdom81 contributions64 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"You see", said the long suffering wife, "this is why I book the hotels", as we swung into the front car park of the Norwich Hotel. I could see her point. The asphalt surface might have been nice when it was first laid...about thirty or so years ago. Now it resembled a council vehicle parking lot, with more cracks than Boris Johnson's conference speech. As we went towards the front reception desk, over a carpet that has seen too many mucky feet and way too few cleaning products, I realised that things can be too cheap.

Having collected the key to room 11 (and the TV remote control, a first for us...), we went to our room. It was dismally small, with the bed hard up against one corner, meaning that the person nearest the wall would have to climb over the sleeping partner if they needed to use the facilities during the night. The bedhead had an integral audio/light control, popular in the 70's. Thing is, in the 70's they tended to be fixed in, and not wobbling about like this one. The carpet was about as clean as the ones in the rest of the hotel.

Visiting the bathroom was a moving experience. The towel rail moved, the floor tiles moved when you walked on them, and judging by the cracking, the walls occasionally moved. The tiles bore the red Rawlplug scars of redundant fittings. The toilet flush had the torrential power of a toddler on their first potty wee. The shower was ancient but adequate, as long as you watched out for the viciously slippery shower tray. Oh, and the door bolt was missing. You could tell that because the hotel kindly left a neat rectangle showing where it once was, complete with screw holes. At least you got to know what colour the door was previously painted (blue).

After a troubled night on a too-soft (but clean) bed, punctuated only by an enthusiastic couple in the adjoining room working their way heavenward at three in the morning, we checked out, bleary-eyed into the soft damp of a Norfolk autumnal morning. "Love", I said, "next time, you book the hotel"...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Keeley, General Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Thanks for letting us know. We are in the process of addressing the concerns you have highlighted, with a pending planning application to improve the premises. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew L wrote a review Sept 2020
Tamworth, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here in September 2020- cheap hotel for work , beds was fairly comfy... tv in the room is absolutely tiny, my tablet is the same size .. physically couldn’t watch it! Shower was rubbish , took ages to warm up ! The bar and restaurant are currently not open which we didn’t know until we arrived, although in a decent location ... Staff are all friendly ... ok for if your working away and need just a bed.but wouldn’t stay again. The room was always hot also , and it’s quite noisy outside on the nights I found!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paulw1002017 wrote a review Jan 2020
Climping, United Kingdom7 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wish I had checked here before booking. There is many mentions of 'its 2 star and appropriately priced' it isn't.

It is tired, dirty and poorly maintained. Cobwebs everywhere. Stains on the carpets. Dirty desk. Window in bedroom would not shut, but that was ok as you cant shut off the radiator going at full blast!! Cant open the bathroom window as the handle was lying on the sill. Decided to risk the dirty mouldy shower... took 18 minutes for any hot water to arrive! then you have the option of scalding or cold, nothing in between, oh and the shower tap came off in my hand(dont worry wedged it back on).... Walls are so thin that the next room snorer may as well have been in the same room. The girl on reception was very friendly, but neglected to tell us the wifi is still under the old name Lansdowne, or that breakfast is only available at weekends, not that I think I would risk eating there....... Terrible will never return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: in another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean K, Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We have informed our maintenance team of your concerns and hope to improve the experience. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danglemoongroup wrote a review Jun 2021
leeds194 contributions140 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A decade or two ago, you would have paid a pretty penny to stay here. The rooms were clearly done out to high spec at the time and this is good because they have lasted.....but are gloriously dated.

But once you get over that fact and remember the £45 you paid for a spotlessly clean, quiet room with free parking, 5 minutes walk away from the centre, you cannot be anything other than satisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Keeley, General Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Thank you for your kind response. We are awaiting a refurbishment to improve those areas that need care and attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerry_Haines wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom234 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We would usually go for Premier Inn or Travel Lodge, but they were fully booked.

So we went here instead . They had a large car park in the front, but it it was within walking distance of the Railway station - we went to see a concert in Norwich, but stayed the whole weekend to explore the City next day.

The rooms were clean, comfortable , and the shower and Bath both delivered hot water , and they supplied the small bottles of bath oil and shampoo , as well as a small individual soap.

Their had a decent breakfast menu, but we got up early and went straight out exploring as they had more vegan options in town. There was a bus stop close by and we used the bus service to reach the concert venue on Saturday, but the whole city centre was a short walk away.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and they also had a night Porter to let people in if you came back after midnight , as we did .

We never managed to get Roger Taylor’s autograph, but we liked our stay at this 3 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Keeley, General Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Thank you for your positive response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jade P wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelled from Wales with my sister neice and nephew for a family occasion only needed to stay one night... Have to say for a budget hotel it was great we had a seven hour drive and were tired arrived about 8ish maybe later were greeted by a lovely man and women on reception who were friendly and really helpful couldn't of been more polite... Our rooms were decent sizes and clean and the reception staff as mentioned were really helpful with us when ordering takeaways for our rooms we were to tired to eat out... Had good night sleep and would definately stay again.. Ample parking also thanks Norwich hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Keeley, General Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Thank you for your positive response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malcolm S wrote a review Jun 2020
Alcester, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We could not travel to Norwich Hotel in May. it was not an essential journey. We gave them plenty of notice. We cancelled. They were closed. We have received no refund. The other travel companies with which we had booked have given us a full refund. we are very disappointed with both the hotel and booking.com in not refunding our full costs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaky K wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom463 contributions123 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed. Shower was cold & unclean. Heating in room was terrible with drafty window Wifi didn’t reach the room which is main reason I book this particular venue. Stayed within Norwich before with much better standard.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean K, Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KandS wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A nice, clean hotel, great location 10 minute walk from the city center, train station 5 minute walk, on site parking. Lovely, friendly staff members. One of the most comfortable beds we've slept in and you can control the lights etc, from the bed itself which was a nice feature. The Room itself was clean and kept warm (sometimes to warm not that the girlfriend was complaining). Nice clean bathroom with a decent shower. Would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean K, Manager at Norwich Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Thank you for your positive response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
darrenhI821JP wrote a review Feb 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on a night out with my girlfriend. The pics and reviews for this hotel were not that great tbh but decided to give it a go because of the location next to town centre. Room was awful. Wondered why there was a bucket in corner of room and when it started raining it made sense as the ceiling was leaking!. Furniture in bad condition and a mattress that clearly is well past it’s sell by date added to the misery . Such a shame as hotel is in good location but is in serious need of TLC .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dom_Cummings wrote a tip Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom103 contributions500 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this dirty, old hotel with 1970s rooms. Book chain hotel for same price. "
Read full review
Brimad wrote a tip Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not 23, not 16 and not 17 !!!"
Read full review
paulw1002017 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Climping, United Kingdom7 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"in another hotel"
Read full review
JOHNBBJ wrote a tip Dec 2019
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom32 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not have room 36."
Read full review
Colin B wrote a tip Dec 2019
Felixstowe, United Kingdom92 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a filthy room and you won’t go wrong"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Norwich area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
lansdowne hotel and conference centre, lansdowne hotel norwich
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lansdowne Hotel & Conference Centre
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NORWICH HOTEL - Reviews (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Norwich Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Norwich Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Clued Up! Escape Rooms (0.8 km), Cryptic Escape (1.1 km), and Escape Hunt Norwich (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Norwich Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Norwich Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Norwich Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Norwich Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Gelato, Namaste India Norwich, and Gem of Norwich.
Does Norwich Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Norwich Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (1.1 km), History Mystery (1.2 km), and Norwich Cathedral (1.0 km).
All Norwich HotelsNorwich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorwichHotels near Norwich Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire