We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10 Arlington Lane Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.comUS$100
ExpediaUS$101
Hotels.comUS$100
Agoda.comUS$95
Vio.comUS$95
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 49 hotels in Norwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The George is a warm and friendly 43 bedroomed boutique hotel located in a quiet conservation area just off Newmarket road on Arlington Lane, 10 to 15 minutes walk from the City centre, making it an ideal place to stay whilst visiting Norwich and the surrounding areas. All rooms are en-suite, have free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities. All double rooms have air-conditioning too. From our standard rooms to our deluxe rooms you are sure to find a delightful room suitable for your requirements and budget. Within the hotel is our excellent Arlington coffee lounge and bistro, serving delicious food all day, open from 7am till 9.30 pm Monday to Friday and 8am to 9.30 pm Saturday and Sundays.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
401Reviews9Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 77
  • 23
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
joe wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
My partner booked the hotel for my surprise birthday celebrations. The service and canapés were amazing. Super friendly staff that couldn’t have done more to make my birthday so special. Our friends who hadn’t been there before were very impressed and many who live away from Norwich say they’d being staying there next time. A gem of a hotel in Norwich! We will be back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, so pleased you enjoyed your party and your lovely friends had a great time too. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard C wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom36 contributions47 helpful votes
My first experience of Best Western was excellent. A basic room, but a refreshing and clean design made the whole hotel very relaxed and comfortable. The service was excellent, very engaging professional staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. Your kind comments are much appreciated and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zanandu wrote a review Nov 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom16 contributions27 helpful votes
My third time at this hotel- as always excellent room, breakfast and evening meal. staff friendly and a joy to return to! It's easy to find, and the fact I keep returning is evidence of satisfaction of hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your brilliant review. We are so pleased you had another great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
greenie274 wrote a review Nov 2022
Wakefield, United Kingdom29 contributions43 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived the reception staff (sally) was very attentive and understanding they let us park at the hotel early so we could walk into Norwich to meet our son Sally said our room wasn’t quite ready but if it had she would have gladly let us have it The garden house was perfect lovely place to stay felt like home from home with 2 bedrooms one with bunks and the other on a mezzanine kitchen shower room large lounge with 2 sofas Good smart TVs with Wi-Fi connected 65inch and 48inc in the bedroom Samsungs so connectivity was great Very clean brilliant breakfast pick your own cereals and then order your cooked very good quality food served All the staff from the moment we walked in very brilliant Will gladly go back again and hopefully get the same room it was perfect for our family as our son lives there Thank you George hotel it was a pleasure
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Nothing they have a lot of spaces at front and rear the Arlington is great for that quiet coffee...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth C wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions6 helpful votes
Friendly staff, average food. The walls in this hotel are paper thin and I could hear the guest next to me snoring all night. The wall next to my bed also made loud cracking and popping noises due to the central heating or electrics - this was on and off like clockwork all night, I’m staying here for work and have only had a couple of hours sleep ready for my meeting.. You can hear everything in the other rooms. Room wasn’t cleaned to standard as there was public hairs on the bath. And an alarm clock went off at 7am which I didn’t request to be turned on, obviously I was already awake as I’d been awake all night! Avoid
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
I'm sorry you found the walls to be thin and you found 'Public' hairs on the bath. It must have been annoying that the alarm clock went off at 7am, thankfully you were awake as you said. Lets hope you find a hotel more suitable to your needs in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julie m wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Great location and such a wonderful hotel. All staff were friendly and extremely helpful.Our room was cosy and homely. We had an amazing meal at the restaurant , the food was outstanding especially the onion rings
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are really pleased you had a great stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N6754AYjenl wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I'm sorry to say that I can't give this hotel the glowing reviews like those I'd read before I went. Our room was supposed to be an executive room. It looked out at an enclosed roof space/ walls with air-conditioning units etc. Concealed by a roller blind that had damp stains from the condensation on it, these drip stains were also on the wall below. The bathroom wasn't spotless- a rogue pubic hair on the skirting, mouldy stained mastic, scaley taps. The divan has a massive stain on the upholstery, the paintwork has been touched up in a colour that doesn't quite match. The pillows are the worse of any hotel I've ever stayed in- they are like cement blocks. The room is dark and dingy, the dressing table is provided with a spotlight above it which casts a light like you're in the Bohemian Rhapsody video, rendering it useless for doing your make up under. I was disappointed, it was a special treat for my husbands birthday and it all felt a bit worn and grubby. I'd hoped they assign us one of the better rooms as they knew it was a birthday treat, I wonder if that was one of the better ones? 🫤. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, the breakfast and breakfast service was good. If you don't look too closely at the finish it looks stylish and modern.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear you were dissatified with your room. The George is a old Victorian building and we do our very best to keep up with all the maintenance issues on a daily basis. I am sorry there was a stain on the duvan and i will ensure the head housekeeper rectify this including the cleanliness of the bathroom. We do have a range of different pillow types and if you had let us know you were unhappy with your pillows we would have certainly changed them for you. I know we all have different opinions but this is the first time any guest has said this room is dark and dingy as we know it to be light and spacious and many guests like to stay in this room . Really not sure what you mean in regards to the Bohemaian Rhapsody video statement but if you ever wish to explain this I'm more than happy to listen. I'm a big fan of Freddie Mercury!! As said I know we all have our own opinions and I do hope that you do find a hotel that suits you better in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin G wrote a review Nov 2022
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom462 contributions137 helpful votes
We stayed 4 nights for e weekend break in Norwich. Everything about the George is good: room clean & comfortable with good facilities, staff, bar/bistro good atmosphere & food, wifi, parking slightly limited, location about 25minutes walk to centre of Norwich Shopping area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you felt everything was satisfactory and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susanjamson wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom15 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed for just one night at The George Best Western Hotel last Sunday (November) and it was absolutely wonderful. From the moment we parked our car and entered the hotel, we were made to feel so comfortable. Nothing was too much for the staff. The room was lovely, really well equipped and very comfortable. We loved our stay and would have liked to stay longer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick W wrote a review Nov 2022
Winchester, United Kingdom92 contributions48 helpful votes
Excellent hotel, really well managed and run, staff professional and friendly with excellent guidance under the F&M manager Ian, who was exceptional and made our stay even more pleasant. The food was delicious and can highly recommend the whitebait but everything we ate was tasty and beautifully cooked, so much so that we didn't bother to eat anywhere else the whole of our stay. Breakfast was also good. You know its good when the locals come and eat there and we met a few. The only point we can make is the bar staff should offer the full wine menu when you first ask what wines are available as I was only offered pinot, chardonnay and sauvignon, which was disappointing, only to find there were more choices including my favourite viognier. So many bars assume everyone likes one of the three main white wines. We will certainly recommend this hotel for a stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and take note of ensuring all our range of wines are readily available.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western norwich, norwich best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GEORGE HOTEL HK$717 (H̶K̶$̶8̶0̶2̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Norwich, England

Frequently Asked Questions about The George Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The George Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Norwich (1.0 km), The Plantation Garden (1.2 km), and The Forum (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The George Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The George Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Village Norwich, New Sole Plaice, and Blue Joanna.
Are any cleaning services offered at The George Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The George Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The George Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (1.8 km), History Mystery (1.5 km), and Norwich Cathedral (2.0 km).