We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20 Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB England
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
Vio.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (602)
Room & Suite (248)
Dining (100)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 49 hotels in Norwich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Norwich, Maids Head Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its historic environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Maids Head Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Norwich.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Maids Head Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Nearby landmarks such as Tombland (0.1 mi) and Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell (0.2 mi) make Maids Head Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Norwich.

While visiting Norwich, you may want to try some fish and chips at one of the nearby restaurants, such as The Georgian Townhouse Restaurant, Grosvenor Fish Bar, or Cafe Britannia.

If you’re looking for something to do, Norwich Castle (0.3 mi), Cryptic Escape (0.0 mi), and Waterloo Park (1.0 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Maids Head Hotel.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Maids Head Hotel is sure to make your visit to Norwich one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2319Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,310
  • 702
  • 199
  • 75
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul D wrote a review 27 Jan
2 contributions
Reputed to be the oldest hotel in England The Maids Head is ideally situated in Old Norwich. Surrounded by beautiful buildings and churches and within easy reach of the river and city centre. You can park your car in the free car park and walk just about anywhere in Norwich including the castle and cathedral. The rooms are very comfortable and the restaurant and bar areas very welcoming. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay there again. A perfect base for North Norfolk.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your very kind, high words of praise. It means a lot to our team and I know they appreciate the positive comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda B wrote a review 22 Jan
9 contributions
I was fortunate enough to spend time at the Maid Head Hotel between Christmas and New Year. From being greeted at reception when we first arrived to our farewell the entire stay was an absolute joy. The Hickling Suite (room 4) was beautifully appointed, providing everything required for a comfortable stay. We sampled the Wine Press Restaurant, both the service and quality of food was excellent, a particular mention to Chris for looking after us so attentively. Matthew treated us to a tour of Norwich in one of the vintage Bentleys, displaying great knowledge of the city and gave my husband and I very good advice about a local coastal resort that we would never have discovered otherwise. I was thrilled to see seals on the beach, a first for me. We enjoyed Norwich and I would whole heartedly recommend the Maids Head as the go to hotel and hope to return again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Such kind words that I know will mean a lot to the team, who do their upmost to look after our guests. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Hickling, dining in the restaurant and your tour. I will pass on your praise of Chris and Matthew to them. Thank you so much for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mickmukksa wrote a review 20 Jan
Nottingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
DAY 1 . We stayed for two nights to celebrate my partners birthday, we had two different bookings but I phoned to get an upgrade so we could remain in the same room for both nights. we were given room 401 which aroused my suspicions straight away as the door was open with the lock extended to prevent it closing. we went in and found a nice room the feature was obviously the old roof trusses either side of the bed, my partner asked if i would like a cuppa great says i oops no kettle after a thorough search of the cup boards yep no kettle, rang reception for a solution I'll put you through to some one who can help, hello kitchen can i help? I have no kettle in my room can you help? not really our job but I'll get someone to sort it for you. A nice young man in a suit arrived with a kettle and said I'm surprised they put you on this floor as it's closed for decorating this week. our room looks fine we'll have a cuppa and talk to reception on the way to dinner, the kettle was found to be dirty on one side 4star, we cleaned it ourselves. reception told us that they would move us the next day. Off to dinner then, we had a more than competent maitre'd until it comes to have a half of beer with your meal, i got the impression that i should really have had a wine, you didn't go to the right school matey. the food and service were as to be expected from a 4 star hotel but my beer was a closer relation to bread than beer. i took it back to the bar for an exchange and was asked sharply were did you get that from? delivered to my table says i, who by? same person who brings the food. I got an exchange a different beer, nobody changes barrels these days. so after a fine dinner we sat in the lounge and waited for service to get a coffee, ended up chasing some one to get one. we had coffee in a comfortable lounge with a lot of history and secret doors for staff only, nobody else did people seem to scurry off to their rooms these days. we had a noisy nights sleep and the room was hot no apparent control of the A/C, the noise ceased sometime after 03.00 an industrial fan somewhere outside at the rear. DAY 2. we went to breakfast to be greeted by who ever is in charge of the wine press, who informed us rather loudly that our booking was room only, and? says i, just put it on the bill then, lots of others come here just for breakfast don't they. we'll give you a complementary breakfast then. after breakfast we went to reception to sort out the lack of communication between computer and staff, where we were informed that breakfast was indeed included in our booking and to smooth things over they would upgrade our move that day and give us a bottle of prosecco for our troubles, i said if you read the booking details for day two it's already included as a surprise for my partner's birthday, which upset my partner as the surprise had been for when we came back from exploring Norwich centre. My partner was livid at this surprise being ruined and told the receptionist so. our new room was 412 which believe it or not is on the second floor and our neighbouring room was no. 4 with 219 opposite. you need a map to get around this place. rm 412 has 12 foot ceilings i guess very high anyway for these days. we had a nice four poster bed of some age (antique). my partner liked this bed but found out that at 5 foot and a bit she would be vertically challenged to get in and out, none too helpful for some one with a healing broken ankle. everything went as expected for the rest of the day as day 1 had prepared us to assume nothing is what you booked or thought you 'd asked for when upgrading your booking. summing up this place is totally unsuited to anyone in a wheel chair due to the amount of steps you need to up / down to get around to the places you will need during your stay. no doubt the maid's head was once the creme de la creme but not in January 23. The wine press restaurant has two sections one a thoroughfare between lounge and bar, the street outside. ( hotel back passage), and one more private ( not used while we stayed ). the other eatery was closed due to it being winter for obvious reasons. would love to know how and when this hotel qualified for 4 stars, unless it's on price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I'm not normally lost for words and since I have been told to modify my usual responses, I will issue the regulatory, if some what boring, response. I am so sorry that there appears to have been some issues with the room you were first allocated. It is true that the 4th floor was closed off due to redecorating. I believe you had requested a walk in shower and for some reason you were allocated that room. We obviously have others with walk in showers. The second room you moved to, our Paston suite, is the most popular and requested of all our suite's and I am sorry if you did not like the complimentary upgrade we provided. We do not mind which type of drink you wish to have with your meal. Your beer was exchanged for a different one because the bar member did not want to leave you waiting any longer, as to give you something else to complain about. I am yet to find the "secret doors" you speak of. But rest assured, if I do, I will happily "scurry" through them to see what awaits the other end....maybe the missing kettle from 401? We have many happy, returning guests year after year. I am so sorry that you obviously won't be one of them.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Notsominijo wrote a review 16 Jan
Ipswich, United Kingdom272 contributions91 helpful votes
We’ve stayed here several times now and never had a problem free stay, silly little things each time, this time we were in room 401, dreadful view of the dirty pigeon poo covered roof of Spoons (I think) but I suppose town centre location to be expected, also had to listen to the air conditioning droning most of the night, but on the plus side it has a car park, it’s a short walk into town or a nice Sunday walk round the Cathedral, really enjoyed my breakfast, shame the pancake machine was out of order! And the staff are friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. I am sorry we cannot guarantee a majestic sweeping view...city centre locations with roof laden sky lines tend to put paid to that. At least you enjoyed breakfast and walking around the cathedral.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Uday T wrote a review 15 Jan
London, United Kingdom1771 contributions406 helpful votes
When we checked in we realised that tehre was a familiar feel to the place including car tours of Norwich - we had stayed at a sister hotel in Cambridge which we highly rated, and the Maids Head lived up to the standard It has parking, which was initially hard to find The building is old and timbered and creaking, with various floors, fabulous to explore Nice size room, good bathroom facilities, good wi-fi, clean and quiet Best thing is it is so convemmnient to explore Norwich from Close to the cathedral and just a short walk to the river Staff were friendly and helpful We had a good time here
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff friendly and helpful. I hope you return soon. May I suggest a visit to our other property, The Ship in Brancaster so that you will have completed a hatrick!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacks wrote a review 1 Jan
Peterborough, United Kingdom31 contributions12 helpful votes
Thank you to all the staff who made a Christmas stay a memorable one. You all went above and beyond to make it special. Midnight mass at the Cathedral, although lengthy, but well worth it. Our Bentley drive was fab. We are looking forward to Christmas 2023 already.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us and are planning on returning for Christmas 2023.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mcress2018 wrote a review Dec 2022
Burnham Market, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
I had an accident just before arriving at the hotel. the hotel have been exceptionally kind and supportive in allowing my car to be left there and turning what could have been a nightmare into a nice evening
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am so pleased we were able to help make your time with us enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kath H wrote a review Dec 2022
Lincoln, United Kingdom4 contributions
I’m pleased I didn’t read the negative reviews before we went for Christmas as our experience was the opposite. 2 seniorish couples did the 4 night Christmas break and had a lovely time. We couldn’t believe the variety and quality of the food and a nut allergy was no problem at all. We had to preorder all our meals except breakfast which seemed a nuisance at the time but it meant that all meals were delivered efficiently and they didn’t run out of turkey on Christmas Day. Breakfast was a bit slow at times but I think as everyone was on holiday 9am seemed a popular time. The staff were all cheerful in spite of working very long hours. All the little extras, mulled wine, mince pies, Buck’s Fizz and champagne on Christmas Day, walking tours and a ride in the Bentley all made it feel special. We talked to many guests who had been going there for years and I think we might be joining them.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms 104, 106 face inward and don’t have view but are quiet, away from the car park and road.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words of praise towards our staff and your Christmas stay. The team work very hard, and often very long hours, to ensure our guests are happy. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kath wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
Visited for a Christmas party I expected the food to be good it was terrible!! Service was fine the staff where doing a good job so this issue is definitely down to the kitchen. I had the soup for starters it was awful like someone had tipped the whole pot of salt into it greasy and looked shocking. The rest of the food was just as bad I agree 100% on the reviews of how bad the Christmas party's have been.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2022
I am sorry you did not enjoy your Festive meal. Please contact events@maidsheadhotel.co.uk to discuss further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob1742 wrote a review Dec 2022
Market Harborough, United Kingdom172 contributions90 helpful votes
Been here several times, location is excellent, parking good and we like the historic aspect of the hotel. Would prefer breakfast to be on longer though. Norwich has a great deal to offer in the evening and again we had to pop into the local spoons for breakfast as we missed the 9.30 deadline. Nice place though, just great to walk into town.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Tony, Guest Services / Front Office at Maids Head Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2022
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, due to the tight turnaround from clearing the restaurant from breakfast to lunch and setting up for Afternoon Teas and any functions taking place, we feel two hours and a half hours ( 7-9:30) is most appropriate.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maids head norwich, hotel maids head
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAIDS HEAD HOTEL HK$759 (H̶K̶$̶8̶7̶7̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Norwich, England

Frequently Asked Questions about Maids Head Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Maids Head Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Clued Up! Escape Rooms (0.4 km), BugzUK (0.3 km), and Cryptic Escape (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Maids Head Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Maids Head Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Maids Head Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maids Head Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Gelato, Turtle Bay - Norwich, and Ruth's Kitchen.
Is Maids Head Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Norwich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Maids Head Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Maids Head Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Maids Head Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (0.08 km), History Mystery (0.4 km), and Norwich Cathedral (0.2 km).
Is Maids Head Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.