Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (183)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (102)
Restaurant
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Save more with IHG One Rewards
HK$696
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#21 of 43 hotels in Norwich
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Five minutes' walk from Norwich International Airport, Holiday Inn® Norwich - North hotel is 15 minutes' drive from the city centre. Alternatively, leave the car in the hotel car park, where parking is available for a small fee, and walk to the nearby Park and Ride stop for a bus into town, where Norwich station is served by direct trains to London. Park, Stay & Go packages are available. The 12th-century Norwich Cathedral, with its soaring spire, and the masterpieces at the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts are both 20 minutes' drive from the hotel. The Norfolk Broads' rivers and lakes are a 45-minute drive away. An hour from the hotel, enjoy a tour of the royal Sandringham Estate's grand country house and vast gardens. Business guests are a 20-minute drive from Broadland Business Park. At the hotel, seven flexible spaces, including an event suite with a state-of-the-art light show, can host functions for up to 600 people theatre-style.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Solarium
Steam room
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Norwich Airport
651Reviews6Q+A97Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 194
  • 225
  • 132
  • 59
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rpuk6 wrote a review Jun 2023
Hampshire106 contributions50 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was quick and efficient and general information provided without the need to ask.
The room was clean and modern, bed was very comfortable and provided a great night’s sleep, bed linen clean and fresh.
Walk in shower bathroom was spotlessly clean with ample towels and nice toiletries.

We had a light dinner which was adequate, nothing special to write home about, the macaroni cheese lacked cheese. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice available.

Only downside is that when you look closely it is quite rundown in some areas and poorly maintained, a lot of the paintwork is chipped and noticeable. The bottom of the bathroom door is disintegrating. Small things that are easily rectified if kept on top of.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Petal80 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for just a bed for a overnight stay then this hotel would be sufficient. If you are travelling as a family and like some home comforts to make life easier then look else where.

Good points- staff friendly, reception area welcoming and clean.

We were in a room directly above where they did the laundry and there were some huge fans. The fans were really noisy all night and the beds are really firm and quite uncomfortable.

We had only 4 pots of milk with our coffee/tea supply in the room which wasn’t sufficient. It did say we could go to reception and get more however who wants to have to do that..put more than needed in problem solved!

Food was not great and we didn’t feel it was worth what we paid. I would recommend eating out you would get more value for money and it would be better.

The room surfaces and carpets were generally fair in terms of how clean they were, it could have been cleaner. We had a bottle left out on the balcony full of cigarette ends (luckily we didn’t venture out there). In our bathroom the paint was coming off the ceiling and a window in the room had gaffer tape on it for some reason.

As for letting them know our thoughts, I doubt our opinions would influence a huge change and trip advisor is a good platform to inform potential travellers.

This is a quick overnight stay just for a bed anything else look for something more luxurious and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Hello Petal8018, We want a pleasant stay for our guests at all times. I am sorry to learn that issues with noise, the lack of in-room amenities, and your unsatisfactory breakfast experience made us miss the mark. I am sorry for the letdown. I have alerted the hotel management regarding your concerns, and I know they appreciate your sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. I am hopeful that your future stays with us will be pleasant. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
derek b wrote a review Jul 2021
Oldham, United Kingdom45 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a relaxing 4 night stay at the hotel. Check in was quick, everything explained - no charge for car parking at present.
Breakfast is now buffet style again in the restaurant, but the cooked items are served rather than help yourself. The food was always hot and eggs were only cooked a couple at a time so weren't left swimming in oil. What stood out at breakfast time was that the staff worked as a team, the lady taking room numbers would be serving the hot breakfast items if needed, the person serving hot items would be clearing tables when it was quiet, even the hotel manager appeared helping out.
We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but ordering of food, drinks was done by means of a tablet, which was very easy to use. Tables were regularly cleared, cleaned, and back into use.
This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel and we are already looking forward to another visit next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
footsteps123 wrote a review Oct 2021
10 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Shocking - ate there for lunch today as I’m a regular visitor to the hotel for swimming and the service was terrible. The lady, Sylvia who was serving was rude, blunt and not very customer friendly. Everything seemed too much for her. Drinks took ages to arrive, and there was no staff to be seen when needing additional items or when it came to paying the bill, even after having to go to the receptionist to ask for assistance. There were very few customers there but I’d be surprised if any came back after customer service like today. I book this hotel all the time for the executives I work for, hence my reason for giving it a try myself, I think I will be finding them somewhere else now!

On the pool side, throughout my visit there were two members of staff in the office and not once in the hour was I there did one of them come and mop/clear the excess water from the floor surrounding the pool. This happens every week and we as mums have to kneel on the wet floor to change our babies as there are no other facilities for little ones. The least that can be done is helping to keep it try, if nothing more it’s a slip hazard with how wet it gets with e retune getting in and out of the pool. Come on people, you’re not paid to just sit and chat!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry A wrote a review Aug 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom1,110 contribution295 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am an IHG member and used points for this stay so it didn't cost me anything except points. The hotel was very easy to find and is very close to Norwich airport, although I only heard a couple of planes during our stay.
When we arrived there were signs stating that we need to register our car licence (presumably because it is next to Norwich Airport) but when we spoke to the reception they stated that because of COVID the cameras were not recording and parking was free (normally costs around £4 in 2020). The check in was quick and easy and we were on the first floor (room 315). The room looked very clean but we used antiseptic wipes on all the handles and buttons to be sure. My one gripe at this stage was curtains that had clearly been burnt by previous customers smoking out of the window - these should have been replaced. The room was similar to other Holiday Inns I have stayed. During our two night stay the room was not cleaned but I see this as a good thing as it reduces COVID risks and frankly for two nights stay it doesn't need it until after we leave.
although we decided not to have breakfast here we had a drink on the first night in the restaurant and ate there on our last night. Each table has a QR code which you scan to get to an order app where you order all of your food and drink to save going to the counter. This worked well and the drink and food come very quickly.
During our stay they only had bottled drinks (no draught beer) which I presume is another COVID precaution and the food was delivered in cardboard boxes instead of an a plate which was a little off putting but it did not affect the food quality so not a problem.
Overall the hotel was what i would expect from Holiday Inn except for the last night where we had no hot water for a shower. I thought that maybe it was because it was late at night so decided to wait until the morning but it was still cold. I tried calling reception but it was constantly busy so in the end I called house keeping who told me that the boiler had broken the night before and they were waiting for a part so no shower for me.
When we checked out there was no mention or apology which I felt was very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hi Barry A, Thank you for choosing our hotel to redeem your Reward Nights benefit. Nothing makes us happier than hearing positive remarks from our dear guests like you. I am delighted you got the chance to experience our cleanliness standards and hospitality service first hand. We have always wanted to create a superb lodging experience for all of our guests. I’m sorry the issues with the hot shower and level of check-out service were less than helpful in providing you a faultless stay. We aim to offer everything you need and to spare you from anything that could bother you. I appreciate you making us aware. I have shared your comments with the hotel management to identify the areas that require improvement. I trust the efforts taken will help maximize your next stopover. We value your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member. I hope you will give us another chance to impress you in the not too distant future. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daviemck wrote a review Dec 2020
18 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Without a doubt the worst food I have ever eaten in a hotel. Due to Covid food delivered in boxes to the room but it’s not the fact it’s in a box it’s the quality of the foods the the hotel owners are giving the poor staff and expecting them to serve. It’s also expensive. Have to use this hotel for work but would advise against eating here. The hotel staff are great though. The meal pictured is a chicken snitzel and was over £20
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Hi Tomh1t, I'm glad you chose our hotel for your visit to Norwich. Thank you for staying. We promise a comfortable and convenient experience for all of our guests. I'm sorry you experienced issues with the stay, especially with the food served. I can see these dampened your visit. Trust that I alerted our management about this so we can make the necessary changes to better our service. I also sent a private message to assist further. Despite that, I'm glad you found our staff friendly. We appreciate your feedback about your stay and looking forward to your next travel. Many Thanks, Rein V Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna5 wrote a review Jun 2022
Heacham, United Kingdom211 contributions151 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here several times using the excellent Stay and Park package.

The Hotel has improved beyond recognition from our first vist. The rooms are clean with very comfortable beds and good quality linen, also an excellent shower.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful . We had a very good meal in the restaurant followed by a peaceful night, unfortunately we had a very early start so could not sample the breakfast.

Our car was very conveniently parked in the hotel car park , it is only a short walk through to Norwich airport.
This certainly makes an early flight much easier to cope with.

We will be back for our next holday in the Autumn.

Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norton nomad wrote a review Feb 2020
Norton, United Kingdom149 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Being a regular patron of the Holiday Inn I am always impressed with the friendly front of house and restaurant staff.

Unfortunately during this latest visit I was checked in to one of the 3rd floor rooms not long after the hotel had experienced a power cut which I was made aware of at check-in. However, what I was not made aware of was that the heating system control panel did not work through the night and the electric radiator in the room seemed to be nothing more than a ornament as the fuses had been removed. The ambient room temperature soon dropped to that of the outside conditions resulting in my sleeping in full clothing and socks. I appreciate this was out of the ordinary as I normally have a great stay at the hotel but I was disappointed having not been pre-warned about the heating issue resulting in a poor nights sleep prior to work the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Hi Sean8050, Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent visit and your continued business with our hotels. A comfortable and worry-free stay is what we always want for our beloved travelers. I'm sorry that your stay became less than stellar due to the issues with the room temperature. Our hotel's goal is to make each stay memorable but fell short. We appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. I'm sure that the management team will do the necessary actions to prevent this from happening again after sharing your comments. I hope to see you back at our hotel again and regain your confidence. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carley O wrote a review Oct 2021
coventry uk296 contributions166 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Broads. It was picked mainly for my past experiences with Holiday Inns and the face they allowed dogs.

We booked an executive room as from the description and pictures it included extra comforts like a sofa. Upon entering the room we were dissatisfied to see this room was very shabby, smelled and there was no sofa or anything to suggest that this room was more.

There was marked walls, chipped paint and the room smelled musty. The heating didn’t work properly, so we were cold. Bed very hard and pillows like sandbags.

On day 2 we were out all day and returned in the evening to discover the room had not been cleaned. I tried to call reception but low and behold the phone didn’t work (think it was a prop). I was too tired to march down to reception. I just wanted to sleep.

I reported my disappointment to reception on checkout and was not supported in anyway. Parking was also £4.95 extra a night. Bit of a stretch, this is Norwich, not Mayfair. Would not stay or recommend.

Only getting 2 stars as dogs are welcome. However this should not be an excuse for us to sleep in a kennel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t bother with an executive room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Hi Carley O, Thank you for taking the time to express your concern. We make sure that our hotel is your home away from home, with the advantage of not having to worry about anything. I am sorry to learn about your disappointment with the general upkeep of the room, maintenance issues of the in-room amenities, and the level of customer service you received. Know that we value your feedback and have shared this with the upper management of the hotel for review. It helps us ensure we provide the high standards of service and lodging experience we aim to reach. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for the perfect visit that you deserve. Warm regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wuroak34 wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed two nights, not most scenic place, but convenient if you travel to airport. Facilities are very old ,swimming pool was much too warm, too small and changing room was at least clean but definitely need update. The hotel room's wall was too thin, I could hear next door. Cleaning can be improved though it is not too awful. However they are lovely staff, very helpful, professional and eager to help. We stayed spacious generous room. Needs towel rail to dry wet towel. Restaurant food - avoid them, such low quality food but breakfast was great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Altea88 asked a question Feb 2019
Suffolk, United Kingdom441 contributions188 helpful votes
Is the airport within walking distance and how far? Thank you!
Answer from Steve5839
Manchester, United Kingdom777 contributions329 helpful votes
It is, but its a tortuous route
nelson p asked a question Jan 2019
Lowestoft, United Kingdom3 contributions
What time can you checkin ?
Answer from Steve5839
Manchester, United Kingdom777 contributions329 helpful votes
I think most HI are from 2 pm, but for a fee they will allow earlier check in.
Answer from Sue H
Northants5 contributions15 helpful votes
Not sure about the gym but there were kids in the pool
slidewinder asked a question Jan 2017
Huntingdon, United Kingdom14 contributions21 helpful votes
can I park my car at the hotel while away for six days`/
Answer from Kevin R
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Yes you can park your car. I parked mine here for two weeks whilst offshore. The room, breakfast & parking all cost under £100. Bargain!
Hazel wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool and gym were open and easily the best, never felt that we shouldn’t be there. There were busy times, but there are notices."
Read full review
Raveena wrote a tip Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom3 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go to this hotel."
Read full review
Celeste Forest wrote a tip Sept 2023
Rugby, United Kingdom294 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Warm pool. Parking fee "
Read full review
Kathy jackson wrote a tip Aug 2023
46 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"avoid the place"
Read full review
Lindisfarnegirl wrote a tip Mar 2023
Reading, United Kingdom101 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't leave a tip after your meal."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Norwich area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$796 - HK$1,117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn norwich, norwich holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN NORWICH - NORTH, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Highball Climbing Centre (0.7 km), Manx Transport Heritage Museum (1.1 km), and Funkys Roller Skating & Adventure Play (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oaks Brewers Fayre, The Bull, and Airways Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cryptic Escape (4.4 km), History Mystery (4.6 km), and Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell (4.5 km).
Is Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Norwich HotelsNorwich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NorwichHotels near Holiday Inn Norwich - North, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire