We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Save
Share
Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW England
Booking.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
Vio.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (431)
Room & Suite (150)
Dining (35)

About

#10 of 11 hotels in Middlesbrough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
3* Hotel, with 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres of beautiful land, leisure club with 25m heated pool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym. Our Old Poste House bar & restaurant serves great food and drink at no-nonsense prices. Are you a group of Contractors, Builders, General Tradesmen or an individual staying away from home and looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay in the Teesside area? Well, look no further.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Walking tours
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1021Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 223
  • 235
  • 165
  • 255
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Charlotte P wrote a review 15 Nov
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
The worst experience I’ve ever had in a “hospitality” venue and still suffer the after effects to this day; humiliated, degraded and I even feel that I was discriminated against. I cannot believe that this establishment is still allowed to trade. I was subjected to drug misuse (cannabis being smoked which billowed through the window), a filthy room, no stringent COVID protocols, called a liar- that I was “trouble” upon complaining, and the “manager” EVEN questioned (in front of other guests at the reception desk) my professional occupation and then doubted that I was a Christian who goes to church! The “lady” guffawed me on these points AT RECEPTION as the hotel had billed me for two nights , whereas I only stayed the one night. Upon my complaint for a refund of the one night which I did not stay, she nonchalantly said “well I’ll refund it now but I can’t promise that we will take it from your bank account at a later date”. Crying and asking for my card back, I was asked to leave and threatened with both security and the police if I did not leave. Upon leaving by my own accord, the first thing I did is cancel my bank card. I attempted to complain numerous times as well as my mum but was eventually threatened on an email that the hotel would contact the police on harassment basis. I’ve never had an apology and that is all I wanted to resolve the situation and absolutely no conflict whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Stephen H wrote a review 6 Nov
Embarassing. I have stayed before so i knew what to expect, and this is not much believe me, so i didnt have any particularly high expectaton at all. Food - terrible Breakfast - cold Room - not cleaned properly and not cleaned often enough. Staff - reception seems to be a little agravateed with questions put to them. Generally EXTREMELY RUN DOWN HOTEL from the rooms, the carpets, to the broken showers, bathtubs and dated furniture. Even the windows and doors are run down. more like a 2* run down pub than a hotel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: ask for room to be cleaned properly and skip breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deano1984newman wrote a review 5 Nov
Margate, United Kingdom139 contributions69 helpful votes
The Hotel is very dated but the rooms are standard and sufficient. They are clean enough and comfy enough. They have adjoining doors between rooms which are not good as you can hear you neighbor breath! The swimming pool and gym are very good and free to use. The breakfast is very basic but again sufficient to start the day. Good choice of hot plates but limited on fruit selection. Pastry’s are available and again limited but sufficient. The bar area is the saving grace of this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly the choice of drinks are great and affordable and various deals on half price drinks depending on day of weeks. The evening meals are great and really affordable and they have a different special on every evening. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere in the bar is great with BT and sky sports. The owner needs a pool table though!!! All in all I stayed here for work purposes and was more then enough for our needs would I stay here with my wife and family? Probably not.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The evening meals and bar area is great, rooms very basic and dated
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
doncasterstu wrote a review 2 Nov
Doncaster, United Kingdom150 contributions111 helpful votes
stayed at this ...well I can't say hotel, this......building whilst working in the area. it looks to have been built in the late 69s and may have had a lick of paint in the 80s but my god it's tatty. bed very uncomfortable and had to close my window (217) at night due to the ingress of cannabis smoke from somewhere. to top it all our van was broken into which we reported to reception who told us that a manager would check cctv and ring us with the result. Has any call at all been received?????.....NO. the only plus side was that the breakfast only cist 2 quid extra making the cost 60 quid for the night minus the 300 quid for a new window and 50 quid for the theft of some items it's cost me 410 for the night. value for the night was the 2 quid for breakfast. Poor hotel, poor service, non existent security and absolutely zero customer relations. Anyone working in the area please avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gillian M wrote a review 2 Nov
stockport1 contribution
The room was lovely with patio doors onto the garden. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and welcoming. We had our dog with us but the hotel made it so easy for us to have the dog with us at all times. Really excellent value for money. Looking forward to staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sporting Lodge Inns, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Stanley Thank you for leaving a review and giving feedback. We are really pleased you were happy with your stay. We will pass on all your praise to the staff mentioned. Hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Turned up payed money. Asked receptionist if we could take our drinks through from the bar to pool area. She replied yes. In hot tub was approached by a member of staff who told us this was not that type of establishment and asked us to leave.. they refused to give us our drinks back or a refund, they Spoke rudely and Was made to feel like a criminal
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sporting Lodge Inns, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank You for your review. I apologise that you were told the incorrect information however it is standard practise in most Leisure clubs as we are not classed. as a Spa. I myself was on duty that day and after speaking to my gym staff yourself and your group became irate and were asked to leave the area with a full refund and your bottle of prosecco back. I once again apologise that the information you were given was incorrect. Kind Regards Sporting Lodge Inns
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin J wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom439 contributions150 helpful votes
2 families of ours stayed over for one night only & were pretty impressed. Plenty of rooms, around a large green space, with a super gym club attached- the kids made the most of the pool, as it’s shared with residents. Good cheery & helpful staff, too
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sporting Lodge Inns, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Kevin, Thank you for your review. We are so glad you have had a great experience with us at the Sporting Lodge Inns, we thank you for leaving your review. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Sporting Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
+1
I've stayed in some horrible places but this hotel trumps them all. From driving into this hotel it looks run-down and shoddy. I know looks can be deceiving so I thought I would give it a try anyway. Oh, how I wish trusted my gut instinct. I checked in and headed to the bar for a quick pint. The smell of urine in the outside corridor was horrendous, the ammonia burning my eyes. The attitude of the bar staff was shocking, they are rude and was acting as if they belonged in a playground. I drank up and decided to head to my room to clean up. Wow!! The room was filthy, with marks on the floor, urine in the toilet and rubbish all over the floor. The bed was creased with hair in it. It hadn't been changed. I headed to reception to voice my concerns. The girl behind reception was very honest and stated that my room hadn't been cleaned from the last occupant as they didn't have time. I was lost for words that they would think It was acceptable. When my room had been poorly cleaned I headed to bed. The door wouldn't lock from the inside. Worse night's sleep ever. I could hear everything, snoring, talking, toilets being flushed and the banging of doors. It was unbelievably hot. I decided to skip breakfast and check out early as I had a long day planned. After seeing the state of the rooms, bar and general areas on the show I was concerned the kitchen may be the same. All in all, terrible hotel. I've had a better night's sleep in Helmand.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sporting Lodge Inns, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are shocked to see that you found the corridor smelt of urine as the hotel is cleaned throughout every day. We do apologies that your room was not cleaned. We will look into this as this should never happen. We are 140 bedroom hotel so as of the noise complaints of snoring and flushing toilets, that's something out of our control. People do snore and do need use of toilet. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie H wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
I stayed here for one night with a small group of work colleagues. I am absolutely astounded at how poor place this was. We went to the bar to take the edge of how run down this place was before we took our bags to the room, the bar area seating was all worn, and the place stunk of urine and damp. one of the barmen's attitude was foul, tutting and complaining at one of our party changing his order (before he made the drink and put it through the till). We even After checking in, we visited the rooms, and they were very dated, all in need of a refurb. One of the four rooms wasn't even cleaned from the last person. Rubbish on the floor, bedsheets used, blood stains on the carpet. Another colleague's door wouldn't lock so we had to wait and get the door secured. We chose to eat out not use the meal allowance as it didnt feel nice. There is no irons, board or hair dryers in the rooms and sockets for charging devices are limited. No safety catches on any of our doors or windows. The walls of the rooms are so thin you can hear everything. Snoring, alarms, people using the toilet. You can hear everything! Rooms were very hot during the early hours of the morning, and no air con to regulate. Didnt fancy opening a window with no security latch!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sporting Lodge Inns, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are shocked to see that you found the corridor smelt of urine as the hotel is cleaned throughout every day. We are in the process of refurbing rooms. We are 140 bedroom hotel so as of the noise complaints of snoring and flushing toilets, that's something out of our control. People do snore and do need use of toilet. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zoe wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I have just had my wedding here and everything was perfect the staff were helpful, lovely checked in on me and my partner to make sure everything was ok and our suite was so beautifully set up for us loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 27 Sep 2022
Hi Zoe, Thank you so much for your feedback, honestly you guys where amazing, we are so happy you enjoyed your special day, you looked beautiful and we cannot wait to welcome you in a years time for your anniversary, once again congratulations and we wish you a happy, healthy future. Regards, Sporting Lodge team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sporting lodge inn middlesbrough hotel middlesbrough, sporting hotel middlesbrough, middlesbrough sporting hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireMiddlesbrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MIDDLESBROUGH HOTEL - SPORTING LODGE HK$437 (H̶K̶$̶4̶9̶2̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - England

Frequently Asked Questions about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Cluedini (6.0 km), Enigmatology Escape Rooms (5.3 km), and Tees Transporter Bridge (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Brazilian Steakhouse - Middlesbrough, Turtle Bay - Middlesbrough, and The Zetland.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ormesby Hall (4.9 km), Church of St John the Evangelist (5.4 km), and Dock Clock Tower (6.7 km).
Is Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.