We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
83 Gower Street Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
US$162
View deal
Official Site
Agoda.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (442)
Room & Suite (329)
Dining (66)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Arosfa Hotel
Updated 01/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#200 of 1,198 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Arosfa Hotel London by Compass Hospitality is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Greek, Portuguese
2016Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,267
  • 596
  • 94
  • 35
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Raffaella44_01 wrote a review 8 Aug
Milan, Italy41 contributions32 helpful votes
Great location in Bloomsbury near to many undergroung stations (Victoria, Northern, Piccadilly lines). Easy walking distance to British Museum and St Pancras. Room very clean and comfortable though small being a single room. Good breakfast served in a lounge area looking on Gower St opposite Waterstones. Friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Yol44 wrote a review Jul 2022
chicago42 contributions11 helpful votes
Location was good & safe, however, staff was terribly rude, rooms are not what are shown in add - the place is very old & needs a lot of updates. Ceiling fans do not work, rooms are terribly small. Mice in "courtyard" & unkept with ladders & scaffolding. No outlet in my bathroom for a hairdryer - only have 1 iron to pass around & they would get terribly annoyed when asked for especially when I asked for ice! Breakfast was ok but not like pic shown. Cleaning lady left cleaning towel on the table next to my bed. I went with a family group of 6. Single room was smaller than a jail cell with no fan. They don't have bell service so you have to lug your suitcases up the stairs & their reception area is a joke! We also had a power outage!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you know room dimensions, always get AC & mini fridge - always read ratings
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Whissonsett wrote a review Jul 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom41 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed here overnight before catching a train to France. It was ridiculously expensive but that's just how things are in central London. Nice to be within easy walking distance of the British Museum and also St Pancras. Our room was in the basement - in fact, underneath the garden patio; it was tiny and a bit cave-like but actually very cool, comfortable and incredibly quiet. The staff were very pleasant and breakfast was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you want peace and don't suffer from claustrophobia, ask for the basement!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Francesca A wrote a review Jul 2022
Rome, Italy708 contributions302 helpful votes
+1
One of the worst experience in London. I do not know if my room was different from the others and I have been in the only horrible, dirty and smelly room of the hotel! So dirty that I need to put towels on the floor to avoid touching the carpet. So smelly that the windows were open even if outside there were scaffolding and allarm bipping every 2 minutes. So so so not clean that I found the WC not flashed with feces in it. I slept and rin away at 6.30 am to avoid that dirty place. Picture of the breakfast room are all sooo fake. Dirty, old, sticky! I paid 231 euro 1 night for sonething that really could be worst that some hostel. Broken plugs (be careful not to get electricity!), no bulb in the applique. Horrible! Horrible! Horrible
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Florinda Martins, General Manager at Arosfa Hotel
Responded 9 Jul 2022
Dear Francy 72, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As for the beep, it was really horrible but it was from the somaphore we have next to the hotel, and nothing to do with the work of the council or the scaffolding, sometimes things happen that we cannot predict or fix because they are out of our reach. As for the room, we are solving these small problems, we have already scheduled the electrician to come to the hotel, the paint has already been purchased to repair these small damages that are caused by the customers' luggage. I am sorry that a very busy time has come and that we cannot have solved these small problems yet. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
710alan78 wrote a review Jun 2022
Yorkshire, United Kingdom52 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here as it was in the right area and the reviews were OK. I'm unsure which room they had, but let me tell you about ours. The carpet was badly stained, all the paintwork was chipped, two 3/4 beds in the room. Lamp shade looks like it might burst into flames, 6 bulbs in the chandelier, only two working. Broken electric socket on the wall. Bedroom furniture chipped and also flaking paintwork. The bathroom has been upgraded, but had a broken seat and black mould on the grouting. Although the bed sheets looked clean I opted to sleep on top of the bed. The room looks like a £30 B&B, but cost £179. Absolutely dreadful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Florinda Martins, General Manager at Arosfa Hotel
Responded 9 Jul 2022
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As for the room, we are solving these small problems, we have already scheduled the electrician to come to the hotel, the paint has already been purchased to repair these small damages that are caused by the customers' luggage. I am sorry that a very busy time has come and that we cannot have solved these small problems yet. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yael G wrote a review Jun 2022
Austin12 contributions3 helpful votes
It's a lovely hotel with clean rooms. We slept great. The service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious. All around wonderful. There are two main issues that made me give it a 4 instead of a 5. 1) It needs updating. Peeling paint, old carpets, etc. It just needs some updating to take it up a notch. 2) I am from the US and the "family" rooms at this hotel are small. 4 people in those rooms is a TIGHT squeeze. So just be warned. The beds are doubles not queen size. Americans as used to much bigger rooms for a family of 4. If you go in knowing those limitations, you will love this cute, friendly, and charming hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Penelope A wrote a review Jun 2022
Larnaca, Cyprus2 contributions
Pleasant & comfortable en-suite room in a delightful character property within easy reach of shops, cafes & restaurants. A lovely lounge area where breakfast is served, opposite Waterstones in Gower Street. Staff friendly & ready to be of assistance. A relaxed & homely atmosphere in the heart of Bloomsbury.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HMJ wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
+1
Location is great. This is a single room you may get. Just make sure you have seen these photos so when you check into room 10 you wont be surprised. If these were available for a view for customers before booking, that will be fair. I couldn’t hang my clothes in the wardrobe due to damp, mould (?) smell.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Henry d wrote a review Apr 2022
Heerlen, The Netherlands514 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
First time I stayed in this hotel, it was nicely decorated, clean and modern, the breakfast turned out not to be included, but that was fine with me as I liked to eat out or in my room. Nice view on the hotel garden. Close to British Museum and tube stotion. Within walking distance of Kings Cross-St Pancras (eurostar) When my Eurostar train was cancelled at the evening before my departure, I was most grateful to the lady at the desk for helping me out and book another train. It was late at night, in fact a bit over her normal working hours and yet she made such an effort to help me: priceless.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: At the back is view of a garden, bit quieter than the street street side.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Florinda Martins, General Manager at Arosfa Hotel
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Thank you for the great review and kind words of Arosfa Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cliff_taylor wrote a review Mar 2022
Stafford, United Kingdom330 contributions152 helpful votes
Basic accommodation, small room, good breakfast, good attentive receptionist, who was the waiter in the morning too. Ideal location in between the West end and Euston station. Basic but it provided all we needed for a one night stay, we go to London to see London and not the inside of a hotel room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Florinda Martins, General Manager at Arosfa Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2022
Thank you for the great review of Arosfa Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Florinda
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$147 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arosfa hotel london, arosfa london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arosfa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arosfa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include London Cocktail Club Goodge Street (0.5 km), THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.5 km), and Grant Museum of Zoology (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arosfa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Arosfa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Arosfa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hibox, Hiba Street, and Palms of Goa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arosfa Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Arosfa Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.3 km), Tower of London (4.2 km), and Houses of Parliament (2.6 km).