We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells

Save
Share
Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$88
View deal
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (351)
Dining (48)
Room & Suite (46)

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1293Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 606
  • 327
  • 198
  • 115
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Abarilla wrote a review 2 Feb
Kent36 contributions71 helpful votes
My fiancée took me here following his proposal and we were treated like royalty. The 4 course menu with wine pairings was fantastic and the manger was very attentive. We couldn’t have asked for more. Thank you Hotel du Vin. We couldn’t ask fir anymore.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us and congratulations again to you both! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ollie B wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
+1
We had a lovely time at the Hotel, the room was nice and clean and the downstairs bathroom was a lovely feature, all of the staff from the receptionist who checked us in to the bar and waiting staff through to the housekeeping lady where all very friendly and couldnt have been more friendly and helpful, me and my partner will deffonatly be returning again soon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 5 days ago
Hello Ollie, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enojyed your expereince and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew B wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Lovely hotel with beautiful view over Royal Tunbridge Wells and nearby park. Lovely friendly staff, who make sure your stay is one to remember. Lovely delux room, fantastic bed and superb bathroom with all mod cons. Lovely Bistro, superb Waitress and delicious choice on the menu. Lovely hotel which l picked for my wife to convalesce after the disappointment of a cruise cancellation. 4 night stay which was totally relaxing and enjoyable and without any doubt we will return. Only one downside , the rude person who decided to swap my reserved parking spot for a smaller place! This of course was another guest. But other than this it was all Lovely,lovely, Lovely. .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: De lux south facing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 1 week ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enojyed so many aspects of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma P wrote a review Jan 2023
Worcester, United Kingdom13 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed here to break a journey between London and East Sussex and took the opportunity to explore a town we have never visited. The hotel is in an ideal position. In advance of our visit, the staff were super helpful and proactive in reply to a comment I made on our booking. Our room was great - super comfortable bed and luxurious copper bath. Check-in staff were pleasant and directed us to parts of the town to visit. Evening meal in the restaurant was delicious and served professionally. The breakfast staff ensured our cooked food was exactly as ordered which seems to be a rarity if you request a smaller portion! Thank you for your care and hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and exploring ourlovely town. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again inthe future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We had a wonderful experience working with the staff at Hotel du Vin for our company Christmas party in December - using the Lombardy room as a function room throughout the day, as well as for a meal and drinks in the evening. We had a large group of employees attend, including global team members, who all had a lovely time thanks to the kindness, efforts and enthusiasm from the Hotel du Vin team. Both the hotel itself and function room were classy and ambient, and perfect for any festive event. Working with Sophia and Lyndsey to co-ordinate the event was a true delight - they very kindly welcomed any ideas and contributions so that the event could be more tailored to our company and team. The front of house staff (including Lauren, Lily and Tiffany) were always on hand, and so helpful and welcoming to our visiting guests. Eryn (General Manager) was wonderful to meet, and the clear enthusiasm that she has for her role can be seen throughout the team. All meals (breakfast and dinner) and drinks served were delicious and much appreciated, especially when catering to a large group such as ours. We are all incredibly grateful to have experienced such a wonderful day and evening, encountered such a warm and inviting venue and team, and are very much looking forward to collaborating with the team again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
A heart felt thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. It was absolutely our pleasure to host you and your colleagues over the holidays and I'm delighted you felt so well looked after by our team. We look forward to welcoming all of you back next year to celebrtae the holidays. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna Y wrote a review Jan 2023
25 contributions6 helpful votes
We stayed here overnight last week and it was incredible. Just so lovely, warm, very welcoming and all the staff were so helpful and friendly to us. Very luxurious and five star definitely. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mjd6888 wrote a review Jan 2023
Tonbridge, United Kingdom190 contributions111 helpful votes
We have previously stayed at Hotel du Vin and we’ve been meaning to return at some point. We had a one night stay in one of the suites and it’s fantastic, very well stocked and is a huge space. The bed is very comfortable and does have nice views out to the parkland. Staff were really great and attentive. Didn’t eat in the restaurant for dinner but breakfast was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to have had the ooportunity to welcome you back and to have met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welome you back again soon. Many thanks,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Sparrow wrote a review Jan 2023
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
A classy TW venue - great ambience, lovely back drops for photographs and real quality in depth. Our party enjoyed an excellent three course menu, some lovely house champagne and wines in a private room hosted by an excellent waitress called Freya. Lily at the front of house was just as good!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are so pleased you were so well looked after by our team and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael M wrote a review Jan 2023
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom6 contributions
Thanks to Sophia and Lindsey my wife's surprise party on the 30th at the HdV in Tunbridge Wells was a great success. The wine, Canapes and surrounding's was just what was needed. All of the staff were perfect but a special thanks to the young lady who served us all night wine and canapes who looked after us all most royally
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. It was our pleasure to host the celebration for your wife's birthday and we're so pleased you were so well looked after by our team. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben D wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in the Chateau Boudec suite to celebrate our engagement. The suite was spacious, well laid out and very clean. When checking in the staff were friendly and welcoming and explained the layout of the hotel well. The suite has a great view overlooking the park, and the ice skating rink that was there in December. The location is great, easy to walk around Tunbridge Wells from there. It was easy to reserve a parking space ahead of time. Unfortunately the noise in the suite was incredibly loud. It was difficult to get to sleep and then we were woken at 5am by footsteps and dragging of furniture amongst other noises. I am usually a very heavy sleeper and even I could not sleep through the level of noise! We informed the front desk of this when we checked out and I my impression was that this was something that they are aware of.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring earplugs to Chateau Boudec!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Eryn Dawe, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and spologise for any disturbance caused due to noise. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks, Eryn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel du vin and bistro
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentRoyal Tunbridge Wells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DU VIN & BISTRO TUNBRIDGE WELLS HK$659 (H̶K̶$̶7̶5̶3̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Royal Tunbridge Wells, England

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Nearby attractions include Calverley Grounds (0.3 km), Trinity Theatre (0.2 km), and Assembly Hall Theatre (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Follia, Zorba Meze Grill, and Kitsu.
Is Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Royal Tunbridge Wells.
Does Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Penshurst Place & Gardens (7.4 km), Groombridge Place - Enchanted Forest & Gardens (5.5 km), and Dunorlan's Chalybeate Spring (1.4 km).
Does Hotel du Vin & Bistro Tunbridge Wells have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.