We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ England
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$89
View deal
Hotels.comUS$97
ExpediaUS$97
Trip.comUS$93
Vio.comUS$93
eDreamsUS$89
EtripUS$97
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (396)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (44)

About

#6 of 14 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
1102Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 444
  • 331
  • 193
  • 86
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jimmythefoodie wrote a review 25 Jan
Faringdon, United Kingdom279 contributions111 helpful votes
Comfortable room with modern facilities. Centrally located with free off road parking. Friendly service. Breakfast was served, not buffet, which although adequate was painfully slow. Otherwise a pleasant convenient stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SiMcPherson wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Fantastic stay from start to finish! Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful location, delicious food (dinner and breakfast). The pool is small but we enjoyed our afternoon and morning swims. A perfect place to spend our 30th anniversary!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Thank you for your kind feedback, we are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Choc-loving-50 wrote a review 23 Jan
London6 contributions8 helpful votes
We booked the Simply Sunday Package. We got to swim in the pool (bracing!), had some great cocktails at the bar, and then a sublime dinner at the the Orangery. The meal, and the service, was faultless. My partner keeps mentioning the duck and shallot starter, the steak main and the wine... just perfect. Gorgeous bathroom, luxuriously comfortable bed. This definitely made up for some minor ropey room decor (mirror and trestle tables from a decidedly unstylish 1970's TV set). Overall, highly recommended, great value, we will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Roberta Š wrote a review 15 Jan
London, United Kingdom29 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I have stayed there this weekend with my partner, it was an anniversary weekend. This hotel is lovely, its my second time staying there, its always nice to see what room you are going to get, as all rooms has different design. When we arrived we been told steam room is closed for maintenance, i feel like this could've been communicated in advance, as you are staying in spa hotel and expecting all facilities to be working. Pool itself is lovely, however water in the pool is freezing, i think temperature could be higher Restaurant was fine, nothing impressive, i was disappointed with the selection of starters, ordered mushroom and truffle mouse, it tasted horrible, but staff did not come to check on our food, forgot to leave us a table water i had to get up and constantly ask for stuff while they had chat by the bar with each other. Reception ladies were very helpful and nice, very welcome on our arrival, couldnt ask more, professional. I would defiantly come back, but minor improvements needed when it comes to Restaurant and pool.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and found reception staff friendly and helpful. We do however apologise that there were areas that could have been improved upon. We recently refurbished our steam room and unfortunately there was a technical fault which occurred on Saturday resulting in the closure of the steam room at short notice, I do apologise for any disappointment this caused. Please be assured your comment about the pool temperature has been noted and shared with our leisure team. Finally, we are very sorry that you were disappointed with your starter and service in the restaurant, I understand our server Nicholas spoke with you and service was removed from the bill but no other issues were raised, I do apologise if this was not the case. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniela515 wrote a review 8 Jan
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited the SPA Hotel for our Anniversary. We had lovely memories of the Hotel because it’s where my husband and I met and we wanted to mark the occasion by staying there again. I spoke to a member of staff asking if we could have a quiet room. On our arrival we were not disappointed. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable, we were welcomed by beautiful decorations and chocolates. We had a lovely stay, will definitely go back. Thank you for making our special day amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us and were able to celebrate your special occasion in such a sentimental way. We sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivetree01 wrote a review 2 Jan
London, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here to celebrate my boyfriend’s 40th birthday and we had a wonderful time. I was able to communicate smoothly with the hotel beforehand via email to arrange things, and the service we encountered during our stay was excellent. Our room (a spacious one) was huge and very luxurious, and the bed was extremely comfy. A special mention for the restaurant - the food was really exceptional and they also brought out a mini dessert for my boyfriend’s birthday, which was a lovely touch. I’d highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice mini break in Tunbridge Wells.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your amazing review. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us and that the team could make your special celebration as enjoyable as possible. We are delighted you would recommend us and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flutefairy wrote a review 2 Jan
Borough of Brentwood, United Kingdom449 contributions348 helpful votes
We have just spent our 18th New Year’s Eve at the Spa Hotel, as we keep on returning you can guess we are very satisfied customers. As usual, we attended the New Year’s Eve Gala dinner dance which started with champagne and canapes in the Chandelier room, then we moved next door to the beautifully decorated Royal Suite for the main event, as usual this was a very enjoyable occasion. The five- course dinner was delicious (I had the vegetarian meal, and my husband chose the meat option, both were equally good), the service throughout the evening was excellent and the evening ended with dancing after the meal was finished and more champagne at midnight. The Spa hotel was built as a private house about 250 years, other areas date back over 140 years to when it became a hotel and other parts are newer still, consequently not all bedrooms are the same; personally, I like this as each trip can be a little different. Some rooms are traditional others are decorated in a more modern style. On this occasion we had a lovely spacious room on the third floor that had a wonderful view of the hotel’s gardens and beyond. Everything was very clean, the King -sized bed was comfortable and plenty of storage space was provided . The bathroom was also spacious and clean, with room for a large walk in shower and an entirely separate bath tub. Our room had air conditioning but I’m not certain that every bedroom has this. Since the rooms are all so different if one has special requests such as: the need for completely step -free room access, air conditioning, garden view or you just need a very quiet room then it’s best to book directly with the hotel and specify your needs at the time of booking to ensure a pleasant stay. Whilst staying we used the hotel’s swimming pool. Although the pool is quite small, I have never known it to be crowded. Towels can be collected at the swimming pool reception and a token to enable one to lock the lockers. The pool felt a bit chilly at first but was ok once one started to swim. The hotel also has a gym but as I didn’t use this so I cannot comment upon it. Outside there are lovely grounds to be enjoyed – these are especially nice during summer days. We stayed an extra night and had dinner in the Orangerie Restaurant – a pleasant conservatory style venue. Service was excellent and the food well cooked and tasty. The menu is currently rather limited (although we had no difficulty in finding something we liked). I daresay that in these difficult economic conditions it may not be commercially viable to offer a larger choice of dishes at present. The hotel is in walking distance of Tunbridge Wells town centre so other eating options are available if the Orangerie is not to your taste. Overall, we had a great time. Thank you to all the staff who made the experience so enjoyable. We look forward to returning for the 2023 New year party (if not before).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel if you special requests
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for another wonderful review. We are so pleased that, year on year, you continue to return and enjoy our New Year's Eve events. We are also delighted that your stay was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed the facilities, found staff friendly land liked your bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you again in December if not before.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anne s wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We were caught in the snow storm on Sunday evening on our way to our Hotel, but had to turn back it took us 5 hours to drive just over 8 miles. We saw the Spa and stopped…so wished we hadn’t… the receptionist was so unfriendly it was amazing no concern for us, our room was ok it was supposed to be a superior room as there were only three rooms left we were charged the full £420, and were told that they were only expecting 18 guests but because of the weather they were full, the restaurant was closed as it was 9pm, again no concern that we were cold and hungry, room service was available so we ordered two salmon bagels 1.5 hours later it came. We went down to breakfast and the tea and coffee were virtually thrown at us the toast us not toasted. I always thought this was at least 4* hotel l wouldn’t give it 1* we have had better service in a travel lodge. I did complain and was told that because of the weather they were short staffed, so? Does that mean the staff on duty couldn’t be polite and helpful. They did refund us the £24 for the two bagels but nothing for the room no goodwill gesture just a load of empty excuses. We certainly won’t be going back and friends who have asked us about the Spa Tunbridge Wells, we have told to stay clear. Cannot believe a hotel of this supposedly good quality could treat guests so badly, it was my birthday too so that won’t be a memory l will treasure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. We were saddened to see this review as we felt we had explained our situation with you directly and would have had some understanding. Our team too had a very difficult and tolling evening, being short staffed and then having to accommodate more than 3x the number of anticipated guests, however we were very glad to have been able to help so many people. We have had several emails and reviews from guests who stayed due to the heavy snowfall and all of which were immensely grateful and highly complimentary of our teams handling of the situation. We are sorry that you experienced something so different, as we explained to you directly we have addressed this with the team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WellsBird wrote a review Dec 2022
South East England, United Kingdom131 contributions65 helpful votes
This is a nice hotel in a stunning setting and most of the staff were friendly andhelpful. It would have scored 4 stars but for two reasons: -the lunch menu could be more imaginative - maybe a winter soup with herb bread and cheese? This kind of thing might also attract more non-residents to eat there and give the restaurant more of a buzz. - the bigger, personal dealbreaker for me is the considerable distance from the restaurant to the disabled loo. It took ages to get there and back, really disrupted lunch and left me exhausted. Things got worse when I mentioned this to member of staff who actually referred to ‘handicapped’ people in his response. I’m an ordinary woman who can’t walk very well and wants to meet up with pals like everyone else. I found this outmoded language surprising and offensive. A training issue for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 8 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you thought the hotel was nice and staff were friendly and helpful. We do however apologise that you felt the lunch menu was lacking something, your comments have been passed to our chefs to take into consideration. We are also sorry that you felt the accessible toilet was too far from the restaurant or any offence caused by the language a member of our team used, I trust that this was a miscommunication or language barrier however the team will be spoken to about this. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
megpol wrote a review Nov 2022
england164 contributions59 helpful votes
My annual November visit did not disappoint. From correspondence prior to stay and throughout it was, as I have come to expect from the Spa, excellent. They always place our rooms close to each other as I request. Mum has a blue badge and they reserve a spot for the whole of my stay which is waiting on my arrival close to entrance. They cater well for a gluten free diet. Breakfast delicious, the poached and scrambled eggs perfect. The roons were very clean & warm, lovely linens, nice toiletries. I would really have to nit pick to find fault. I was so pleased to see Alice at front desk, everyone is lovely but she is exceptional, a ray of sunshine, very helpful and welcoming, a real asset to the hotel. Just booking my next stay!.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Spa Hotel, Marketing at The Spa Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and continue to visit us annually. I will ensure Alice and the rest of the team are aware of your very kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in 2023!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the hotel royal tunbridge wells
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentRoyal Tunbridge Wells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SPA HOTEL HK$689 (H̶K̶$̶9̶2̶4̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Royal Tunbridge Wells, England

Frequently Asked Questions about The Spa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Spa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tunbridge Wells Forum (0.9 km), Calverley Grounds (1.1 km), and Trinity Theatre (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Spa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spa Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Da Claudia, The Mount Edgcumbe, and Toad Rock Retreat.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spa Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Spa Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Royal Tunbridge Wells.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Spa Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Spa Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Spa Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Penshurst Place & Gardens (6.5 km), Groombridge Place - Enchanted Forest & Gardens (4.3 km), and Dunorlan's Chalybeate Spring (2.8 km).
Does The Spa Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.