Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa

Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa

Traveller (1630)
Room & Suite (483)
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 33 hotels in Southampton
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Set on a small, private marina with a striking ’super yacht’ style design, our critically-acclaimed flagship hotel is known for its stunning contemporary interiors, luxury facilities and outstanding customer service. Opened since 2017, it has earned Southampton’s only five-star designation to date. The 119 luxury rooms including 10 suites which all come with 400 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, waterfall showers, Nespresso coffee machines and Bramley all-natural toiletries as standard. Most rooms and suites have views over the marina, or out across the Solent to the Isle of Wight.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
City View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

5 Maritime Walk Ocean Village, Southampton SO14 3QT England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Eastleigh Airport
Bournebouth Intl Airport
33.8 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,660 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

While the Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa boasts a prime location with stunning marina views, some guests consider the high cost not to fully match the value due to overpriced amenities. The rooms are generally appreciated for their comfort and complimentary gin, despite occasional noise and room allocation issues. The hotel's amenities, including the luxurious spa and comfortable beds, receive acclaim, though the spa can get crowded and public spaces feel small. The vibrant music and atmosphere, particularly in the HarBAR, provide a lively experience, albeit sometimes overly loud for some. Cleanliness is well-regarded in rooms, but there have been remarks about the pool area needing improvement. Service is a highlight, with staff members earning praise for their friendly and professional approach.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,660Review47Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,365
  • 185
  • 67
  • 28
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rebecca W wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to start this review thanking the staff and mentioning the incredible service from the hotel. We did have a number of small issues throughout our stay which was disappointing for a 5* but the staff really did try and make up for the issues. I called a number of times before to book the restaurant and ask about the spa and the service was incredible from the first phone call. Staff are extremely helpful.
Check in was great, super helpful and gave us a fantastic room. Drinks on the 6th floor were great and lovely views.
Hotel decor is Incredible.
Free parking.

The bad points-

Spa has kids times which we weren’t told about(I did call before booking to confirm times and use of spa facilities but was not informed of these times) so when we arrived the whole spa was packed with kids and no where to even sit. Be aware of these times before making your plans. One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because of the spa and we didn’t get to use it. We had planned our stay quite well, arrive, lunch, spa, dinner etc so was a little sad when we couldn’t use the spa.

We called reception and spoke to the manager who was very apologetic and sent us some bubbles to apologise which was really lovely and we were very grateful! We thought this would be the end of the bad issues and with bubbles we were again very happy and moving past not being able to use the spa. They did also offer for us to use the spa at a later time or the next day (not between 8.30-10.30 as that’s kids time) but we had other plans sadly but they did try accommodate us.

We then decided to stay in for dinner and order room service. Myself and my partner both work extremely long hours and the temptation of room service in a beautiful hotel room watching Netflix was the best! We called and ordered loads of food, pizzas, sides, desserts etc. We then got a call back saying 3 of the dishes we ordered were not available. The room service menu is quite small so this really limits what was available so there didn’t seem like much. There were no basics like pepperoni or ham pizza and no salad etc.

I completely understand if they are out of stock and it’s no one’s fault however was disappointing and we were really looking forward to the food. We decided to order from zizzis Instead as we were wanting pizza. After talking to reception and asked if we could have some cutlery to our room due to having to order from elsewhere. No cutlery arrived so we had to go to the 6th floor and get it ourself which wasn’t a huge issue but just annoying considering we just wanting to sit in robes and eat pizza in bed.

We were offered complimentary breakfast because all of the little issues which was very very kind. Breakfast was great, again, service was incredible however we yet again had some issues! I ordered well cooked fried eggs and they arrived with no yolk- strange. I then spoke to a waitress walking past who apologised and said she would get me some eggs with yolks. 20 minutes later no eggs. We had finished our breakfast so I mentioned we hadn’t received the eggs as we were leaving. The manger from the restaurant was extremely apologetic and said they had been cooked but no one knew who they were for.

Checking out was super busy but quick. They gave me a bag of miniature spa goodies from the spa to again apologise. They made every effort to fix the issues and try make our stay better so I cannot fault that. The service was incredible and every single member of staff was fantastic. I would call these issues “teething issues” which can be easily fixed.

I tend to always stay in 5* accommodation so maybe my expectations are high. I am grateful for the staff being fantastic and we will likely return still. Just a shame as this hotel could easily be 10/10. The efforts they made to fix my experience was above and beyond which is why I’m still giving 5*.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Xiaomin Sun, Guest Services / Front Office at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2022
Dear Rebecca W, Thank you for your 5* review following your recent experience with us at Southampton Harbour Hotel and Spa. We appreciate the time that you have taken to give us your feedback. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and our team helped to rectify quickly regarding to some issues you encountered. We have taken a good note about all the points you have raised and we are grateful for your understanding; All of our team are doing our best to ensure that our guests have a fabulous experience and lots of great memories. We would like to take the opportunity to thank you again for your review and we hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, Xiaomin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnthG82 wrote a review Oct 2020
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to start by saying if I could give this Hotel more than 5***** I would. It deserves many more than 5.

Before I get in to the review I’d also like to pay special thanks to the general manager, Attila AE Domby, a truly remarkable individual ensuring customers are satisfied.

On arrival I was greeted by a gentleman on the hotel car park, this individual kindly removed my luggage and handled the parking of my vehicle.

In reception it was of course masks on, temp testing and hand sanitisation, the check in experience was really great, we really felt welcome and like the staff wanted us to be in the hotel. A great overview of the hotel and surrounding area was given, while our luggage was taken to the room.

When we entered the room (standard double) we couldn’t have been happier, and the views were simply stunning. The room boasted a queen size bed, flat screen TV, twin sink, walk in shower room, wardrobes, dressing table, free Sherry and Gin. I must add the bed was so Nice to sleep in, I forgot to add the floor to ceiling windows looking over the quay and out to sea.

The bar on floor 6 is stunning of an evening, great selection of wine, beers etc all priced reasonably, breakfast is served in the same area on floor 6, it is a beautiful way to start the day. Again breakfast is super nice and reasonably priced given the location, views etc.

The spa is small but very cute, the pool is very clean, steam room and sauna the same. Booking systems are in place due to covid 19.

The hotel location is brilliant, with some stunning walks around, the city centre is maybe 15 mins walk but very much worth it, the location has shops, bars and cash machines all around so really you can stay by the hotel.

The hotel looks so amazing outside and that is replicated inside, the housekeeping team do an unreal job in keeping the hotel looking flawless.

I do not have one bad word to say about this place. It’s simple brilliant and another fantastic offering under the harbour hotel chain.

Thank you to everyone who made my stay so brilliant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Xiamoin Sun, Guest Services / Front Office at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Southampton Harbour Hotel. The team will be overjoyed by the kind and positive comments you have mentioned in your review and I will be sure to communicate this with all. We really do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. Kindest Regards Lukasz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Fabregasuk wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was lucky enough to stay in one of the suites which has a “wow factor” and relaxing view of luxury yachts bobbing up and down on the glistening, sunny harbour. If you want to splurge and get what has to be the best hotel room in Southampton, then this is the place to do it.

A ginormous suite with a huge double sink bathroom and products from the White Company was adorned with a Nespresso coffee maker and complimentary sherry and gin.

Tasteful furniture and a very comfortable, huge bed finished the suite off in style.

But the wow factor is that wrap-around terrace. It comes with outdoor furniture and enough space to hold civilised, socially distanced drinks with friends.

All the terraces had great views straight on to the (quiet) harbour.

The rest of the hotel is top notch. Reception couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful. Concierge and spa the same. There’s a lovely little pool with immediate access to another terrace on the harbour, which was ideal for afternoon sunbathing. The indoor hot tub was very relaxing.

There are well maintained hygiene stations everywhere, especially where buttons have to be pressed, eg the lifts.

The food at breakfast was very good, the usual selections of continental items and cooked English breakfasts.

I had a pizza at dinner which was delicious. My guests had a posh fish and chips and another had a burger which he said was one of the best he’d had.

The location was glamorous and the accommodation has a real wow factor, and I’d recommend for a romantic get away, a spa splurge (note the sauna isn’t open for COVID reasons as at end of August 2020) or if you just want to get away from it all. It had that “doesn’t feel like England” vibe to it.

Free car park opposite the hotel. Decent free WiFi. Bottled water was complimentary.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Xiamoin Sun, Guest Services / Front Office at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear Fabregasuk, Thank you for your lovely review and we are over the moon to receive such accolades. This will be great encouragement for all the team, who are very much engaged in delivering a memorable guest journey filled with Harbour memories! We hope to be able to welcome you back to Southampton Harbour Hotel soon. Best Regards, Xiamoin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Feebee_mama wrote a review Jan 2020
Walton-on-thames, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Southampton Harbour Hotel for the night before our cruise holiday. The hotel was booked through a comparison site on a pay on arrival basis, we booked a standard room. We booked parking directly with the hotel.

On arrival we met the lovely reception staff and were checked in quickly and smoothly. We had been upgraded to a deluxe marina view suite with balcony and what accommodation it was!! Wonderful touches in the room are the complimentary drinks (gin and sherry, usually enough for a large measure each of both, presented in decanters), the selection of books, in room mini bar and turn down service. We had a wonderful meal in the Jetty Restaurant using an offer they had available and enjoyed the food very much. We have previously eaten there with friends and had a range of items from the menu and the food is very good and prices exceptionally reasonable for the level of quality.

Next morning we took advantage of the free transfer to the cruise terminal to meet our ship and set off on our cruise. We had a lot of luggage with us as it was a long cruise and the concierge team kept the majority of it down in their luggage room overnight, affixed the luggage labels for us and had it all loaded into their Mercedes minibus ready for our departure time. Settling the room bill was done swiftly and off we went.

We would especially mention Gary Falconer and the team he has who make each visit to this hotel so special. Nothing is too much trouble for them - including printing off ESTA confirmation documentation for us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbour2017, Guest Relations Manager at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Feebee_mama Wow thank you for your fabulous five star review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time with us and that Gary and the team took such special care of you. I am sure your kind words will motivate them to work even harder for all our guests. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon! Best Wishes Xiaomin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sa1gon wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our pre-cruise treat. It is an amazing 5 star hotel with 5 star service. We could not fault this hotel.

The staff cannot do enough for you. On this visit we stayed in a Studio Room, which was lovely. It has a kitchen, complete with everything you need, which would be great if you were staying for a few days.  There is complimentary Gin and Sherry, which is a lovely touch and in the evening housekeeping come to do a turn-down service, which is lovely, they leave bottled water by the bed.

Julian and Gary on the Concierge Desk were amazing and provided faultless service. They are real assets to this great hotel, although all the staff are great.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbour2017, Guest Relations Manager at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear sa1gon, Thank you for the fantastic 5 star review! I am delighted to read you had a great experience while you stayed with us before your cruise and you were looked after by our concierge team, thank you for the special mention of Gary & Yulian who are happy and motivated by your compliments. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again for another great visit. Best wishes, Xiaomin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SunseekerKD wrote a review Feb 2020
Chichester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our initial impression was that of overly helpful staff at reception. Yes I know, not a common complaint. But we were tired after a long journey, which staff should have picked up on. We really could have done without being shown to our room (apparently new clients get the full guide treatment) and having every minor detail explained. We only needed to open doors ourselves to find out where stuff was, it really didnt need to be pointed out. 'Here is the lovely bathroom, and the lovely this, the lovely that, and this is how the light switches work'. We could have worked it out. No sooner had she gone and we were starting to relax, change into robes to chill, when there was a knock on the door. Did we want the turn down service. Again the irritation on my tired face peering round the door wasnt picked up on so my 'no' was followed by 'how about replacement water?' Staff need to be aware when someone has literally only just moved into the room and dont need replacement anything! I appreciate others may love this personal attention but for us it was too much. Good service is discreet, indeed often invisible.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, the bed was very comfy, the walk in shower nice. However the bed was one of the really high ones which required effort to get up and down from (we're not shorties!) which seems pointless. There were some stains on the seat cushions. As is so common in hotels these days there was nowhere with good lighting for make up etc and the plug for the hairdryer was a bit far from the nearest mirror. The decor was - uncomfortable, it didnt quite gel, in fact it jarred a bit. I think for most people it would be fine, we are probably more attuned to design than most. Poor interior design. One example was a side table which was too big for the space, it not only looked shoved in I also kept bumping into it. The gin and sherry decanters seemed nice touches, though unsealed bottles of drink are a bit of a concern these days. The hair dryer had an extremely cheap feel. Bear in mind this is an expensive hotel.

The Jetty restaurant was excellent. The food was great and both the serving and bar staff excellent. The bar upstairs however seemed more for a younger, louder clientele. The barmen there were far more inexperienced and lacking in expertise and knowledge.

In all, we got a good nights sleep and an excellent meal but if it wasnt for the convenience for that occasion it wouldnt be our choice for a break.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbour2017, Guest Relations Manager at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear SunseekerKD, Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Southampton Harbour, which we appreciate and value. We are delighted to read of all the positive aspects that you experienced. Our team are engaged to deliver 5-star experiences and they will be genuinely saddened to learn that they have not exceeded your expectations. The delivery of a seamless guest journey is a fine balance and we train our team to be hospitable, welcoming our guests into our ‘home’, especially if they are here for the first time. We endeavour to provide this 5-star service to all of our guests, and respond well to direction, as in our experience it is best not to make assumptions. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Xiaomin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richie Phillips wrote a review Sept 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Let’s start with the good things; it’s a great location and many rooms have balconies which overlook a vibrant harbour scene. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. The food we sampled was of high quality and the room service was timely polite and well-presented.
For balance though, some shortcomings. For example, the room has no full view mirror, not good for wives. Our balcony did not have the relaxing deck chairs like the others, we had conference room chairs, not very big nor conducive to relaxing.
If you want to dine at the rooftop Harba6, they need about 3 months notice, or else you will be eating at school coming out time or late enough to disrupt your sleep. We chased a booking on several occasions, to no avail, luckily there are very good options on the doorstep.
Fancy a swim ? We did, but the pool was closed due to an “incident” overnight. So with no pool, sauna or steam room , the Spa had limited options.
In fairness, it’s a tricky time and I do feel the staff did their level best to ensure we had a pleasant stay. We did, but I don’t feel the experience is worthy of a top rating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Xiamoin Sun, Guest Services / Front Office at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 13 Sept 2020
Dear heathend007, Thank you taking the time to leave a review about your stay that you had with us recently. Whilst we are pleased to read that some aspects of your stay were positive we are disappointed to read that you found faults with it also. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. In regards to the room facilities we have taken this on board and please be assured that we have discussed this with our housekeeping about the chairs on the balcony and we are very sorry that they were provided Pre-booking is always recommended as your room reservation does not automatically guarantee a space is available in our food and beverage outlets. I will discuss your service points directly with the HarBAR General Manager, so that we may learn from them, as this is not the experience that we wish our guests to have and apologize that this had a negative impact on your stay We do apologize that you were unable to use the facilities of the hotel but due to the incident that took place we were unable to allow access to this as we needed to ensure that it was up to the standard it needed to be in order for our guests to be able to use this again. We do hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon and enjoy your experience for the right reasons. Best regards Xiamoin Sun
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allison H wrote a review Aug 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent our anniversary night at this hotel. We had a lovely time overall and it is a lovely hotel.
However it was not very COVID secure. There was no temperature check on arrival and no encouragement to wear face coverings anywhere. The hand sanitizer outside several of the lifts was empty. One of the breakfast waiters came very close and spoke right into my face. None of the staff had face coverings or visors. In the HarBAR a couple moved to another table and the one they left was not wiped down before the next couple were seated. The room service menu in our room did not appear to be new, it was creased and crumpled. There was a party of eight girls in the HarBAR who were clearly from more than two households, they were constantly walking in and around the restaurant when they wanted to go and smoke, even stopping on occasion to greet and kiss people they knew at other tables.
However as I said it is a lovely hotel, our room was very nice, the bed was comfy and it seemed clean. We had a very nice lunch in the HarBAR where it good to see they had vegan options (it was a shame that there was not vegan cheese available as there was a pizza oven and vegan pizza would be an excellent option.) We had cocktails in the HarBAR before dinner which was very nice. We had dinner in The Jetty. We had a lovely Italian waitress and there was a separate vegan menu. The food in both restaurants was very good. In this restaurant it was good to see hand sanitizer on the table (not so in the HarBAR.)
There was no turn down service which you would expect from a five star hotel but maybe that was due to the virus. There is sherry and gin in the room but there was less than a centimetre depth of sherry in the bottle! We had ordered a newspaper but that did not arrive!
Overall it is a very nice hotel but I don’t think that they have made enough effort to ensure that they are COVID secure (at least compared to others places I have been.) I was impressed that they catered so well for vegans but disappointed to see that there were no vegan cooked breakfast options on the menu. The other thing I did not understand was how after checking in online it still took at least ten minutes to check in!
Overall we will definitely return but not until the virus has gone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Xiamoin Sun, Guest Services / Front Office at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Dear Allison H, Thank you for writing your review. I am glad to read you had a great time overall during your anniversary stay. Regarding your points about being covid secure. I can assure you the hotel has been fully risk assessed with all procedures in place. This continues to be an on-going process as the legislation changes. We look forward to you returning soon and I know you will be very impressed with changes we have already made since your last stayed with us. Kind regards, Lukasz
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AABCtravel wrote a review Jun 2021
Oxford, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Locating the Southampton Harbour Hotel even challenges the satnav. It is accessible only after following twisty roads flanked by high anonymous buildings but once reached the entry bar call system alerts a concierge who swiftly and smilingly guides the arriving car to the front entrance and having unloaded the luggage then valet parks the car.

Reception staff were friendly although their telephone answering time was frustratingly lengthy when attempted on the way. I was told they had system problems!

Our suite overlooking the marina was superb. Very spacious, attractively decorated with pale, light enhancing themes and well appointed with plenty of comfortable furniture. Outside was an exceptionally large balcony where, had it not rained consistently, we could have taken our breakfast taking in the beautiful view.

The lighting switches were a total mystery and there were many failed attempts to correct the balance especially for overnight.

The very large bathroom equipped with rain shower, bath, basins and a loo offered plentiful fluffy towels and The White Company bathing accessories. The room cleaning was immaculate and cleaning staff were extremely helpful. Room breakfast was delivered on time except that the first morning our tray arrived without the requested wholemeal toast to go with the already provided conserves.

The restaurants, one on the top floor called the HarBar and one on the ground floor called the Jetty, I shall describe elsewhere although it is worth saying that the food throughout was extremely good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Suites overlooking the marina are fabulous.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Xiamoin Sun, Guest Services / Front Office at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Dear AABCtravel, Thank you for your lovely 5* review. I'm so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay overall and that you managed to make good use of your Suite! As we are a relatively new build, sometimes Sat-Nav's do have a little bit of difficulties guiding you to use, and we do provide an alternative postal code on booking confirmations which should bring you straight to the same road as the hotel in the future. The light switches work on a dimming/brightening system when the switch is held, or will turn off and on when quickly pressed, we do have staff on hand that are able to assist you with this, as it is not something that is come across every day! I'm particularly glad to hear that you found our cleaning standards to be of a high level. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great stay! Best wishes, Xiaomin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike P wrote a review Mar 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 1 night on Sunday.
Great stay as if you stay on a Sunday night you can book room which includes breakfast and dinner for approx £150.
We emailed the hotel and asked if we could book into room early at 1200 which they allowed, which allowed us to have lunch, then relax in room, then do swimming and spa, more relaxing and then dinner. Breakfast was excellent in morning and you can relax on top floor looking out onto Southampton water.
The hotel is the best in Southampton, good staff and food and service is great. This is a excellent hotel and so I recommend you stay for a night or just use there restaurants or spa.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Email hotel with a request and you might be luck they will meet it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbour2017, Guest Relations Manager at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Responded 14 Mar 2020
Dear Mike P, Thank you for taking the time posting this lovely review. We have some amazing Sunday deal at the moment for our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed most of our hotel facilities and thank you again for recommending us. We look forward to your return soon in the future. Best wishes, Xiaomin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Totty16 asked a question Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom15 contributions9 helpful votes
Can you bring dogs
Answer from tedgegedge
Cheshire, United Kingdom14 contributions15 helpful votes
We did not see any so I doubt it as it is lovely and very upper class
Answer from spaitken
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom337 contributions147 helpful votes
Casual smart would be ideal
Answer from Alexander B
Karaganda, Kazakhstan235 contributions159 helpful votes
Sorry, I do not drive in the UK…
sandj89 asked a question May 2022
Leyburn, United Kingdom177 contributions105 helpful votes
We are staying here in July pre-cruise. I notice they have complimentary gin but is tonic also complimentary?
Answer from Tamara R
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
Unfortunately not. I can’t quite remember whether there were any in the mini fridge (at a cost though). I’d imagine you’d be able to request some. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Enjoy your stay in July!
Answer from Captain Hook
Grimsby, United Kingdom419 contributions183 helpful votes
Not sure about parking but if you’re sailing from Elizabeth or Ocean Terminal best place to park is Triangle parking. We park there for every cruise as it’s the cheapest safe and a short walk to the ship.
RKB331 wrote a tip 10 Jul
London, United Kingdom21 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"BOOK ELSEWHERE!"
Read full review
thane h wrote a tip Jun 2024
Edinburgh237 contributions164 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very expensive parking off site is the only practical option"
Read full review
NKL2010 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Seattle, Washington61 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I requested a 'quiet' room and was given a location away from the restaurant as well as elevators. It was perfect."
Read full review
Glen C wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Over priced for what you get"
Read full review
Clive H wrote a tip Jun 2024
Newport, United Kingdom36 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid speedy checkout if you can and check your bank statement for any unauthorised charges after your stay"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southampton area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,460 - HK$2,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOUTHAMPTON HARBOUR HOTEL & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Solent Sky Museum (0.3 km), Harbour Lights Picturehouse (0.08 km), and Southampton Water Activities Centre - Active Nation (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bacaro, Figurati, and Pitcher & Piano Southampton.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (1.1 km), Eling Tide Mill Experience (6.5 km), and Holy Rood Church (0.9 km).
Does Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Southampton HotelsSouthampton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SouthamptonHotels near Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire