We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ England
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
eDreams
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (651)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (172)

About

#58 of 83 hotels in Torquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A warm welcome awaits you at the Riviera Hotel in the heart of Torquay on the English Riviera. We offer good value, friendly and comfortable accommodation and are just a stones throw away from Torquay's award winning beaches, sparkling blue sea and all that the English Riviera and surrounding area has to offer. Here at the Riviera Hotel we offer fantastic value for our all our guests, whether you are travelling on business, with family or as part of a group. Our accommodation comprises of 145 en-suite bedrooms with digital flat screen tv, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our rooms include singles, doubles, twins, triple and large family rooms. We have a lovely indoor pool and Jacuzzi along with a Spa to include a gym, treatment rooms and nail bar! Our restaurant caters for those who love traditional cuisine. Our Chefs will carve for you either a delicious home cooked joint or you can choose from our market day special or our vegetarian option. You can then help yourself to a variety of freshly cooked vegetables and potatoes. To follow, there is a mouthwatering choice of hot and cold desserts on offer. After dinner why not join us in The Show Bar for the evenings entertainment, including bingo followed by our cabaret act. Alternatively, make your way down to The Sports Bar for a drink and catch the latest Sky or BT Sports game showing on one of our large flat screen tv's. Purchased by the Powis family in April 2017, the Riviera Hotel is currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment to bring the hotel up to an excellent standard throughout. Please see the renovations page on the hotel website for updates on the latest works. Whether you are visiting Torquay on business or pleasure, you'll find that the Riviera Hotel makes for the perfect setting during your stay on the English Riviera.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1507Reviews71Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 340
  • 498
  • 283
  • 144
  • 242
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Brian P wrote a review 25 Sep
Pontefract, United Kingdom82 contributions41 helpful votes
Just returned from 5day trip with Caledonian. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the duty manager & his reception staff. Very smooth registration. We upgraded to a refurbished room (102). Great room but our outlook was at car park level - users of the car park could look directly into the room unless we closed the curtains. Room facilities were good, beds extremely comfortable and walk in shower was great! Food was great & plentiful. Juices, cereals & full cooked breakfast on help yourself service. Tea & coffee served by staff. Our waitress (Shannon) was lovely. Very friendly and helpful. For evening meal there were 2 choices of soup, 4 choices of main meal including a carvery followed by an extensive selection of desserts, Evening entertainment in the Show Bar was good although the bar prices were a little expensive. My only real complaint about this hotel is the lack of lifts. There is only one small lift for a maximum of 4 persons (only 2 persons with luggage) so on arrival & departure days getting the lift was a lottery. There are stairs but there is a long walk to reach each flight. (Reception is at ground level with 2 floors above & 2 floors below. The stairs to reach floor 2 is behind reception and the stairs from floor 2 to floor 1 are along the far end of the corridor past the swimming pool. This hotel has 145 bedrooms and has a largely elderly clientele so movement around the hotel is not easy. PLEASE BUILD MORE LIFTS DURING REFURBISHMENT.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jim r wrote a review 25 Sep
Leeds, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We arrived at 3:30, and were given room two one four 1 of the refurbish rooms the bed was excellent very comfy the bathroom was very nicely decorated the only thing I could see was the big crack in the wall and through no fault of the hotel burns in carpet. The paintwork was a bit shabby but been right opposite the indoor pool and jacquizi made up for it. The entertainment was ok but show bar needs updating. Beer sit dear but you expect that when away. Food was ok breakfast ok but missing mushrooms staff excellent especially Shannon rushed off her feet but coped with everything all in all a very nice stay close to town and seafront
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get in early to show bar
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Margaret M wrote a review 18 Sep
Sunderland, United Kingdom32 contributions33 helpful votes
if you are given room 148 please refuse it. We have just returned from a 6 nights stay with a bus trip. I know that when you are on bus trips you usually get the poorer rooms, we also knew that the hotel is going through a huge renovation programe but the room we were given was disgraceful. The water came through the ceiling when it rained, the paper in places was hanging off, nets were ripped, curtains hanging off & because of the damp the room smelt. We reported it at the reception desk & asked if the manager could come & have a look at the room, nothing happened, it was'nt even acknowleged. You can upgrade to one of the new rooms for a price but I think even the cheapest rooms should be halfway decent. I will say that the food every day was excellent & the restaurant staff were always on the ball, so the manager could learn a lot from them in customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: be prepared to spend more money so you get a decent room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff Jones wrote a review 17 Sep
2 contributions
We arrived at the riviera hotel to find that there was a charge to park your car? The evening diner was awful! poor quality food. Our son was refused to get an alcoholic drink because he looked to young? The bar man seemed to take an instant dislike to our son? Our son is 22 years old, he had no identity on him? So there was a little heated tension, The manager was very rude and did not do anything to try and help the situation in fact (HE WAS SO ARROGANT) It spoiled the weekend and we could not wait to leave. I will never shaddow this place again! The only thing that was ok was the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brett Powis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Totally ridiculous, yes we do charge £7 per night car parking unless you book direct with the hotel, that is everywhere on our website, we charge as we are close to the beach and would otherwise have a car park full with non residents and nowhere for guests to park. As for serving your son alcoholic drinks, firstly, what 22 year doesn’t take ID with him as presumably he would be asked everywhere, the whole of Torquay has a Challenge 25 policy, which is a requirement of our licensing, and one of his parents confirming he is 22 is not ID verification. What could the manager do to help the situation, either he agreed with you and allowed us to break our licensing requirements or backed up our Bar Staff, that’s not being arrogant just because he didn’t agree with you. Take some responsibility, your son needs to take ID with him, just because he didn’t isn’t our fault. To be honest, glad you won’t be ‘shadowing’ our hotel again as our staff don’t deserve abuse because they are sticking to our licensing requirements. Glad you liked the room👍
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
devonladshieldslass wrote a review 17 Sep
South Shields, United Kingdom94 contributions100 helpful votes
We have just returned home from a weeks stay at the Riviera hotel. This was our third stay in the last 12 months. We find this hotel is perfect for our breaks in Torquay. We were unable to upgrade to a refurbished room on arrival but that didnt matter as we ended up in a room we had previously stayed in and it suited us. Building work continues to the rear of the hotel though this doesn't impact on your stay there. Refurbishment continues. Food good as usual. We always filled up at the breakfast buffet. It would be good if rolls were available as well as sliced bread at breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
travelbuggedtony wrote a review 16 Sep
Barry, United Kingdom344 contributions192 helpful votes
+1
Stayed 2 nights at the Riviera hotel with friends. Check in was friendly. I had a single room which was on the 4th floor, seemed like a maze to find it initially lol. It had an en-suite shower room/toilet and was compact overall but did the job just fine. Bed a little bit soft for me but that’s more a personal preference. Kettle, tea&coffee provided. Tv most of the channels had little to no signal but wasn’t really there to watch it. Bingo was reasonably priced and entertainment was enjoyable. Housekeeping lady was lovely. Swimming pool & jacuzzi was good, used it on both days early morning. Buffet cooked breakfast was excellent and tasty. Location of hotel is great, literally turn left and within minutes you’re at the beach. Would stay here again in future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
alexander s wrote a review 7 Sep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom68 contributions49 helpful votes
Booked this hotel through Caledonian Travel for 4 nights on dinner,b&b but only 6 passengers on coach were booked to this hotel and we were last dropped off shortly b4 8pm so we're rushed straight into dining room for what was left of Carvery. Tried to have the fish and chips but was only the dregs left in chip tray. Carvery everynight for dinner and buffet breakfast which is not to my taste but you get what you pay for and at £259 per head including transport would say reasonable value. Staff all very friendly and hotel clean but we paid extra £10per night for refurbished room and would recommend doing this or even doublle that for refurbished with balcony. Torquay much hillier than expected with very little in way of shops,cafes and entertainment along the promenade. Sandy beach if tide out but no deckchairs or Lilo's for hire. Many elderly residents regularly returning to this hotel and certainly has an appeal to them
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brett Powis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
As a Coach Hotel in Torquay, I think we are better than average that you have graded us, especially, if, as you have suggested, you upgrade to a refurbished room for £10 a night. Just to clarify the dinner service, the main course includes one Carvery meat plus three specials, one of which is a vegetarian option, plus a choice of salads. We have a beautiful Sandy beach within 10 minutes walk, and there are a range of options to hire deckchairs, maybe you weren’t looking in the right place, and a number of coffee shops and restaurants across from the beach.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris P wrote a review 5 Sep
2 contributions
This hotel is wonderful and great value. Friendly and caring staff and extremely clean and well run. They work very hard to ensure you have a top class stay. As a solo traveller they provided a wonderful atmosphere and have a cozy bar with a welcoming vibe. 10 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
alisondeb26 wrote a review Aug 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Enjoyed our weekend stay . Staff very friendly and helpful and manager gave informative welcome meeting . Our room was lovely with large walk in shower , comfortable beds , and spotlessly clean . Didn’t use pool as was with elderly mother but it looked clean and inviting. Entertainment great with quiz , bingo and singer every night with a fun compare . Food lovely with plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meal , variety of soups , fruit , cakes, Carvery , veggie , porridge. Would definitely return . Only suggestion I have is offering tea/coffee with bar service at evening meal and some water fountains/drinking water taps around the hotel as the cold water tap in our room was Luke warm so couldn’t refill water bottles . Thanks for a great stay !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
steven b wrote a review Aug 2022
United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Rivera Hotel is a decent 3star hotel really friendly staff we upgraded our room which was nice loved the shower , hotel entertainment is good watched a couple of shows in the show bar , the sports bars Is nice if your into sport lots of non residents but the hotel needs to get income ,it's only a short walk to the beach and some really nice bars , the only downside to the hotel was the food it was just okay but you get what you pay for , overall had a lovely stay thank you .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rainbow international torquay, hotel rainbow international
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rainbow International Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Riviera Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Riviera Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jungle Journey Adventure Golf (0.1 km), Torre Abbey (0.3 km), and South West Coast Path Walk- Meadfoot & London Bridge (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riviera Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Riviera Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Riviera Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riviera Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fredericks, The Singing Kettle Tea Room & Bistro, and Las Iguanas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riviera Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Riviera Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Torquay.
Does Riviera Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Riviera Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (0.3 km), Friends Of Oldway (3.3 km), and English Riviera UNESCO Global Geopark (1.0 km).
Is Riviera Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.