We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riviera Hotel

Traveller (372)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (235)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1,185Reviews
622Photos
54Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 238
  • 402
  • 245
  • 122
  • 179
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Couldn't fault the entertainment or the meals. The hotel in my opinion although having mostly elderly guests hasn't many disabled aids. For instance there are many steps and stairs inside the building and lots of them have no handrails. The entertainment room has steps leading
Read more
Stayed 4 nights National holidays in this hotel room 201. Paid a large single supplement only to be put at back of hotel in tiny room with dirty walls & curtains. Threadbare bed mattress damaged. Sitting on bed you can reach opposite wall. With tv on wall faulty. Headboard and
Read more
We went to stay for a long weekend when we arrived and went to our room it was dirty and smelly and we had to pay for an upgrade the food was the same all weekend would never go back they were not very helpful at all
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
What a load of old tosh, whilst our unrefurbished rooms are not great, they are neither smelly or dirty. We have now completed 40 full bedroom and bathroom refurbishments, and most of the worst rooms have been refurbished first. You presumably paid £10 per night for a refurbished room (£5 per person per night), you already had unbelievable value for money, and for a very small extra, you had a lovely refurbished room, that's not just me saying it, all our reviews say the same. As for your food comments, alongside an all you can eat breakfast and a carvery dinner, which has two carved meats, and two specials, a non vegetarian (Friday, Fish, Saturday Chicken in Sweet and Sour and Sunday Liver and Bacon) and a different vegetarian special each night as well as an exhaustive choice of deserts, you also had three great Tribute acts, a Sports Bar with Sky and BT Sports on 14 TV's, a heated indoor pool and brand new Jacuzzi, (and a Gym from this week) all provided for between £20 and £25 per night. I'm guessing you expected a free upgrade because you complained about your room (it's difficult with 250 guests staying to identify individuals on Tripadvisor) and when that was refused, you resort to writing a negative Tripadvisor review. The vast majority of guests can see the massive improvements in the hotel and the investment of over £1million, and really appreciate it, some like you have unreasonable expectations. AS the old saying goes, you can't please all the people, all the time.... although we try our best.
Read more
A great welcome from a very helpful staff. Stayed as part of a National Holidays package. The evening meals and breakfast were second to none. The hotel is less than a ten minute, easy, walk from the seafront. It is five minute taxi ride or twenty minute walk to harbour and
Read more
We stayed here (again) with a coach trip from Wales. We were in room 420 and it was spotless, warm and had a double and single bed. The food was faultless with plenty to choose from at breakfast and evening meal. All the staff were friendly and polite especially the lady in the
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Twin Room at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Triple Room at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Double with Twin Beds at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Double with Twin Beds at the Rainbow International Hotel
Broken door lock
PreviousNext
12345646
What is the breakfast and the coffee like?
The breakfast is a self service buffet with full English, cereals, porridge, toast, yogurt etc and tea and coffee are served to you at your table. Coffee is very pleasant medium roast freshly brewed filter coffee. We generally get very positive comments about both our breakfast and dinner service.
0 votes
what is the car parking is it free or how much is it
Car Parking is complimentary when you book direct with the hotel, it is included in the rate. If, however, you book through a third party booking site or company like Laterooms, Expedia or UK Breakaways it is £7 per 24 hours. The exception to this is if we have price matched with UK Breakaways, who operate self drive breaks, then car parking is still payable. Book direct and you will generally get the best rate and free car parking, as it saves us paying commission to booking sites and we can then give parking free of charge.
0 votes
Show all answers
are the rooms ensuite
We were in an upgraded room with ensuite walk in shower.
1 vote
Show all answers
If you have booked direct with the hotel but we have price matched against another provider, such as UK Breakaways, then you still have to pay the car parking charges. The reason their rates are lower is because they don't include parking, whereas our quoted rates include the parking. You can't have it both ways, a lower price that is price matched that doesn't include parking and then have free parking as well, you can either get a lower rate which is price matched or an inclusive rate with parking.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345611
"214 is very good."
"No tips from me really, I booked as a single traveller and got a room much bigger than usual."
"A must if staying in Torquay. Rooms on the LG or quite"
"rooms 414 to 422 high floor near lift quiet"
"Refurbished rooms were good but you had to pay £10per night extra"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rainbow international torquayhotel rainbow international
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rainbow International Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing